Management Practices Audit: Regional Operations - Follow-up Report Status Update as of June 30, 2014

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

PDF Version of the Management Practices Audit: Regional Operations - Follow-up Report Status Update as of June 30, 2014 (30 Kb, 5 Pages)

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Audit Committee - As of June 30, 2014

Regional Operations

Management Practices Audit: Regional Operations
Approval Date: 04-26-2013

   Project Recommendations       Action Plan    Expected
   Completion Date   
   Program  Response   
1. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Operations should ensure that the responsibilities and accountabilities of the Planning and Business Integration Directorate are clearly defined and communicated within the Sector and across the Department. The sector has commenced activities which support the recommendation such as the recent re-organization within the Planning and Business Integration Directorate and the creation of the Sector Operations Branch.

Additional activities planned/ underway:
Revise Director, Business Planning and Implementation work description.

Revise/communicate the mandate and roles & responsibilities of the Directorate.
Fall 2013 Status: Request to Close

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/12/2013:


Work Description for the Director of the Business Planning and Implementation has been completed.

Branch meeting was held on September 27, 2013 where the mandate and priorities of all three directorates and the overall branch was communicated. A summary report with finding from an engagement exercises was drafted. Action items were prioritized and necessary follow-up activities were identified.

AES: Implemented. The recommendation will be closed. Closed.
2. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Operations should assess how internal communication and feedback mechanisms are managed and practiced to identify specific opportunities for improvements to timely, two-way communication within the Sector. The RO management team will develop a list of opportunities which would improve timely, two-way communication within the Sector. October 2013 Status: Request to close

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/12/2013:


Management has identified opportunities to improve timely two-way communications with the sector. Several of these have already been implemented including DGs walk around, SADM speaking on sector events, informal social events (potluck for holidays, GCWCC event), email communication from the DG to teams, Regional Planners face to face, increased use of collaboration to share documents

In addition longer terms strategies have been discussed and will be implemented by the management group.

AES: Implemented. The recommendation will be closed. Closed.
3.The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Operations should work in collaboration with the Policy and Strategic Direction and Chief Financial Officer Sectors to ensure that processes and procedures supporting the development/revision of policies and the design of programs within the Sector are documented and consistent with departmental approaches. Regional Operations will partner with PSD and CFO to ensure that departmental processes and procedures are communicated to relevant staff and that departmental tools are accessible to employees. November 2013 Status: Ongoing
Update/Rationale:
As of 30/06/2014:

Departmental procedures for supporting the development / revision of policies and programs, including the process for bringing such information forward to Departmental Committees, are undergoing revision in light of this recommendation.

Recommendations 1 and 2 within the Audit of the Management Control Framework for Grants and Contributions 2013-14 speak to similar issues.

It will be important that responding to both sets of recommendations occur in collaboration, and that any resulting changes are internally consistent.

When complete, these procedures will be approved by AANDC Senior Committees. Once approved, they will be shared with all RO staff.

AES: The recommendation will be closed. Implementation of recommendations 1 and 2 from the Audit of the Management Control Framework for Grants and Contributions 2013-14 will ensure this recommendation is addressed. Closed.
Regional Operations will develop and communicate internal processes which ensure that documentation supporting the development/revision of policies and program designed are tracked, documented and accessible. March 2014
4. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Operations should formally document the Sector’s governance structure and formalize the role of any oversight body through documented Terms of Reference(s) that articulate its mandate, authority, responsibility, accountability and operating principles. Once completed, the governance structure and the roles and responsibilities of any oversight body should be communicated across the Sector.

The Sector is implementing a Management Board Structure which aims at establishing a collective decision making process, which will include all DGs reporting to the Senior Assistant Deputy Minister RO.

The following are activities which will be developed:

  1. Terms of Reference, defining membership, mandate, roles and responsibilities.
  2. Management Operations Calendar for specific recurrent activities such as: HR /Financial Planning, Corporate Planning and Reporting and Corporate Call-Outs.
  3. Development of a Management Board workplan that will identify management priorities and action items with leads, deliverables and deadlines.
October 2013 Status: Request to Close

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/12/2013: RO has developed the RO Management Structure (to keep the name RO-SMC)

  1. The TORs, membership, mandate and roles and responsibilities have been developed.
  2. A calendar has been developed that illustrates specific recurrent activities.
  3. The workplan has been drafted that outlines priorities and action items with leads, deliverables and deadlines.
All material will be presented at the January 15 – 16 RO SMC meeting for endorsement.

AES: Implemented. The recommendation will be closed. Closed.
5. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Operations should consider developing formal strategic directions and objectives that reflect the Sector’s unique dual mandate of operational delivery and policy development/program design. In light of the Sector’s dynamic environment, it will be necessary to enforce regular re-assessment of strategic directions and objectives and ensure that alignment with operational objectives is maintained. The sector is developing an integrated corporate business plan which would incorporate and support the delivery of program level objectives which would support the advancement of departmental strategic objectives. March 2014 Status: Request to close

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2014:

Regional Operations (both HQ and Regions) has developed the 2014-2015 Integrated Business Plan: A National Overview, in collaboration with Policy and Strategic Direction (PSD), Education and Social Development Programs and Partnership Sector (ESDPP), Lands and Economic Development Sector (LED). The purpose of the National Overview is to roll-up regional and HQ information to provide a national performance account of how well RO is responding to key issues impacting Aboriginal people and communities. In order to tell its strategic story, RO has identified and approved 6 key priority that reflect areas we would like to highlight and track, under which 20 key planning commitments will be monitored. The National Overview also focuses on how RO supports transformative initiatives that are cross-cutting, and provides a strategic document for discussion and decision making at senior management tables.

In addition, Regional Operations has initiated a five year strategic planning process guided by ROSMC. The five year strategic plan will also help to unite the sector to work together on common priority goals, set the priorities of our work, align our resources behind these priorities, and help to coordinate internal planning and management, articulate and communicate our vision to staff, partners and stakeholders, build on existing plans, but focus on innovative, strategic visioning exercises to establish where we want to be as a Sector in five years and engage both staff and senior management throughout the process.

AES: Implemented. The recommendation will be closed. Closed.
 
 
Date modified:

Vérification des pratiques de gestion : Opérations régionales - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 juin 2014

Format PDF de Vérification des pratiques de gestion : Opérations régionales - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 juin 2014 (34 Ko, 6 pages)

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 30 juin 2014

Opérations régionales

Vérification des pratiques de gestion : Opérations régionales
Date d'approbation 2013-04-26

   Recommandations du projet       Plan d'action    Date
   d'achèvement prévue   
   Réponse du programme   
1. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal du Secteur des opérations régionales devrait s'assurer que les responsabilités et les comptes à rendre de la Direction de la planification et de l'intégration opérationnelles sont clairement définis et diffusés au sein du Secteur et dans l'ensemble du Ministère. Le Secteur a entrepris des activités qui appuient la recommandation, p. ex. la récente réorganisation au sein de la Direction de la planification et de l'intégration opérationnelles et la création de la Direction générale des opérations sectorielles.

Autres activités planifiées/en cours :
Réviser la description de travail du directeur, Planification des activités et mise en œuvre.

Réviser/transmettre le mandat ainsi que les rôles et responsabilités de la Direction.
Automne 2013 État : Demande de clôture de dossier

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 31 décembre 2013 :

La description de travail du directeur, Planification des activités et mise en œuvre, est achevée.

À l’occasion de la réunion de la Direction générale, le 27 septembre 2013, le mandat et les priorités des trois directions et de la Direction générale tout entière ont été communiqués. On a rédigé un rapport récapitulatif, avec les constatations issues d’un travail de mobilisation. Les mesures de suivi ont été mises en ordre de priorité et les activités de suivi nécessaires ont été déterminées.

SVE : Mis en œuvre. La recommandation sera classée. Classée.
2. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal du Secteur des opérations régionales devrait évaluer la gestion et la mise en pratique des mécanismes de rétroaction et de communication internes afin de dégager des occasions précises d'améliorer les dialogues opportuns et bilatéraux au sein du Secteur. L'équipe de gestion des OR dressera une liste d'occasions d'améliorer les dialogues opportuns et bidirectionnels au sein du Secteur. Octobre 2013 État : Demande de clôture de dossier

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 31 décembre 2013 :

La direction a cerné des possibilités d’améliorer les communications bilatérales en temps opportun avec le Secteur. Plusieurs de ces possibilités sont déjà mises en application : vérification extérieure des DG, discours du SMAP sur les événements sectoriels, événements sociaux informels (repas-partage des vacances, CCMTGC), communication du DG adressée par courriel aux équipes, rencontre personnelle des planificateurs régionaux, recours accru à la collaboration pour communiquer les documents).

De plus, des stratégies à plus long terme ont été discutées et seront mises en œuvre par le groupe de gestion.

SVE : Mis en œuvre. La recommandation sera classée. Classée.
3. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal du Secteur des opérations régionales devrait collaborer avec le Secteur des politiques et de l'orientation stratégique (SPOS) et le Secteur du dirigeant principal des finances (SDPF) pour faire en sorte que les processus et les procédures qui sous-tendent l'élaboration et la révision des politiques ainsi que la conception des programmes au sein du Secteur soient documentés et conformes aux approches ministérielles. Les Opérations régionales s'associeront avec le SPOS et le SDPF pour faire en sorte que les processus et procédures ministériels soient transmis au personnel concerné, et que les employés aient accès à des outils ministériels. Novembre 2013 État : En cours
Mise à jour/Justification :
Au 30 juin 2014 :
Les procédures ministérielles pour soutenir l’élaboration ou la révision des politiques et des programmes, y compris le processus de transmettre cette information aux comités du Ministère, font actuellement l’objet d’une révision à la lumière de la présente recommandation.

Les recommandations 1 et 2 de la Vérification du cadre de contrôle de gestion des subventions et des contributions 2013-2014 ont trait à des questions semblables.

Il sera important de coordonner la réponse donnée aux deux ensembles de recommandations et d’assurer la cohérence des changements apportés.

Une fois les procédures terminées, les comités de la haute direction d’AADNC les approuveront et elles seront communiquées à tout le personnel des Opérations régionales.

SVE : Le dossier sera fermé. La mise en œuvre des recommandations 1 et 2 tirées de la Vérification du cadre de contrôle de gestion pour les subventions et contributions 2013‑2014 permettra de donner suite à la présente recommandation. Classée.
Les Opérations régionales mettront au point et diffuseront des processus internes pour veiller à ce que la documentation appuyant l'élaboration et la révision des politiques et la conception des programmes fasse l'objet d'un suivi, et soit documentée et accessible. Mars 2014
4. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal du Secteur des opérations régionales devrait documenter formellement la structure de gouvernance du Secteur, ainsi qu’officialiser le rôle de tout organisme de surveillance au moyen de cadres de référence documentés qui détaillent les pouvoirs, la responsabilité, la responsabilisation et les principes opérationnels. Par la suite, la structure de gouvernance ainsi que les rôles et responsabilités de tous les organismes de surveillance devraient être diffusés dans l'ensemble du Secteur. Le Secteur met en œuvre une structure de conseil de gestion visant à créer un processus décisionnel collectif qui englobera tous les DG relevant du sous-ministre adjoint principal des OR.

Voici les activités qui seront entreprises

  1. Le cadre de référence, qui énonce les membres, le mandat, les rôles et les responsabilités du Conseil.
  2. Le calendrier des opérations de gestion de certaines activités périodiques telles que la planification des ressources humaines et des finances, la planification et les rapports ministériels et les demandes d’informations ministérielles.
  3. L'élaboration d'un plan de travail du Conseil de gestion qui déterminera les priorités de gestion et les mesures de suivi à prendre ainsi que les responsables, les résultats attendus et les échéances.
Octobre 2013 État : Demande de clôture de dossier

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 31 décembre 2013 : Les OR ont créé la structure de gestion des OR (afin de conserver la désignation d’OR-CHD)

  1. On a établi le cadre de référence, la composition, le mandat et les rôles et responsabilités.
  2. Un calendrier illustrant des activités périodiques particulières a été établi.
  3. On a rédigé un plan de travail qui établit les priorités et les mesures de suivi, et qui fixe les responsables, les résultats attendus et les échéances.
Tout ce matériel sera présenté à la réunion du CHD des OR, les 15 et 16 janvier, pour acceptation.

SVE : Mis en œuvre. La recommandation sera classée. Classée.
5. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal du Secteur des opérations régionales devrait songer à élaborer des orientations et des objectifs stratégiques officiels qui tiennent compte du double mandat unique du Secteur, soit l'exécution opérationnelle et l'élaboration de politiques et la conception de programmes. Au vu du dynamisme de l’environnement du Secteur, il faudra exiger une réévaluation régulière des orientations et des objectifs stratégiques, et s'assurer qu'ils demeurent harmonisés avec les objectifs opérationnels. Le Secteur dresse un plan d'activités ministériel intégré qui comprendra et appuiera l’atteinte des objectifs au niveau des programmes, ce qui favorisera les progrès vers la réalisation des objectifs stratégiques ministériels. Mars 2014 État : Demande de fermeture de dossier

Mise à jour/Justification
Au 31 mars 2014 :

Opérations régionales (AC et régions) a élaboré le plan d'activités intégré 2014-2015 : un survol national, en collaboration avec le Secteur des politiques et de l'orientation stratégique (SPOS), le Secteur des programmes et des partenariats en matière d'éducation et de développement social (SPPEDS) et le Secteur des terres et du développement économique (STDE). L'objectif du survol national est de déployer l'information régionale et de l'AC pour présenter un compte-rendu national sur le rendement, à savoir comment OR réagit aux principaux enjeux qui touchent les Autochtones et les collectivités. Afin de raconter son parcours stratégique, OR a cerné et approuvé 6 priorités clés qui reflètent les domaines que nous désirons mettre en relief et sur lesquels nous désirons exercer le suivi, et sous lesquels 20 engagements clés en matière de planification seront contrôlés. Le survol national est aussi axé sur la façon dont OR appuie les initiatives de transformation transversales et fournit un document stratégique pour éclairer les discussions et la prise de décision aux tables de la haute direction.

Par ailleurs, Opérations régionales a amorcé un processus de planification stratégique quinquennal orienté par le Comité de la haute direction. Ce plan stratégique quinquennal contribuera aussi à unifier le Secteur et à l'inciter à collaborer pour atteindre les objectifs prioritaires communs, établir les priorités des travaux, aligner nos ressources en fonction de ces priorités et faciliter la coordination de la planification interne et de la gestion, en plus d'élaborer et de communiquer notre vision au personnel, aux partenaires et aux intervenants, en prenant appui sur les plans existants, mais en mettant l'accent sur des exercices de définition d'une vision novatrice et stratégique pour déterminer où nous voulons nous rendre, en tant que Secteur, dans cinq ans, et afin de mobiliser le personnel et la haute direction dans le cadre de ce processus.

SVE : La mise à jour est achevée. La recommandation sera classée.  Classée.
 
 
Date de modification :