Nunavut Planning and Project Assessment Act (NuPPAA) Coming Into Force

The Nunavut Planning and Project Assessment Act (NuPPAA) clearly defines how resource development will be managed in Nunavut.

The existing, overall approach to resource management in Nunavut does not change under NuPPAA. The Nunavut Land Claims Agreement (NLCA) requires a co-management approach, which remains in place. NuPPAA flows from legislative requirements included in the NLCA. It clarifies and strengthens key elements of the regulatory regime and is expected to help spur investment in the territory, increasing prosperity and economic growth. NuPPAA: Highlights

NuPPAA is the result of close consultation and collaboration with the Government of Nunavut, Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated, the Nunavut Impact Review Board (NIRB) and the Nunavut Planning Commission (NPC). Input received during these consultations helped to ensure that NuPPAA reflects the unique needs and environment of Nunavut, and respects the NLCA. NuPPAA applies territory-wide, on Crown, Commissioner’s and Inuit owned land.

NuPPAA came into force on July 9, 2015. It does not apply to existing projects or projects that started the review process before NuPPAA came into force. These projects will continue under the previous regulatory regime. Harper Government celebrates coming into force of rules governing land use planning and resource development in Nunavut.

For more detailed information on review processes please see the Nunavut Planning Commission (NPC and Nunavut Impact Review Board (NIRB).

More:

Related Links:

Date modified:

Loi sur l’aménagement du territoire et l’évaluation des projets au Nunavut (LATEPN) l'entrée en vigueur

La Loi sur l’aménagement du territoire et l’évaluation des projets au Nunavut (LATEPN) définit clairement comment le développement des ressources sera géré au Nunavut.

L’approche générale de gestion des ressources au Nunavut ne changera pas en vertu de la LATEPN. L’Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut (ARTN) exige une approche de cogestion, qui demeure en vigueur. La LATEPN découle des exigences législatives incluses dans l’ARTN. Elle précise et renforce les éléments clés du régime réglementaire et devrait favoriser les investissements dans le territoire et accroître la prospérité et la croissance économique. LATEPN : Faits saillants.

La LATEPN est le résultat de consultations approfondies et d’une collaboration étroite avec le gouvernement du Nunavut, Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated (site Web non disponible en français), la Commission du Nunavut chargée de l’examen des répercussions (CNER) et la Commission d’aménagement du Nunavut (CAN). Les opinions reçues durant ces consultations ont permis d’assurer que la LATEPN reflète les besoins et l’environnement uniques du Nunavut et respecte l’ARTN. La LATEPN s’applique à la grandeur du territoire, sur les terres publiques, domaniales et appartenant aux Inuit.

La LATEPN est entrée en vigueur le 9 juillet 2015. Elle ne s’applique pas aux projets existants ou aux projets dont le processus d’examen a été lancé avant l’entrée en vigueur de la LATEPN. Ces projets continueront d’être assujettis au régime réglementaire précédent. Le gouvernement Harper célèbre l’entrée en vigueur de règles régissant l’aménagement du territoire et la mise en valeur des ressources au Nunavut.

Pour plus de renseignements sur les processus d’examen, veuillez consulter les sites de la Commission d’aménagement du Nunavut (CAN) et de la Commission du Nunavut chargée de l’examen des répercussions (CNER).

Pour en savoir plus :

Liens connexes :

Date de modification :