Evaluation of the Implementation of the Enhanced Prevention Focused Approach in Quebec and Prince Edward Island for the First Nations Child and Family Services Program - Follow-up Report Status Update as of September 30, 2014

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

PDF Version (42 Kb, 5 Pages)

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of September 30, 2014

ESDPP

Evaluation of the Implementation of the Enhanced Prevention Focused Approach in Quebec and Prince Edward Island for the First Nations Child and Family Services Program
Approval Date: 2014-02-05
Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program Response
1. Headquarters ensure that the expected outcomes and performance measures for the EPFA are clearly distinguished and articulated in the Social Development Performance Measurement Strategy.

1a. Headquarters will develop an annex to the AANDC Social Development Performance Measurement (PM) Strategy at the sub-program level (2.2.4) for Child and Family Services. This annex will clearly articulate details, expectations, expected results and indicators associated with the sub-program's activities, including the EPFA.

1b. Headquarters will return to the EPMRC in April 2014 to seek approval for the sub-program PM Strategy Annex (to be appended to an amended version of the program's PM Strategy) and to table its annual update on the Social Development PM Strategy.

April 2014

Status: Completed – Closed

Update As of 30/06/2014

  1. SPPB completed a condensed version of the 2011 Social Development Performance Measurement Strategy, which includes program-specific annexes. Annex E is specific to the FNCFS sub-program, and provides information on early results, secondary data sources and updates to indicators, which includes EPFA.
  2. SPPB provided its annual update on the 2011 Social Development Performance Measurement Strategy to the Evaluation Performance Measurement and Review Committee April 25, 2014. The condensed version of the 2011 Social Development Performance Measurement Strategy was presented and approved. This product will be updated annually and posted to the internet in August 2014.
AES: Recommend to close- Fully implemented. Closed.

2. Regional staff and Headquarters improve the monitoring and reporting of the EPFA by:

  1. providing guidance and monitoring of the agencies' implementation of a results-based management approach that integrates planning, resources, activities and performance measurements to improve decision making, transparency, and accountability.
  2. ensuring that prevention activities are reported based on the expected outcomes for the EPFA, and that expenditures on prevention activities are tracked and reported.
  1. Recognizing all partners' respective roles and responsibilities, the Department will articulate its views in an accountability framework to clarify roles and responsibilities of tripartite partners including expectations for AANDC funding recipients. As well, AANDC Program officials will continue to work with provincial counterparts on issues of accountability, compliance, oversight and monitoring of on reserve FNCFS agencies as provinces are primarily responsible for the delivery of child and family services regardless of residency.
  2. AANDC will ensure that all expected outcomes for EPFA are reported and expenditures tracked following the launch of Phase 2 of the CFS IMS April 1 2014. Indicators will be analyzed per region, and per agency. This will provide a detailed analysis of investments provided under EPFA and resulting outcomes.
Fall 2015

Status:Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2014:

2a. In Quebec, through Tripartite Table meetings, AANDC has engaged regularly (8 times since April 2014), with its provincial and First Nation partners to provide guidance to agencies. The adoption of Bill 24 includes a multitude of factors that will impact the assessment, accreditation, administration (including human resources and financial administration) of foster families and kinship care placements.  In light of this, AANDC has engaged with all parties to determine new roles and responsibilities to lay the groundwork for gradually building agency capacity to respond to management challenges as service delivery and financial administration issues should not be addressed in isolation.

AANDC will also be discussing roles and responsibilities through the Tripartite Table meetings to update the current Tripartite Accountability Framework as well as introducing elements of a possible Bilateral Accountability Framework with the Province of Quebec including possible joint compliance reviews.

In addition, work is being undertaken as part of the national approach to developing consistent FNCFS program compliance tools that would adopt risk-based analysis and engage willing provincial partners. The region will complete one pilot of National tools at one of the three FNCFS compliance reviews identified for completion in 2014-2015. This collaborative work is also expected to gradually build agency capacity in responding to management challenges as service delivery and financial administration issues should not be addressed in isolation.

As per the tripartite accountability framework, roles and responsibilities are being solidified through agreements. In June 2014, the Province of PEI and Mi'kmaq Confederacy of PEI (MCPEI) signed a new 5-year service agreement from April 1, 2014 to March 31, 2019. The agreement states that the province will continue to provide protection services and bill MCPEI for eligible maintenance expenses as per the AANDC National Manual and authorities, and MCPEI will continue to provide preventative services on reserve as per the Child Protection Act.

2b. AANDC's FNCFS Information Management System has been released in three stages: Release 1 - April 2013, Release 2 - April 2014 and Release 3 - June 2014. The Information Management System supports robust data collection. Agencies are requested to report on prevention activities through this system. Data collection will ensure that detailed analysis of investments provided under EPFA and resulting outcomes are tracked and reported further to key performance indicators set out in the SPPB Performance Measurement Strategy.

AES: Good progress to date. Report back in Q4.
3. Headquarters assess the costing models on a regular basis and revise as appropriate to ensure that they are not outdated.

AANDC will participate in tripartite meetings with provinces and agencies on EPFA implementation, which will include reviewing the costing associated with EPFA. AANDC HQ will also continue to liaise with Regions through monthly conference calls and regular meetings to review financial pressures that may arise during EPFA implementation. These meetings and discussions will allow HQ to determine whether pressures can be addressed and forecast future costing, while also allowing HQ and Regions to develop possible mitigation strategies for arising issues.

March 31, 2015

Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2014:

As stipulated in the caveat of the Management Response Action Plan, AANDC can review costing models under EPFA, but any changes to costing models that result in increased funding will create cost pressures on the program that may not be able to be addressed without seeking external funding sources.

AANDC continues to work with its partners to adjust to changing provincial standards and practices.

For example, monthly conference calls continue to be held between HQ FNCFS program staff and their regional counterparts to discuss arising issues. Quebec Region is also working closely with FNCFS partners in the Province of Quebec to assess the agencies' allocations and gain information needed to support regular review of the costing models. These are then shared with HQ.

Tripartite meetings between AANDC, the province and MCPEI occur semi-annually. The next meeting is scheduled for Fall 2014. Region informs HQ of any financial pressures as needed. All other issues are discussed with HQ on the monthly calls.

AES: Good progress to date. Report in Q1 2015-16.

4. Facilitate the creation of a mentoring network among the FNCFS agencies in order to increase their capacity by providing opportunities for sharing experiences and practical knowledge. AANDC will continue to provide funding for regional tripartite table meetings. AANDC will encourage partners to make use of regional tripartite meetings to encourage networking and sharing experiences and practical knowledge amongst agency representatives. AANDC will also promote other existing networks such as social media that maybe used for this purpose. Use of resources will focus on building agency networks in the regions necessary to positively impact the health and well-being of the child, youth and guardian population, aligned with their respective priorities as identified in their business plans. Fall 2014

Status: Request to close (completed)

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2014:

The last Quebec tripartite roundtable took place from October 21 to 23, 2014. First Nation, provincial and AANDC representatives participated in the meeting which was financially supported by the Department.

AANDC will continue to engage with FNCFS agencies to confirm if other types of networks could be useful to them. Following their input, the FNCFS Program will consult with communications to prioritize options and determine feasibility.

PEI only has one service provider for on-reserve. Opportunities to network with service providers in other jurisdictions are encouraged and facilitated by the AANDC regional office. MCPEI CFS director will be meeting with the Innu CYFS Transition Coordinator in November 2014 to discuss similar service delivery practices.

AES: Good progress to date. Report back in Q4.

 
 
Date modified:

Évaluation de la mise en œuvre de l’approche améliorée axée sur la prévention au Québec et à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard pour le programme des Services à l’enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 septembre 2014

Format PDF (51 Ko, 6 pages)

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité d'évaluation, de mesure du rendement et d'examen en date du 30 septembre 2014

SPPEDS

Évaluation de la mise en œuvre de l’approche améliorée axée sur la prévention au Québec et à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard pour le programme des Services à l’enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations
Date d'approbation : le 5 février 2014
Recommandations du projet Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement prévue
Réponse du programme
1. Nous recommandons que l'administration centrale s'assure que les résultats escomptés et les mesures de rendement pour l'AAAP sont bien formulés et peuvent être facilement différenciés dans la Stratégie de mesure du rendement - Développement social.

1a) L'administration centrale inclura une annexe à la Stratégie de mesure du rendement (SMR) - Développement social d'AADNC au niveau du sous-programme (2.2.4) pour les Services à l'enfance et à la famille. Cette annexe précisera clairement les détails, les attentes, les résultats escomptés et les indicateurs associés aux activités du sous-programme, y compris l'AAAP.

1b) En avril 2014, l'administration centrale retournera devant le CEMRE pour faire approuver cette annexe (qui sera jointe à la version modifiée de la SMR du sous-programme) et pour déposer son compte rendu annuel sur la SMR liée au développement social.

Avril 2014

État : Terminée – fermée

Mise à jour au 30 juin 2014

  1. La Direction générale de la politique sociale et des programmes (DGPSP) a mis au point une version abrégée de la Stratégie de mesure du rendement pour le développement social de 2011, qui comprend des annexes propres aux programmes. L'annexe E concerne directement le sous-programme des SEFPN et fournit des renseignements sur les résultats préliminaires, les sources de données secondaires et les indicateurs mis à jour, ce qui comprend l'AAAP.
  2. Le 25 avril 2014, la DGPSP a présenté au Comité de l'évaluation, de la mesure du rendement et de l'examen son compte rendu annuel sur l'état de la mise en œuvre de la Stratégie de mesure du rendement pour le développement social de 2011. La version abrégée de la Stratégie de mesure du rendement pour le développement social de 2011 a été présentée et approuvée. Ce document sera mis à jour chaque année et affiché sur Internet en août 2014.

SVE : Recommandation de fermer le dossier - pleinement mis en œuvre. Fermée.

2. Nous recommandons que le personnel des régions et de l'administration centrale améliore ses activités de surveillance et de compte rendu de l'AAAP :

  1. En fournissant des conseils, de l'encadrement et de la surveillance quant à la mise en application par les organismes d'une approche de gestion axée sur les résultats, qui intègre la planification, l'affectation des ressources, les activités et les mesures de rendement, en vue d'améliorer la prise de décisions, la transparence et la reddition de comptes;
  2. En s'assurant que les activités de prévention sont signalées en fonction des résultats escomptés pour l'AAAP et que les dépenses liées à la prévention sont suivies et comptabilisées.
  1. En tenant compte des rôles et des responsabilités propres à chaque partenaire, le Ministère se prononcera à ce sujet par la diffusion d'un cadre de responsabilités dans lequel seront précisés les rôles et responsabilités des trois parties, y compris les attentes à l'égard des bénéficiaires du financement d'AADNC; faisant en sorte que les responsables des programmes continuent de travailler avec leurs collègues provinciaux à des questions telles que la reddition de comptes, la conformité, le contrôle et la surveillance des organismes de SEFPN dans les réserves puisque ce sont les provinces qui sont principalement responsables de fournir les services à l'enfance et à la famille quel que soit le lieu de résidence;
  2. AADNC veillera à ce que tous les résultats escomptés pour l'AAAP soient communiqués et à ce que les dépenses soient suivies dès que la phase 2 du SGI pour les SEF aura été lancée le 1er avril 2014. On analysera les indicateurs par région et par organisme afin d'obtenir une analyse détaillée des investissements fournis dans le cadre de l'AAAP et des résultats de ceux-ci.
Automne 2015

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2014 :

2a. Au Québec, au cours des réunions de la table tripartite, AADNC s'engage régulièrement (huit fois depuis avril 2014) en collaboration avec ses partenaires provinciaux et des Premières Nations à donner des conseils aux organismes. L'adoption du projet de loi 24 comprend une multitude de facteurs qui auront un effet sur l'évaluation, l'accréditation et l'administration (notamment sur les ressources humaines et l'administration des finances) des prises en charge par la parenté et des familles d'accueil. De ce fait, AADNC s'engage auprès de toutes les parties à déterminer de nouveaux rôles et responsabilités afin d'établir des plans pour améliorer graduellement la capacité d'intervention des organismes par rapport aux difficultés de gestion. En effet, les problèmes relatifs à la prestation de services et à l'administration financière ne devraient pas être traités de façon indépendante.

AADNC discutera également des rôles et responsabilités dans le cadre des réunions de la table tripartite afin de mettre à jour le cadre de responsabilisation tripartite actuel, ainsi que de l'introduction d'éléments d'un cadre de responsabilisation bilatéral possible avec la province de Québec, qui comprendrait possiblement des examens communs de conformité.

De plus, des mesures sont prises, dans le cadre du programme national dont le but est d'élaborer des outils uniformes sur la conformité du programme des SEFPN. Ces outils comprendraient des analyses fondées sur le risque et ils mobiliseraient les partenaires provinciaux intéressés. La région effectuera un projet pilote des outils nationaux conjointement à l'un des trois examens sur la conformité du programme des SEFPN qui doivent être menés en 2014-2015. Ce travail collectif a pour but également de renforcer graduellement la capacité des organismes à réagir aux problèmes de gestion puisque les problèmes relatifs à la prestation de services et à l'administration financière ne doivent pas être traités de façon indépendante.

Dans le cadre de responsabilisation tripartite, les rôles et responsabilités sont solidifiés à l'aide d'ententes. En juin 2014, le gouvernement de l'Î.-P.-É. et la Mi'kmaq Confederacy of PEI(MCPEI) ont signé une nouvelle entente de services de cinq (5) ans, du 1er avril 2014 au 31 mars 2019. Selon l'entente, la province continuera à fournir les services de protection et elle facturera la MCPEI pour les dépenses admissibles d'entretien conformément au Manuel national et aux autorités d'AADNC. La MCPEI continuera à offrir des services de prévention dans les réserves conformément à la loi Child Protection Act.

2b. La mise en fonction du système de gestion de l'information du programme des SEFPN d'AADNC s'est déroulée en trois étapes : étape 1 en avril 2013, étape 2 en avril 2014 et étape 3 en juin 2014. Le système de gestion de l'information favorise une collecte massive de données. Les organismes sont tenus de produire des rapports sur les activités de prévention dans le système. La collecte de données permet de s'assurer que les analyses détaillées d'investissements produites en vertu de l'AAAP et que les résultats connexes sont répertoriés et comparés aux indicateurs clés de rendement énumérés dans la Stratégie de mesure du rendement de la DGPSP.

SVE : Progrès importants jusqu'à maintenant. Faire rapport sur les progrès au T4.

3. Nous recommandons que l'administration centrale évalue périodiquement les modèles d'établissement des coûts et les modifie, le cas échéant, afin de s'assurer qu'ils répondent toujours aux besoins. AADNC participera à des rencontres tripartites avec les provinces et les organismes, pour discuter de la mise en œuvre de l'AAAP, y compris l'examen du modèle d'établissement des coûts qui lui est associé. L'administration centrale d'AADNC continuera également d'assurer la liaison avec les régions par le biais de conférences téléphoniques mensuelles et de réunions périodiques afin d'examiner les contraintes financières que pourrait entraîner la mise en œuvre de l'AAAP. Ces réunions et ces échanges permettront à l'administration centrale de se pencher sur ces contraintes et déterminer s'il est possible de les prévoir; ils donneront également l'occasion à l'administration centrale et aux régions d'élaborer des stratégies possibles d'atténuation lorsque des enjeux de ce genre font surface. 31 mars 2015

État : En cours

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2014 :

Comme il est précisé dans la mise en garde de la réponse de la direction au plan d'action, AADNC peut examiner les modèles de prévision des coûts dans le cadre de l'AAAP, mais tout changement à ces modèles entraînant une augmentation du financement exercera des pressions sur les coûts du programme, que l'on risque de ne pas être en mesure d'alléger sans solliciter des sources de financement externes.

AADNC continue de travailler avec ses partenaires afin de s'ajuster aux changements de normes et de pratiques provinciales. Par exemple, des conférences téléphoniques mensuelles continuent d'avoir lieu entre les agents du programme des SEFPN de l'AC et leurs homologues régionaux afin de discuter des nouveaux problèmes. La région de Québec travaille étroitement aussi avec les partenaires du programme des SEFPN dans la province de Québec afin d'évaluer les allocations des organismes et d'obtenir l'information nécessaire pour appuyer un examen régulier des modèles de prévision des coûts. Ces derniers sont par la suite communiqués à l'AC.

Les réunions tripartites entre AADNC, la province et la MCPEI ont lieu deux fois par an. La prochaine réunion est prévue pour l'automne 2014. La région informe l'AC de toute pression financière selon le besoin. Toutes les autres questions sont abordées avec l'AC pendant les appels mensuels.

SVE : Progrès importants jusqu'à maintenant. Faire rapport sur les progrès au T1 de 2015-2016.

4. Nous recommandons de favoriser la création d'un réseau de mentorat parmi les organismes de SEFPN afin d'accroître leur capacité, en leur donnant l'occasion de partager des expériences et d'acquérir des connaissances pratiques. AADNC continuera de financer les réunions des tables tripartites régionales. AADNC invitera ses partenaires à profiter des réunions tripartites régionales pour faire du réseautage et partager des expériences et des connaissances pratiques avec les représentants des organismes. Le Ministère fera également connaître d'autres réseaux existants, tels que les médias sociaux qui peuvent servir à cette fin. Les ressources seront principalement utilisées pour établir des réseaux entre les organismes dans les régions, ce qui s'impose pour pouvoir influer positivement sur la santé et le bien-être des enfants, des jeunes et de ceux qui s'en occupent, en fonction de leurs priorités respectives indiquées dans leurs plans d'activités. Automne 2014

État : Demande de fermeture (terminée)

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2014 :

La dernière table ronde tripartite du Québec s'est déroulée du 21 au 23 octobre 2014. Les représentants des Premières nations, des provinces et d'AADNC ont participé à la réunion, qui était financée par le ministère.

AADNC continuera de s'engager auprès des organismes de SEFPN afin de vérifier si d'autres types de réseaux pourraient leur être utiles. Après avoir obtenu des commentaires, le programme des SEFPN consultera les Communications afin d'établir la priorité des options et de déterminer leur faisabilité.

L'Î.-P.-É. ne bénéficie que d'un fournisseur de services qui travaille dans les réserves. Le bureau régional d'AADNC encourage et facilite la création de réseaux possibles avec des fournisseurs de services d'autres administrations. Le directeur des SEF de la MCPEI rencontrera le coordinateur de transition de l'Aide à l'enfance, à la jeunesse et à la famille des Innus en novembre 2014 afin de discuter de leurs pratiques semblables dans la prestation de services.

SVE : Progrès importants jusqu'à maintenant. Faire rapport sur les progrès au T4.

 
 
Date de modification :