Professional and Institutional Development Program Guidelines 2016-2017

Table of contents

Introduction

These Program Guidelines for Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada’s (INAC) Professional and Institutional Development Program have been designed to enable First Nations and Inuit communities to increase their governance capacity through locally, regionally and nationally developed initiatives.

The Professional and Institutional Development Program is a plan-based program that funds governance capacity development projects. Each Region of INAC has an independent budget for the Professional and Institutional Development Program, for use in funding projects that will benefit the governance capacity of First Nations and Inuit communities in that Region.

For the 2016-2017 fiscal year, in order to better inform the Department of your organization’s priorities the Department will base the application for capacity development funding on the initiatives and projects contained in a recipient’s own capacity development plan, therefore, in order to be considered for funding, it will be required that projects are linked to, and identified in, a capacity development plan.

Program Objective

To develop the capacity of First Nations and Inuit communities to perform core functions of government, by funding governance-related projects at the community and institutional levels.

Eligible Projects

Effective governance will be advanced by projects that develop governance capacity in any of the following ten core functions of government:

  1. Leadership
  2. Membership
  3. Law-Making
  4. Community Involvement
  5. External Relations
  6. Planning and Risk Management
  7. Financial Management
  8. Human Resources Management
  9. Information Management / Information Technology
  10. Basic Administration

Please see attached, Annex A, for a more comprehensive list of eligible projects, activities, expenditures, and restrictions on approvals.

Treasury Board Authority for "Contributions to supply public services in Indian Government Support and to build strong governance, administrative and accountability systems" is the Authority used to flow Professional and Institutional Development Program funding, which can be found on INAC’s Website.

Eligibility - Who can apply

Eligible Beneficiaries

In order to be eligible for funding, plans, or proposals if required, must benefit the governance capacity of one or more:

  • First Nations and/or
  • Tribal councils, and/or
  • Inuit communities.

Plans or proposals will not be approved if they aim to build the capacity of organizations that manage service-delivery grant or contribution programs, such as Education Authorities or Child and Family Services Agencies. Additionally, plans or proposals targeting the governance capacity of Provincial / Territorial Organizations are not eligible for Professional and Institutional Development Program funding.

Eligible Recipients

Recipients of Professional and Institutional Development Program funding can be any organization that has had an eligible plan or proposal approved by a Professional and Institutional Development Program committee.

Application Phase

Plans or proposals should originate from the organization that will manage the contribution funding.

Capacity Development Plans

While the format of the capacity development plan is the decision of each community, it should provide at minimum, adequate information to allow for consideration of a community’s governance initiative, governance objective, governance activity costs, and performance measurement.

Capacity development plans can include the following types of plans, provided they have a governance component:

  • Governance capacity development plans
  • Management Action Plans (formerly Remedial Management Plans).
  • Strategic Plans
  • Comprehensive Community Plans.

A capacity development plan need not be complicated, or as extensive as a comprehensive community plan. You may already have a plan in place that can be used for the purposes of Professional and Institutional Development Program funding. If you do not already have a capacity development plan in place you may wish to use the Governance Capacity Planning Tool that is available on INAC’s website.

If you do not already have a capacity development plan in place, please use the following Capacity Development Plan application template, which provides a "Fill and Print" format that can be completed online and then printed for submission:

Assessment Phase

The criteria-based assessment process for evaluating plans or proposals ensures that all plans or proposals are evaluated objectively by Regional Professional and Institutional Development Program Assessment committees against the Terms and Conditions of the program, community needs, risk, and availability of funds. Plans and proposals are assessed, recommended and approved on the following criteria:

All plans or proposals are to

Notice to Applicants

In the Department’s goal of supporting the Community Development and Capacity Building (CDCB) Framework, non-personal information collected in your plan may be shared with internal partners and Other Government Departments (such as Health Canada) to increase joint community-focused capacity investments and leverage partnerships.

In the event that the plan contains personal information, the personal information will be administered in accordance with the Privacy Act.

Approval Phase

Following the assessment and approval of your plan or proposal, applicants will be notified in writing of INAC’s decision. Should any of the proposed activities be approved by the committee, the originator of the plan or proposal will receive a Project Approval Letter. This letter will detail the activities that can be funded, along with any reporting requirements specific to those activities. The originator of the plan or proposal, and the department can then enter into a funding arrangement, or agree to an amendment to an existing arrangement.

Reporting Phase

Annual Report

Each recipient must prepare and submit a Report on Activities and Expenditures providing a summary of activities, outcomes, and financial details. Any additional supporting documentation and deliverables detailed in the Project Approval Letter are to be submitted with the report. Supporting documentation may include (but are not limited to) proofs of purchase, invoices, and training certificates.

Recipients will not be eligible for further Professional and Institutional Development Program funding while annual reports are overdue. If a complete report is not submitted within a reasonable period of time, the recipient will be subject to a recovery of funds up to the full value of the contribution.

In many cases, projects fund the creation of a tangible product, such as codes, policies, chart of accounts, templates, frameworks, constitutions, training materials and plans. In order to ensure that deliverables are available as a shareable resource, funding arrangements contain standard text which allows the Department to share these documents publicly. These copyright and intellectual property conditions seek to create an economy of scale, by making any and all deliverables available to future applicants. The goal is to provide an evergreen knowledge base of governance capacity building resources, for beneficiaries to review and adapt to their own needs.

Annex A: Eligible Projects, Activities, Expenditures, and Restrictions on Approvals

Eligible Projects

Examples of Eligible Projects:

  • Purchase of Software and/or Hardware that will be used for the general financial administration of the First Nation
  • A comprehensive review of Governance, involving several or all programs, producing a short or long term strategic plan for a First Nation
  • Training in areas such as Financial Management, or Human Resources Management for Band Managers, Chief and Council, and/or Band Office staff

Examples of Ineligible Projects:

  • Purchase of Software and/or Hardware that is required for an individual Program’s administration (eg: Social Program software)
  • A review of an individual program, producing a document for use in the management of that program (eg: a Housing Plan or Land Management Code)
  • Training for staff on software explicitly concerned with a program’s operations (eg: training Child and Family Services staff on new CFS software)
  • Capacity development activities already listed in a tribal council’s approved work plan that is to be undertaken with Tribal Council Funding.

Eligible Activities Footnote 1

Proposed activities are eligible for funding when they will develop the governance capacity of one or more of the Functions of Government.

Function of Government Examples of Eligible Activities Footnote 1 to Develop Governance Capacity Examples of Ineligible Activities
Leadership: Leadership selection codes, Custom election codes, Orientation of Chiefs and Councillors, Policies on Roles and Responsibilities of Elected/Appointed Election costs, Regular meetings of Chief and Council, Band Council Resolution costs
Membership: Membership Codes Membership Clerk salary
Law-Making: Bylaw policies Litigation costs
Community Involvement: Community Consultation Codes, Appeals and Dispute Resolution Codes Meetings on regular community business
External Relations: Policies or Codes on conducting business with other governments or the private sector Travel costs for regular meetings with other governments
Planning and Risk Management: Training in Strategic Planning Housing Plans, Land Use Plans
Financial Management: Financial Codes, Financial Systems training and upgrades Audit costs
Human Resources Management: Human Resources Codes, Developing Standardized Job Descriptions and Salary ranges, Labour Relations training and policies Recruitment costs and/or salaries of employees
Information Management / Information Technology: Information Security Policies, Upgrades of Band Office Information Technology Internet Service Provider fees
Basic Administration: Administrative Training for Office Staff, Administration Codes Operating costs that would still occur without project funding.

Eligible Expenditures

Expenditures listed in plans or proposals are only valid where they are in support of an eligible activity, and when they fall under one or more of the following categories:

  • Tuition and training fees
  • Salaries and wages
  • Travel, transportation and accommodation
  • Telecommunications
  • Other communications
  • Office rent and overhead
  • Office supplies and printing
  • Professional services
  • Community information initiatives
  • Systems design, implementation and maintenance
  • Hardware and software needed to support data collection, analysis and reporting

Requests for additional funding for general "administration" costs of a project (e.g.: 10% of the project cost) are not valid. The costs of administering Professional and Institutional Development Program projects should be built into the proposed expenditures, rather than in addition to them.

The Professional and Institutional Development Program can only be used to reimburse costs that were submitted as part of a proposal before the expenses were incurred.

Restrictions on Approvals

Project funding only: The Professional and Institutional Development Program does not provide core operational funding. Recipients are advised that Professional and Institutional Development Program funding should not be relied upon as a source of ongoing revenue.

Repetition and extension of projects: The Professional and Institutional Development Program may not fund identical projects year over year with the same beneficiary. Repetition of a project is allowed if the beneficiaries are different, such as when an organization repeats a training project for new beneficiaries that have not yet attended the training.

Recipients and beneficiaries should not interpret Professional and Institutional Development Program funding for current year’s activities as a guarantee that INAC will fund related activities planned for upcoming fiscal years.

Recipients under Default Management: Recipients in Default Management are encouraged to apply for Professional and Institutional Development Program funding, for use in governance capacity projects that will help them to complete their Management Action Plan. Professional and Institutional Development Program funds may not be used to support the core costs of Co-Managers or Third Party Managers.

Duplication: The Professional and Institutional Development Program is designed to be implemented flexibly, but it is not designed to duplicate activities funded by other programs or to supplement funding in other program areas. Activities that provide training, resources, and/or services for a specific INAC program are not eligible for funding. Activities that impact several or all programs indirectly, by building the beneficiary’s governance capacity in one or more of the ten functions of government, would be eligible for funding.

Existing Governance Resources: When resources are available, which are similar to a proposed project activity, Professional and Institutional Development Program funding will not cover the full costs of developing a new product. In these cases, Professional and Institutional Development Program funds can fund related costs such as planning, engaging, customizing existing products to the unique needs of the beneficiary, ratification, and implementation.

INAC Headquarters has collected copies of, and links to, templates and examples of many of the products that are typically created using Professional and Institutional Development Program funding.

Date modified:

Lignes directrices du programme 2016-2017 pour le Programme de développement professionnel et institutionnel

Table des matières

Présentation

Les présentes lignes directrices du Programme de développement professionnel et institutionnel d'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) visent, par le truchement d'initiatives locales, régionales et nationales, à aider les communautés inuites et des Premières Nations à accroître leurs capacités en matière de gouvernance.

Le Programme de développement professionnel et institutionnel est un programme fondé sur des plans qui finance des projets de renforcement des capacités de gouvernance. Chacune des régions d'AANC a un budget indépendant au titre du Programme de développement professionnel et institutionnel; ce budget sert à financer des projets qui amélioreront la capacité de gouvernance des communautés inuites et des Premières Nations se trouvant dans cette région.

En 2016¬-2017, afin de mieux informer le Ministère des priorités de votre organisation, les demandes de financement en lien avec le développement des capacités reposeront sur les initiatives et projets contenus dans le plan de développement des capacités dont se sera doté le bénéficiaire. Afin d’avoir accès au financement, les projets devront obligatoirement s'inscrire dans un plan de développement des capacités.

Objectif du programme

Financer des projets de gouvernance à l’échelle communautaire et institutionnelle afin d’améliorer la capacité des collectivités inuites et des Premières Nations d’exécuter les fonctions essentielles d’un gouvernement.

Projets admissibles

La bonne gouvernance communautaire sera appuyée au moyen de projets qui renforcent la capacité de gouvernance dans l’une ou l’autre des dix fonctions essentielles suivantes:

  1. le leadership
  2. appartenance
  3. compétence législative
  4. participation communautaire
  5. relations externes
  6. planification et gestion du risque
  7. gestion financière
  8. gestion des ressources humaines
  9. gestion de l’information / technologie de l’information
  10. administration de base

Voir l’annexe A pour une liste plus complète des projets, des activités et des dépenses admissibles, ainsi que des restrictions quant aux approbations.

L'autorisation du Conseil du Trésor « Contributions servant à la prestation de services publics dans le domaine du soutien aux gouvernements indiens et à l'établissement de systèmes solides de gouvernance, d'administration et de responsabilisation » se trouve sur le site Web d'AANC.

Admissibilité - qui peut présenter une demande?

Bénéficiaires admissibles

Pour être admissibles, les plans, ou propositions, si nécessaire, doivent servir à améliorer la capacité de gouvernance d'au moins un des groupes suivants :

  • Premières Nations;
  • conseils tribaux;
  • collectivités inuites.

Les plans ou propositions visant à renforcer les capacités des organisations, comme les autorités compétentes en matière d’éducation ou les organismes de services à l’enfance et à la famille, qui gèrent des programmes de subventions et de contributions pour la prestation de services ne seront pas approuvés. De plus, les plans ou propositions ciblant la capacité d'exercice des pouvoirs d'organismes provinciaux/territoriaux ne sont pas admissibles au financement offert dans le cadre du Programme de développement professionnel et institutionnel.

Prestataires admissibles

Toute organisation dont un plan ou une proposition recevable a été approuvé par un comité du Programme de développement professionnel et institutionnel peut recevoir une contribution.

Phase de la demande

Les plans ou propositions doivent venir de l'organisation qui gérera la contribution.

Les plans de développement des capacités

Bien que sa forme soit laissée à la discrétion de chaque collectivité, le plan de développement des capacités doit tout de même présenter au minimum assez d’information pour permettre l’étude d’une initiative de gouvernance, d’un objectif de gouvernance, du coût d’une activité de gouvernance et de la mesure du rendement.

En voici des exemples, mais tous doivent comporter un volet de gouvernance :

  • plan de développement de la capacité de gouvernance;
  • plan d’action de la gestion (auparavant plan de redressement).
  • plan stratégique;
  • plan communautaire global.

Un plan de développement des capacités ne doit pas nécessairement être complexe ni être aussi exhaustif qu'un plan communautaire global. En fait, vous disposez peut-être déjà d'un plan qui peut servir à présenter une demande de financement au titre du Programme de développement professionnel et institutionnel. Si tel n’est pas le cas, vous pourriez envisager d’utiliser l’Outil de planification de la capacité de gouvernance accessible sur le site Web d’AANC.

Si vous ne possédez pas déjà un plan de développement des capacités en place, s'il vous plaît utiliser le modèle d’application de la capacité du plan de développement, qui présentent un format interactif qui peut être rempli en ligne puis imprimé pour votre soumission.

Phase d'évaluation

Le processus d’évaluation fondé sur des critères, utilisé pour évaluer les plans ou propositions, fait en sorte que tous les plans ou propositions de projet soient évalués de façon objective par les comités du Programme de développement professionnel et institutionnel en fonction des modalités du Programme, des besoins des collectivités, du risque et de la disponibilité du financement. Les plans et propositions sont évalués, recommandés et approuvés selon les critères suivants :

Tous les plans ou propositions doivent :

Avis aux demandeurs

Conformément à l’objectif que le Ministère s’est fixé de soutenir le cadre de développement des communautés et de renforcement des capacités (DCRC), il est possible que l’on communique des renseignements non personnels obtenus dans votre plan à des partenaires internes et à d’autres ministères (comme Santé Canada) afin de bonifier les investissements dans la capacité axés sur les collectivités et stimuler les partenariats.

Si le plan comprend des renseignements personnels, ceux-ci seront administrés conformément à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Phase d'approbation

Au terme de l’évaluation et de l’approbation du plan ou de la proposition, les demandeurs sont avisés par écrit de la décision d’AANC. Lorsqu'une activité proposée est approuvée par un comité, l'auteur de la proposition ou du plan reçoit une Lettre d'approbation de projet. Cette lettre détaillera les activités qui pourront être financées ainsi que les exigences en matière de rapports connexes. L'auteur du plan ou de la proposition et le Ministère concluront une entente de financement ou conviendront des changements à apporter à une entente en vigueur.

Phase de rapport

Rapport annuel

Chaque prestataire doit préparer et soumettre un Rapport sur les activités et les dépenses. Tous les documents pertinents ainsi que tous les résultats attendus détaillés dans la Lettre d’approbation de projet doivent accompagner le rapport. Font partie des documents pertinents des preuves d’achat, des factures et des certificats de formation.

Les prestataires ne seront pas admissibles à recevoir d’autre financement dans le cadre du Programme de développement professionnel et institutionnel si leur rapport annuel est soumis en retard. Si un rapport complet n’est pas présenté dans un délai raisonnable, les fonds versés au prestataire feront l’objet d’un recouvrement pouvant aller jusqu’à la pleine valeur de la contribution.

Dans de nombreux cas, les projets financent la création de produits concrets, comme des codes, des politiques, des plans comptables, des gabarits, des cadres, des constitutions, des documents de formation et des plans. Afin que les produits à livrer puissent devenir une ressource commune, les ententes de financement renferment des dispositions standard permettant au Ministère de diffuser publiquement ces documents. Les conditions relatives aux droits d’auteur et à la propriété intellectuelle visent à permettre la réalisation d’économies d’échelle en rendant tous les produits à livrer accessibles aux futurs demandeurs. Il s’agit de fournir aux bénéficiaires, qui pourront les examiner et les adapter à leurs propres besoins, une base de connaissances toujours d’actualité sur les ressources en renforcement de la capacité de gouvernance.

Annexe A : Projets, activités et dépenses admissibles, et restrictions relatives aux approbations

Projets admissibles

Exemples de projets admissibles :

  • Achat de logiciels ou de matériel qui sera utilisé pour l’administration financière générale de la Première Nation
  • Un examen complet de la gouvernance visant une bonne partie ou la totalité des programmes qui permettra de dresser un plan stratégique à court ou à long terme pour une Première Nation
  • De la formation en gestion financière ou en gestion des ressources humaines pour le conseil, le chef et les gestionnaires de bande, ou pour le personnel du bureau de la bande

Exemples de projets non admissibles :

  • Achat de matériel ou de logiciels nécessaires à l’administration d’un seul programme (ex. : logiciel de programme social)
  • Examen d’un programme au terme duquel sera préparé un document qui servira à la gestion de ce programme (ex. : un plan de logement ou un code de gestion des terres)
  • De la formation pour le personnel sur des logiciels qui portera essentiellement sur les activités d’un programme (ex. : de la formation pour le personnel des services à l’enfance et à la famille sur de nouveaux logiciels de SEF)
  • Activités de développement de la capacité qui figurent déjà dans le plan de travail approuvé d’un conseil tribal et qui seront financées par le conseil tribal.

Activités admissibles Note de bas de page 1

Les activités proposées peuvent recevoir du financement si elles améliorent la capacité d’exercer les pouvoirs relatifs à au moins une des fonctions du gouvernement.

Fonction du gouvernement Exemples d'activités de développement de la capacité de gouvernance admissibles Note de bas de page 1 Exemples d'activités non admissibles
Leadership: Codes de sélection des dirigeants, code électoral coutumier, orientation des chefs et des conseillers, politiques sur les rôles et les responsabilités des élus/personnes nommées Coûts d’une élection, réunions régulières du chef et du conseil, coûts des résolutions du conseil de bande
Appartenance Codes d’appartenance Salaire du commis aux effectifs
Compétence législative Politiques sur les règlements Frais de litige
Participation communautaire Codes de consultation de la collectivité, codes pour les appels et la résolution des différends Réunions pour les affaires ordinaires de la collectivité
Relations externes Politiques ou codes sur la façon de faire affaire avec d’autres gouvernements ou avec le secteur privé Frais de déplacement pour les réunions régulières avec d’autres gouvernements
Planification et gestion du risque Formation en planification stratégique Plans de logement, plans d’utilisation des terres
Gestion financière Codes financiers, formation et mise à niveau relatifs aux systèmes financiers Coûts d’une vérification
Gestion des ressources humaines Codes de ressources humaines, élaboration d’échelles salariales et de descriptions de travail normalisées, politiques et formation en relations de travail Coûts du recrutement et salaires des employés
Gestion de l’information / technologie de l’information Politiques relatives à la sécurité de l’information, mise à niveau de la technologie de l’information du bureau de la bande Coût des services Internet
Administration de base Formation pour le personnel de bureau, codes administratifs Frais d’exploitation qui existeraient même sans le financement du projet

Dépenses admissibles

Les dépenses mentionnées dans les plans ou propositions ne sont valables que si elles appuient une activité admissible et qu'elles correspondent à une ou plusieurs des catégories suivantes :

  • Frais de scolarité et de formation
  • Salaires et traitements
  • Voyages, transport et hébergement
  • Télécommunications
  • Autres communications
  • Loyer de bureau et frais généraux
  • Fournitures de bureau et impression
  • Services professionnels
  • Initiatives d’information communautaire
  • Conception, mise en œuvre et entretien de systèmes
  • Matériel et logiciels nécessaires au soutien de la collecte, de l’analyse et de la déclaration des données

Les demandes de fonds supplémentaires pour les frais d’« administration » généraux d’un projet (10 % du coût du projet, par exemple) ne sont pas recevables. Le coût de l'administration des projets du Programme de développement professionnel et institutionnel doit être intégré aux dépenses proposées plutôt que de s'y ajouter.

Le Programme de développement professionnel et institutionnel peut seulement servir au remboursement des frais qui étaient soumis dans une proposition avant que les dépenses soient engagées.

Restrictions relatives aux approbations

Financement de projet seulement : Le Programme de développement professionnel et institutionnel n’offre pas de fonds opérationnels de base. Les prestataires doivent savoir qu’ils ne doivent pas compter sur le financement du Programme de développement professionnel et institutionnel comme source de revenu stable.

Répétition et prolongation de projets : Le Programme de développement professionnel et institutionnel ne peut pas financer de projets identiques ayant le même bénéficiaire d'une année à l'autre. Un projet peut être répété si les bénéficiaires diffèrent, par exemple lorsqu’une organisation répète un projet de formation pour des bénéficiaires qui n’ont pas suivi la formation.

Les bénéficiaires et prestataires ne doivent pas interpréter le financement reçu du Programme de développement professionnel et institutionnel pour l'année en cours comme une garantie qu'AANC financera les activités prévues pour les exercices suivants.

Bénéficiaires visés par la gestion des défauts de conformité : Les bénéficiaires visés par la gestion des défauts de conformité sont invités à présenter une demande de financement au titre du Programme de développement professionnel et institutionnel en vue de la réalisation de projets de renforcement des capacités de gouvernance qui les aideront à compléter leur plan d’action de la gestion. Les fonds du Programme de développement professionnel et institutionnel ne peuvent servir à régler le coût de la cogestion ou des séquestres-administrateurs.

Double emploi : Le Programme de développement professionnel et institutionnel est conçu de manière à être mis en œuvre avec souplesse ainsi qu’à éviter que ses activités ne fassent pas double emploi avec celles que financent d'autres programmes et qu'il ne complète pas le financement dans d'autres secteurs de programme. Les activités visant à fournir de la formation, des ressources ou des services à un programme précis d’AANC ne sont pas admissibles au financement. Par contre, les activités qui ont des incidences indirectes sur une bonne partie ou sur la totalité des programmes, parce qu'elles renforcent la capacité de gouvernance du bénéficiaire en ce qui concerne au moins une des dix fonctions du gouvernement, sont admissibles au financement.

Ressources existantes de gouvernance : : Lorsqu'il existe des ressources qui se rapprochent de celles d’une activité proposée dans le cadre d'un projet, le Programme de développement professionnel et institutionnel ne finance pas en totalité le coût de l'élaboration d'un nouveau produit. Dans les cas de ce genre, le Programme de développement professionnel et institutionnel pourra financer les coûts associés à la planification, à la participation, à l'adaptation de produits existants aux besoins particuliers du bénéficiaire, à la ratification et à la mise en œuvre.

L'Administration centrale d'AANC a réuni des exemples des nombreux produits et gabarits généralement créés grâce aux fonds du Programme de développement professionnel et institutionnel.

Date de modification :