Audit of the Emergency Management Assistance Program - Follow-up Report Status Update as of June 30, 2014

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

PDF Version (30 Kb, 4 Pages)

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Audit Committee - As of June 30, 2014

Regional Operations

Audit of the Emergency Management Assistance Program
Approval Date: 04-26-2013
   Project Recommendations       Action Plan    Expected
   Completion Date   
   Program  Response   
1. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Operations should ensure that the draft EMA Program Performance Measurement Strategy is finalized and that the final version is in alignment with approved program objectives and authorities. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister should also ensure that a regime of regular monitoring and reporting of program results is implemented. A PMS for EMAP is currently being drafted and will align with program objectives and authorities. 2013-2014 Q2 Status: Completed/On Target
Update/Rationale:
As of 30/06/2014:

A performance measurement strategy for EMAP was approved by the AANDC Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee (EPMRC) in April 2014.

EMD is in the process of implementing the strategy.

AES: Implementation ongoing. The recommendation will be closed when the monitoring and reporting regime is implemented.
Once the PMS is finalized, EMD will ensure that a regime of regular monitoring and reporting of program results is implemented. 2014-2015 and ongoing
2. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Operations should ensure that a risk-based all-hazards approach to the EMA Program, in accordance with the Emergency Management Act, is adopted. Sector Operations (SO) will conduct medium- and long-term all-hazards risk assessments for First Nations and use the results to inform AANDC’s emergency management program activities. This will involve steps such as:

  • consultation with relevant partners;
  • completing the risk assessments; and
  • incorporating the results into strategic decision making. 
Completing risk assessment: 2014-2015

Incorporating results into decision making:
2015-2016
Status: On Target
Update/Rationale:
As of 30/06/2014:

EMD is working with AANDC regional offices and other partners, including Health Canada, to promote the completion of First Nation risk-based, all-hazard emergency management plans.

AANDC will continue to support communities in the development of risk-based all-hazards emergency management plans using a portion of EMAP’s $19.1 million in preparedness and non-structural mitigation funding.

Public Safety Canada is currently developing a methodology aimed at gathering risk-related data from across Canada in an effort to develop a national aggregate risk profile to aid emergency management planning and priority setting and to better inform emergency management-related investments. Public Safety Canada expects to complete preliminary trials (with federal partners) through a workshop to be held in 2014.

Additionally, Public Safety Canada is working to complete a national forecasting and cost-benefit analysis study related to natural disasters in Canada. These studies are intended to be inclusive of all Canadians. Data from a variety of sources, including AANDC, has been aggregated and preliminary analysis of the data has begun.

AES: Implementation ongoing.
3. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Operations should ensure that the EMA Authority and supporting guidelines are reviewed and updated to promote a consistent understanding of eligible projects and expenditures. To ensure effective emergency management activities across AANDC regional offices, the Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Operations should ensure that standardized processes are developed and implemented so that expectations, objectives and priorities are clear with respect to emergency management plans, procedures for response activities, and after-action reports as well as the approval of emergency expenditures and the scrutiny of invoices. EMD will address these issues through reviewing EMAP terms and conditions and updating them where necessary. Review EMAP terms and conditions:
2013-2014 Q3
Status: Change in approach (A & B) / On Target (C)

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/06/2014:

  1. While updated terms and conditions were initially due in Q3 of 2013-2014, this timeline was adjusted due to the approval of EMAP's Cabinet proposal in November 2013 which the revised terms and conditions are primarily intended to reflect. The terms and conditions are currently being revised for better alignment with the Emergency Management Act and An Emergency Management Framework for Canada and will be finalized in 2014-2015 (Q2).
  2. Although AANDC initially intended to review the department's regional emergency management plans by Q4 of 2013-2014, when it was decided to update AANDC's National Emergency Management Plan (NEMP), EMAP changed its approach and opted to review the regional emergency management plans (which act as annexes to the NEMP) only once the NEMP is finalized. AANDC’s National Emergency Management Plan is currently under review. A revised plan will be submitted for approval by the end of 2014-2015 (Q4). AANDC’s regional emergency management plans will be reviewed and updated by 2015-2016 (Q4).
  3. AANDC has initiated discussions with most provinces and territories - discussions with SK and AB are significantly advanced; agreement reached with NS, YT and PEI on substantive issues; and discussions with BC, ON, NB and QC are in the early stages.


AES: Implementation ongoing.
EMAP will also review AANDC’s regional emergency management plans and update them where necessary. Regional emergency management plans: 2013-2014 Q4
EMD, in conjunction with regional offices, will negotiate bilateral arrangements with the provinces which will include approaches to emergency management plans, response activities, after action reports as well as spending and accountability provisions. Negotiation of  bilateral arrangements:

2014-2015
 
 
Date modified:

Vérification du Programme d'aide à la gestion des urgences - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 juin 2014

Format PDF (30 Ko, 4 pages)

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 30 juin 2014

Opérations régionales

Vérification du Programme d'aide à la gestion des urgences
Date d'approbation 04-26-2013
   Recommandations du projet       Plan d'action    Date
   d'achèvement prévue   
   Réponse du programme   
1. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal des Opérations régionales devrait veiller à faire parachever l’ébauche de la stratégie de mesure du rendement du Programme d'aide à la gestion des urgences (PAGU) et à harmoniser la version définitive avec les objectifs et autorisations approuvés du programme. Il devrait également mettre en œuvre un régime de suivi régulier des résultats du programme et d’élaboration de rapports. La stratégie de mesure du rendement du PAGU est en cours de rédaction; elle intègrera les objectifs et les autorisations du programme. T2 2013-2014 État : Terminé/Objectif respecté
Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 30-06-2014 :

Une stratégie de mesure du rendement pour le PAGU a été approuvée par le Comité de l'évaluation, de la mesure du rendement et de l'examen (CEMRE) à AADNC en avril 2014.

La DGU met actuellement en œuvre la stratégie.

SVE : Mise en œuvre en cours. La recommandation sera terminée lorsqu'un régime de surveillance et de rapports aura été mis en place.
Une fois que cette stratégie sera définitive, la Direction de la gestion des urgences (DGU) veillera à mettre en œuvre un régime de suivi régulier des résultats du programme et d’élaboration de rapports. À partir de 2014-2015
2. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal des Opérations régionales devrait veiller à l'adoption d'une approche tous risques en ce qui concerne le PAGU, conformément aux dispositions de la
Loi sur la gestion des urgences.
Les Opérations du secteur effectueront des évaluations tous risques à moyen et à long terme pour les Premières Nations et en intégreront les résultats aux activités du PAGU d’AADNC. Elles prendront notamment les mesures suivantes :

  • consulter les partenaires concernés;
  • terminer l’évaluation des risques;
  • intégrer les résultats obtenus à la prise de décisions stratégiques.
 
Évaluation des risques : 2014-2015

Intégration des résultats obtenus à la prise de décisions :
2015-2016
État : Objectif respecté
Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 30-06-2014 :

La DGU travaille avec les bureaux régionaux d'AADNC et d'autres partenaires, notamment Santé Canada, pour favoriser la réalisation des plans de gestion des urgences tous risques des Premières Nations.

AADNC continuera à appuyer les collectivités dans l'élaboration de plans de gestion des urgences tous risques en affectant une partie de la somme de 19,1 M$ du PAGU aux projets de préparation et d'atténuation non structuraux.

Sécurité publique Canada élabore actuellement une méthodologie visant à recueillir des données sur les risques de partout au Canada dans le but d'élaborer un profil de risques regroupé afin de contribuer à la planification de la gestion d'urgence et à l'établissement de priorités et pour mieux guider les investissements associés à la gestion des urgences.  Sécurité publique Canada prévoit terminer des essais préliminaires (avec des partenaires fédéraux) dans le cadre d'un atelier qui aura lieu en 2014.

De plus, Sécurité publique Canada travaille à réaliser une étude nationale de prévision et des coûts-avantages relativement aux désastres naturels au Canada. Ces études visent à intégrer tous les Canadiens. Les données de diverses sources, y compris AADNC, ont été regroupées et une analyse préliminaire des données a été entreprise.

SVE : Mise en œuvre en cours.
3. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal des Opérations régionales devrait s'assurer que les autorisations et des lignes directrices du PAGU sont revues et mises à jour afin de favoriser une interprétation uniforme des projets et des dépenses admissibles. Dans le but d’assurer l’efficacité des activités de gestion des urgences dans l’ensemble des bureaux régionaux d’AADNC, le sous-ministre adjoint principal des Opérations régionales devrait en outre veiller à l’élaboration et à la mise en œuvre de processus normalisés qui établissent clairement les attentes, les objectifs et les priorités en matière de plans de gestion des urgences, de déroulement des activités d’intervention et de rapports après activités, ainsi que les processus d’approbation des dépenses liées aux urgences et d’examen détaillé des factures. La DGU passera en revue et actualisera au besoin les conditions du PAGU. Revue des conditions du PAGU
T3 2013-2014
État : Changement dans l'approche (A et B) / Objectif atteint (C)

Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 30-06-2014 :

  1. Les modalités étaient dues initialement au T3 de 2013-2014, mais cette échéance a été modifiée pour tenir compte de l'approbation de la proposition concernant le PAGU par le Cabinet en novembre 2013 et qui visait d'abord la prise en compte de ces modalités.  Les modalités sont actuellement révisées pour mieux les harmoniser à la Loi sur la gestion des urgences et au Cadre de sécurité civile pour le Canada, et elles seront terminées en 2014-2015 (T2).
  2. AADNC avait initialement prévu examiner les plans régionaux de gestion des urgences du Ministère avant le T4 de 2013-2014, mais lorsque la décision a été prise de mettre à jour le Plan national de gestion des urgences d'AADNC, le PAGU a modifié son approche et décidé que l'examen des plans régionaux (qui servent d'annexes au Plan national) n'aurait lieu qu'une fois le Plan national de gestion des urgences terminé. Le Plan national de gestion des urgences d'AADNC fait actuellement l'objet d'un examen. Un plan révisé sera soumis à l'approbation d'ici la fin de 2014-2015 (T4). Les plans régionaux de gestion des urgences d'AADNC seront évalués et mis à jour d'ici 2015-2016 (T4).
  3. AADNC a entrepris des discussions avec la plupart des provinces et des territoires : les discussions avec la Saskatchewan et l'Alberta sont bien avancées; des ententes ont été conclues avec la Nouvelle-Écosse, le Yukon et l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard sur des questions importantes; et les discussions avec la Colombie-Britannique, l'Ontario, le Nouveau-Brunswick et le Québec en sont aux premières étapes.


SVE : Mise en œuvre en cours.
L’équipe du PAGU passera en revue et actualisera au besoin les plans de gestion des urgences des régions d’AADNC. Plans régionaux de gestion des urgences : T4 2013-2014
La DGU et les régions négocieront avec les provinces des ententes bilatérales qui préciseront leur approche en matière de plans de gestion des urgences, d’activités d’intervention, de rapports après activités, de dépenses et de reddition de comptes. Négociation des ententes bilatérales

2014-2015
 
 
Date de modification :