First Nations Infrastructure Investment Plan

The First Nations Infrastructure Investment Plan (FNIIP) helps Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) assess infrastructure needs and strategically plan infrastructure investments in First Nation communities across Canada. It supports healthy and safe First Nation communities, and the economic success of First Nations.

Each year, the National FNIIP is developed based on infrastructure investment plans at the community and regional level. The deadline for a First Nation to submit a community-level infrastructure investment plan to a regional office is September 30 of each year.

Investments are prioritized through the National Priority Ranking Framework, a planning tool that helps direct funding to the highest priorities using a consistent and transparent process across all regions. Higher-ranked projects are placed in earlier years of the plan, while lower-ranked projects are placed in later years. The amount of money planned under FNIIP varies from year-to-year because of time-limited, targeted funding programs. FNIIP is not a funding program but rather a planning tool for managing investments in First Nation infrastructure.

National plans

Find out more

Date modified:

Plan d'investissement dans l'infrastructure des Premières Nations

Le Plan d'investissement dans l'infrastructure des Premières Nations (PIIPN) aide Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) à évaluer les besoins en infrastructure et à planifier stratégiquement les investissements à cet égard dans les collectivités des Premières Nations de partout au Canada. Le PIIPN favorise la santé et la sécurité des collectivités des Premières Nations ainsi que leur réussite sur le plan économique.

Tous les ans, on crée un PIIPN national à partir des plans communautaires et régionaux d'investissement dans l'infrastructure. Une Première Nation a jusqu'au 30 septembre de chaque année pour soumettre un plan communautaire d'investissement dans l'infrastructure à un bureau régional.

L'ordre de priorité des investissements est établi dans le Système national de classement des priorités, un outil de planification qui favorise le financement direct des projets prioritaires selon un processus uniforme et transparent pour toutes les régions. Les projets prioritaires sont financés dans les premières années du plan tandis que les autres le sont dans les années subséquentes. Les sommes prévues au PIIPN varient d'une année à l'autre en raison des programmes ciblés à durée déterminée. Le PIIPN n'est pas un programme de financement, mais plutôt un outil de planification qui sert à gérer les investissements dans l'infrastructure des Premières Nations.

Plans nationaux

Renseignements

Date de modification :