Biographical note: Thomas Isaac

Tom Isaac is a nationally recognized authority in the area of Aboriginal law. He also advises clients across Canada on Aboriginal legal matters and related environmental assessment, regulatory, negotiations and constitutional issues affecting major projects. His litigation practice is national in scope and focuses on representing industry in Aboriginal related matters.

Mr. Isaac has extensive national experience advising energy, oil, gas, pipeline, mining and forestry companies, lenders and investors, as well as federal, provincial, territorial and municipal governments and agencies on Aboriginal and project-related regulatory and environmental matters. He regularly negotiates on behalf of industry and governments with respect to impact, benefit and access agreements with Aboriginal groups, and he advises on Aboriginal consultation and accommodation processes and agreements.

Mr. Isaac has represented industry and government clients before the Supreme Court of Canada, Federal Court of Canada, Ontario Court of Appeal, Ontario Divisional Court, British Columbia Court of Appeal, British Columbia Supreme Court, Northwest Territories Supreme Court, Yukon Supreme Court, National Energy Board, Ontario Energy Board and British Columbia Environmental Appeal Board.

He is a former Chief Treaty Negotiator for the Government of British Columbia and former Assistant Deputy Minister responsible for establishing Nunavut for the Government of the Northwest Territories. He also served in a senior capacity with the Government of Saskatchewan dealing with Aboriginal issues.

Date modified:

Notice biographique : Thomas Isaac

Thomas Isaac est une sommité nationale dans le domaine du droit autochtone. Il conseille des clients de partout au Canada au sujet des questions juridiques relatives aux Autochtones, et des évaluations environnementales, de la réglementation, des négociations et des droits constitutionnels connexes, dans le cadre de grands projets. Il pratique dans tout le pays et représente l'industrie dans les causes ayant trait aux Autochtones.

M. Isaac possède une vaste expérience, à l'échelle nationale, dans la prestation de conseils aux entreprises des secteurs de l'énergie, du pétrole, du gaz, des pipelines, des mines et des sociétés forestières aux prêteurs, aux investisseurs ainsi qu'aux gouvernements et organismes fédéraux, provinciaux, territoriaux et municipaux sur des questions réglementaires et environnementales qui touchent divers projets. Il négocie régulièrement avec les groupes autochtones au nom de l'industrie et des gouvernements, concernant des ententes sur les répercussions, les avantages et l'accès, en plus de formuler des conseils sur les processus de consultation et d'accommodement avec les Autochtones et sur les ententes connexes.

M. Isaac a représenté des clients de l'industrie et du gouvernement devant la Cour suprême du Canada, la Cour fédérale du Canada, la Cour d'appel de l'Ontario, la Cour divisionnaire de l'Ontario, la Cour d'appel de la Colombie-Britannique, la Cour suprême de la Colombie-Britannique, la Cour Suprême des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, la Cour suprême du Yukon, l'Office national de l'énergie et l'Environmental Appeal Board de la Colombie-Britannique.

Ancien négociateur en chef de traités pour le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique, et ancien sous-ministre adjoint responsable de l'établissement du gouvernement du Nunavut pour le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord Ouest, M. Isaac a aussi été haut fonctionnaire au sein du gouvernement de la Saskatchewan, où il s'occupait des questions relatives aux Autochtones.

Date de modification :