Report on Recipient Audit Performed on Pikangikum First Nation

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Name: Pikangikum First Nation
Location: Ontario
Population: 2,643 on reserve; 2,762 total registered
Default status at time of audit: Not in default
Current default status: Not in default
Current Chief: Dean Owen
Time period covered by audit: April 1, 2011 to March 31, 2013
Amount of AANDC funding audited: $30,121,042.92

BACKGROUND

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC), formally known as Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC), selected Pikangikum First Nation in Ontario for a recipient audit based on their 2012-2013 risk assessment score and other risk factors.

The objective of the recipient audit was to provide assurance that funding provided to the recipient by INAC was spent for its intended purposes and is in compliance with the terms and conditions of the 2011-2012 and 2012-2013 Funding Agreements. The objective was achieved through:

Spearhead Canada Management Ltd, an independent audit firm, was commissioned by INAC to undertake the recipient audit. The audit procedures were performed from January 27, 2014 to February 7, 2014. The audited amounts detailed in the audit report present fairly, in all material respects, the costs eligible for the period of April 1, 2011 to March 31, 2013 under the financial terms and conditions of the Funding Agreement and its amendments.

FINDINGS

The procedures performed identified that internal financial control processes are mostly in place, and well managed. There are, however, a few procedures that identified control weaknesses within governance, program administration, and financial management. Addressing these internal controls will strengthen how the Recipient manages and allocates it funds in accordance to the agreement. The following are some key findings and key recommendations identified in the audit report.

Governance by Chief and Council

The procedures performed identified areas where there are opportunities to improve governance and administration in support of programs funded by INAC. It is recommended to formalize the departmental organizational charts and jobs descriptions to support overall accountability. To support transparency it is recommended to document council meeting minutes. Pikangikum First Nation's band administrator should consider reviewing and updating the Band's Personnel Policy and Procedure Manual periodically. They should also develop and implement a Financial Policy and Procedure Manual.

Band Management

The procedures performed also identified the following observations and areas of improvements with respect to Band financial management procedures. Pikangikum First Nation's management and administration should improve their internal controls and accounting processes by centralizing this finance function. The recipient should ensure that the bank reconciliations and employee time sheets are approved by the band administrator as evidence as being approved. Chief and Council should ensure that INAC reports are completed and submitted in a timely manner.

CURRENT STATUS

A copy of the final report has been sent to the recipient. INAC and the recipient are working together to address the findings.

Disclaimer: This audit summary was prepared based on information contained in a Recipient Audit Report on Pikangikum First Nation for INAC. The report produced for INAC is intended solely for the information and use of the Recipient and INAC Management. The audit summary only presents limited information on the general findings based on the audit procedures performed and does not provide information on the detailed procedures of findings. Consequently, this summary may not be appropriate for the purpose and use of the reader.

 
 
Date modified:

Rapport sommaire sur la vérification de bénéficiaire concernant Pikangikum First Nation

Nom : Pikangikum First Nation (site Web non disponible en français)
Lieu : Ontario
Population : 2,643 personnes vivant dans la réserve; 2,762 personnes inscrites au total
Situation de manquement au moment de la vérification : Pas de manquement
Situation actuelle de manquement : Pas de manquement 
Chef actuel : Dean Owen
Période visée par la vérification : Du 1er avril 2011 au 31 mars 2013
Montant du financement d'AADNC vérifié : 30 121 042.92 $

CONTEXTE

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC), autrefois appelé Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC), a choisi Pikangikum First Nation en Ontario pour faire l'objet d'une vérification de bénéficiaire en raison de son résultat à l'évaluation des risques 2012-2013 et d'autres facteurs de risque.

L'objectif de la vérification du bénéficiaire consistait à fournir l'assurance que le financement fourni au bénéficiaire par AANC a été dépensé aux fins prévues et en conformité avec les modalités des ententes de financement de 2011-2012 et de 2012-2013. Cet objectif a été atteint par deux moyens :

AANC a mandaté le cabinet de vérification indépendant Spearhead Canada Management Ltd. afin de procéder à la vérification du bénéficiaire. La vérification a été effectuée du 27 janvier au 7 février 2014.

Les montants visés par la vérification, présentés en détail dans le rapport de vérification, représentent avec justesse, à tous les égards importants, les coûts admissibles pour la période allant du 1er avril 2011 au 31 mars 2013 selon les modalités de l'entente de financement et de ses modifications.

CONSTATATIONS

La vérification a permis de constater qu'en général des processus internes de contrôle financier ont été instaurés, et qu'ils sont bien gérés. Toutefois, quelques procédures mettent en lumière des faiblesses sur le plan du contrôle en ce qui a trait à la gouvernance, à l'administration des programmes et à la gestion financière. Le redressement de ces contrôles internes permettra de consolider la façon dont le bénéficiaire gère et affecte ses fonds conformément aux ententes. Voici certaines des principales constatations et recommandations énoncées dans le rapport de vérification.

Gouvernance par le chef et le Conseil

Les vérificateurs ont identifié des possibilités d'améliorer la gouvernance et l'administration à l'appui des programmes financés par AANC. On recommande d'officialiser les organigrammes des services et les descriptions de travail pour favoriser la reddition de compte en général. Pour favoriser la transparence, on recommande de rédiger des procès-verbaux des réunions du conseil. Les administrateurs de bande de Pikangikum First Nation devraient songer à réviser et à mettre à jour le manuel des politiques et des procédures du personnel de la Bande régulièrement. Ils devraient aussi élaborer et mettre en œuvre un manuel de procédures et de politiques financières.

Gestion de la Bande

La vérification a permis de définir les points suivants à améliorer en ce qui a trait aux procédures de gestion financière de la Bande. Les gestionnaires et administrateurs de Pikangikum First Nation devraient améliorer leurs contrôles internes et leurs processus comptables en centralisant la fonction des finances. Le bénéficiaire devrait s'assurer que les rapprochements bancaires et les feuilles de temps des employés sont approuvés par l'administrateur de la bande comme preuve d'approbation. Le chef et le conseil devraient s'assurer que les rapports à l'intention d'AANC sont produits et remis en temps opportun.

SITUATION ACTUELLE

Une copie du rapport final a été envoyée au bénéficiaire. AANC et le bénéficiaire travaillent conjointement pour donner suite à ces constatations.

Avertissement : Le présent rapport sommaire a été préparé en fonction des renseignements contenus dans le Rapport de vérification du bénéficiaire visant Pikangikum First Nation pour le compte d'AANC. Le rapport produit pour AANC est réservé à l'utilisation du bénéficiaire et de la direction d'AANC. Le rapport sommaire ne présente qu'un portrait limité des constatations générales tirées de la vérification et ne fournit pas de détail sur le processus de vérification ou les constatations. Par conséquent, il pourrait ne pas convenir au but et à l'utilisation visés par le lecteur.

 
 
Date de modification :