Audit of Corporate Business Planning - Follow-up Report Status Update as of June 30, 2014

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

PDF Version (34 Kb, 5 Pages)

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Audit Committee - As of June 30, 2014

Policy and Strategic Direction

Audit of Corporate Business Planning
AApproval Date: 11-21-2013
   Project Recommendations       Action Plan    Expected
   Completion Date   
   Program  Response   
1. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister of PSD Sector should take further steps to collaborate with the CFO Sector and HRWSB to better align the timing of planning activities and, within available resources, develop business planning processes that effectively integrate resource requirements associated with priorities and planning commitments and should ensure that processes support horizontal alignment across sector business plans when there is shared accountability and where dependencies among sectors exist. PSD has taken steps to support better alignment and timing of planning activities as demonstrated through the formation of an integrated planning working group with CFO and HRWSB.

Since the completion of the audit work the working group has already been able to align the IM/IT, Investment and Procurement plans time lines, as well as the Business, Resource and HR plans time lines through two integrated process launches for the 2014-15 fiscal year.

The Sr. ADM of PSD will explore further opportunities to better integrate planning processes and products, with input from the CFO and the DG HRWSB, such that the resource requirements associated with priorities and planning commitments are properly considered. 

Further, PSD will adjust departmental business planning processes in support of enhanced horizontal alignment of sector business plans where there are shared accountabilities and where dependencies among sectors exist.
March 31, 2015  
2. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister of PSD Sector should develop support mechanisms (e.g.. additional training, guidance in establishing and implementing new processes, tools, etc.) within available resources, and provide sectors with additional guidance for the development of efficient and effective planning processes. PSD will seek input from and provide regular and ongoing direct and indirect support to the departmental planning community through various means (Corporate Results-based Management Directorate Staff, Senior Strategic Outcome Analysts (SSOAs), frameworks and support associated with the streamlining of the PAA and PMF, and through planning fora, such as the Integrated Planning, Reporting, Management and Accountability Forum (IPRMAF), which includes representatives from across all Sectors and Regions, including CFO and HRWSB).

The Sr. ADM of PSD, with input from the CFO and the DG HRWSB, will pursue means to support more efficient and effective planning processes by :
  • developing additional and new/revised tools, training and guidance
  • developing a planning calendar
  • identifying and sharing best practices and lessons learned
September 2014  

3. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister of PSD Sector should, within available resources, develop and implement a governance framework that supports quality assurance and oversight by defining the expectations of sectors as they develop their business plans, by providing support through the review of plans for quality and consistency, and by addressing the alignment of shared priorities and resource requirements across sector plans.

Business planning is an integral part of coordinating and aligning functions to deliver on results and to manage competing priorities within available resources. To ensure quality control and consistency, PSD provides, in addition to planning templates, appropriate guidance to the planning community.

integrated planning working groupas needed, will study the governance of business planning and business plans and the linkages to current sector and corporate level governance bodies.  The outcome of the study will be to identify opportunities to improve consistency in the quality and detail of sector business plans and define expectations for quality assurance and for departmental oversight, and   alignment of common/cross-cutting priorities and resource requirements. PSD will provide individual support to sectors requiring additional guidance to achieve the expected level of quality.

September 2014  
4. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister of PSD Sector should facilitate the development of Department-wide expectations, and a corresponding strategy, for business planning across AANDC, and, within available resources, develop broad guidance (e.g.. guidelines) to support sectors in optimizing the value of planning in their own context and promote Department-wide consistency required to enable aligned and integrated plans. PSD, in partnership with CFO and HRWSB, created an integrated planning working group to develop mechanisms to support greater integration of planning throughout the department.

In the interest of streamlining work and integrating planning, PSD/CFO/HRWSB jointly brought to Senior Management Committee in October 2013, a common approach for business planning, which SMC endorsed for the 2013-14 cycle. PSD/CFO/HRWSB support Sectors and Regions by providing annual planning guidance, as well as analysis and feedback on plans, both draft and final.

PSD further directly supports Sectors and Regions by offering advice through the Senior Strategic Outcome Analyst (SSOA) model as well as through corporate interactions with planners. PSD also disseminates information and lessons learned via the Integrated Planning, Reporting, Management and Accountability Forum (IPRMAF), which includes representatives from across all Sectors and Regions, including CFO and HRWSB.
  Update/Rationale:
As of 30/06/2014:
The Sr. ADM of PSD with input from the CFO and the DG HRWSB, will develop guidance to support the maturation/evolution of business planning within the Department, with clearly communicated objectives and expectations of business planning. March 2014 Ongoing activity. Guidance for the 2015-2016 planning period, building upon the knowledge gained through the integrated planning working group, is being developed for Resource, Business and HR planning and will be launched in the fall of 2014.  The intention is to launch these processes through a common call letter as was done in the previous fiscal year.

AES: Will be closed when the launch is completed.
The integrated planning working group will develop a standardized assessment template for business plans, which will serve as a quality-control checklist; identifying strengths, best practices, weaknesses, opportunities for streamlining, and opportunities for alignment with departmental priorities. November 2013 Request to Close (Completed)

(As of March 31, 2014) Following consultations with the Integrated Planning Working Group, PSD has developed a standardized assessment template for business plans and has begun to test it to assess the 2014-15 sector/region business plans.

AES: Recommend to close. Closed.
The working group will also explore the applicability of "One-Pass Planning" as currently used in DFO. Request to Close (Completed)

(As of March 31, 2014) The Integrated Planning Working Group has consulted with DFO in regards to their "One-Pass Planning" and a decision was made not to implement such a model because it is not an integrated planning model, but rather a single call letter for multiple planning and reporting processes. Additionally, the DFO model does not integrate financial information into business plans.

AES: Recommend to close. Closed.
 
 
Date modified:

Vérification de la planification des activités ministérielles - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 juin 2014

Format PDF (35 Ko, 6 pages)

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 30 juin 2014

Secteur des politiques et de l'orientation stratégique

Vérification de la planification des activités ministérielles
Date d'approbation 21-11-2013
   Recommandations du projet       Plan d'action    Date
   d'achèvement prévue   
   Réponse du programme   
1. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal du SPOS doit prendre de nouvelles mesures pour faciliter la collaboration avec le SDPF et la DGSRHMT en vue d’harmoniser l’échéancier des activités de planification et d’introduire des processus qui tiennent compte de façon efficace des besoins en ressources liés aux priorités et aux engagements en matière de planification, en plus de s’assurer que ces processus favorisent une horizontalité dans les différents plans d’activités sectoriels lorsqu’il y a partage de responsabilités et que des dépendances existent entre les secteurs. Le SPOS a pris des mesures pour appuyer un meilleur alignement et une meilleure exécution des activités de planification comme le démontre la mise sur pied d’un Groupe de travail sur la planification intégrée avec le DPF et la DGSRHMT.

Depuis l’achèvement des travaux de vérification, le Groupe de travail a déjà été en mesure d’aligner le calendrier des plans de GI/TI, d’investissements et d’approvisionnement ainsi que les calendriers des plans d’activités, des ressources et des RH dans le cadre de deux processus intégrés mis en œuvre pour l'exercice 2014-2015.

Le SMA principal du SPOS, en partenariat avec le DPF et la DGSRHMT, examinera d’autres occasions d’intégrer plus étroitement les processus de planification et les produits afin de cerner les ressources requises pour réaliser les priorités et les engagements en matière de planification.

En outre, le SPOS ajustera les processus de planification des activités du Ministère à l'appui d’un alignement horizontal amélioré des plans d’activités du Secteur lorsqu’il y a des responsabilités partagées et des liens d’interdépendance.
31 mars 2015  
2. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal du SPOS doit mettre en place des mécanismes de soutien (p. ex. activités de formations supplémentaires, conseils axés sur l’établissement et la mise en œuvre de nouveaux processus, outils) et orienter davantage les secteurs dans l’élaboration de processus de planification efficients et efficaces. Le SPOS sollicitera la participation de la communauté de planification du Ministère, et lui offrira un soutien direct et indirect, régulier et continu de différentes façons (personnel de la Direction de la gestion axée sur les résultats, analystes principaux des résultats stratégiques (APRS), cadres et soutien rattachés à la simplification de l’AAP et du CRG, et par la planification de différentes tribunes comme le Forum sur la planification, les rapports, la gestion et l'analyse intégrés (FPRGAI), qui réunit des représentants de tous les secteurs et de toutes les régions, y compris le DPF et la DGSRHMT).

Avec la collaboration du DPF et de la DG de la DGSRHMT, le SMA principal du SPOS cherchera à appuyer des processus de planification plus efficients et efficaces en :

  • mettant au point des outils supplémentaires et nouveaux/révisés, de la formation et une orientation;
  • établissant un calendrier de planification;
  • cernant et communiquant les pratiques exemplaires et les enseignements tirés.
Septembre 2014  
3. Compte tenu des ressources disponibles, le SMA principal du SPOS doit concevoir et introduire un cadre de gouvernance qui favorise l’assurance de la qualité et la surveillance en définissant les attentes à l’égard des secteurs pendant que ceux-ci élaborent leurs plans d’activités, en fournissant du soutien par l’examen des plans afin d’en assurer la qualité et la cohérence, et en abordant la question de l’harmonisation des priorités et des exigences en matière de ressources que les plans sectoriels ont en commun. La planification des activités fait partie intégrante des fonctions de coordination et d'alignement pour produire des résultats et gérer des priorités concurrentes dans les limites des ressources disponibles. Par souci d’uniformité et de contrôle de la qualité, le SPOS offre, en plus de modèles de planification, une orientation appropriée à la communauté responsable de la planification.

Groupe de travail sur la planification intégrée, au besoin, examinera le cadre de gouvernance de la planification des activités, les plans d’activités et les liens avec les organes de gouvernance actuels au niveau du Secteur et du Ministère. Cette étude permettra de cerner les possibilités d’accroître l’uniformité de la qualité et la précision des plans d’activités du Secteur et de définir les attentes en matière d’assurance de la qualité et de surveillance ministérielle, en plus de favoriser l’alignement des priorités transversales/communes et des exigences en matière de ressources.  Le SPOS offrira un soutien individuel aux secteurs qui ont besoin d’une orientation supplémentaire pour atteindre le niveau de qualité attendu.
Septembre 2014  
4. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal du SPOS doit faciliter l’élaboration des attentes ministérielles ainsi que la mise en œuvre d’une stratégie connexe pour appuyer la planification des activités dans l’ensemble d’AADNC, et préparer des directives générales (p. ex. lignes directrices) afin d’aider les secteurs à optimiser la valeur de leurs activités de planification dans leur contexte propre et veiller à leur uniformisation à l’échelle du Ministère de sorte que les plans soient à la fois adaptés et intégrés. Le SPOS, en partenariat avec le DPF et la DGSRHMT, a mis sur pied un Groupe de travail sur la planification intégrée afin de mettre au point des mécanismes pour appuyer une plus grande intégration de la planification à l’échelle du Ministère.

Afin de simplifier les travaux et d’intégrer la planification, le SPOS, le DPF et la DGSRHMT ont conjointement présenté au Comité de la haute direction, en octobre 2013, une approche commune à l’égard de la planification des activités, qui a reçu l'approbation du CHD pour le cycle 2013-2014. Le SPOS, le DPF et la DGSRHMT appuient les secteurs et les régions en leur fournissant une orientation annuelle en matière de planification de même qu’une analyse et de la rétroaction sur les plans, tant les ébauches que les versions finales.

En outre, le SPOS appuie directement les secteurs et les régions en offrant des conseils par l’entremise d’un modèle d’analystes principaux des résultats stratégiques (APRS) ainsi que par le biais des interactions du Ministère avec les responsables de la planification. Le SPOS diffuse aussi de l’information et des leçons retenues par le truchement du Forum sur la planification, les rapports, la gestion et l'analyse intégrés (FPRGAI), qui réunit des représentants de tous les secteurs et de toutes les régions, y compris du DPF et de la DGSRHMT.
  Mise à jour/Justification :
Au 30 juin 2014 :
Le SMA principal du SPOS élaborera, en collaboration avec le DPF et la DG de la DGSRHMT une orientation visant à appuyer la maturation et l’évolution de la planification des activités au sein du Ministère, assortie d’objectifs et d’attentes clairement communiqués au plan de la planification des activités. Mars 2014 Activité en cours. On prépare des lignes directrices pour la période de planification de 2015-2016, faisant fond sur les connaissances acquises par l’intermédiaire du Groupe de travail sur la planification intégrée, en vue de la planification des ressources, des activités et des ressources humaines; elles seront lancées à l’automne 2014. L’intention est de diffuser ces processus dans le cadre d’une lettre d’appel commune, comme ce fut le cas pour l’exercice financier précédent.

SVE : Fermeture du dossier après le lancement des lignes directrices.
Le Groupe de travail sur la planification intégrée élaborera un gabarit d’évaluation normalisé pour les plans d’activités qui servira de liste de contrôle de la qualité, cernera les forces, les pratiques exemplaires, les faiblesses, ainsi que les possibilités de simplification et d'alignement avec les priorités ministérielles. Novembre 2013 Demande de fermeture de dossier (terminé)

(Au 31 mars 2014) À la suite des consultations avec le Groupe de travail sur la planification intégrée, le SPOS a élaboré un gabarit d’évaluation normalisé pour les plans d’activités; il a commencé à l’utiliser pour évaluer les plans d’activités des secteurs et des régions pour 2014-2015.

SVE : Fermeture du dossier recommandée. Classée.
Le Groupe de travail examinera aussi la possibilité d'appliquer la « planification monoétape » comme elle est actuellement utilisée au MPO. Demande de fermeture de dossier (terminé)

(Au 31 mars 2014) Le Groupe de travail sur la planification intégrée a consulté le ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO) au sujet de sa « planification monoétape »; il a été décidé de ne pas mettre en œuvre un tel modèle parce qu’il ne s’agit pas d’un modèle de planification intégrée, mais plutôt d’une seule lettre d’appel commune pour les multiples processus de planification et de production de rapports. De plus, le modèle du MPO n’intègre pas de renseignements financiers dans les plans d’activités.

SVE : Fermeture du dossier recommandée. Classée.
 
 
Date de modification :