Evaluation of the Impacts of Comprehensive Land Claims and Self-Government Agreements - Federal and Inuvialuit Perspectives - Follow-up Report Status Update as of June 30, 2014

PDF Version (32 Kb, 3 Pages)

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of June 30, 2014

Treaties and Aboriginal Government

Evaluation of the Impacts of Comprehensive Land Claims and Self-Government Agreements - Federal and Inuvialuit Perspectives
Approval Date: 2013-11-22
Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program Response
1. Review the recommendations stemming from the Inuvialuit component, and provide comments on behalf of Canada to Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee on the Inuvialuit recommendations. Review of the Inuvialuit recommendations has begun. Canada will provide comments to Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee on those recommendations that are directed towards Canada. Start Date: Winter, 2013

Completion: Spring, 2014
Status: in progress

Update/Rationale: An initial review of the recommendations has determined that several are under the purview of the Government of the Northwest Territories. Canada will be discussing the response to our recommendations and follow-up actions with the Inuvialuit in September and October, 2014.

AES: Underway (in progress)
2. Continuing with the Implementation Change Agenda, strengthen the "whole of government approach" to monitoring and implementing treaty obligations and risks. Work has already begun on the Implementation Change agenda and the development of resources, accountability and monitoring tools and training/assistance for other government departments. Start Date: already begun

Completion: ongoing
Status: ongoing

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/06/2014:

Training continues for federal employees on the Treaty Obligation Monitoring System and Contracting and Procurement in Land Claim Areas.

An evaluation of the pilot project of the Implementation Management Framework is underway and will be completed early in 2015.

We continue to develop tools and resources and are working with departments to ensure a Whole of Government approach to treaty implementation with enhanced monitoring and oversight roles and functions. We have been asked to provide policy options for the fall of 2014.

AES: Underway (in progress). Report on progress in Q4.
3. Undertake a research agenda to support the monitoring of the impacts of modern treaties. AANDC has approached academia with the view of supporting academic research on the impacts of CLCAs and SGAs. Any initiative to monitor impacts requires the participation of both government and Aboriginal signatories. We will continue to reach out the Land Claims Agreement Coalition with the view of collaborating on this initiative. Start Date: already begun

Completion: ongoing
Status: ongoing

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/06/2014:

We are working with Dr. Ravi Pendakur from the University of Ottawa on a Capstone Seminar on Aboriginal Issues to be offered in the fall of 2014.

AANDC and the Land Claims Agreement Coalition will be offering training on modern treaty implementation for federal officials in December, 2014 in Vancouver, BC

AES: Report on progress in Q4.
4. To improve results-based reporting, coordinate the ongoing monitoring of the effectiveness of the implementation of modern treaties. Implementation Branch monitors the implementation of obligations, and is currently participating in the Performance Measurement Strategy for the Impacts of CLCAs and SGAs to support AANDC's Performance Measurement Strategy Portfolio Action Plan, which support PAA Program 1.3. Phase 1 – Amend Current PM Strategy Start Date: already begun

Phase 2 – Update PM Strategy for Program 1.3

Start: 2015/16

Completion: 2015/16
 
 
 
Date modified:

Évaluation des incidences des accords sur les revendications territoriales globales et l’autonomie gouvernementale - Les perspectives fédérales et inuvialuites - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 juin 2014

Format PDF (32 Ko, 3 pages)

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité d'évaluation, de mesure du rendement et d'examen en date du 30 juin 2014

Traités et gouvernement autochtone

Évaluation des incidences des accords sur les revendications territoriales globales et l’autonomie gouvernementale - Les perspectives fédérales et inuvialuites
Date d'approbation : 2013-11-22
Recommandations du projet Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement prévue
Réponse du programme
1. Passer en revue les recommandations découlant du volet inuvialuit et formuler des commentaires au Comité de l'évaluation, de la mesure du rendement et de l'examen, au nom du gouvernement du Canada. L'examen des recommandations sur le volet inuvialuit est entamé. Le Canada formulera des observations au Comité de l'évaluation, de la mesure du rendement et de l'examen concernant les recommandations qui visent le Canada. Date de début : hiver 2013

Achèvement : printemps 2014
État : en cours

Mise à jour/Justification : Un examen initial des recommandations a permis de déterminer que plusieurs d'entre elles relèvent du gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Le Canada discutera de la réponse à nos recommandations et des mesures de suivi à prendre avec les Inuvialuit en septembre et octobre 2014.

SVE : en cours
2. Conformément au plan de changement en matière de mise en œuvre, renforcer l'approche pangouvernementale en vue du suivi et de la mise en œuvre des obligations découlant des traités et des risques qui s'y rapportent. Le travail est déjà commencé en ce qui concerne le plan de changement en matière de mise en œuvre et la création d'outils de ressources, de reddition de comptes et de surveillance, ainsi que sur une formation et une aide pour le compte d'autres ministères. Date de début : déjà commencé

Achèvement : en cours
État : en cours

Mise à jour/Justification 
Au 30-06-2014

La formation des employés fédéraux se poursuit concernant le Système de surveillance des obligations découlant des traités et la passation de marchés et l'approvisionnement dans les secteurs visés par des revendications territoriales.

Une évaluation du projet pilote du Cadre de gestion de la mise en œuvre est en cours et devrait être terminée au début de 2015.  Nous continuons de concevoir des outils et des ressources et de collaborer avec les ministères afin d'assurer une approche pangouvernementale de la mise en œuvre des traités, assortie d'un renforcement des rôles et des fonctions de contrôle et de surveillance. On nous a demandé de formuler nos options stratégiques à l'automne 2014.

SVE : En cours.  Rapport d'étape au T4.
3. Entreprendre un programme de recherche à l'appui de la surveillance des incidences des traités modernes. AADNC a pris contact avec les universités dans le dessein d'appuyer la recherche universitaire sur les incidences des accords sur les revendications territoriales globales (ARTG) et des accords sur l'autonomie gouvernementale (AAG). Tout projet de surveillance des incidences nécessite la participation aussi bien du gouvernement que des signataires autochtones. Nous poursuivrons nos contacts avec la Coalition pour les ententes sur les revendications territoriales en vue de collaborer à ce projet. Date de début : déjà commencé

Achèvement : en cours
État : en cours

Mise à jour/Justification 
Au 30-06-2014

Nous travaillons avec Ravi Pendakur de l'Université d'Ottawa à la préparation d'un séminaire bilan sur les questions autochtones qui se tiendra à l'automne 2014.

AADNC et la Coalition des signataires d'accords sur les revendications territoriales offriront de la formation aux fonctionnaires fédéraux sur la mise en œuvre des traités modernes en décembre 2014 à Vancouver CB.

SVE : Rapport d'étape au T4.
4. Améliorer l'établissement de rapports axés sur les résultats et coordonner la surveillance continue de l'efficacité de la mise en œuvre des traités modernes. La Direction générale de la mise en œuvre surveille la mise en application des obligations, et participe actuellement à la Stratégie de mesure du rendement relative aux incidences des ARTG et des AAG à l'appui du plan d'action sur le portefeuille de la Stratégie de mesure du rendement d'AADNC, qui appuie le programme 1.3 de l'AAP. Étape 1 – Modifier la stratégie de gestion du rendement actuelle
Date de début : déjà commencé

Étape 2 – Mettre à jour la stratégie de gestion du rendement pour le programme 1.3

Début : 2015-2016

Achèvement : 2015-2016
 
 
 
Date de modification :