Management Practices Audit of the Treaties and Aboriginal Government Sector - Follow-up Report Status Update as of June 30, 2014

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

PDF Version (23 Kb, 4 Pages)

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Audit Committee - As of June 30, 2014

Treaties and Aboriginal Government

Management Practices Audit of the Treaties and Aboriginal Government Sector
Approval Date: 20-09-2013
   Project Recommendations       Action Plan    Expected
   Completion Date   
   Program  Response   
1. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, TAG Sector, should improve the existing process to provide for a formal, coordinated, and integrated planning process for the Sector consistent with the principles of the Treasury Board’s Integrated Planning Handbook for Deputy Ministers and Senior Managers.  The process should include the establishment of Sector objectives, priorities, risk and performance measures/targets that are aligned and regularly monitored. Improved planning can help to more clearly align, and realign, limited resources to Sector priorities.

In addition, to help ensure continued oversight for the Sector, the Senior ADM for TAG should ensure that TORs and records of decision for all Sector management committees are documented and properly communicated.
Agreed. Improved TAG Sector planning already in process and to be integrated into AANDC Corporate planning cycles (i.e., Corporate Business Plan; Quarterly Report). March 31, 2014 Status: Pending Implementation

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/06/2014:

Work to improve TAG sector planning is underway with an analysis of all planning activities and how they fit in the annual cycle. Next steps will be determined following the analysis and completed in December 2014.

The development of an elaborated FAPP called the RBIS (Results-Based Information System) database is nearing implementation which is targeted for December 2014. The database will help inform monitoring and reporting on the negotiation processes and will track the progress over time.

Terms of Reference and records of decisions for Sector management committees was completed during Fall 2013. 

AES:  Overdue
As part of broader TAG planning activities, the Federal Action Plan and Priorities (FAPP) will become a standard, central Sector-wide repository database, which will be user friendly and will allow end-users to benefit from sharing data seamlessly. Through its dynamic reporting approach, FAPP will support Sector-wide integrated planning and identification of risks. March 31, 2014
In addition, PDCB and IB will develop a priorities planning document to assess workload priorities and resources and realign as required to meet Branch, Sector and Departmental priorities.

TORs and records of decision for some Sector management committees are documented and properly communicated (such as, for both the DG and Executive Federal Steering Committee meetings) Measures will be taken to ensure all other Sector management committees have TORs and records of decision.
March 31, 2014





TORs for other Sector management meetings will be completed by October 31, 2013
2. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, TAG Sector, should clarify and communicate roles and responsibilities across all Branches within the Sector.  Agreed. SADM, TAG will use the Corporate Business Plan and Quarterly Reports identify roles and responsibilities. March 31, 2014 Status: Completed

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2014: The Corporate Business Plan has been updated to clearly identify the roles and responsibilities of the various branches of the Sector.

AES: Recommend to close. Closed.
3. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, TAG Sector, should implement an integrated risk management process that formally assesses and documents the risks of the Sector against its objectives.  Risk assessment should include the impact and likelihood of risks identified with consideration of risk mitigation measures in place.  Furthermore risk management should be integrated into operational plans and key decision making processes, such as table review and HR planning etc. TAG has a Sector Risk Profile; at operational level, risks are assessed on regular basis and when required by legal service. March 31, 2014 Status: Completed

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2014: Various Sector risks are also identified in the Corporate Business Plan as well as the mitigation strategies for managing those risks. The Table Review process that assesses all sector negotiating tables also contributes to managing risks on a table by table basis.

The Results Based Information System, when completed, will incorporate risk assessment and mitigation systematically into the table by table planning process. It will also enhance our capacity to monitor and assess risks in respect of policy gaps and requirements.

AES: Recommend to close. Closed.
In the renovated FAPP database, risk assessment and mitigation will be incorporated systematically into the table by table planning process. Ongoing on Annual basis(linked to Corporate Business Plan)
FAPP will also enhance our capacity to monitor and assess risks in respect of policy gaps and requirements. March 31, 2014
 
 
Date modified:

Vérification des pratiques de gestion du Secteur des traités et du gouvernement autochtone - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 juin 2014

Format PDF (24 Ko, 3 pages)

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 30 juin 2014

Secteur des traités et du gouvernement autochtone

Vérification des pratiques de gestion du Secteur des traités et du gouvernement autochtone
Approval Date: 20-09-2013
   Recommandations du projet       Plan d'action    Date
   d'achèvement prévue   
   Réponse du programme   
1. Le sous-ministre adjoint (SMA) principal du STGA devrait améliorer le processus actuel afin de fournir au Secteur un processus de planification officiel, coordonné et intégré conforme aux principes du document du Conseil du Trésor intitulé Planification intégrée : un guide pour les sous-ministres et les cadres supérieurs. Ce processus devrait comprendre l’élaboration d’objectifs, de priorités, de cibles de rendement et de mesures du risque et du rendement harmonisées et faisant l’objet d’un suivi régulier. Une planification améliorée peut contribuer à harmoniser ou réharmoniser avec plus de clarté les ressources limitées par rapport aux priorités du Secteur.

En outre, afin de contribuer à la surveillance continue du Secteur, le SMA principal du STGA devrait faire en sorte que les mandats et les comptes rendus des décisions de chaque comité de gestion du Secteur soient documentés et communiqués adéquatement.
Accepté. L’amélioration de la planification du STGA est déjà en cours et devrait être intégrée aux cycles de planification intégrés d’AADNC (Plan d’activités ministériel, rapport trimestriel). 31 mars 2014 État : En attente de la mise en œuvre

Mise à jour/Justification :
Au 30 juin 2014 :

Des travaux pour améliorer la planification du STGA sont en cours ainsi qu’une analyse de toutes les activités de planification et de leur harmonisation avec le cycle annuel. Les prochaines étapes seront déterminées après l’analyse et prendront fin en décembre 2014.

La mise en œuvre des Priorités et plan d’action fédéral (PPAF), appelés la base de données du SIFR (Système d’information fondée sur les résultats), achève, ce qui devrait être autour de décembre 2014. La base de données permettra d’orienter la surveillance et l’établissement des rapports sur les processus de négociation, ainsi que de faire un suivi des progrès au fil du temps.

Les mandats et les comptes rendus des décisions des comités de gestion du Secteur ont été terminés à l’automne 2013. 

SVE : En retard
Dans le cadre d’activités de planification de TGA plus vastes, les Priorités et plan d’action fédéral (PPAF) deviendront une base de données centrale conviviale pour le Secteur et permettront aux utilisateurs finaux de bénéficier d’un partage continu des données. Grâce à cette approche de rapports dynamiques, les PPAF appuieront une planification intégrée et une détermination des risques dans l’ensemble du Secteur. 31 mars 2014
De plus, la DGECP et la DGMO élaboreront un document sur la planification des priorités visant à évaluer la priorité des tâches et les ressources et de procéder à toute réharmonisation nécessaire afin de répondre aux priorités de la DG, du Secteur et du Ministère.

Les mandats et les comptes rendus des décisions de certains comités de gestion sectoriels sont documentés et adéquatement communiqués (p. ex. les réunions des comités des DG et de la direction du Comité directeur fédéral).
31 mars 2014





Les mandats des autres réunions de gestion sectorielle seront terminés d’ici le 31 octobre 2013
2. Le SMA principal du STGA devrait clarifier et communiquer les rôles et les responsabilités de toutes les directions générales du Secteur. Accepté. Le SMA principal du STGA se servira du Plan d’activités ministériel et des rapports trimestriels pour déterminer les rôles et les responsabilités 31 mars 2014 État : Terminé

Mise à jour/Justification :
Au 31 mars 2014 :

Le Plan d’activités ministériel a été mis à jour afin de définir les rôles et les responsabilités des diverses directions générales du Secteur.

SVE : Recommandation de fermeture du dossier. Classée.
3. Le SMA principal du STGA devrait instaurer un processus intégré de gestion du risque afin d’évaluer et de documenter officiellement les risques du Secteur par rapport à ses objectifs. L’évaluation des risques devrait inclure la probabilité et les répercussions des risques ciblés, et tenir compte des mesures d’atténuation des risques existantes. De plus, il faudrait intégrer la gestion des risques aux plans opérationnels et aux processus décisionnels clés (p. ex. examen des tables, planification des RH, etc.). Le STGA dispose d’un profil de risque sectoriel; les risques opérationnels font l’objet d’une évaluation régulière, ou lorsque les Services juridiques l’exigent. 31 mars 2014 État : Terminé

Mise à jour/Justification :
Au 31 mars 2014 :

Divers risques pour le Secteur sont également définis dans le Plan d’activités ministériel ainsi que les stratégies d’atténuation qui permettent de gérer ces risques. Le processus de l’examen des tables qui évalue toutes les tables de négociation sectorielles contribue également à la gestion des risques, table par table.

Une fois qu’il sera terminé, le système d’information axé sur les résultats intégrera systématiquement l’évaluation des risques et leur atténuation au processus de planification table par table. Il améliorera également notre capacité à surveiller et évaluer les risques en ce qui a trait aux lacunes et aux exigences en matière de politiques.

SVE : Recommandation de fermeture du dossier. Classée.
Un processus de gestion du risque fait aussi partie de l’examen des tables.

L’évaluation des risques et les mesures d’atténuation feront systématiquement partie du processus de planification des tables et seront versées dans la base de données des PPAF.
Activité annuelle permanente (liée au Plan d’activités ministériel)
Les PPAF amélioreront également notre capacité à surveiller et évaluer les risques en ce qui a trait aux lacunes et aux exigences en matière de politiques. 31 mars 2014
 
 
Date de modification :