Summary Report on Recipient Audit Performed on Lubicon Lake Band

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Name: Lubicon Lake Band
Location: Alberta
Population: 326 on reserve; 533 total registered
Default status at time of audit: Not in default
Current default status: Not in default
Current Chief: Billy Joe Laboucan
Time period covered by audit: April 1, 2011 to March 31, 2013
Amount of AANDC funding audited: $3,005,427

Background

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC), formally known as Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC), selected the Lubicon Lake Nation in Alberta for a recipient audit based on their 2012-2013 risk assessment score and other risk factors.

The objective of the recipient audit was to provide assurance that funding provided to the recipient by INAC was spent for its intended purposes and is in compliance with the terms and conditions of the 2011-2012 and 2012-2013 Funding Agreements. The objective was achieved through:

Deloitte LLP, an independent audit firm, was commissioned by INAC to undertake the recipient audit. The audit procedures were performed from January 20, 2014 to January 24, 2014. The audited amounts detailed in the audit report present fairly, in all material respects, the costs eligible for the period of April 1, 2011 to March 31, 2013 under the financial terms and conditions of the Funding Agreement and its amendments.

Findings

The procedures performed identified that internal financial control processes are in place and well managed. This enables the recipient to properly manage their expenditures according to the Agreement. The following are some key findings and key recommendations identified in the audit report.

Governance by Chief and Council

The procedures performed identified areas where there are opportunities to improve governance and administration in support of programs funded by INAC. It is recommended that Lubicon Lake Band develop their policies and procedures to support their processes. Lubicon Lake Band should also develop an approach to governance which includes recording and approving meeting minutes and creating strategic plans. At the time of the audit, Lubicon Lake Band was not in any type of default management program (previously were in Third Party Management), thus going forward, the Band should develop strategic plans, work plans and administrative policies for various programs.

Band Management

The procedures performed identified the following observations and areas of improvement with respect to Band financial management procedures. It is recommended that Lubicon Lake Band develop formal accounting policies and procedures in accordance with the Canadian Public Sector Accounting Standards. It is recommended to keep all supporting documentations relating to financial, administrative and human resources processes. The recipient should ensure that financial policies are documented and communicated to employees to ensure proper audit trail.

Current Status

A copy of the final report has been sent to the Recipient. INAC and the Recipient are working together to address the findings.

Disclaimer: This audit summary was prepared based on information contained in a Recipient Audit Report on Lubicon Lake Band for INAC. The report produced for INAC is intended solely for the information and use of the Recipient and INAC Management. This audit summary only presents limited information on the general findings based on the audit procedures performed and does not provide information on the detailed procedures or findings. Consequently, this summary may not be appropriate for the purposes and use of the reader.

Date modified:

Rapport sommaire sur la vérification de bénéficiaire concernant la Lubicon Lake Nation

Nom : Lubicon Lake Nation (site Web non disponible en français)
Lieu : Alberta
Population : 326 personnes vivant dans la réserve; 533 personnes inscrites au total
Situation de manquement au moment de la vérification : Pas de manquement
Situation actuelle de manquement : Pas de manquement
Chef actuel : Billy Joe Laboucan
Période visée par la vérification : Du 1er avril 2011 au 31 mars 2013
Montant du financement d’AADNC vérifié : 3 005 427 $

Contexte

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC), autrefois appelé Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC), a choisi la Lubicon Lake Nation pour faire l'objet d'une vérification de bénéficiaire en raison de son résultat à l'évaluation des risques 2012-2013 et d'autres facteurs de risque.

L'objectif de la vérification du bénéficiaire consistait à fournir l'assurance que le financement fourni au bénéficiaire par AANC a été dépensé aux fins prévues et en conformité avec les modalités des ententes de financement de 2010-2011 et de 2011‑2012. Cet objectif a été atteint par deux moyens :

AANC a mandaté le cabinet de vérification indépendant Deloitte LLP de procéder à la vérification du bénéficiaire. La vérification s'est déroulée du 20 au 24 janvier 2014. Les montants vérifiés détaillés dans le rapport de vérification présentent une image fidèle, à tous les égards importants, des coûts éligibles pour la période du 1er avril 2010 au 31 mars 2013 selon les modalités financières de l'entente de financement et les modifications y ayant été apportées.

Constatations

La vérification a permis de constater que des processus internes de contrôle financier ont été instaurés, et qu’ils sont bien gérés. Le bénéficiaire est donc en mesure de gérer adéquatement ses dépenses, conformément à l’entente. Vous trouverez ci-dessous certaines des principales constatations et recommandations énoncées dans le rapport de vérification.

Gouvernance par le Chef et le Conseil

Les vérificateurs ont cerné des possibilités d'amélioration en ce qui a trait à la gouvernance et à l'administration à l'appui des programmes financés par AANC. Ils ont recommandé au bénéficiaire d'élaborer des politiques et procédures à l'appui de ses processus, ainsi que d'établir une approche en matière de gouvernance prévoyant la rédaction de comptes rendus de réunions et leur approbation, de même que l'établissement de plans stratégiques. Au moment de la vérification, la Lubicon Lake Nation n'était visée par aucun programme de gestion des manquements (elle était auparavant gérée par un séquestre-administrateur). Elle devrait donc mettre en place des plans stratégiques, des plans de travail et des politiques administratives pour divers programmes.

Gestion de la Bande

Les vérificateurs ont également formulé des observations et cerné des points à améliorer quant aux procédures de gestion financière de la bande. Ils ont recommandé à la Lubicon Lake Nation d'élaborer des politiques et procédures comptables officielles, conformément aux normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public; et de conserver tous les documents à l'appui concernant les processus relatifs aux finances, à l'administration et aux ressources humaines. Le bénéficiaire doit veiller à documenter et à communiquer les politiques financières aux employés pour assurer une piste de vérification adéquate.

Situation actuelle

Une copie du rapport final a été envoyée au bénéficiaire. AANC et le bénéficiaire travaillent conjointement pour donner suite à ces constatations.

Avertissement : Le présent rapport sommaire a été préparé en fonction des renseignements contenus dans le Rapport de vérification du bénéficiaire visant la Lubicon Lake Nation pour le compte d'AANC. Le rapport produit pour AANC est réservé à l'utilisation du bénéficiaire et de la direction d'AANC. Le rapport sommaire ne présente qu'un portrait limité des constatations générales tirées de la vérification et ne fournit pas de détail sur le processus de vérification ou les constatations. Par conséquent, il pourrait ne pas convenir au but et à l'utilisation visés par le lecteur.

Date de modification :