Dispute Resolution Guideline

Table of contents

1.0 Effective Date

2.0 Application

3.0 Guideline Statement

4.0 Dispute Resolution Process

5.0 Financial Obligations

6.0 Effect of Dispute Resolution Process

7.0 Admissibility in Legal Proceedings

Appendix A: Definitions

Canada: Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada as represented by the Minister of Health and the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada that is party to a Canada Common Funding Agreement for First Nations and Tribal Councils.

Council: a First Nation or Tribal Council that is party to a Canada Common Funding Agreement for First Nations and Tribal Councils.

Dispute: a dispute between Canada and the Council regarding the interpretation of a provision of a Canada Common Funding Agreement or the obligation of a party under that agreement.

DRG: means this Dispute Resolution Guideline.

Facilitated Discussions: means discussions between the parties that are organized or lead by an independent third party on an informal basis to assist them to identify possible mutually agreeable solutions to their Dispute

Mediation: means a form of Facilitated Discussions where the independent third party, under a mediation agreement between the parties, actively leads, guides or oversees discussions to assist the parties identify possible mutually agreeable solutions to their Dispute through a defined process that may include a timetable and confidentiality and production of document rules to be agreed by the parties.

Date modified:

Ligne directrice de résolution des conflits

Table des matières

1.0 Date d’entrée en vigueur

2.0 Champ d’application

3.0 Énoncé de la ligne directrice

4.0 Processus de résolution des conflits

5.0 Obligations financières

6.0 Effet du processus de résolution des conflits

7.0 Admissibilité à une procédure judiciaire

Annexe A : Définitions

Canada : Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre de la Santé et le ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Développement du Nord Canada, qui est partie à une Entente de financement commune du gouvernement du Canada pour les Premières Nations et les Conseils Tribaux.

Conseil : Une Première Nation ou un Conseil tribal qui est partie à une Entente de financement commune du gouvernement du Canada pour les Premières Nations et les Conseils Tribaux.

Conflit : Un conflit entre le Canada et le Conseil quant à l’interprétation d’une disposition d’une Entente de financement commune du gouvernement du Canada ou de l’obligation d’une partie en vertu de cette entente.

Discussions dirigées : Ce terme désigne des discussions entre les parties qui sont organisées ou dirigées par un tiers indépendant de façon informelle afin de les aider à trouver de possibles solutions mutuellement acceptables à leur conflit.

LDRC : Cet acronyme signifie la présente Ligne directrice de résolution des conflits.

Médiation : Ce terme désigne une forme de discussions dirigées où le tiers indépendant dirige, en vertu d'un accord de médiation entre les parties, guide ou supervise activement les discussions afin d’aider les parties à trouver de possibles solutions mutuellement acceptables à leur conflit au moyen d’un processus défini qui peut comprendre un calendrier et la confidentialité et l’établissement de règles sur lesquelles les parties se mettent d’accord.

Date de modification :