Aboriginal Student Recruitment in the Federal Public Service

The Federal Student Work Experience Program (FSWEP) allows hundreds of Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal students obtain employment related to their field of education within the federal public service across Canada.

Five Aboriginal students working in different departments and agencies share their positive experience in the federal public service.

Download: MP4 format (28 Mb)

So, my name is Waseskon Awashish I am Alexandra Mansour. My name is Rylee Currie My name is Patrick Gagné. I'm an Innu from Mashteuiatsh. My name is Marie-Élaine Tremblay I study Social Work in a Master's Programme. I'm Innu and Atikamekw. I study Public Relations at the University of Ottawa I'm studying Bioinformatics at Université Laval. I come from the Essipit community. And I'm from the Mi'kmag Nation Federal Student Work Experience Program FSWEP is the Federal Student Work Experience Program. It's an opportunity to get a good summer job and lots of experience for the future. I found my job at Service Canada online through FSWEP. Just go online to the FSWEP Website to click what you're good at. So for me, I clicked communications and I clicked Web and that's what led me to these jobs. What surprises me is the variety of jobs available. My name is Jean Picard. I'm from Wendake and work at Environment Canada. As a manager, I'm in charge of the hiring in my team. I make it a priority to look at Aboriginal candidates. So if there were a lot more Aboriginal students on the FSWEP list, I think we'd hire more than one per year. The main benefits of doing an internship here or having a student job with the federal government is to get experience related to our area of study. The salary is good, but that's not the only thing. It's really fun. I work in a really great atmosphere, a really bright, wonderful atmosphere The flexibility of my managers about my school schedule, the fact that I was able to change jobs depending on where I was studying. On a resume it definitely looks good… It's Health Canada. It shows that I'm serious. There is also the fact that I was able to perfect my English to the point that now, I'm bilingual. As Aboriginals, I think that many doors can open for them. A job. Experience. A career. My name is Carly Norris. I am Innu from Matimekosh. I'm a federal prosecutor for the Public Prosecution Service of Canada. I've had three summer employments for the Public Service of Canada after that I became a lawyer for Justice Canada. My name is Charly Norris. I'm Innu and I'am a manager at the Canada Revenue Agency. My first job was to sort mail. I'd really like to stay in the federal public service. I've grown to like the working environment. I'm very fortunate with my employment. Being a prosecutor, it's something that I'm passionate about I'm really proud of the progression of my career. So right now I've been extended for the fall part time… It's like I could possibly stay on with the public service. And if I get the chance to have a permanent job in the public service, I definitely won't pass up the opportunity. Register now. www.jobs.gc.ca

Transcript

1-Waseskon

So, my name is Waseskon Awashish

2-Alexandra

I am Alexandra Mansour.

3-Rylee

My name is Rylee Currie

4-Patrick

My name is Patrick Gagné. I'm an Innu from Mashteuiatsh.

5-Marie-Élaine

My name is Marie-Élaine Tremblay

6-Alexandra

I study Social Work in a Master's Programme.

7-Waseskon

I'm Innu and Atikamekw.

8-Rylee

I study Public Relations at the University of Ottawa

9-Patrick

I'm studying Bioinformatics at Université Laval.

10-Alexandra

I come from the Essipit community.

11-Rylee

And I'm from the Mi'kmag Nation

Federal Student Work Experience Program

12-Waseskon

FSWEP is the Federal Student Work Experience Program.

13-Marie-Élaine

It's an opportunity to get a good summer job and lots of experience for the future.

14-Alexandra

I found my job at Service Canada online through FSWEP.

15-Rylee

Just go online to the FSWEP Website to click what you're good at. So for me, I clicked communications and I clicked Web and that's what led me to these jobs.

16-Patrick

What surprises me is the variety of jobs available.

17-Jean

My name is Jean Picard. I'm from Wendake and work at Environment Canada. As a manager, I'm in charge of the hiring in my team.  I make it a priority to look at Aboriginal candidates. So if there were a lot more Aboriginal students on the FSWEP list, I think we'd hire more than one per year.

18-Waseskon

The main benefits of doing an internship here or having a student job with the federal government is to get experience related to our area of study.

19-Alexandra

The salary is good, but that's not the only thing.

20-Rylee

It's really fun. I work in a really great atmosphere, a really bright, wonderful atmosphere

21-Alexandra

The flexibility of my managers about my school schedule, the fact that I was able to change jobs depending on where I was studying.

22-Marie-Élaine

On a resume it definitely looks good… It's Health Canada. It shows that I'm serious.

23-Alexandra

There is also the fact that I was able to perfect my English to the point that now, I'm bilingual.

24-Jean

As Aboriginals, I think that many doors can open for them.

A job. Experience. A career.

25-Carly

My name is Carly Norris. I am Innu from Matimekosh. I'm a federal prosecutor for the Public Prosecution Service of Canada. I've had three summer employments for the Public Service of Canada after that I became a lawyer for Justice Canada. 

26-Charly

My name is Charly Norris. I'm Innu and I'am a manager at the Canada Revenue Agency. My first job was to sort mail.

27-Patrick

I'd really like to stay in the federal public service. I've grown to like the working environment.

28-Carly

I'm very fortunate with my employment. Being a prosecutor, it's something that I'm passionate about.

29-Charly

I'm really proud of the progression of my career.

30-Rylee

So right now I've been extended for the fall part time… It's like I could possibly stay on with the public service.

31-Waseskon

And if I get the chance to have a permanent job in the public service, I definitely won't pass up the opportunity.

Register now.

www.jobs.gc.ca

Date modified:

Recrutement d'étudiants autochtones à la fonction publique fédérale

Le Programme fédéral d'expérience de travail étudiant (PFETE) est le principal mécanisme qui permet annuellement à des centaines d'étudiants, autochtones et non autochtones, d'obtenir un emploi étudiant lié à leur domaine d'études au sein de la fonction publique fédérale, et ce, partout au Canada.

Cinq étudiants autochtones travaillant dans différents ministères et agences témoignent de leur expérience positive à la fonction publique fédérale.

Téléchargement : Format MP4 ( 28 Mo)

Donc mon nom c'est Waseskon Awashish Je m'appelle Alexandra Mansour Mon nom est Rylee Currie Moi je m'appelle Patrick Gagné. Je suis un Innu de Mashteuiatsh. Mon nom est Marie-Élaine Tremblay J'étudie à la maîtrise en travail social Je suis d'origine atikamekw et innue J'étudie en relations publiques à l'Université d'Ottawa J'étudie en bioinformatique à l'Université Laval Je viens de la communauté d'Essipit Et je suis de la Nation Micmac Programme fédéral d'expérience de travail étudiant Le PFETE, c'est le Programme fédéral d'expérience de travail étudiant C'est une opportunité d'avoir une bonne job pour l'été qui donne beaucoup d'expérience pour le futur J'ai trouvé mon emploi à Service Canada avec le PFETE sur Internet Vous n'avez qu'à aller en ligne sur le site du PFETE pour cliquer sur ce qui correspond à vos forces. Alors pour moi, j'ai cliqué sur « communications » et j'ai cliqué sur « Web », et c'est ce qui m'a menée vers ces emplois. Ce qui m'a surprise c'est la variété d'emplois qu'on peut occuper Je m'appelle Jean Picard. Je viens de Wendake. Je travaille à Environnement Canada. En tant que gestionnaire je suis responsable de l'embauche au sein de mon équipe.  Un des critères que je mets en haut de la liste c'est Autochtone. Donc si il y avait beaucoup plus d'étudiants autochtones dans la liste du PFETE , je pense qu'on en recruterait peut-être plus qu'un, annuellement. Les principaux avantages de faire un stage ici ou d'occuper un emploi étudiant, c'est vraiment de prendre de l'expérience liée à notre domaine d'études. Le salaire c'est un bon avantage, mais il n'y a pas que ça J'ai beaucoup de plaisir! Je travaille dans une très bonne ambiance, une ambiance enjouée, exceptionnelle. La flexibilité de mes gestionnaires selon mon horaire d'étudiante, le fait que j'ai pu changer d'emploi en fonction des lieux d'études où j'allais Ben sur un cv c'est sûr que ça paraît bien là c'est Santé Canada. Ça démontre un petit sérieux. Il y a aussi le fait que j'ai perfectionné mon anglais au point que maintenant je suis bilingue En tant qu'autochtone, je pense qu'il y a plein de portes qui peuvent s'ouvrir à eux. Un emploi. Une expérience. Une carrière. Je m'appelle Carly Norris. Je suis une Innu de Matimekosh. Je suis procureure fédérale pour le Service des poursuites pénales du Canada. J'ai occupé trois emplois d'été pour la fonction publique du Canada, puis je suis devenue avocate pour le ministère de la Justice.  Je m'appelle Charly Norris. Je suis Innu. Je suis gestionnaire à l'Agence du revenu du Canada. Mon premier emploi c'était le triage du courrier. J'aimerais beaucoup rester dans la fonction publique fédérale. C'est un milieu que j'ai appris à apprécier. Je suis très privilégiée d'avoir cet emploi. Être procureure, c'est quelque chose qui me passionne. Je suis vraiment fier du cheminement de ma carrière. Alors maintenant, j'ai été prolongée pour l'automne à temps partiel… C'est comme, ce serait possible que je reste au service de la fonction publique. Et si j'ai la chance d'obtenir un emploi permanent au sein de la fonction publique c'est certain que je passerai pas à côté de cette occasion-là. Inscris-toi. www.emplois.gc.ca

Transcription

1-Waseskon

Donc mon nom c'est Waseskon Awashish

2-Alexandra

Je m'appelle Alexandra Mansour

3-Rylee

Mon nom est Rylee Currie

4-Patrick

Moi je m'appelle Patrick Gagné. Je suis un Innu de Mashteuiatsh.

5-Marie-Élaine

Mon nom est Marie-Élaine Tremblay

6-Alexandra

J'étudie à la maîtrise en travail social

7-Waseskon

Je suis d'origine atikamekw et innue

8-Rylee

J'étudie en relations publiques à l'Université d'Ottawa

9-Patrick

J'étudie en bioinformatique à l'Université Laval

10-Alexandra

Je viens de la communauté d'Essipit

11-Rylee

Et je suis de la Nation Micmac

Programme fédéral d'expérience de travail étudiant

12-Waseskon

Le PFETE, c'est le Programme fédéral d'expérience de travail étudiant

13-Marie-Élaine

C'est une opportunité d'avoir une bonne job pour l'été qui donne beaucoup d'expérience pour le futur

14-Alexandra

J'ai trouvé mon emploi à Service Canada avec le PFETE sur Internet

15-Rylee

Vous n'avez qu'à aller en ligne sur le site du PFETE pour cliquer sur ce qui correspond à vos forces. Alors pour moi, j'ai cliqué sur « communications » et j'ai cliqué sur « Web », et c'est ce qui m'a menée vers ces emplois.

16-Patrick

Ce qui m'a surprise c'est la variété d'emplois qu'on peut occuper

17-Jean

Je m'appelle Jean Picard. Je viens de Wendake. Je travaille à Environnement Canada. En tant que gestionnaire je suis responsable de l'embauche au sein de mon équipe.  Un des critères que je mets en haut de la liste c'est Autochtone. Donc si il y avait beaucoup plus d'étudiants autochtones dans la liste du PFETE , je pense qu'on en recruterait peut-être plus qu'un, annuellement.

18-Waseskon

Les principaux avantages de faire un stage ici ou d'occuper un emploi étudiant, c'est vraiment de prendre de l'expérience liée à notre domaine d'études.

19-Alexandra

Le salaire c'est un bon avantage, mais il n'y a pas que ça

20-Rylee

J'ai beaucoup de plaisir! Je travaille dans une très bonne ambiance, une ambiance enjouée, exceptionnelle.

21-Alexandra

La flexibilité de mes gestionnaires selon mon horaire d'étudiante, le fait que j'ai pu changer d'emploi en fonction des lieux d'études où j'allais

22-Marie-Élaine

Ben sur un cv c'est sûr que ça paraît bien là c'est Santé Canada. Ça démontre un petit sérieux.

23-Alexandra

Il y a aussi le fait que j'ai perfectionné mon anglais au point que maintenant je suis bilingue

24-Jean

En tant qu'autochtone, je pense qu'il y a plein de portes qui peuvent s'ouvrir à eux.

Un emploi. Une expérience. Une carrière.

25-Carly

Je m'appelle Carly Norris. Je suis une Innu de Matimekosh. Je suis procureure fédérale pour le Service des poursuites pénales du Canada. J'ai occupé trois emplois d'été pour la fonction publique du Canada, puis je suis devenue avocate pour le ministère de la Justice. 

26-Charly

Je m'appelle Charly Norris. Je suis Innu. Je suis gestionnaire à l'Agence du revenu du Canada. Mon premier emploi c'était le triage du courrier.

27-Patrick

J'aimerais beaucoup rester dans la fonction publique fédérale. C'est un milieu que j'ai appris à apprécier.

28-Carly

Je suis très privilégiée d'avoir cet emploi. Être procureure, c'est quelque chose qui me passionne.

29-Charly

Je suis vraiment fier du cheminement de ma carrière.

30-Rylee

Alors maintenant, j'ai été prolongée pour l'automne à temps partiel… C'est comme, ce serait possible que je reste au service de la fonction publique.

31-Waseskon

Et si j'ai la chance d'obtenir un emploi permanent au sein de la fonction publique c'est certain que je passerai pas à côté de cette occasion-là.

Inscris-toi.

www.emplois.gc.ca

Date de modification :