Review of the Canada Petroleum Resources Act

Learn more about the Canada Petroleum Resources Act and its review.

September 7, 2016: The Indigenous and Northern Affairs Minister's Special Representative's report, Review of the Canada Petroleum Resources Act, is now available online.

Choose a topic:

About the Canada Petroleum Resources Act

The Canada Petroleum Resources Act (CPRA) was established in 1985. It is one of the main pieces of federal legislation that governs oil and gas exploration in the North and offshore.

The Act authorizes the issuance by the Crown of title rights to explore for, develop and produce petroleum in areas under federal jurisdiction that are not covered by other legislation.

It also governs the allocation of rights to explore and develop petroleum resources on frontier lands, the administration of these rights and the setting of royalties on production.

The CPRA's principles are:

  • rights can be awarded only as the result of a transparent, competitive bidding process
  • generally, rights once issued should be secure
  • to support the recirculation of potential exploration areas
    • this means that at the end of the term of an exploration licence, all areas that are not carried forward into either a significant discovery licence or production licence revert to crown reserve land and are potentially available, through the call for bids process, for exploration by others
  • to help implement the concept of unitary development
    • this means that petroleum reservoirs are best developed as a single unit from the perspectives of resource conservation, engineering efficiency and protection of the environment

Ministerial responsibility for the CPRA is divided:

  • The Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs is responsible for the administration of the Act where it applies in the North.
  • The Minister of Natural Resources is responsible for the administration of the Act in other areas and is also the Minister responsible for the administration of legislation implementing the Atlantic Accord and the Canada-Nova Scotia Petroleum Resources Accord.

As of August 2016, there are 15 exploration licenses held in the Beaufort Sea offshore region. Oil and gas rights have not been issued in the Eastern Arctic offshore since the mid-1980s.

The application of the CPRA onshore was withdrawn by the implementation of devolution agreements with the Yukon in 1993 and the Northwest Territories in 2013. The Act continues to apply in Nunavut, in most offshore areas north of latitude 60, and in the Hudson Bay area.

To learn more about the creation of the CPRA visit: Origins of the CPRA.

Highlights of the Review of the Canada Petroleum Resources Act

The Government of Canada is committed to promoting a modern, effective and safe oil and gas regulatory regime that upholds world-class environmental standards in the North. To maintain responsible resource development and competitiveness, regular reviews of the regulatory regime are carried out.

The Review of the Canada Petroleum Resources Act by the Minister's Special Representative, Rowland J. Harrison, Q.C. was released on August 8, 2016. The report was presented to the Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs, Carolyn Bennett on May 30, 2016.

Visit: Review of the Canada Petroleum Resources Act to read the full report

The report reviews the CPRA and whether or not it can promote a sustainable Arctic economy while serving the public interest.

Specifically in his review, Mr. Harrison:

  • examined key legislation, regulation, policy and contractual arrangements that make up the management of northern oil and gas
  • compared Canada's northern petroleum management structure with equivalent management structures in international jurisdictions with similar petroleum activities in comparable environments
  • assessed the CPRA's contribution to achieving the original policy intent of the Government of Canada and specifically, as the legislation relates to the Arctic;
  • took into account the interests of rights holders under relevant self-government and comprehensive land claim agreements
  • considered changes and recommendations to the management of oil and gas resources, including potential legislative amendments, in support of Canada's interests in oil and gas matters in the Arctic
  • reviewed frontier lands under the responsibility of the Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs with a focus on the Beaufort Sea

In his review, Mr. Harrison concluded that the CPRA has been successful in instituting a rights issuance system that is market-driven, is responsible to industry interest and provides security of tenure. The Act also provides the Crown with full control in managing an effective oil and gas regime.

Mr. Harrison found that the Act, in its current form, meets the needs of Canadians and industry, but he also made ten recommendations to the Minister on how the Act can be clarified and improved.

These ten recommendations are:

  • Recommendation 1: That the CPRA be amended to include a statement of purpose that would be broad and enduring, to accommodate national priorities as they evolve
  • Recommendation 2: That the CPRA be amended to require that a strategic environmental assessment, encompassing the area in which it is proposed to initiate bids, has been completed and considered by the Minister before the call for bids is issued
  • Recommendation 3: If it is decided not to proceed with proposed legislative amendments to the CPRA, it is recommended that appropriate formal statement of policy and guidance be adopted, to be applied within the framework of the current act
  • Recommendation 4: That the CPRA be amended to increase the permissible maximum term of exploration licences from nine to 16 years
  • Recommendation 5: That the CPRA be amended to allow the Minister to extend the term of exploration licence where the Minister is satisfied that intervening and unanticipated regulatory developments, or a force majeur event, would restrict the ability of the licence owner to meet the requirements of the licence in the remaining term of the licence
  • Recommendation 6: If it is proposed to amend the CPRA to increase the maximum allowable term of exploration licences, the Minister consider whether the revised term should be applied to existing licences in the Beaufort Sea, having regard to changed circumstances, the potential benefits of having the Beaufort Sea Exploration Joint Venture work program continue and the implications for future exploration in the Beaufort Sea
  • Recommendation 7: Provisions of the CPRA relating to the rights granted by significant discovery licences not be changed
  • Recommendation 8: Technical discussions continue between industry and the responsible regulators to determine if the definition of "significant discovery" in section 2 and the requirement for "further drilling" in subsection 28(4) of the Act are consistent with current technology and, if not, that the Act be amended accordingly
  • Recommendation 9: The Act be amended to require the Minister's approval of transfers of interest, or any share therein, provided the Minister is satisfied that the transfer would not jeopardize the relevant interest owner's ability to continue to satisfy the qualifications required of the original interest owner
  • Recommendation 10: Part VII: Environmental Studies Research Fund of the CPRA be amended to:
    • increase the limit on the maximum amount of the ESRF to account for inflation from 1986 to date and to provide for indexing for the future
    • require appointment of the Environmental Studies Management Board of a nominee of the Inuvialuit Regional Corporation and representation for the territories
    • require the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge into environmental and social studies financed by the fund

The appointment of the Minister's Special Representative, Rowland Harrison, Q.C.

On November 26, 2015, Indigenous and Northern Affairs Minister Carolyn Bennett confirmed Rowland Harrison, Q.C., as the Minister's Special Representative to conduct a comprehensive review of the operations of the CPRA and to lead an ongoing engagement process with Indigenous governments, organizations, stakeholders and other interested parties to determine how the Act can best contribute to the responsible development of Canada's Arctic oil and gas resource opportunities.

In addition to his extensive experience advising provincial, territorial, federal and foreign governments on energy regulation, Mr. Harrison has extensive experience as an adviser on all regulatory and constitutional aspects of oil and gas exploration in the Canadian offshore and northern frontier lands. He played a leading role in the development and enactment of the Canada Petroleum Resources Act and the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act. From 1997 to 2011, Mr. Harrison completed two full terms as a full-time board member of the National Energy Board. During that time, he was appointed by the federal Minister of Environment as a member of the Joint Review Panel for both the GSX Canada Pipeline and the Mackenzie Gas Projects. Before joining the National Energy Board, Mr. Harrison was a partner in the Calgary office of Stikeman Elliott, a national and international Canadian law firm, where he specialized in all regulatory aspects of the oil and gas industry from 1987 to 1997.

Mr. Harrison has been Professor of Law at the University of Ottawa, Dalhousie University, the University of Calgary and the University of Alberta. He holds a Bachelor of Law degree from the University of Tasmania, Australia, and a Master of Law degree from the University of Alberta, where he served for the last three years as the TransCanada Chair in Administrative and Regulatory Law. Mr. Harrison has been a member of the bars of Nova Scotia, Ontario and Alberta and is Co-Editor of the Energy Regulation Quarterly. He was appointed Queen's Counsel by the Government of Alberta in 2006.

Date modified:

Examen de la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures

Renseignements concernant la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures et son examen.

Le 7 septembre 2016 : Il est possible de consulter en ligne le rapport du représentant spécial de la ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord, intitulé Examen de la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures.

Choisir un sujet :

À propos de la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures

La Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures (la Loi) a été adoptée en 1985. Il s'agit de l'une des principales lois fédérales qui régissent l'exploration pétrolière et gazière dans le Nord et la zone extracôtière.

La Loi autorise l'État à octroyer des droits de propriété pour l'exploration, l'exploitation et la production pétrolière dans les zones du ressort fédéral qui ne sont pas visées par d'autres lois.

La Loi régit également l'attribution des droits d'exploration et d'exploitation des ressources sur les terres domaniales, ainsi que la gestion de ces droits et l'établissement de redevances sur la production.

Voici les principes de la Loi :

  • les droits ne peuvent être octroyés qu'à la suite d'un processus d'appel d'offres transparent et concurrentiel
  • en général, les droits doivent être protégés une fois qu'ils sont octroyés
  • le soutien de la réutilisation des zones d'exploration possibles;
    • en d'autres termes, à l'expiration du permis de prospection, toutes les zones non reportées dans une attestation de découverte importante ou une licence de production deviennent des réserves de l'État et peuvent être offertes à d'autres, aux fins d'exploration, par l'entremise d'un processus d'appel d'offres.
  • le soutien de la mise en œuvre du concept d'exploitation unitaire;
    • en d'autres termes, les gisements de pétrole sont mieux exploités de façon unitaire sur le plan de la conservation des ressources, de l'efficacité technique et de la protection de l'environnement.

Les responsabilités ministérielles concernant la Loi se divisent comme suit :

  • Il incombe à la ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord d'appliquer la Loi lorsqu'elle s'applique au Nord.
  • Il incombe au ministre des Ressources naturelles d'appliquer la Loi dans d'autres zones et également les lois qui mettent en œuvre l'Accord atlantique et l'Accord Canada – Nouvelle-Écosse sur les hydrocarbures.

En date du mois d'août 2016, 15 permis de prospection étaient détenus dans la zone extracôtière de la mer de Beaufort. Aucun droit pétrolier ou gazier n'a été accordé dans la zone extracôtière de l'Arctique de l'Est depuis le milieu des années 1980.

L'application de la Loi dans les zones extracôtières a été remplacée par la mise en œuvre d'ententes sur le transfert des responsabilités conclues avec le Yukon en 1993 et les Territoires du Nord-Ouest en 2013. La Loi s'applique toujours au Nunavut, ainsi que dans la plupart des zones extracôtières situées au nord du 60e parallèle et la région de la baie d'Hudson.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la création de la Loi, consulter : Origines de la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures (LFH)..

Faits saillants : Examen de la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures

Le gouvernement du Canada est résolu à faire la promotion d'un régime de réglementation du pétrole et du gaz moderne, efficace et sécuritaire, qui respecte des normes environnementales de calibre mondial dans le Nord. Afin d'assurer un développement responsable des ressources et de maintenir une capacité concurrentielle, on réalise des examens périodiques du régime de réglementation.

L'Examen de la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures réalisé par le représentant spécial de la ministre, Rowland J. Harrison, c.r., a été publié le 8 août 2016. Le rapport a été présenté à la ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord, Carolyn Bennett, le 30 mai 2016.

Pour lire le rapport complet visitez : Examen de la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures.

Le rapport fait état de la Loi et de la question de savoir s'il peut promouvoir une économie durable dans l'Arctique tout en servant l'intérêt public.

Plus précisément dans le cadre de son examen, M. Harrison :

  • a examiné les lois clés, les règlements, politiques et accords contractuels qui gouvernent la gestion du pétrole et du gaz dans le Nord
  • a comparé la structure de gestion des activités pétrolières dans le Nord à des structures de gestion équivalentes dans d'autres autorités dans le monde où s'exercent des activités pétrolières similaires, dans des environnements comparables
  • a évalué la capacité de la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures à atteindre l'objectif initial de la politique du gouvernement du Canada, plus précisément en ce qui concerne l'Arctique
  • a tenu compte des intérêts des titulaires de droits en vertu des ententes relatives sur l'autonomie gouvernementale ou des accords sur les revendications territoriales
  • a examiné la possibilité de proposer des changements et de faire des recommandations sur le régime de gestion pétrolière et gazière, notamment la possibilité d'apporter des modifications à la Loi pour appuyer les intérêts du Canada en matière de pétrole et de gaz dans l'Arctique
  • a examiné les questions entourant les terres domaniales qui relèvent de la ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada, en particulier dans la mer de Beaufort

Dans son examen, M. Harrison conclut que la Loi a permis d'établir un système d'octroi de droits qui est axé sur le marché, est responsable à l'égard de l'intérêt de l'industrie et assure une sécurité des lieux. La Loi offre également à l'État une emprise totale sur la gestion d'un régime efficace d'exploitation du pétrole et du gaz.

M. Harrison a constaté que la Loi, dans sa forme actuelle, répond aux besoins des Canadiens et de l'industrie; mais il a également formulé dix recommandations à l'intention de la ministre sur l'éclaircissement et l'amélioration de la Loi.

Voici les dix recommandations :

  • Recommandation 1 : Modifier la Loi afin qu'elle comprenne un énoncé d'objet d'une grande portée et durable, afin de tenir compte de l'évolution des priorités nationales.
  • Recommandation 2 : Modifier la Loi afin d'exiger la réalisation d'une évaluation environnementale stratégique qui vise la zone proposée pour le lancement de l'appel d'offres, et son examen par la ministre avant le lancement de l'appel d'offres.
  • Recommandation 3 : S'il est décidé de ne pas apporter les modifications proposées à la Loi, adopter un énoncé de principes et d'orientation officiel approprié et l'appliquer dans le cadre de la Loi actuelle.
  • Recommandation 4 : Modifier la Loi afin d'accroître la durée maximale permise des permis de prospection, pour la faire passer de 9 à 16 ans.
  • Recommandation 5 : Modifier la Loi afin de permettre à la ministre de prolonger la durée d'un permis de prospection lorsqu'elle juge que des faits nouveaux en matière de réglementation intermédiaires ou imprévus ou qu'un événement de force majeure limiteraient la capacité du titulaire à répondre aux exigences du permis pendant la durée restante de ce dernier.
  • Recommandation 6 : S'il est proposé de modifier la Loi afin d'accroître la durée maximale permise des permis de prospection, la ministre doit déterminer si la durée révisée doit être appliquée aux permis actuels octroyés pour la mer de Beaufort, eu égard à un changement de situation, aux avantages possibles de la poursuite du programme de travail relatif au projet commun d'exploration de la mer de Beaufort et aux conséquences d'une exploration future dans la mer de Beaufort.
  • Recommandation 7 : Ne pas changer les dispositions de la Loi concernant les droits qu'accordent les attestations de découverte importantes.
  • Recommandation 8 : Poursuivre les discussions techniques entre l'industrie et les organismes de réglementation responsables afin de déterminer si la définition de la « découverte importante » mentionnée à l'article 2 et le besoin « d'autres forages » mentionné au paragraphe 28(4) de la Loi sont conformes à la technologie actuelle et, si ce n'est pas le cas, modifier la Loi en conséquence.
  • Recommandation 9 : Modifier la Loi afin d'exiger que la ministre approuve le transfert de titres, ou d'une fraction de ceux-ci, à condition qu'elle juge que le transfert n'empêcherait pas le titulaire de titres visé de toujours répondre aux critères que doit respecter le titulaire de titres initial.
  • Recommandation 10 : Modifier la Partie VII : Fonds pour l'étude de l'environnement (FEE) de la Loi afin :
    • d'accroître la limite de son montant maximal pour tenir compte de l'inflation de 1986 à aujourd'hui et prévoir l'indexation pour l'avenir;
    • d'exiger la nomination, par le Conseil de l'étude de l'environnement, d'un représentant de la Société régionale inuvialuit et la représentation des territoires;
    • d'exiger l'intégration des connaissances autochtones dans les études environnementales et sociales financées par le FEE.

Nomination du représentant spécial de la ministre, Rowland Harrison, c.r.

Le 26 novembre 2015, Carolyn Bennett, ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord, a confirmé M. Rowland Harrison, c.r. dans son rôle de représentant spécial de la ministre, afin de réaliser un examen exhaustif de la mise en œuvre de la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures. Elle l'a aussi chargé de diriger un processus de mobilisation auprès des gouvernements autochtones, des organisations, des intervenants et d'autres parties intéressées sur la façon dont la Loi peut le mieux contribuer au développement responsable dans le cadre d'occasions de mise en valeur des ressources pétrolières et gazières dans l'Arctique canadien.

En plus d'une vaste expérience à titre de conseiller en matière de réglementation de l'énergie auprès de gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, du gouvernement fédéral et de gouvernements étrangers, M. Harrison possède également une solide expérience en ce qui a trait aux aspects réglementaires et constitutionnels de l'exploration pétrolière et gazière dans les eaux extracôtières du Canada et sur les terres domaniales du Nord. Il a joué un rôle de chef de file dans l'élaboration et l'adoption de la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures et de la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada.

De 1997 à 2011, M. Harrison a rempli deux mandats complets à titre de membre du conseil d'administration à temps plein de l'Office national de l'énergie. Pendant cette période, le ministre fédéral de l'Environnement l'a nommé membre au Comité d'examen commun du projet de pipeline GSX Canada et du projet gazier Mackenzie. Avant de se joindre à l'Office national de l'énergie, M. Harrison a été partenaire au bureau de Calgary de Stikeman Elliott, un cabinet d'avocats national et international, où il s'est spécialisé dans tous les aspects de la réglementation de l'industrie pétrolière et gazière de 1987 à 1997.

M. Harrison a été professeur de droit aux universités d'Ottawa, Dalhousie, de Calgary et de l'Alberta. Il détient un baccalauréat en droit de l'Université de Tasmanie, en Australie, de même qu'une maîtrise en droit de l'Université de l'Alberta, où il a été, pendant les trois dernières années, titulaire de la Chaire TransCanada de droit administratif et réglementaire. M. Harrison a été membre des Barreaux de la Nouvelle­Écosse, de l'Ontario et de l'Alberta, et il est le coéditeur de la Publication trimestrielle sur la réglementation de l'énergie. Le gouvernement de l'Alberta l'a nommé conseiller de la reine en 2006.

Date de modification :