Pre-inquiry design process

The Government of Canada believes that an inquiry into missing and murdered Indigenous women and girls can only be designed after hearing from key stakeholders and receiving their input. The Government of Canada wanted to ensure that the voices of survivors, families and loved ones were heard first – about how the inquiry could best be designed to meet their needs – before hearing from National Aboriginal Organizations, provinces and territories, and others. The national pre-inquiry design process took place across Canada from December 2015 to February 2016.

The public participation stage of the pre-inquiry design process is now closed. Follow INAC on Twitter and Facebook for updates about the inquiry.

Choose a topic:

About the pre-inquiry design process

The pre-inquiry design process was led by three federal ministers: the Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs, Carolyn Bennett; the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada, Jody Wilson-Raybould; and the Minister of Status of Women, Patty Hajdu.

To support their work, a secretariat was set up at Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) to manage the operations and logistics of the pre-inquiry design process. This included organizing meetings with the ministers, providing a summary of each meeting and collecting and summarizing the submissions received in person, by mail and on-line.

The pre-inquiry design process engaged thousands of stakeholders across Canada, including:

The views and ideas expressed by participants helped develop an inquiry which honors the victims, provides healing for the families and delivers concrete, achievable recommendations for the prevention of violence against Indigenous women and girls.

How stakeholders participated

The government held meetings across Canada with survivors, family members and loved ones, as well as National Aboriginal Organizations, provincial/territorial representatives, front-line organizations and others to seek their views and input on the design and scope of the inquiry.

In addition to the pre-inquiry design meetings, Canadians were encouraged to share their views:

The information gathered was used to help design the inquiry.

Pre-inquiry design meetings

After the December 8, 2015 announcement of the launch of the inquiry process, two meetings were held in Ottawa:

In January and February 2016, regional meetings were held across Canada and input was sought using a discussion guide.

Meetings were held in:

  1. Ottawa, Ontario: December 11, 2015
  2. Ottawa, Ontario: December 16, 2015
  3. Thunder Bay, Ontario: January 6, 2016
  4. Yellowknife, Northwest Territories: January 8, 2016
  5. Whitehorse, Yukon: January 11, 2016
  6. Vancouver, British Columbia: January 13, 2016
  7. Prince George, British Columbia: January 15, 2016
  8. Halifax, Nova Scotia: January 20, 2016
  9. Québec City, Québec : January 21, 2016
  10. Montréal, Québec : January 22, 2016
  11. Iqaluit, Nunavut: January 29
  12. Toronto, Ontario: February 5
  13. Winnipeg, Manitoba: February 8
  14. Regina, Saskatchewan: February 9
  15. Saskatoon, Saskatchewan: February 10
  16. Edmonton, Alberta: February 11
  17. Calgary, Alberta: February 12
  18. Ottawa, Ontario: February 15

Summaries of all meetings were posted under What we heard.

All efforts were made to give survivors, families and loved ones as much advance notice as possible to be able to participate in the meetings in their regions. Invitations were circulated through local and national Indigenous organizations and their networks, as well as through the INAC regional offices. Travel costs for survivors, families and loved ones were provided by the Government of Canada and trained support workers were available during the meetings. Elder counsel and ceremony formed an integral part of each meeting. Given the nature of the discussions and out of respect for survivors, families and loved ones, these meetings were not open to the public or the media.

Final report

In May 2016, a final report was published summarizing all the feedback provided during the pre-inquiry design process:

This website deals with topics which may cause trauma to readers due to its troubling subject matter. The Government of Canada recognizes the need for safety measures to minimize the risks associated with traumatic subject matter. A national, toll-free crisis call line has been set up to provide support for anyone who requires assistance. This line is available free of charge, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Please call 1-844-413-6649 if you or someone you know is triggered and needs help or support while reading the content on this website.

Date modified:

Processus de définition des paramètres de l’enquête

Le gouvernement du Canada est conscient qu'une enquête nationale significative sur les filles et les femmes autochtones disparues et assassinées peut seulement être conçue après avoir entendu et reçu l'opinion des intervenants clés. Le gouvernement du Canada voulait s'assurer que les survivantes, les familles et les proches des victimes étaient entendus en premier – quant à la façon dont l'enquête pourrait être conçue pour le mieux répondre à leurs besoins – avant de consulter les organisations autochtones nationales, les provinces et les territoires, et d'autres intervenants. Le processus national de définition des paramètres de l'enquête a eu lieu d'un bout à l'autre du Canada, de décembre 2015 à février 2016.

L'étape du processus national de mobilisation visant à définir les paramètres de l'enquête est maintenant terminée. Suivez AANC sur Twitter et Facebook pour obtenir des mises à jour sur l'enquête.

Choisir un sujet :

À propos du processus de définition des paramètres de l'enquête

Le processus de définition des paramètres de l'enquête a été dirigé par trois ministres fédérales : l'honorable Carolyn Bennett, ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord, l'honorable Jody Wilson-Raybould, ministre de la Justice et procureure générale du Canada, et l'honorable Patty Hajdu, ministre de la Condition féminine.

Pour appuyer leur travail, un secrétariat a été mis en place à Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) pour gérer les activités et la logistique du processus de définition des paramètres de l'enquête, ce qui comprend l'organisation des rencontres avec les ministres, la préparation d'un sommaire de chaque rencontre et la collecte et la mise en commun des soumissions reçues en personne, par poste ou en ligne.

Des milliers d'intervenants de partout au pays ont participé au processus de définition des paramètres de l'enquête, notamment :

Grâce aux opinions et aux idées exprimées par l'ensemble des participants, le gouvernement pourra concevoir une enquête qui fera honneur aux victimes, favorisera la guérison des familles et contiendra des recommandations concrètes et réalisables à des fins de prévention de la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles autochtones.

Participation des intervenants au processus de définition des paramètres de l’enquête

Le gouvernement a tenu une série de rencontres à travers le Canada auprès des survivantes, des familles, des proches des victimes, ainsi qu'auprès de représentants autochtones nationaux, provinciaux et territoriaux, d'organisations de première ligne, et d'autres intervenants afin d'obtenir leurs opinions et commentaires sur la conception et la portée de l'enquête.

En plus de participer aux rencontres de définition des paramètres, on a invité les Canadiens à nous faire part de leurs commentaires :

Tous les renseignements recueillis sont actuellement examinés et seront utilisés pour définir les paramètres de l'enquête.

Réunions sur la définition des paramètres de l’enquête

À la suite de l'annonce du 8 décembre 2015 concernant le lancement du processus d'enquête, deux réunions ont eu lieu à Ottawa :

En janvier et en février 2016, des rencontres régionales ont eu lieu partout au Canada et on a recueilli des commentaires à partir d'un guide de discussion :

Des sommaires de toutes les rencontres seront affichés sur la page Ce que nous avons entendu sur ce site Web.

On a déployé tous les efforts pour que les survivantes, les familles et leurs proches soient avisés le plus rapidement possible des rencontres qui ont eu lieu dans leur région. Les invitations ont été envoyées aux aux organisations autochtones locales et nationales, ainsi qu'à leurs réseaux, et aux bureaux régionaux d'AANC. Le gouvernement du Canada a assumé les frais de déplacement des survivantes, des familles et des proches des victimes, et des travailleurs de soutien formés étaient sur place lors des rencontres. Le conseil et la cérémonie des aînés ont formé une partie intégrante de chaque rencontre. Compte tenu de la nature des discussions et par respect pour les survivantes, les membres des familles et les proches des victimes, ni le public, ni les médias n'ont eu accès à ces rencontres.

Rapport final

En mai 2016, un rapport final a été publié résumant tous les commentaires formulés durant le processus de :

Le présent site Web traite de sujets pouvant causer un traumatisme aux lecteurs en raison de leur caractère troublant. Le gouvernement du Canada est conscient de la nécessité de prendre les mesures nécessaires pour minimiser les risques associés à une expérience traumatisante. Une ligne téléphonique sans frais a été instaurée pour offrir un soutien à toute personne nécessitant de l'aide. Cette ligne téléphonique sans frais est accessible 24 heures par jour, 7 jours par semaine. Pour obtenir davantage d'information sur les autres formes d'aide qu'offre le gouvernement du Canada, veuillez consulter la liste ci-jointe. Si la lecture de ce site Web suscite, chez vous ou chez une personne de votre entourage, le besoin d'obtenir de l'aide, veuillez composer le 1-844-413-6649.

Date de modification :