Discovery Mine Remediation

History

Discovery Mine was an abandoned gold mine located on the western shore of Giauque Lake, approximately 80 km northeast of Yellowknife. The mine operated from 1949 to 1969 and at the time was one of the most profitable gold mines in the country.

An aerial shot shows several rows of core samples and a low building, separated by trees. Forest burnt by the 2014 forest fires is visible behind the structures.
 

Caption: Core samples are housed near Building 54. Core samples are pieces of rock excavated during operation to determine the composition of the rock.

These are the only structures left at the Discovery Mine site. Evidence of the 2014 forest fires can be seen behind the core samples.

Remediation Progress

1998-2000The preliminary phase of remediation was conducted. Routine environmental and geotechnical monitoring began with the end of the first phase of remediation. This short-term monitoring program ensured site conditions remained stable.
2005 The bulk of the first phase remedial activities were carried out. The Phase I post-remediation Long Term Monitoring Plan was developed.
2006-2010 Year 1 to year 5 of monitoring was carried out annually post-remediation. Following the Phase I Long Term Monitoring Plan, this program included biannual geotechnical monitoring, water quality, terrestrial and aquatic assessments.
2008 The second phase of remediation of the Discovery Mine site was completed. This included sealing mine openings, decommissioning all the site buildings, addressing contaminated soil, stabilizing the borrow pit, and removal of hazardous waste.
2010 A Comprehensive Remediation Performance Assessment Report was completed, which included a performance review of the geotechnical, water quality, terrestrial, and aquatic conditions on site. Based on this report, an interim monitoring plan was developed for future use.
2011-2015 Interim monitoring took place every second year, for a total of 3 interim monitoring events.
2015 Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) completed a site inspection to assess the site conditions after a forest fire passed through the site in 2014.
2016 A Phase II Long Term Monitoring Plan is being developed and implemented for the year 10 sampling event scheduled to take place this fall.
An aerial shot of boulders placed in a circle on flat ground.
 

Caption: In an underground mine, a pillar is a column of ore that is left to support material overlying an excavation to make sure that it does not collapse. The crown pillar is the solid surface layer of bedrock that covers and supports the excavation area. At Discovery Mine, boulders were put in place to prevent heavy machinery from crossing the crown pillar so that it does not collapse under their weight.

More Information

The Mackenzie Valley Land and Water Board (MVLWB) issued the Water Licence and Land Use Permits required to conduct the remediation activities at Discovery Mine. The regulatory requirements required for these permits have all been met and are now closed. INAC has reviewed the recommendations and monitoring results from the Performance Assessment Reports and is developing a Phase II long-term monitoring plan at a reduced scope and frequency for the site, given the reduced risks. Once the Phase II Long Term Monitoring Plan has been developed, the Discovery Mine Remediation Site will be monitored accordingly to continue verifying the environmental conditions onsite.

Remediation activities included:

  • capping approximately 1.1 million tonnes of acid-generating tailings containing mercury;
  • removing asbestos-containing materials;
  • landfilling lead-based paint;
  • removing hazardous building materials and demolishing structures in the town site;
  • sealing mine openings; and
  • excavating contaminated soils.
Date modified:

Assainissement de la mine Discovery

Historique

La mine Discovery était une mine aurifère abandonnée sur la rive ouest du lac Giauque, à environ 80 km au nord-est de Yellowknife. La mine a été exploitée de 1949 à 1969, et à l’époque elle était l’une des mines aurifères les plus profitables du pays.

Une photo aérienne montre plusieurs rangées d’échantillons de carottes et un bâtiment de faible hauteur, séparés par des arbres. La forêt brûlée par les feux de forêt de 2014 est visible derrière les structures.
 

Caption : Les échantillons des carottes sont abrités près du bâtiment 54. Les échantillons de carottes sont des morceaux de roche excavés durant l’exploitation pour déterminer la composition de la roche.

Ce sont les seules structures restantes sur le site de la mine Discovery. On peut voir les traces des feux de forêt de 2014 derrière les échantillons.

Progression des travaux d’assainissement

1998-2000La phase préliminaire de l’assainissement a été réalisée. La surveillance environnementale et géotechnique de routine a commencé avec la fin de la première phase de l’assainissement. Ce programme de surveillance à court terme visait à veiller à ce que les conditions sur le site demeurent stables.
2005 La plus grande partie des activités d’assainissement de la première phase ont été réalisées. Le plan de surveillance à long terme après la phase I de l’assainissement a été élaboré.
2006-2010 La surveillance a été réalisée annuellement (sur 5 ans) après l’assainissement. Après le plan de surveillance à long terme de phase I, ce programme a inclus la surveillance semestrielle géotechnique, et des évaluations de la qualité de l’eau, des conditions terrestres et des conditions aquatiques.
2008 La deuxième phase de l’assainissement de la mine Discovery a été achevée. Cette phase comprenait le scellement des ouvertures de la mine, le déclassement de tous les bâtiments sur le site, le traitement des sols contaminés, la stabilisation du lieu d’emprunt et l’enlèvement des déchets dangereux.
2010 Un rapport d’évaluation complète du rendement en matière d’assainissement a été élaboré, notamment un examen du rendement sur le plan des conditions géotechniques, terrestres et aquatiques et de la qualité de l’eau sur le site. Sur la base de ce rapport, un plan de surveillance provisoire a été élaboré pour une utilisation future.
2011-2015 La surveillance provisoire s’est déroulée tous les deux ans, pour un total de trois activités de surveillance provisoire.
2015 Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) a réalisé une inspection pour évaluer les conditions sur le site après le passage d’un feu de forêt en 2014.
2016 Un plan de surveillance à long terme de phase II est en voie d’élaboration et de mise en œuvre pour la séance d’échantillonnage de l’an 10 qui doit avoir lieu cet automne.
Une photo aérienne montre des blocs placés en cercle sur un sol plat.
 

Caption : Dans une mine souterraine, un pilier est une colonne de minerai laissée en place pour soutenir le matériau au-dessus de l’excavation afin qu’il ne s’effondre pas. La couronne du pilier est la couche de substratum rocheux solide qui recouvre une zone d’excavation et qui soutient le toit de l’excavation. À la mine Discovery, des blocs rocheux ont été mis en place pour empêcher le passage de la machinerie lourde au-dessus de la couronne du pilier, pour éviter qu’elle ne s’effondre sous leur poids.

Renseignements supplémentaires

L’Office des terres et des eaux de la vallée du Mackenzie (OTEVM) a délivré les permis d’utilisation des terres et des eaux requis pour réaliser les activités d’assainissement à la mine Discovery. Les exigences réglementaires requises pour ces permis ont toutes été respectées et le dossier est maintenant fermé. AANC a examiné les recommandations et les résultats de la surveillance présentés dans les rapports d’évaluation du rendement, et est en voie d’élaborer un plan de surveillance à long terme de phase II dont la portée et la fréquence seront réduites, étant donné les risques réduits sur le site. Une fois ce plan élaboré, le site d’assainissement de la mine Discovery fera l’objet d’un suivi pour continuer de vérifier les conditions environnementales sur le site.

Les activités d’assainissement comprenaient :

  • le recouvrement d’environ 1,1 million de tonnes de résidus acidogènes contenant du mercure;
  • l’enlèvement de matériaux contenant de l’amiante;
  • l’enfouissement de peinture à base de plomb;
  • l’enlèvement de matériaux de construction dangereux et la démolition des structures sur le site;
  • le scellement des ouvertures de la mine;
  • l’excavation des sols contaminés.
Date de modification :