Evaluation of the Advancing Conservation Interests in the Northwest Territories Initiative: Protected Areas Strategy - Follow-up Report Status Update as of June 30, 2014

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

PDF Version of the Evaluation of the Advancing Conservation Interests in the Northwest Territories Initiative: Protected Areas Strategy - Follow-up Report Status Update as of June 30, 2014 (27 Kb, 3 Pages)

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of June 30, 2014

NAO

Evaluation of the Advancing Conservation Interests in the Northwest Territories Initiative: Protected Areas Strategy
Approval Date: 04-25-2013

   Project Recommendations       Action Plan    Expected
   Completion Date   
   Program  Response   
1. Should address the issue of capacity constraints at the community level by working with relevant community partners in order to include more expertise and increase capacity in the NWT-PAS activities while sharing costs related to assessments and WG activities. In the context of devolution, what had been AANDC’s role and ongoing funding in the NWT PAS will become the responsibility of the GNWT after April 1, 2014. This said, the federal government (AANDC, EC and PCA) will continue supporting this initiative within existing resource levels.

AANDC funding for NWT-PAS related activities is significantly reduced as of April 2013.  In the context of their different departmental mandates, AANDC, EC and PCA will work together collaboratively in order to increase participation / expertise and cost-sharing for Working Group meetings involving community members, and will work towards achieving completed reports for all candidate areas.
Completion:

April 2014
Status: Completed - Closed

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/06/2014:

Recommendations reports were completed for the Edéhzhíe and Ts'ude niline Tu'eyeta (Ramparts) areas; the remaining reports are in draft format.

As a result of devolution on April 1, 2014 - The Protected Areas Strategy, previously administered by AANDC and the GNWT, is now administered by the GNWT.The GNWT has indicated they will continue to co-operate with PAS partners in establishing and managing protected areas in the Northwest Territories.

AES: With the Devolution in NWT in effect since April 1st, 2014, EPMRB recommends to close.  Closed.
2. Revisit and review the role of the Steering Committee to ensure it provides strategic direction as per its mandate. In coordination with EC and GNWT, AANDC will lead the review of the Steering Committee’s (SC) Work Plan and Terms of Reference until devolution (April 2014). All options will be examined which could include a new role and mandate for the SC or the SC being disbanded if it is deemed no longer needed.  GNWT input into changes to the SC will be paramount as they will be responsible for funding the SC post-devolution.  Completion: Status: Completed - Closed

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/06/2014:

Initial discussions and follow-up meetings were held as planned. As a result of devolution on April 1, 2014 - Administration of the Protected Areas Strategy, previously by AANDC and the GNWT, is now with the GNWT. The Secretariat function has also been transferred to the GNWT. AANDC no longer participates on the Steering Committee. The on-going role of the Steering Committee has not yet been formalized by the GNWT.

AES: With the Devolution in NWT in effected since April 1st, 2014, EPMRB recommends to close.  Closed.
1) Initial discussion on changes to the SC presented during 2013-14 SC Workplan review at SC meeting 1. February 2013
2) Follow-up meeting  to discuss the on-going role of the SC 2. May 2013
3) Decisions made on the future of the SC 3. April 2014
3. In coordination with the relevant departments and agencies, review current funding mechanisms, to ensure predictability of funds and a timely delivery to recipients. 1) AANDC funding for PAS activities as of 2013-14 and beyond is significantly reduced, to an extent that it will likely preclude funding of recipients. At the time of devolution, GNWT will take on responsibilities and funding associated with on-going NWT PAS activities.

Through the Policy on Transfer Payment (PTP) initiative, AANDC will continue the work to address outstanding concerns regarding predictability of funds and timely delivery to recipients.
Completion:

1) April 2014
Status: Completed - Closed

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/06/2014:

As a result of devolution on April 1, 2014 - The Protected Areas Strategy, previously administered by AANDC and the GNWT, has been transferred to the GNWT. AANDC no longer provides funding for Protected Areas Strategy initiatives.

AES: With the Devolution in NWT in effected since April 1st, 2014, EPMRB recommends to close.  Closed.
2) Parks Canada will examine the means to secure the necessary funding to establish, develop and operate the Thaidene Nene national park reserve as the NWT PAS program does not provide the necessary funding for this aspect of the park reserve project. 2) April 2014
4. Develop an approach that will foster better understanding and communication of the NWT-PAS as it pertains to the devolution of lands and resources. Within the context of devolution of lands and resources, AANDC, in coordination with EC, is currently working with GNWT on developing an approach that will ensure smooth transition and foster better understanding of the NWT-PAS activities and intent post-devolution. So far, the following actions have been completed: Completion:
Overall, by April 2014
Status: Completed - Closed

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/06/2014:

As a result of devolution on April 1, 2014 - The Protected Areas Strategy, previously administered by AANDC and the GNWT, is now administered by the GNWT. AANDC no longer sits as federal representative on the PAS Steering Committee or associated Working Groups.

AES: With the Devolution in NWT in effected since April 1st, 2014, EPMRB recommends to close.  Closed.
1) Correspondence at the Ministerial level between AANDC / EC / GNWT to clarify / agree on an orderly transition to Devolution. 1) February 2013
2) Participation in WG meetings with a presentation of a common message.

Further joint EC/AANDC/PCA communications will be undertaken leading up to devolution.
2) March 2013
 
 
Date modified:

Évaluation de l'Initiative de promotion des intérêts liés à la conservation dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest : Stratégie des zones protégées - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 juin 2014

Format PDF de Évaluation de l'Initiative de promotion des intérêts liés à la conservation dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest : Stratégie des zones protégées - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 juin 2014 (30 Ko, 3 pages)

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité d'évaluation, de mesure du rendement et d'examen en date du 30 juin 2014

Organisation des affaires du Nord

Évaluation de l'Initiative de promotion des intérêts liés à la conservation dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest : Stratégie des zones protégées
Date d'approbation le 25 avril 2013

   Recommandations du projet       Plan d'action    Date
   d'achèvement prévue   
   Réponse du programme   
1. Nous recommandons d’aborder la question des limites de capacité à l’échelle de la collectivité en travaillant avec les partenaires communautaires en cause, afin de miser sur un savoir-faire et des capacités accrus dans la réalisation des activités de la Stratégie des zones protégées des Territoires du Nord-Ouest (SZP-TNO), tout en partageant les coûts associés aux évaluations et aux activités d’un groupe de travail. Dans le contexte du transfert des responsabilités, le rôle que jouait jusque-là Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) à l’égard de la mise en œuvre et du financement permanent de la SZP-TNO sera confié au gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest (GTNO) à partir du 1er avril 2014. Cependant, le gouvernement fédéral (AADNC, Environnement Canada (EC) et Agence Parcs Canada (APC)) continuera d’appuyer cette initiative dans les limites des ressources existantes.

Depuis avril 2013, le financement accordé par AADNC pour les activités liées à la SZP-TNO est considérablement réduit. AADNC, EC et APC travailleront ensemble, dans le respect de leur mandat respectif, afin d’accroître la participation, l’expertise et le partage des coûts dans le cadre des réunions des groupes de travail auxquelles participent les membres de la collectivité, et ils veilleront à la production des rapports pour toutes les zones admissibles.
Date d’achèvement :
Avril 2014
État : Terminée - fermée

Mise à jour/Justification :
Au 30 juin 2014 :

Les rapports de recommandations ont été réalisés pour les zones suivantes : Edéhzhíe et Ts'ude niline Tu'eyeta (Ramparts). On en est aux versions provisoires pour les autres rapports.

À la suite du transfert des responsabilités le 1er avril 2014 – La SZP, auparavant gérée par AADNC et le GTNO, est désormais gérée par le GTNO. Ce dernier a indiqué qu’il continuera de coopérer avec les partenaires de la SZP en établissant et en gérant des zones protégées dans les TNO.

SVE : En raison du transfert des responsabilités au GTNO en vigueur depuis le 1er avril 2014, la DGEMRE recommande de fermer le dossier. Fermée.
2. Nous recommandons de revoir et de modifier le rôle du Comité directeur (CD) afin de veiller à ce qu’il assure une orientation stratégique, conformément à son mandat. De concert avec EC et le GTNO, AADNC pilotera les travaux de révision du plan de travail et du mandat du CD d’ici au transfert des responsabilités (avril 2014). Toutes les options seront examinées, y compris l’établissement d’un nouveau rôle et d’un nouveau mandat pour le CD ou la dissolution du CD si ce dernier n’est plus jugé nécessaire. Il sera essentiel de consulter le GTNO au sujet des changements à apporter au CD, car c’est ce gouvernement qui sera responsable du financement du CD après le transfert des responsabilités. Dates d’achèvement : État : Terminée - fermée

Mise à jour/Justification :
Au 30 juin 2014 :

Les premiers échanges et les réunions de suivi ont eu lieu comme prévu. À la suite du transfert des responsabilités le 1er avril 2014 – La SZP, auparavant gérée par AADNC et le GTNO, est désormais gérée par le GTNO. La fonction de secrétariat a également été transférée au GTNO. AADNC ne participe plus aux travaux du CD. Le GTNO n’a pas encore officialisé le rôle actuel du CD.

SVE : En raison du transfert des responsabilités au GTNO en vigueur depuis le 1er avril 2014, la DGEMRE recommande de fermer le dossier. Fermée.
1) Présenter les résultats des premiers échanges sur les changements au CD au cours d’une réunion du CD dans le cadre de l’examen de son plan de travail pour 2013-2014. 1) Février 2013
2) Tenir une réunion de suivi afin d’examiner le rôle du CD. 2) Mai 2013
3) Prendre des décisions concernant l’avenir du CD. 3) Avril 2014
3. Nous recommandons de revoir, de concert avec les ministères et organismes en cause, les mécanismes de financement actuels afin d’assurer la prévisibilité des fonds et leur attribution opportune aux bénéficiaires. 1) Le financement qu’AADNC consacre aux activités de la SZP pour 2013-2014 et les années suivantes est considérablement réduit, au point où il exclura probablement le financement des bénéficiaires. Lorsque les responsabilités seront transférées, le GTNO assumera les responsabilités et le financement liés aux activités actuellement menées dans le cadre de la SZP-TNO.

Conformément à la Politique sur les paiements de transfert, AADNC continuera d’assurer la prévisibilité des fonds et les versements en temps opportun aux bénéficiaires.
Dates d’achèvement :

1) Avril 2014
État : Terminée - fermée

Mise à jour/Justification :
Au 30 juin 2014 :

À la suite du transfert des responsabilités le 1er avril 2014 – La SZP, auparavant gérée par AADNC et le GTNO, est désormais gérée par le GTNO. AADNC ne fournit plus de financement pour les initiatives liées à la SZP.

SVE : En raison du transfert des responsabilités au GTNO en vigueur depuis le 1er avril 2014, la DGEMRE recommande de fermer le dossier. Fermée.
2) APC se penchera sur les moyens d’obtenir les nouveaux fonds nécessaires à la création, à l’aménagement et à la gestion de la réserve de parc national Thaidene Nene, puisque la SZP-TNO ne prévoit pas les fonds requis pour cet aspect du projet. 2) Avril 2014
4. Nous recommandons d’adopter une approche qui permettra de mieux comprendre la SZP-TNO et de mieux communiquer avec elle en ce qui concerne le transfert des responsabilités relatives aux terres et aux ressources. Dans le contexte du transfert des responsabilités concernant les terres et les ressources, AADNC et EC travaillent actuellement avec le GTNO afin d’élaborer une approche qui facilitera la transition et permettra de mieux comprendre les activités et les objectifs liés à la SZP-TNO après le transfert des responsabilités. Voici les mesures prises jusqu’à présent : Dates d’achèvement :
Dans l’ensemble, d’ici avril 2014
État : Terminée - fermée

Mise à jour/Justification :
Au 30 juin 2014 :

À la suite du transfert des responsabilités le 1er avril 2014 – La SZP, auparavant gérée par AADNC et le GTNO, est désormais gérée par le GTNO. AADNC ne siège plus à titre de représentant fédéral au CD de la SZP ni au sein des groupes de travail connexes.

SVE : En raison du transfert des responsabilités au GTNO en vigueur depuis le 1er avril 2014, la DGEMRE recommande de fermer le dossier. Fermée.
1) Correspondance ministérielle entre AADNC, EC et le GTNO afin de clarifier et d’approuver les modalités qui permettront le bon déroulement du transfert des responsabilités. 1) Février 2013
2) Participation aux réunions des groupes de travail et présentation d’un message commun. Il y aura d’autres communications entre EC, AADNC et APC d’ici au transfert des responsabilités. 2) Mars 2013
 
 
Date de modification :