Status Report on Transformational and Major Crown Projects

This table applies to all Major Crown Projects and Transformational Projects in accordance with Treasury Board policies. Please refer to the Policy on the Management of Projects for further information.

Description

In the 2007 Speech from the Throne, the Government of Canada emphasized that there are both new opportunities and new challenges in the North, and indicated it would bring forward an integrated Northern Strategy focused on strengthening Canada's sovereignty, protecting environmental heritage, promoting economic and social development, and improving and devolving governance. As a signature deliverable of this new commitment, the Government also promised to "build a world-class Arctic research station that will be on the cutting edge of Arctic issues, including environmental science and resource development. This station will be built by Canadians, in Canada's Arctic, and it will be there to serve the world". In August 2010, the Prime Minister announced that Cambridge Bay, Nunavut, will be the location for the Canadian High Arctic Research Station (CHARS).

On August 23, 2012, the Prime Minister announced a new investment for the next phases of the CHARS: $142.4 million for the construction, equipment, and fit-up of the CHARS, and $46.2 million over six years for the phase-in of the Science and Technology Program. An additional $26.5 million per year has been set aside, as of 2018–2019, for the ongoing program and operations of the CHARS.

The CHARS will be operational by 2017 to coincide with Canada's 150th anniversary.

Project Phase

Design: Budget 2010 provided $18 million over four years for the design of the CHARS. Fournier Gersovitz Moss Drolet et associés architectes and NFOE et associés architectes, operating as a joint venture, were awarded the design consultant contract through a competitive and transparent bidding process. The design phase of the CHARS began in 2011–2012 and was completed in 2014–2015 following the receipt of the 100% design.

Construction: The construction of the CHARS began on schedule in summer 2014. The construction manager (EllisDon Corporation in joint venture with NCC Dowland Construction Ltd.) mobilized labour, delivered equipment to the site, and secured material and long lead-time items (such as structural steel) during the 2014 construction season. Construction started on the field and maintenance building and the triplex housing units at this time. Interior work has also begun on the triplex units. Material brought on sealift in fall 2014 allowed construction on the main research building (the largest and most complex of the buildings on the CHARS campus) to begin in spring 2015.

Sponsoring and Participating Departments and Agencies

Sponsoring Department: Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC)
Contracting Authority: Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC)
Participating Department(s): AANDC and PWGSC

Prime and Major Subcontractor(s)

Prime Contractor: EllisDon Corporation in joint venture with NCC Dowland Construction Ltd.
Major Subcontractor(s): n/a

Major Milestones Dates
Creation of a Canadian High Arctic Research Station announced Speech from the Throne 2007
CHARS feasibility: $2 million over 2 years Budget 2009
CHARS design: $18 million over 4 years Budget 2010
Cambridge Bay location announced by Prime Minister August 2010
CHARS mandate announced by Minister December 2010
Feasibility study released on Science.gc.ca September 2011
Request for proposal (RFP) for design consultant tendered September 2011
RFP for design consultant closed November 2011
Design consultant proposals evaluated — Phase 1 December 2011
Seek decisions on construction funding Winter 2012
Design consultant proposals evaluated — Phase 2 February 2012
Design consultant contract announced August 2012
RFP for construction management services tendered November 2012
RFP for construction management services closed December 2012
RFP for construction management services evaluated January 2013
Site announced in Cambridge Bay February 2013
Consultation with Cambridge Bay residents February 2013
Construction management contract for advisory services awarded June 2013
Construction management contract for constructor services awarded May 2014
Begin site preparation June 2014
Begin construction August 2014
Complete design development January 2015
Complete land acquisition in Cambridge Bay March 2015
Operational by 150th anniversary of Confederation July 1, 2017
Commissioning complete 2018

Project Outcome

Progress Report and Explanations of Variances

Industrial Benefits

Date modified:

Rapport d'étape sur les projets de transformation et les grands projets de l'État

Le tableau ci-dessous s'applique à tous les grands projets de l'État et tous les projets de transformation, conformément aux politiques du Conseil du Trésor. Veuillez vous reporter à la Politique sur la gestion des projets pour de plus amples renseignements.

Description

Dans le discours du Trône de 2007, le gouvernement du Canada a insisté sur le fait qu'il existe de nouvelles possibilités et de nouveaux défis dans le Nord. Il a expliqué qu'il élaborerait une Stratégie intégrée pour le Nord, centrée sur le renforcement de la souveraineté du Canada, la protection du patrimoine environnemental, la promotion du développement social et économique ainsi que sur l'amélioration et le transfert de la gouvernance. En tant que livrable caractéristique de ce nouvel engagement, le gouvernement a aussi promis de « construire une station de recherche de calibre mondial qui se maintiendra à la fine pointe des questions arctiques, comme les sciences de l'environnement et le développement des ressources naturelles. Cette station, bâtie par des Canadiens dans l'Arctique canadien, servira le monde entier ». En août 2010, le premier ministre a annoncé que la Station de recherche du Canada dans l'Extrême-Arctique (SRCEA) serait construite à Cambridge Bay, au Nunavut.

Le 23 août 2012, le premier ministre annonçait de nouveaux investissements dans les prochaines étapes de la création de la SRCEA : 142,4 millions de dollars pour la construction, l'équipement et l'aménagement de la SRCEA et 46,2 millions de dollars, échelonnés sur six ans, pour la mise en place progressive du Programme de sciences et de technologie. Une somme supplémentaire de 26,5 millions de dollars par année sera mise de côté, à compter de 2018-2019, pour le bon déroulement du programme et les activités courantes de la SRCEA.

La SRCEA sera opérationnelle d'ici 2017 de manière à coïncider avec le 150e anniversaire du Canada.

Étape du projet

Conception : Le budget de 2010 prévoit 18 millions de dollars sur quatre ans pour la conception de la SRCEA. L'atelier Fournier Gersovitz Moss Drolet et associés architectes ainsi que la firme NFOE et associés architectes, qui ont formé une coentreprise pour ce projet, se sont vu accorder le contrat d'expert-conseil en conception au terme d'un processus d'appel d'offres concurrentiel et transparent.

Construction: La construction de la SRCEA a commencé comme prévu à l'été 2014. Durant la saison de construction de 2014, le gestionnaire des travaux de construction (EllisDon Corporation, en coentreprise avec NCC Dowland Construction Ltd.) a embauché les travailleurs, transporté l'équipement sur le site et obtenu les matériaux et les articles dont le délai de livraison est long (comme l'acier de construction). La construction du bâtiment d'entretien et des unités d'habitation dans le triplex a commencé pendant cette même période. Les travaux intérieurs ont également commencé dans les unités du triplex. À l'automne 2014, les matériaux ont été apportés par transport maritime, ce qui a permis d'entamer la construction du bâtiment de recherche principal (le plus grand et le plus complexe des bâtiments sur le site de la SRCEA) au printemps 2015.

Ministères et organismes parrains et participants

Ministère parrain : Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC)
Autorité contractante : Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC)
Ministères participants : AADNC et TPSGC

Entrepreneur principal et sous-traitants principaux

Entrepreneur principal : EllisDon Corporation, en coentreprise avec NCC Dowland Constructions Ltd.
Sous-traitants principaux : s.o.

Jalons importants Date
Annonce de la création de la Station de recherche du Canada dans l'Extrême-Arctique (SRCEA) Discours du Trône de 2007
Faisabilité de la SRCEA : 2 millions de dollars sur 2 ans Budget de 2009
Conception de la SRCEA : 18 millions de dollars sur 4 ans Budget de 2010
Annonce de l'emplacement à Cambridge Bay par le premier ministre Août 2010
Annonce du mandat de la SRCEA par le ministre Décembre 2010
Publication de l'étude de faisabilité sur Science.gc.ca Septembre 2011
Lancement de la demande de proposition (DP) pour l'obtention des services d'un consultant en conception Septembre 2011
Clôture de la DP pour l'obtention des services d'un consultant en conception Novembre 2011
Évaluation des propositions des consultants en conception – phase 1 Décembre 2011
Prise de décisions concernant le financement de la construction Hiver 2012
Évaluation des propositions des consultants en conception – phase 2 Février 2012
Attribution du marché pour les services d'un consultant en conception Août 2012
Lancement de la DP pour les services de gestion de la construction Novembre 2012
Clôture de la DP pour les services de gestion de la construction Décembre 2012
Évaluation de la DP pour les services de gestion de la construction Janvier 2013
Annonce du site à Cambridge Bay Février 2013
Consultation avec les résidents de Cambridge Bay Février 2013
Attribution du marché pour les services consultatifs d'un gestionnaire de la construction Juin 2013
Attribution du marché pour les services d'un constructeur Mai 2014
Début de la préparation du site Juin 2014
Début de la construction Août 2014
Achèvement de l'élaboration de la conception Janvier 2015
Conclusion de l'acquisition du terrain de Cambridge Bay Mars 2015
En fonction au 150e anniversaire de la Confédération 1er juillet 2017
Achèvement de la mise en service 2018

Résultats du projet

Rapport d'étape et explication des écarts

Retombées industrielles

Date de modification :