ARCHIVED - Report on Recipient Audit of Kinonjeoshtegon First Nation

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Name: Kinonjeoshtegon First Nation
Location: Manitoba
Population: 351 on reserve; 736 total registered
Default status at time of audit: Not in default (2012-2013)
Current default status: Recipient Managed (2015-2016)
Current Chief: David Traverse
Time period covered by audit: April, 1 2011 to March 31, 2013
Amount of AANDC funding audited:  $6,786,989

Background

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) selected the Kinonjeoshtegon First Nation for a recipient audit in 2013-14 based on their 2012-2013 risk assessment score and other risk factors.

This recipient audit was undertaken to:

Spearhead Canada Management Ltd, an independent audit firm was commissioned to undertake the recipient audit, which took place in March 2014.

Findings

The Recipient has a weak financial framework in place to administer the Programs. The decentralization of the financial function reduces the effectiveness of the Recipient to support amounts claimed. While the personnel assigned to the Programs are knowledgeable in program delivery, they were not involved in budget implementation and monitoring, thereby reducing accountability at that level. A Management Action Plan (MAP) was adopted on July 29, 2013 to improve governance, financial controls and reporting issues.

The audit used of a sample of transactions resulted in 41% of items sampled for 2011-2012 and 33% of items sampled for 2012-2013 being disallowed for lack of proper support documentation. The auditors cannot therefore provide assurance that overall, funds were expended for their intended purposes.

The audit identified that expenditures in the amount of $124,682 were not in compliance with the funding arrangement and are potentially recoverable.

Governance by Chief and Council

The Kinonjeoshtegon First Nation is governed by a Chief and four Councillors elected for a two year term until the March 27, 2015. The Council holds meetings to discuss the operations of the Band but there are no formal minutes of discussions held or decisions adopted by Council. The Controller who attends the meetings takes personal notes to document the decisions taken by Council but even these notes are not transferred to a formal document and reviewed and signed by Council to provide an official record of the decisions adopted.

Financial Capacity

The Finance Department is solely managed by the Controller of Finance who works out of his home in Winnipeg. With 47 employees and the decentralization of supporting documentation, the Finance Department is understaffed and poorly structured.

Band Management and Operational Planning

Kinonjeoshtegon First Nation is currently under a Recipient managed Management Action Plan (MAP) and was previously under a Remedial Management Plan for many years. The main areas of concerns include: deteriorating financial positions, lack of liquidity and working capital, significant outstanding vendor payments and tuition arrears, lack of comprehensive budgeting and financial controls, especially at the program level, as well as late reporting issues. With the introduction of the MAP, efforts are being made to prepare Work Plans and to link them to budgets and activities.

Review of Program Expenditures

In addition to the review of the internal controls in place to support delivery of the Funding Arrangement, the audit selected a risk-based judgmental sample of transactions to audit. From the sample selection, the auditors found 67 transactions that were not compliant with the eligibility criteria of the various programs, resulting in a compliance rate of 63.4%.

Recommendations

The following recommendations are formulated to address the issues identified in the report and to help strengthen the existing internal controls in place to deliver the programs:

  1. It is recommended that the Chief and Council document the Council meetings through the preparation and approval of minutes and Band Resolutions that will be retained as official records of their meetings.
  2. It is recommended that the Recipient review the finance function within the organization to ensure that it operates efficiently and introduces the controls that will support the delivery of the Programs.
  3. It is recommended that the Recipient invest the resources necessary to implement the Management Action Plan as quickly as possible to improve the overall management framework and financial viability of the Band.
  4. It is recommended that the Recipient continue with the development and implementation of work plans to support the delivery of Programs.
  5. It is recommended that the Recipient develop and implement policies and procedures necessary to support the delivery of the Programs and that they be reviewed annually to ensure their relevance.
  6. It is recommended that Program Managers participate in the budgeting process and be made accountable by monitoring the financial results of their Programs on a monthly basis.
  7. It is recommended that the Recipient ensure that the chart of accounts in the accounting system is set up to match funding arrangement to support the monitoring of budgets and identify surplus at year end.
  8. It is recommended that the Recipient ensure that funds received are used to deliver the Programs that the funds were secured for to guarantee timely delivery of the Programs.
  9. It is recommended that the Chief or one of the Councillors review and approve all bank reconciliations on a monthly basis.
  10. It is recommended that Kinonjeoshtegon First Nation immediately cease the practice of borrowing money from the Controller and family members.
  11. It is recommended that the Recipient develop a purchasing process supported by an appropriate level of approval authority.
  12. It is recommended that the Controller ensure that proper documentation and approval support the demands for payment of supplier invoices.
  13. It is recommended that the Recipient establish a formal basis to support the administration costs charged to the Programs.
  14. It is recommended that the Recipient ensure that teachers' attendance register is retained for seven years as required by the Contribution Agreement.
  15. It is recommended that the Recipient develop a central filing system that will ensure that support documentation for all transactions is retained and available on a timely basis.
  16. It is recommended that the Recipient pursue its efforts to produce required reports on time and resolve long outstanding reports with AANDC.

Conclusion

A copy of the final report was sent to the Recipient. A potentially recoverable amount of $124,682 has been identified. The Department is working with the Recipient to examine the factors that may result in an adjustment to the final recoverable amount, and to develop a repayment schedule and an action plan to address the recommendations.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Rapport sur la vérification du bénéficiaire - Première Nation Kinonjeoshtegon

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Nom : Première Nation Kinonjeoshtegon
Emplacement : Manitoba
Population : 351 sur réserve; 736 inscrites
État des manquements au moment de la vérification : Pas de manquement (2012-2013)
État des manquements actuels : Gestion par le bénéficiaire (2015-2016)
Chef actuel : David Traverse
Période couverte par la vérification : du 1er avril 2011 au 31 mars 2013
Montant du financement d'AADNC vérifié : 6 786 989 $

Contexte

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) a choisi la Première Nation Kinonjeoshtegon pour faire l'objet d'une vérification du bénéficiaire en 2013-2014 en raison de son résultat lors de l'évaluation des risques 2012-2013 et d'autres facteurs de risque.

Objectifs de la vérification du bénéficiaire :

Le mandat de vérification a été confié à la firme de vérification indépendante Spearhead Management Canada Ltd. La vérification a eu lieu en mars 2014.

Constatations

Le cadre financier en place pour l'administration des programmes est faible. La décentralisation du poste financier vient réduire l'efficacité du bénéficiaire lorsqu'il s'agit de justifier les montants déclarés. Les membres du personnel affectés aux programmes connaissent bien la prestation de programmes, mais ne participent pas à la mise en œuvre et à la surveillance du budget, ce qui réduit ainsi leur responsabilité à ce niveau. Un plan d'action de la gestion a été adopté le 29 juillet 2013 pour améliorer la gouvernance, les contrôles financiers et le signalement de problèmes.

Dans le cadre de la vérification, on a utilisé un échantillon de transactions. En fin de compte, 41 % des articles choisis en 2011-2012 et 33 % des articles choisis en 2012-2013 ont été rejetés en raison d'un manque de documentation à l'appui. Les vérificateurs ne peuvent donc pas garantir que les fonds ont été dépensés pour leurs fins prévues.

Les vérificateurs ont constaté qu'un montant de dépenses de 124 682 $ n'était pas en conformité avec l'entente de financement et pourrait éventuellement faire l'objet d'un recouvrement.

Gouvernance par le chef et le Conseil

La Première Nation Kinonjeoshtegon est gouvernée par un chef et quatre membres de conseil élus pour un mandat de deux ans jusqu'au 27 mars 2015. Le conseil organise des réunions pour discuter des opérations de la bande, mais il n'existe pas de procès-verbal officiel de ces discussions ou des décisions prises par le conseil. Le contrôleur présent aux rencontres prend des notes personnelles afin de consigner les décisions prises par le conseil, mais même ces notes ne sont pas transférées dans un document officiel, ni examinées ou signées par le conseil afin d'obtenir une version officielle des décisions prises.

Capacité financière

Le service des finances est exclusivement géré par le contrôleur financier qui travaille depuis son domicile à Winnipeg. En raison d'un nombre de 47 employés et d'une décentralisation de la documentation justificative, le service des finances présente une pénurie d'employés et une structure mal établie.

Gestion et planification opérationnelle de la bande

À l'heure actuelle, la Première Nation Kinonjeoshtegon fait l'objet d'un plan d'action de gestion géré par le bénéficiaire et a auparavant été visée par un plan de gestion corrective pendant plusieurs années. Les principaux secteurs préoccupants comprennent : les situations financières en déclin, le manque de liquidités et de fonds de roulement, d'importants paiements aux fournisseurs non réglés et arriérés de droits de scolarité, le manque de contrôles complets pour le budget et les finances, particulièrement au niveau des programmes, et la production de rapports en retard. Avec la mise en œuvre du plan d'action de gestion, des efforts sont déployés pour préparer les plans de travail et les lier aux budgets et aux activités.

Examen des dépenses de programme

En plus de l'examen des contrôles internes en place à l'appui de l'application de l'entente de financement, les vérificateurs ont choisi un échantillon discrétionnaire d'opérations fondé sur les risques. Dans cet échantillon, les vérificateurs ont constaté que 67 opérations n'étaient pas conformes aux critères d'admissibilité des divers programmes, ce qui représente un taux de conformité de 63,4 %.

Recommandations

Les recommandations suivantes visent à régler les problèmes signalés dans le rapport et à renforcer les contrôles internes mis en place dans l'exécution des programmes :

  1. Que le chef et le conseil documentent les rencontres du conseil en préparant et en approuvant un procès-verbal et des résolutions de bande qui seront conservées comme actes de leurs rencontres.
  2. Que le bénéficiaire examine le poste aux finances dans l'organisation pour s'assurer qu'il est efficace et intègre les contrôles qui contribueront à la prestation des programmes.
  3. Que le bénéficiaire investisse les ressources nécessaires pour mettre en œuvre un plan d'action de la gestion aussi rapidement que possible afin d'améliorer le cadre de gestion général et la viabilité financière de la bande.
  4. Que le bénéficiaire poursuive le développement et la mise en œuvre des plans de travail afin de soutenir la prestation des programmes.
  5. Que le bénéficiaire développe et mette en œuvre les politiques et procédures nécessaires pour soutenir la prestation des programmes et qu'elles soient examinées annuellement pour s'assurer de leur bien-fondé.
  6. Que les gestionnaires de programme participent au processus de prévisions budgétaires et en soient rendus responsables en surveillant mensuellement les résultats financiers de leurs programmes.
  7. Que le bénéficiaire s'assure que le plan comptable dans le système comptable est configuré pour s'arrimer aux ententes de financement afin de soutenir la surveillance des budgets et de déterminer l'excédent à la fin de l'exercice.
  8. Que le bénéficiaire s'assure que les fonds reçus sont utilisés pour la prestation des programmes pour lesquels les fonds ont été obtenus afin d'en garantir la prestation rapide.
  9. Que le chef ou un des membres du conseil examine et approuve tous les rapprochements bancaires de façon mensuelle.
  10. Que la Première Nation Kinonjeoshtegon cesse immédiatement d'emprunter des fonds en provenance du contrôleur et des membres de sa famille.
  11. Que le bénéficiaire mette sur pied un processus d'achat soumis à un niveau approprié de pouvoir d'approbation.
  12. Que le contrôleur s'assure que les documents et l'approbation nécessaires appuient les demandes de paiement de factures de fournisseurs.
  13. Que le bénéficiaire établisse une façon officielle de justifier les coûts administratifs facturés aux programmes.
  14. Que le bénéficiaire s'assure que le registre des présences des professeurs soit conservé pendant sept ans, tel que mentionné dans l'entente de financement.
  15. Que le bénéficiaire mette sur pied un système de classement central qui assurera que les documents à l'appui de toutes les transactions sont conservés et accessibles.
  16. Que le bénéficiaire poursuive ses efforts pour présenter les rapports nécessaires à temps et produire les rapports en suspens depuis longtemps.

Conclusion

Une copie du rapport final a été envoyée au bénéficiaire. Un montant potentiellement recouvrable de 124 682 $ a été identifié. Le Ministère travaille avec le bénéficiaire afin d'examiner les facteurs qui pourraient entraîner un rajustement du montant recouvrable définitif et d'élaborer un calendrier de remboursement ainsi qu'un plan d'action visant la mise en œuvre des recommandations.

Date de modification :