ARCHIVED - Report on Recipient Audit of Manitoba First Nations Education Resource Centre Inc.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Name: Manitoba First Nations Education Resource Centre Inc.
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Default status at time of audit: Not in default (2012-2013)
Current default status: Not in default (2015-2016)
Executive Director: Lorne Keeper
Time period covered by audit: April 1, 2011 to March 31, 2013
Amount of AANDC funding audited: $41,307,161.18

Background

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) selected the Manitoba First Nations Education Resource Centre Inc. (MFNERC) for a recipient audit based on their 2012-2013 risk assessment score and other risk factors.

This recipient audit was undertaken to:

Spearhead Canada Management Ltd, an independent audit firm was commissioned to undertake the recipient audit, which was conducted in March 2014.

Findings

The audit identified a recoverable amount of $0.

The audit identified control weaknesses within expenditure oversight and financial management that, if well designed and operating effectively, would help ensure funds were spent for the intended purpose and in compliance with funding agreements.

Governance by Board of Directors

Roles and responsibilities of the Board of Directors appointed by the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs Executive Council of Chiefs are formally documented and communicated to Directors and employees in a timely manner. The Board of Director meeting minutes obtained and reviewed and it was noted that various subjects were discussed including interim financial reports, human resource reports and other relevant business activity indicating established oversight on the activities of the Recipient.

Strategic and Operational Planning

It was noted that MFNERC has a documented vision, mission and set of goals that form the basis for its overall strategy in developing, implementing and monitoring the programs and activities in accordance with guidelines set forth by AANDC.

It was also noted that the Recipient has a communication strategy in place to establish an efficient and timely approach for communicating to key audiences that are specifically listed, including AANDC.

Review of Program Expenditures

In addition to the review of control practices, the audit selected a risk-based, judgmental sample of 82 transactions, of which 80 were recorded in the proper Fiscal Year. As part of the audit, the two samples recorded in the wrong fiscal period were reclassified. In addition, of the sampled expenditures, three adjustments totaling $9,011 were identified due to program ineligibility.

Adjusted audit findings include:

  • Two transactions totaling $3,791 were adjusted as they relate to international travel expense claims that are ineligible under the program.
  • One transaction totaling $5,220 was adjusted as the expense claim relates to salary costs for an information worker in a period outside the fiscal years under audit.
Two transactions netting to $8,464 were reclassified where the expense was recorded in the period when they were paid instead of when the services were performed which occurred in a different period.

Recommendations

The following recommendations are formulated to address the issues identified in the report and to help strengthen the existing internal controls in place to deliver the programs:

  1. It is recommended that when required, amendments to approved purchase orders, specifically ones that result in an increased expenditure, be authorized prior to processing the order with the third-party vendor.
  2. It is recommended that invoices be reviewed by the Director of Finance and expense claims be recorded in the period to which the expense relates, based on when the service is provided or goods are received.
  3. It is recommended that expenditure claims be reviewed by the Director of Finance to verify validity and eligibility under the programs and related guidelines.
  4. It is recommended that formal approval be obtained from AANDC prior to deviating from the approved work plan to reduce the risk that expenditures claimed not be in compliance with program guidelines.

Conclusion

A copy of the final report was sent to the Recipient. No recoverable amount was identified. The Department is working with the Recipient to develop an action plan to address the recommendations.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Rapport sur la vérification du bénéficiaire – Manitoba First Nations Education Resource Centre Inc.

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Nom : Manitoba First Nations Education Resource Centre Inc.
Lieu : Winnipeg, Manitoba
État des manquements au moment de la vérification : Aucun manquement (2012-2013)
État actuel des manquements : Aucun manquement (2015-2016)
Directeur général : Lorne Keeper
Période visée par la vérification : Du 1er avril 2011 au 31 mars 2013
Montant du financement d'AADNC vérifié : 41 307 161,18 $

Contexte

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) a choisi le Manitoba First Nations Education Resource Centre Inc., au Manitoba, pour faire l'objet d'une vérification du bénéficiaire en raison de son résultat à l'évaluation des risques 2011-2012 et d'autres facteurs de risque.

Cette vérification visait à :

Le mandat de vérification a été confié à la firme de vérification indépendante Spearhead Management Canada Ltd. La vérification a eu lieu en mars 2014.

Constatations

Aucun montant récupérable n'a été identifié.

La vérification a révélé des faiblesses en matière de contrôle en ce qui a trait aux activités de surveillance des dépenses et de gestion financière, alors que si ces activités étaient bien conçues et fonctionnaient de manière efficace, elles permettraient de s'assurer que les fonds ont été dépensés aux fins prévues et conformément aux ententes de financement

Gouvernance du conseil d'administration

Les rôles et responsabilités du conseil d'administration nommé par le Conseil exécutif des chefs de l'Assemblée des chefs du Manitoba sont officiellement documentés et communiqués en temps opportun aux administrateurs et aux employés. Les vérificateurs ont obtenu et examiné les procès-verbaux du conseil d'administration et ont constaté que divers sujets ont été discutés, y compris les rapports financiers intermédiaires, les rapports sur les ressources humaines et d'autres activités opérationnelles pertinentes qui témoignent d'une surveillance établie des activités du bénéficiaire.

Planification stratégique et opérationnelle

On a constaté que le Centre a documenté la vision, la mission et une série d'objectifs qui sont à la base de sa stratégie générale visant à élaborer, à mettre en œuvre et à surveiller les programmes et les activités, conformément aux lignes directrices établies par AADNC.

On a également remarqué que le bénéficiaire a mis en place une stratégie de communication pour établir une approche efficace en temps opportun afin de communiquer avec le public clé explicitement mentionné, y compris AADNC.

Examen des dépenses de programme

En plus d'examiner les pratiques de contrôle, les vérificateurs ont sélectionné un échantillon discrétionnaire fondé sur les risques de 82 opérations dont 80 d'entre elles avaient été comptabilisées au cours de l'exercice financier approprié. Dans le cadre de la vérification, un reclassement des deux opérations qui avaient été comptabilisés dans la mauvaise période financière a été fait. En plus cet échantillon, trois redressements de l'ordre de 9 011 $ ont été repérés en raison de l'absence de l'inadmissibilité au programme.

Les résultats de la vérification révèle notamment :

  • Deux opérations totalisant 3 791 $ ont été redressées puisqu'elles concernent des demandes de remboursement de frais de déplacement à l'étranger qui n'étaient pas admissibles en vertu du programme.
  • Une opération de 5 220 $ a été redressée puisque la demande de remboursement de frais concerne des coûts salariaux pour un travailleur de l'information pour une période à l'extérieur des années d'exercice visées par la vérification.
  • Deux opérations dont le total net s'établit à 8 464 $ ont été reclassées, puisque la dépense a été comptabilisée au cours de la période où elle a été payée plutôt qu'au moment où les services ont été rendus, soit au cours d'une période différente.

Recommandations

Les recommandations suivantes visent à régler les problèmes signalés dans le rapport et à renforcer les contrôles internes mis en place dans l'exécution des programmes :

  1. On recommande que les modifications devant être apportées à des bons de commande approuvés, particulièrement celles donnant lieu à une dépense plus élevée, soient autorisées avant le traitement de la commande avec le fournisseur.
  2. On recommande que les factures soient examinées par le directeur des Finances, et que les demandes de remboursement de frais soient imputées à la période au cours de laquelle la dépense a lieu, en fonction du moment où les services sont rendus ou les biens sont reçus.
  3. On recommande que les dépenses réclamées soient examinées par le directeur des Finances afin d'en vérifier la validité et l'admissibilité en vertu des programmes et des lignes directrices connexes.
  4. On recommande l'obtention d'une approbation officielle d'AADNC avant tout écart par rapport au plan de travail approuvé afin de réduire le risque que les dépenses réclamées ne soient pas conformes aux lignes directrices.

Conclusion

Une copie du rapport final a été envoyée au bénéficiaire. Aucun montant récupérable  n'a été identifié. Le Ministère travaille avec le bénéficiaire pour élaborer un plan d'action pour répondre aux recommandations.

Date de modification :