Evaluation of the Mid-Term National Review for the Strategic Evaluation of the Enhanced Prevention Focused Approach for the First Nation Child and Family Services Program - Follow-up Report Status Update as of June 30, 2014

PDF Version (37 Kb, 5 Pages)

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of June 30, 2014

EDUCATION & SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT PROGRAMS AND PARTNERSHIPS

Evaluation of the Mid-Term National Review for the Strategic Evaluation of the Enhanced Prevention Focused Approach for the First Nation Child and Family Services Program
Approval Date: 09/23/11
Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected Completion Date Program Response
1. Increase linkages with relevant federal and provincial ministries to address how governments can assist agencies in improving service delivery on reserve, as well as work with provincial governments to improve the cultural appropriateness of services off reserve.
  • While continuing to work collaboratively with relevant federal and provincial ministries through existing tripartite tables, bi-lateral forums and other communication opportunities, AANDC HQ and Regions will explore the feasibility of Federal/Provincial/Territorial working groups as a means to facilitate the sharing of best practices and collaboration between all levels of government. Sharing best practices on-reserve will be done in an attempt to assist the provinces in their development of policies regarding culturally appropriate services off-reserve.
June 2012 Status: Completed - Closed

Update/Rationale:
As of 22/02/2013:

AANDC is working with Tripartite Tables in the Regions to address how both federal and provincial governments can assist in improving service delivery on reserve including cultural appropriateness of services.

For example, AANDC has been meeting with Alberta FNCFS agency Directors, First Nation PTOs, and the province to discuss challenges and strengths within the CFS program. Work will continue on both a strengthened tripartite engagement process and a bilateral accountability framework aimed at improving services and results for First Nation children in Alberta.

As well, in Nova Scotia, a tripartite Executive Steering Committee meets regularly to understand the continuum of provincial services, as well as provincial staffing standards to ensure better response times. The tripartite committee is in the process of having a consultant conduct an organizational review and provide coaching for the development of a new Business Plan. This will support operational effectiveness and enhance service delivery in the one FNCFS Agency in Nova Scotia.

All jurisdictions transitioned to EPFA are based on tripartite frameworks, and these tripartite groups comprised of First Nations, and Provincial and Federal officials, continue to meet regularly in order to ensure FNCFS Agencies are aware of provincial trends and training sessions. Annually updated Business Plans are a requirement of funding agreements between AANDC and FNCFS Agencies, and these are reviewed and approved by the respective province before being accepted by AANDC.

AES: Closed.
2. Encourage consistent follow-up tripartite discussions in every region to address issues as they arise and work collaboratively with all parties to resolve them.
  • AANDC Headquarters and Regional offices recognize the challenges of consistent follow-up and will explore the feasibility of developing an approach of proactively addressing these challenges, as agreed upon by relevant stakeholders.
March 2013 Status: Completed - Closed

Update/Rationale
As of 31/03/2013:

Ongoing tripartite meetings take place in all six EPFA jurisdictions to monitor progress. Tripartite meetings took place in British Columbia in January 2013 to update the 2008 framework for the implementation of EPFA. Tripartite meetings were held in January 2013 in Nova Scotia to continue the monitoring of implementation of EPFA. Tripartite meetings took place in Manitoba in March 2013 to discuss the development of a data sharing agreement.

Tripartite meetings were held in Alberta in January and March 2013 to discuss a tripartite engagement process and to continue the monitoring of the implementation of EPFA. Regular tripartite meetings also take place in Saskatchewan and PEI.

AES: Processes are in place to address this recommendation. Closed.
3. Ensure clear and continuous information sharing between AANDC Headquarters and Regional offices so that all parties are informed of decision-making processes and potential issues coming from the regions.
  • AANDC has already been made aware of the challenges of information sharing between AANDC Regions and HQ. Within the last six months AANDC has begun to improve upon these challenges by scheduling monthly meetings for FNCFS staff as well as scheduling monthly meetings between Regional staff and Regional Director Generals. In 1 years time AANDC will re-evaluate how these meetings have improved information sharing between Regions and HQ and make any necessary adjustments or improvements as required.
September 2012 Status: Completed - Closed

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2012:

Bi-lateral conference calls with regions continue to take place on a regular basis. Monthly conference calls continue to be held between HQ FNCFS program staff and their regional counterparts, and the SPPB DG and ARDGs on all Branch issues.

In addition, FNCFS had a face-to-face meeting with regional counterparts in May 2012. This meeting targeted program management issues such as risk-based reporting and Data Collection Instruments, and policy issues such as targeted funding/unexpended funds and program terms and conditions.

A Branch-wide email inquiry address is now in place; this address is provided for AANDC regional staff requiring clarification on respective program policies or management practices from SPPB. HQ responses and clarifications are stored in a repository that is available to all regional and HQ users.

These forums continue to improve the flow of information between FNCFS HQ and regions.

AES: The Program has sufficiently addressed this recommendation. Closed.
4. Increase capacity of First Nations agencies by developing/updating tools (i.e. manuals, guidelines, templates, etc.) and by providing training as appropriate to assist them in meeting AANDC reporting requirements and in being more strategic in their long-term planning.
  • The Operations and Quality Management directorate of SPPB has been developing and updating tools, manuals, guidelines and templates in order to enhance compliance and reduce reporting burden in the regions and agencies. These documents will be completed and shared with regions and recipients by on an as-built-basis starting in October 2011 with final implementation scheduled by March 31, 2012.
March 2012
& ongoing
Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/06/2014:

  • The national working group for FNCFS on compliance has been meeting to discuss the requirements. There have been delays due to other priorities and dependencies, but it is expected that the work on program-specific compliance tools be completed in Q2. Pilot reviews to test and optimize national compliance approaches and tools suitable to each region/jurisdiction are expected to take place in Q3.
  • GCPedia is being used as a project management platform over the next year to: 1) engage, coordinate and track department-wide implementation of AANDC’s eight commitments in response to the Internal Follow-up Audit of Capacity Development; and 2) track implications of using this tool for people, processes and outcomes (more information on this below).
  • The FNCFS program has established the working group on National Data Collection Instruments. This working group is currently updating the Business Plan template and adapting its content to assist FNCFS agencies in meeting AANDC requirements. These tools and modifications to the reporting cycle will also assist FNCFS agencies in their strategic planning. By aligning the timing of business planning and reporting to federal and provincial requirements, the agencies’ reporting burden will gradually be reduced. These measures are expected to improve tripartite collaboration throughout the business cycle.
AES: Good progress to date. Update in Q4.
  • An AANDC department wide capacity development initiative is currently being developed that will help identify ways in which to enhance capacity within First Nations communities. Following the implementation of this initiative AANDC will assess linkages that could strengthen First Nation Capacity under the FNCFS program.
March 2012
  • The 5-year Business Plans are a required mechanism for funding under EPFA in response to improving accountability within the FNCFS Program.  AANDC will review the existing Business Plan template and make modifications as needed, in conjunction with the departmental-wide exercise of implementing the Policy on Transfer Payments and reducing the overall recipient reporting burden.
April 2014
Date modified:

Évaluation de l'examen de mi-parcours national pour l'Évaluation stratégique de l'approche améliorée axée sur la prévention du Programme des services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 juin 2014

Format PDF (39 Ko, 5 pages)

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité d'évaluation, de mesure du rendement et d'examen en date du 30 juin 2014

PROGRAMMES ET PARTENARIATS EN MATIÈRE D'ÉDUCATION ET DE DÉVELOPPEMENT SOCIAL

Évaluation de l'examen de mi-parcours national pour l'Évaluation stratégique de l'approche améliorée axée sur la prévention du Programme des services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations
Date d'approbation 09/23/11
Recommandations du projet Plan d'action Date d'achèvement prévue Réponse du programme
1. Renforcer ses liens avec les ministères fédéraux et provinciaux concernés afin de cerner les moyens que peuvent employer les gouvernements pour aider les organismes à améliorer la prestation de services dans les réserves, et travailler avec les gouvernements provinciaux pour voir à ce que les services offerts hors des réserves correspondent davantage aux réalités culturelles en cause.
  • Tout en continuant de travailler en collaboration avec les ministères fédéraux et provinciaux concernés dans le cadre de tables tripartites, de forums bilatéraux et d'autres occasions, l'AC et les bureaux régionaux d'AADNC étudieront la possibilité de mettre en place des groupes de travail fédéraux-provinciaux-territoriaux en vue de faciliter la communication des pratiques exemplaires et la collaboration entre tous les ordres de gouvernement. On communiquera les pratiques exemplaires efficaces dans les réserves afin d'aider les provinces à élaborer des politiques de prestation de services hors des réserves correspondant aux réalités culturelles.
Juin 2012 État : Terminée - fermée

Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 22 février 2013

AADNC collabore avec les tables tripartites dans les régions pour examiner de quelle façon les gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux peuvent contribuer à améliorer la prestation des services dans les réserves, notamment sur le plan de la correspondance avec les réalités culturelles.

Par exemple, AADNC a rencontré les directeurs des agences des SEFPN de l’Alberta, des représentants des OPT des Premières Nations et de la province pour discuter des difficultés et des points forts du programme des SEF. Les travaux se poursuivront pour établir un processus de mobilisation tripartite plus solide et un cadre de responsabilisation bilatéral visant à améliorer les résultats et les services pour les enfants des Premières Nations en Alberta.

En outre, en Nouvelle-Écosse, un comité directeur administratif se réunit régulièrement pour comprendre le continuum des services provinciaux ainsi que les normes de dotation provinciales pour de meilleurs temps de réponse. Le comité tripartite est en voie de faire exécuter un examen organisationnel par un consultant et d’offrir un encadrement pour l’élaboration d’un nouveau plan des activités. Cela favorisera l’efficacité opérationnelle et améliorera la prestation des services dans l’unique agence des SEFPN en Nouvelle-Écosse.

Toutes les administrations ayant adopté l’approche améliorée axée sur la prévention (AAAP) reposent sur des structures tripartites. Ces groupes tripartites formés de représentants des Premières Nations et des gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux, continuent de se réunir régulièrement pour assurer que les agences des SEFPN sont au courant des séances de formation et des tendances provinciales. Les plans des activités mis à jour annuellement représentent une exigence des accords de financement entre AADNC et les agences des SEFPN,et ceux-ci sont examinés et approuvés par la province concernée avant d’être acceptés par AADNC.

SVE : Fermée
2. Encourager la tenue de discussions tripartites de suivi cohérentes dans toutes les régions pour régler les problèmes à mesure qu'ils se présentent et, à cette fin, travailler de concert avec toutes les parties concernées.
  • Tant à l'AC que dans les bureaux régionaux d'AADNC, on est conscient des défis que représente un suivi cohérent et on explorera la possibilité d'élaborer une approche permettant de relever ces défis de manière proactive, de la façon qu'auront convenu les intervenants concernés.
Mars 2013 État : Terminée - fermée

Mise à jour/Justification
Au 31-03-2013

Les groupes tripartites continuent de se réunir régulièrement pour faire le suivi des progrès réalisés dans les administrations participant à l’AAAP. Des rencontres tripartites ont eu lieu en Colombie-Britannique en janvier 2013 pour mettre à jour le cadre de 2008 aux fins de la mise en œuvre de l’AAAP. Des rencontres tripartites ont été tenues en janvier 2013 en Nouvelle-Écosse pour continuer le suivi de la mise en œuvre de l’AAAP. Des réunions tripartites ont eu lieu au Manitoba en mars 2013 pour discuter de l’élaboration d’un accord de mise en commun des données.

Des réunions tripartites ont été tenues en Alberta en janvier et en mars 2013 pour discuter d’un processus tripartite de mobilisation et continuer le suivi de la mise en œuvre de l’AAAP. Des rencontres tripartites ont aussi lieu régulièrement en Saskatchewan et à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

SVE : Fermeture du dossier. Les processus nécessaires sont en place pour donner suite à cette recommandation. Fermée.
3. Veiller à la mise en commun continue de renseignements clairs entre l'administration centrale et les bureaux régionaux afin que toutes les parties soient informées des processus de prise de décisions et des questions que les régions sont susceptibles de soulever.
  • AADNC a été informé des défis associés à l'échange d'information entre les bureaux régionaux et l'AC d'AADNC. Au cours des six derniers mois, AADNC a commencé à relever ces défis en fixant des réunions mensuelles pour le personnel des SEFPN, ainsi qu'entre le personnel des régions et les directeurs généraux régionaux. D'ici un an, AADNC réévaluera la mesure dans laquelle ces réunions ont permis d'améliorer l'échange d'information entre les régions et l'AC et apportera les rajustements et améliorations nécessaires.
Septembre 2012 État : Terminée - fermée

Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 30 septembre 2012

Les conférences téléphoniques avec les régions se poursuivent de façon régulière. Des conférences téléphoniques ont encore lieu tous les mois entre le personnel du programme des SEFPN de l’AC et ses homologues régionaux, ainsi qu’avec le DG et les DGRA de la DGPSP afin d’aborder toutes les questions de la Direction générale.

En outre, les SEFPN ont rencontré en personne leurs homologues régionaux en mai 2012. Cette réunion a porté sur des questions de gestion des programmes, notamment la production de rapports fondés sur les risques et les instruments de collecte de données, ainsi que sur des questions de politiques, dont le financement ciblé/les fonds inutilisés et les modalités du programme.

Une adresse électronique accessible à l’ensemble de la Direction générale a été créée pour que le personnel régional d’AADNC puisse demander des éclaircissements à la DGPSP sur ses différentes politiques de programme ou sur ses pratiques de gestion. Les réponses et clarifications données par l’AC sont enregistrées dans un répertoire auquel tous les utilisateurs de l’AC et des régions ont accès.

Ces forums améliorent la diffusion de l’information entre l’AC et les régions des SEFPN.

Commentaire du SVE : Dossier fermé. Le Programme a donné suite à cette recommandation de façon satisfaisante. Fermée.
4. Renforcer les capacités des organismes des Premières Nations en élaborant et en mettant à jour des outils (p. ex. manuels, directives, modèles) et en offrant de la formation, au besoin, pour aider ces organismes à satisfaire aux exigences ministérielles en matière de production de rapports et à procéder à la planification à long terme de façon plus stratégique.
  • La Direction des opérations et de la gestion de la qualité de la DGPSP s'emploie à élaborer et à mettre à jour des outils, des manuels, des lignes directrices et des modèles pour accroître la conformité et réduire le fardeau relatif à la production de rapports imposé aux régions et aux organismes. Ces documents seront terminés et fournis aux régions et aux bénéficiaires au fur et à mesure qu'ils seront prêts, à compter d'octobre 2011, et jusqu'au 31 mars 2012, date à laquelle ils auront tous été fournis.
Mars 2012 et en cours État : en cours

Mise à jour/Justification
Au 30-06-2014

  • Le groupe de travail national responsable de la conformité relativement aux exigences applicables aux SEFPN s’est réuni pour en discuter. Il y a eu des retards attribuables à d’autres priorités et circonstances, mais on prévoit terminer au cours du deuxième trimestre le travail relatif aux outils visant à assurer le respect des exigences pour ce programme. Des projets pilotes visant à mettre à l’essai et optimiser les méthodes et les outils nationaux en fonction de la situation de chaque région ou administration devraient être réalisés au troisième trimestre.
  • GCpédia sera utilisé comme plateforme de gestion de projet au cours de la prochaine année pour : 1) stimuler, coordonner et suivre la mise en œuvre dans tout le ministère des huit engagements pris par AADNC en réponse au rapport de vérification interne de suivi du développement des capacités; et 2) évaluer les répercussions de l’utilisation de cet outil sur les personnes, les processus et les résultats (plus amples détails ci-après).
  • Les responsables des SEFPN ont mis sur pied le Groupe de travail sur les instruments de collecte de données nationaux. Ce groupe s’emploie à mettre à jour le modèle de plan opérationnel et à en adapter le contenu pour aider les agences des SEFPN à satisfaire aux exigences d’AADNC. Ces outils et les modifications apportées au cycle de production de rapports aideront également les agences des SEFPN dans leur planification stratégique. Grâce à l’harmonisation des délais pour les plans opérationnels et les rapports à présenter aux instances fédérales et provinciales, le fardeau des agences en la matière sera progressivement réduit. Ces mesures devraient améliorer la collaboration tripartite à toutes les étapes du cycle opérationnel.
SVE : Progrès considérables déjà réalisés. Mise à jour au T4.
  • On élabore actuellement un projet à l'échelle du Ministère afin de trouver des façons d'améliorer le développement des capacités dans les collectivités des Premières Nations. Une fois ce projet mis en œuvre, AADNC évaluera les liens qui pourraient renforcer la capacité des Premières Nations aux termes du programme des SEFPN.
Mars 2012
  • Les plans d'activités quinquennaux sont un mécanisme obligatoire de financement aux termes de l'approche améliorée axée sur la prévention (AAAP) afin d'assurer une meilleure responsabilisation dans le cadre du programme des SEFPN. AADNC examinera le modèle de plan d'activités actuel et le modifiera au besoin, tout en poursuivant avec l'exercice panministériel visant à mettre en œuvre la Politique sur les paiements de transfert et à réduire le fardeau global des rapports pour les bénéficiaires.
Avril 2014
Date de modification :