Inquiry design meeting #1: December 11, 2015, Ottawa

The National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls held its first engagement meeting in Ottawa on Friday, December 11, 2015. This pre-Inquiry meeting included survivors, families and loved ones. Their experiences, views and contributions will be used to help design the inquiry.

A summary of the first meeting is provided below. The summary is not a complete account of the discussions. Instead, it highlights the key themes that emerged from this engagement meeting.

 

Choose a topic:

Overview

The first engagement meeting opened and closed with traditional ceremonies. All those in attendance acknowledged and honoured the women and girls who were murdered and who are still missing. Prayers were also offered for those most affected by these tragedies.

Survivors, family members and loved ones gathered together in a large circle. They shared their personal experiences with violence against their daughters, sisters, cousins, and friends. The Ministers of Indigenous and Northern Affairs, Justice and Attorney General of Canada, and Status of Women heard first-hand about the effects of this violence on the families and their communities. The Ministers also learned about the needs of the families and loved ones to move forward and to heal.  The need for healing came through as a clear and central theme throughout the day.

The participants stressed that the national Inquiry must be designed with their direct involvement. The participation of the survivors, families, loved ones is necessary if the Inquiry is to be meaningful. Participants also went through a list of specific questions and their answers clearly show the importance and value of having these voices heard.

Who attended

The first pre-Inquiry meeting was attended by survivors, families and loved ones of murdered and missing Indigenous women and girls.  There were also representatives of front-line and Indigenous organizations. Also in attendance were:

The Deputy Ministers and other senior officials from each of the three federal departments were also present throughout the day.

Over 70 family members and loved ones participated from several Indigenous communities. Most came from the greater Ottawa-Gatineau region.  Some also attended from the Atlantic region and Manitoba as they wanted to attend the first meeting. Elders and health support workers were also present to provide a safe and supportive setting.

Leadership and participation

Two questions asked were who should lead and who should take part in the Inquiry.  The views on leadership included the need to have:

Participants also identified which groups should have a chance to take part in the Inquiry:

Participants stressed the importance of involving survivors, families and loved ones, and to do so by visiting their communities. To make this possible, participants said the Inquiry must provide:

Priorities and key issues

Participants identified the issues the Inquiry must address if it is to produce recommendations for specific actions. These issues include:

Participants want the Inquiry's final report to include recommendations for specific actions by:

In general, the participants agreed that solving the problem of violence will be a long-term process. As such, efforts to address violence will need to be monitored, measured and supported. As time passes, attention should continue to focus on the needs and concerns of survivors, families and loved ones.

Support and cultural practices

Participants stressed the need to include traditional practices and ceremonies in the Inquiry process. The Inquiry must also include healing processes to acknowledge and address the trauma felt by those affected.

Recommendations about how to include cultural practices and ceremony include:

Additional comments

As well as discussing the questions listed in the discussion guide, participants were invited to share other comments and views on the design of the Inquiry.  These include:

Date modified:

Première rencontre sur la définition des paramètres de l'enquête : le 11 décembre 2015, Ottawa

L'enquête nationale sur les femmes et les filles autochtones disparues et assassinées a tenu sa première rencontre de mobilisation à Ottawa le vendredi 11 décembre 2015. Des survivants, des familles et des proches des victimes ont participé à cette rencontre préalable à l'enquête. Leurs expériences, opinions et contributions seront utilisées pour définir les paramètres de l'enquête.

Un résumé de la première rencontre est présenté ci-dessous. Ce résumé ne consiste pas en un compte rendu complet des discussions. Il met plutôt en relief les principaux thèmes ressortis de cette rencontre de mobilisation.

 

Choisir un sujet :

Survol

La première rencontre de mobilisation s'est ouverte et s'est terminée par des cérémonies traditionnelles. Tous les participants ont reconnu et honoré les femmes et les filles qui ont été assassinées et qui sont toujours portées disparues. Des prières ont aussi été adressées aux personnes les plus touchées par ces tragédies.

Les survivants, les membres des familles et les proches des victimes ont tous formé un grand cercle. Ils ont partagé leurs expériences personnelles de la violence faite à leurs filles, à leurs sœurs, à leurs cousines et à leurs amies. La ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord, la ministre de la Justice et procureure générale du Canada, ainsi que la ministre de la Condition féminine ont entendu de vive voix les effets de cette violence sur les familles et les collectivités. Les ministres ont aussi pris connaissance des besoins des familles et des proches qui leur permettront d'aller de l'avant et de guérir. Le besoin de guérison a clairement été mis de l'avant comme thème central tout au long de la journée.

Les participants ont précisé qu'ils souhaitaient être directement impliqués dans la définition des paramètres de l'enquête nationale. La participation des survivants, des familles et des proches de victimes est essentielle pour que l'enquête soit significative. Les participants ont aussi répondu à diverses questions et leurs réponses ont clairement démontré l'importance et la valeur de leurs voix.

Les participants

Des survivants, des familles et des proches de femmes et de filles autochtones disparues et assassinées ont participé à cette première rencontre préalable à l'enquête. Des représentants des organisations autochtones et de première ligne ont aussi participé à cette rencontre. Notons aussi la présence de :

Les sous-ministres et d'autres hauts fonctionnaires des trois ministères fédéraux étaient aussi présents tout au long de la journée.

Plus de 70 membres des familles et proches des victimes de plusieurs collectivités autochtones ont participé à la rencontre. La majorité provenait de la région métropolitaine d'Ottawa-Gatineau. Certains avaient fait le chemin de la région de l'Atlantique et du Manitoba, car ils voulaient assister à la première rencontre. Des aînés et des travailleurs en santé communautaire étaient aussi présents pour s'assurer que la rencontre se tienne dans un contexte sécuritaire et favorable.

Leadership et participation

Deux questions portaient sur qui doit diriger l'enquête et qui doit y participer. Selon les participants à la rencontre, la direction de l'enquête doit :

Les participants ont aussi ciblé les groupes qui devraient avoir l'occasion de participer à l'enquête :

Les participants ont insisté sur l'importance de faire participer les survivants, les membres des familles, et les proches de victimes en visitant leurs collectivités. Pour ce faire, les participants ont indiqué que l'enquête doit assurer :

Priorités et questions clés

Les participants ont identifié les enjeux auxquels l'enquête doit répondre en vue de formuler des recommandations pour la prise de mesures particulières. Parmi ces enjeux, mentionnons les suivants :

Les participants veulent que le rapport final de l'enquête présente des recommandations concernant la prise de mesures précises par :

Règle générale, les participants ont convenu que de régler le problème de violence sera un processus à long terme. Ainsi, les efforts mis en place pour contrer la violence devront être suivis, mesurés et appuyés. Au fils du temps, les efforts mis en place devront continuer de mettre l'accent sur les besoins et les préoccupations des survivants, des familles et de leurs proches.

Soutien et pratiques culturelles

Les participants ont insisté sur la nécessité d'inclure des pratiques et des cérémonies traditionnelles au processus d'enquête. L'enquête doit aussi comprendre des processus de guérison afin de reconnaître le traumatisme subi par les personnes touchées et de le surmonter.

Parmi les recommandations sur la façon d'inclure les pratiques et les cérémonies culturelles, notons :

Autres commentaires

Les participants ont été invités à fournir leurs commentaires et leurs opinions sur la définition des paramètres de l'enquête et à discuter sur les questions autres que celles énumérées dans le guide de discussion. Les voici :

Date de modification :