Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

The Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) provided those directly or indirectly affected by the legacy of the Indian Residential Schools system with an opportunity to share their stories and experiences.

Choose a topic:

About the Truth and Reconciliation Commission

The Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement, the largest class-action settlement in Canadian history, began to be implemented in 2007. One of the elements of the agreement was the establishment of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada to facilitate reconciliation among former students, their families, their communities and all Canadians.

The official mandate of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission is found in Schedule "N" of the Settlement Agreement which includes the principles that guided the Commission in its important work.

Between 2007 and 2015, the Government of Canada provided about $72 million to support the TRC's work. The TRC spent six years travelling to all parts of Canada and heard from more than 6,500 witnesses. The TRC also hosted seven national events across Canada to engage the Canadian public, educate people about the history and legacy of the residential schools system, and share and honour the experiences of former students and their families.

The Truth and Reconciliation Commission created a historical record of the residential schools system. As part of this process, the Government of Canada provided over five million records to the TRC. The National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation at the University of Manitoba will house all of the documents collected by the TRC.

In June 2015, the TRC held its Closing Event in Ottawa and presented the Executive Summary of the findings contained in its multi-volume Final Report, including 94 "calls to action" (or recommendations) PDF Format (298 Kb, 20 pages) to further reconciliation between Canadians and Indigenous peoples.

In December 2015, the TRC released its entire six-volume Final Report. All Canadians are encouraged to read the summary PDF Format (11.97 Mb, 536 pages) or the Final Report to learn more about the terrible history of Indian Residential Schools and its sad legacy.

For more information please visit the Truth and Reconciliation Commission website.

The Truth and Reconciliation Commission's Final Report

The Truth and Reconciliation Commission's Final Report is a testament to the courage of each and every survivor and family member who shared their story.

As part of the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau accepted the Final Report of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission on behalf of Canada.

The Government of Canada continues to be committed to a renewed nation-to-nation relationship with Indigenous peoples based on recognition of rights, respect, co-operation and partnership. The Government of Canada will work closely with provinces, territories, First Nations, the Métis Nation, Inuit groups and church entities to implement recommendations of the TRC and further reconciliation to the benefit of all Canadians. This will include the implementation of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.

The Government of Canada also recognizes that true reconciliation goes beyond the scope of the Commission's recommendations. The Prime Minister announced that Canada will work with leaders of First Nations, the Métis Nation, Inuit, provinces and territories, parties to the Indian Residential School Settlement Agreement, and other key partners, to design a national engagement strategy for developing and implementing a national reconciliation framework, informed by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's recommendations.

As an important step in rebuilding Canada's relationship with Indigenous peoples, the Prime Minister of Canada met with leaders of the National Indigenous Organizations on December 16, 2015, in Ottawa to continue the dialogue on reconciliation. At that meeting, the Prime Minister committed to National Indigenous Organizations that he would meet with them annually in order to sustain and advance progress on shared priorities.

Find out more:

Date modified:

Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada

La Commission de vérité et réconciliation (CVR) a offert aux personnes touchées directement ou indirectement par les séquelles des pensionnats indiens l'occasion de communiquer leurs récits et leurs expériences.

Choisir un sujet :

À propos de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation

La mise en œuvre de la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens, le plus important règlement de recours collectif de l'histoire du Canada, a débuté en 2007. La Convention de règlement prévoyait notamment l'établissement de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation (CVR) du Canada afin de faciliter la réconciliation entre les anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens, leurs familles, leurs collectivités et tous les Canadiens.

Le mandat officiel de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation se trouve à l'annexe N de la Convention de règlement et présente les principes qui ont guidé la Commission dans ses importants travaux.

De 2007 à 2015, le gouvernement du Canada a versé quelque 72 millions de dollars pour appuyer les travaux de la CVR. Les membres de la Commission se sont rendus aux quatre coins du Canada pour entendre plus de 6 500 témoignages. Ils ont également tenu sept événements nationaux dans différentes régions du pays afin de mobiliser la population canadienne, sensibiliser le public à propos de l'histoire et des séquelles des pensionnats indiens et partager et commémorer les expériences d'anciens élèves et de leurs familles.

La Commission a créé un dossier historique du système des pensionnats indiens. Dans le cadre de ce processus, le gouvernement du Canada lui a fourni plus de cinq millions de dossiers. Le Centre national pour la vérité et réconciliation de l'Université du Manitoba abritera tous les documents recueillis par la Commission.

En juin 2015, la Commission a tenu son événement de clôture à Ottawa, au cours duquel elle a rendu public le sommaire exécutif de son rapport final contenu dans plusieurs volumes. Le sommaire présente « 94 appels à l'action » (et recommandations) - Version PDF (20 pages, 448 Ko) pour favoriser la réconciliation entre les Canadiens et les peuples autochtones.

En décembre 2015, la Commission a publié la totalité des six volumes de son rapport final. Tous les Canadiens sont invités à le lire ou à en lire le sommaire - Version PDF (594 pages, 12.7 Mo) afin d'en apprendre davantage sur la terrible histoire des pensionnats indiens et de leurs affreuses séquelles.

Pour en savoir davantage à ce sujet, veuillez visiter le site Web de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation.

Le rapport final de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation

Le rapport final de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation témoigne du courage de chacun des survivants et des membres de leurs familles ayant partagé leur histoire et leur expérience.

Dans le contexte de la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens, le premier ministre Justin Trudeau a accepté le rapport final de la Commission au nom du Canada.

Le gouvernement du Canada demeure résolu à renouveler la relation de nation à nation avec les peuples autochtones fondée sur la reconnaissance, des droits, le respect, la coopération et le partenariat. Il collaborera de près avec les provinces, les territoires, les Premières Nations, la nation des Métis, les groupes d'Inuit et les Églises afin de mettre en œuvre les recommandations de la Commission et favoriser la réconciliation dans l'intérêt de tous les Canadiens. Cela comprend notamment l'application de la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones, conformément à la Constitution canadienne.

Le gouvernement du Canada est conscient que l'atteinte d'une véritable réconciliation va bien au-delà de la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission. Le premier ministre a annoncé que le Canada travaillera avec les dirigeants des Premières Nations, des Métis, des Inuit, ainsi qu'avec les provinces et les territoires, les signataires de la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens et d’autres partenaires clés, pour concevoir une stratégie nationale de mobilisation en vue d’élaborer et de mettre en œuvre un cadre national de réconciliation, en tenant compte des recommandations de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation.

En vue de rétablir les relations entre le Canada et les peuples autochtones, le premier ministre du Canada a rencontré les dirigeants des organisations autochtones nationales le 16 décembre 2015, à Ottawa, afin de poursuivre le dialogue sur la réconciliation. Lors de cette rencontre, le premier ministre avait promis de rencontrer les organisations autochtones nationales tous les ans dans le but de poursuivre les progrès réalisés en matière de priorités communes et de s’assurer de les faire progresser.

Pour en savoir plus :

Date de modification :