ARCHIVED - Management Letter - Manitoba First Nations Education Resource Centre Inc.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Executive Director
Manitoba First Nations Education Resource Centre
2-1100 Waverley Street
WINNIPEG MB R3T 3X9

Ref: 2013-14 Recipient Audit Results and Follow-Up

Dear Sir/ Madam:

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) conducted a number of recipient audits in fiscal year 2013-14 including an audit of Manitoba First Nations Education Resource Centre Inc. Attached please find a copy of the full audit report and a summary of the report. The summary will be published on the department's website in the coming weeks, along with this management letter. Should you wish to, you may provide a written response to the audit to me within 30 days. Your response will also be posted.

No recoverable amount has been identified as a result of this recipient audit. The audit report included the following recommendations:

  1. It is recommended that when required, amendments to approved purchase orders, specifically ones that result in an increased expenditure, be authorized prior to processing the order with the third-party vendor.
  2. It is recommended that invoices be reviewed by the Director of Finance and expense claims be recorded in the period to which the expense relates, based on when the service is provided or goods are received.
  3. It is recommended that expenditure claims be reviewed by the Director of Finance to verify validity and eligibility under the programs and related guidelines.
  4. It is recommended that formal approval be obtained from AANDC prior to deviating from the approved work plan to reduce the risk that expenditures claimed not be in compliance with program guidelines.

Your regional AANDC representative will be in touch with you shortly to help you develop an action plan to address the recommendations in the recipient audit report. This action plan will also be posted.

Please discuss any questions or concerns you may have about this audit with your regional AANDC representative.

Sincerely,

Paul J. Thoppil, CPA, CA
Chief Financial Officer

c.c.: John de Francesco, Regional Director General, Manitoba Region
Lynda Clairmont, Sr Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Operations
Anne Scotton, Chief Audit & Evaluation Executive
Ernst and Young LLP

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Lettre de recommandation - Manitoba First Nations Education Resource Centre Inc.

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Directeur général
Manitoba First Nations Education Resource Centre Inc.
2-1100, rue Waverley
WINNIPEG MB R3T 3X9

Objet : Résultats et suivi de la vérification du bénéficiaire 2013-2014

Cher Monsieur,

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) a mené un certain nombre de vérifications du bénéficiaire au cours de l'exercice 2013-2014, y compris une vérification du Manitoba First Nations Education Resource Centre Inc. Vous trouverez ci-joint une copie du rapport complet de vérification de même qu'un résumé. Le résumé ainsi que la présente lettre seront affichés sur le site Web du Ministère au cours des prochaines semaines. Si vous le désirez, vous disposez de 30 jours pour me faire parvenir une réponse à la vérification. Votre réponse sera également publiée.

Cette vérification du bénéficiaire n'a révélé aucun montant à recouvrer. Le rapport de vérification contient les recommandations suivantes :

  1. On recommande que les modifications devant être apportées à des bons de commande approuvés, particulièrement celles donnant lieu à une dépense plus élevée, soient autorisées avant le traitement de la commande avec le fournisseur.
  2. On recommande que les factures soient examinées par le directeur des Finances, et que les demandes de remboursement de frais soient imputées à la période au cours de laquelle la dépense a lieu, en fonction du moment où les services sont rendus ou les biens sont reçus.
  3. On recommande que les dépenses réclamées soient examinées par le directeur des Finances afin d'en vérifier la validité et l'admissibilité en vertu des programmes et des lignes directrices connexes.
  4. On recommande l'obtention d'une approbation officielle d'AADNC avant tout écart par rapport au plan de travail approuvé, afin de réduire le risque que les dépenses réclamées ne soient pas conformes aux lignes directrices.

Votre représentant régional d'AADNC entrera en communication avec vous sous peu pour vous assister à développer un plan d'action qui adressera les recommandations contenues au rapport de vérification. Ce plan d'action sera également publié.

Veuillez communiquer avec votre représentant régional d'AADNC pour discuter de toute question et préoccupation au sujet de cette vérification.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l'expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Paul J. Thoppil, CPA, CA
Dirigeant principal des finances

c.c.: John de Francesco
Lynda Clairmont
Anne Scotton
Ernst and Young

Date de modification :