Evaluation of the Impacts of Comprehensive Land Claims and Self-Government Agreements - Federal and Inuvialuit Perspectives - Follow-up Report Status Update as of March 31, 2014

PDF Version (34 Kb, 2 Pages)

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of March 31, 2014

Treaties and Aboriginal Government

Evaluation of the Impacts of Comprehensive Land Claims and Self-Government Agreements - Federal and Inuvialuit Perspectives
Approval Date: 2013-11-22
Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program Response
1. Review the recommendations stemming from the Inuvialuit component, and provide comments on behalf of Canada to Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee on the Inuvialuit recommendations. Review of the Inuvialuit recommendations has begun. Canada will provide comments to Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee on those recommendations that are directed towards Canada. Start Date: Winter, 2013

Completion: Spring, 2014
 
2. Continuing with the Implementation Change Agenda, strengthen the "whole of government approach" to monitoring and implementing treaty obligations and risks. Work has already begun on the Implementation Change agenda and the development of resources, accountability and monitoring tools and training/assistance for other government departments. Start Date: already begun

Completion: ongoing
Status: (Ongoing)

Update/Rationale:
As of 20/01/2014:


Additional training has been provided to federal government employees on contracting and procurement in land claims areas. Also, work continues on validating the information in the Treaty Obligation Monitoring System. Implementation Branch also provides policy support and offers advice to other government departments on treaty implementation and obligations.

We will be co-training with the Land Claims Agreement Coalition in Feb. 2014 for federal employees on modern treaties.

AES: In progress
3. Undertake a research agenda to support the monitoring of the impacts of modern treaties. AANDC has approached academia with the view of supporting academic research on the impacts of CLCAs and SGAs. Any initiative to monitor impacts requires the participation of both government and Aboriginal signatories. We will continue to reach out the Land Claims Agreement Coalition with the view of collaborating on this initiative. Start Date: already begun

Completion: ongoing
Status: (Ongoing)

Update/Rationale:
As of 20/01/2014:


We are arranging a discussion with:

Ken Coates,
Canada Research Chair in Regional Innovation
Johnson-Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy

Director
International Centre for Northern Governance and Development

University of Saskatchewan

AES: In progress
4. To improve results-based reporting, coordinate the ongoing monitoring of the effectiveness of the implementation of modern treaties. Implementation Branch monitors the implementation of obligations, and is currently participating in the Performance Measurement Strategy for the Impacts of CLCAs and SGAs to support AANDC's Performance Measurement Strategy Portfolio Action Plan, which support PAA Program 1.3. Phase 1 – Amend Current PM Strategy Start Date: already begun

Phase 2 – Update PM Strategy for Program 1.3

Start: 2015/16

Completion: 2015/16
 
 
 
Date modified:

Évaluation des incidences des accords sur les revendications territoriales globales et l’autonomie gouvernementale - Les perspectives fédérales et inuvialuites - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 mars 2014

Format PDF (36 Ko, 3 pages)

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité d'évaluation, de mesure du rendement et d'examen en date du 31 mars 2014

Traités et gouvernement autochtone

Évaluation des incidences des accords sur les revendications territoriales globales et l’autonomie gouvernementale - Les perspectives fédérales et inuvialuites
Date d'approbation : 2013-11-22
Recommandations du projet Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement prévue
Réponse du programme
1. Passer en revue les recommandations découlant du volet inuvialuit et formuler des commentaires au Comité de l'évaluation, de la mesure du rendement et de l'examen, au nom du gouvernement du Canada. L'examen des recommandations sur le volet inuvialuit est entamé. Le Canada formulera des observations au Comité de l'évaluation, de la mesure du rendement et de l'examen concernant les recommandations qui visent le Canada. Date de début : hiver 2013

Achèvement : printemps 2014
 
2. Conformément au plan de changement en matière de mise en œuvre, renforcer l'approche pangouvernementale en vue du suivi et de la mise en œuvre des obligations découlant des traités et des risques qui s'y rapportent. Le travail est déjà commencé en ce qui concerne le plan de changement en matière de mise en œuvre et la création d'outils de ressources, de reddition de comptes et de surveillance, ainsi que sur une formation et une aide pour le compte d'autres ministères. Date de début : déjà commencé

Achèvement : en cours
État : En cours

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 20 janvier 2014 :

Une formation supplémentaire a été donnée aux employés fédéraux sur les contrats et l'approvisionnement dans le domaine des revendications territoriales. De plus, le travail de validation de l'information dans le Système de surveillance des obligations découlant des traités se poursuit. La Direction générale de la mise en œuvre offre aussi un soutien politique, et propose des conseils, à d'autres ministères sur la mise en œuvre et les obligations découlant des traités.

En février 2014, on tiendra une coformation sur les traités modernes avec la Coalition pour les ententes sur les revendications territoriales, à l'intention des employés fédéraux.

SVE : En cours de réalisation
3. Entreprendre un programme de recherche à l'appui de la surveillance des incidences des traités modernes. AADNC a pris contact avec les universités dans le dessein d'appuyer la recherche universitaire sur les incidences des accords sur les revendications territoriales globales (ARTG) et des accords sur l'autonomie gouvernementale (AAG). Tout projet de surveillance des incidences nécessite la participation aussi bien du gouvernement que des signataires autochtones. Nous poursuivrons nos contacts avec la Coalition pour les ententes sur les revendications territoriales en vue de collaborer à ce projet. Date de début : déjà commencé

Achèvement : en cours
État : En cours

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 20 janvier 2014 :

Nous organisons une discussion avec :

Ken Coates,
Chaire de recherche du Canada sur l'innovation régionale
Johnson-Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy

Directeur
Centre international pour la gouvernance et le développement du Nord

Université de la Saskatchewan

SVE : En cours de réalisation
4. Améliorer l'établissement de rapports axés sur les résultats et coordonner la surveillance continue de l'efficacité de la mise en œuvre des traités modernes. La Direction générale de la mise en œuvre surveille la mise en application des obligations, et participe actuellement à la Stratégie de mesure du rendement relative aux incidences des ARTG et des AAG à l'appui du plan d'action sur le portefeuille de la Stratégie de mesure du rendement d'AADNC, qui appuie le programme 1.3 de l'AAP. Étape 1 – Modifier la stratégie de gestion du rendement actuelle
Date de début : déjà commencé

Étape 2 – Mettre à jour la stratégie de gestion du rendement pour le programme 1.3

Début : 2015-2016

Achèvement : 2015-2016
 
 
 
Date de modification :