Urban Aboriginal Strategy

Name of lead department: Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC)

Federal partner organizations: Not applicable. As of April 2014, the Urban Aboriginal Strategy moved away from coordination of funding with other federal departments to a focus on increasing urban Aboriginal economic participation through its partnership development work and regional and local strategic planning. Due to this change, the Urban Aboriginal Strategy can no longer report on other federal funding commitments in its horizontal initiative table. Adjustments to the 2015–16 Report on Plans and Priorities have been made to reflect this change.

Non-federal and non-governmental partners: National Association of Friendship Centres, urban Aboriginal organizations and other non-profit organizations

Start date: April 1, 2007; renewed in 2012 and 2014

End date: Ongoing

Total federal funding allocation (start to end date):

Funding contributed by non-federal and non-governmental partners: Not applicable. AANDC pursues partnerships with other organizations to support the creation of regional strategic plans. These organizations provide ongoing support in the form of in-kind contributions.

Description: The Urban Aboriginal Strategy was developed in 1997 to respond to the needs of Aboriginal people living in key urban centres. Through the Urban Aboriginal Strategy, the Government of Canada provides flexible seed funding and seeks to partner with other levels of government, Aboriginal and community organizations, and the private sector to support initiatives that increase the economic participation of Aboriginal people living in urban centres.

In 2012, the Government of Canada extended the Urban Aboriginal Strategy and transferred three urban Aboriginal programs from Canadian Heritage to AANDC:

The transfer of these programs allows for greater focus and coordination of federal efforts to help urban and off-reserve Aboriginal people increase their participation in the Canadian economy.

Shared outcome: The primary goal of the Urban Aboriginal Strategy is to increase the economic participation of Aboriginal people living in cities across Canada. The strategy seeks to achieve the following outcomes:

Governance structure: As of April 2014, the Government of Canada provides $43 million per year to the National Association of Friendship Centres, which launches an annual call for proposals for Community Capacity Support and Urban Partnerships for which urban Aboriginal and other non-profit organizations can apply. The National Association of Friendship Centres is required to post its funding decisions on its website in both official languages.

AANDC administers $8.1 million of Urban Aboriginal Strategy funding through a targeted call for proposals, which supports the development of regional and community strategic plans to guide funding provided by the National Association of Friendships Centres. Funding through the Urban Aboriginal Strategy is designed to promote co-operation with other key partners (including other federal departments) and stakeholders in increasing the economic participation of urban Aboriginal people.

Performance highlights: In 2014, the Government of Canada consolidated the four urban Aboriginal programs into two new programs: Community Capacity Support and Urban Partnerships.

AANDC provides $43 million per year ($23 million to Community Capacity Support and $20 million to Urban Partnerships) to the National Association of Friendship Centres to fund organizations offering programs and services that align with the Government's priority of increasing the participation of urban Aboriginal people in Canada's economy.

AANDC delivers the remaining funding to build and develop partnerships and support community and regional planning to foster the participation of Aboriginal people in the economy. The new model of delivery for the Urban Aboriginal Strategy was implemented on April 1, 2014.

Performance Information
Federal organizations Link to Program Alignment Architectures Contributing programs and activities Total allocation (from start to end date) 2014–2015
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada Urban Aboriginal Participation Urban Aboriginal Strategy $53,137,484 Planned Spending: $53,137,484
Actual Spending: $50,397,390
Expected Results: The National Association of Friendship Centres, through an open call for applications, supports urban Aboriginal organizations across Canada with operational funding under Community Capacity Support and projects under Urban Partnerships to increase urban Aboriginal people's economic participation. AANDC supports planning initiatives, which will ultimately play a key role in shaping the development of the regional strategic plans in 2015–2016.
Actual results against targetsa: In 2014–2015, the Department funded the National Association of Friendship Centres, which supported 124 urban Aboriginal organizations under Community Capacity Support and 174 initiatives under Urban Partnerships to increase urban Aboriginal people's economic participation. AANDC supported 29 planning initiatives, which will ultimately play a key role in shaping the development of regional strategic plans in 2015–2016.
Total for all federal organizations $53,137,484 Total planned spending: $53,137,484
Total actual spending: $50,397,390
a Performance indicators are defined in the Performance Measurement Strategies and/or Performance Measurement Frameworks (PMF) of each federal partner.

Comments on variances: Not applicable

Results achieved by non-federal and non-governmental partners: In 2014–2015, the National Association of Friendship Centres supported 124 urban Aboriginal organizations across Canada with core-like funding under Community Capacity Support and 174 initiatives under Urban Partnerships to increase urban Aboriginal people's economic participation. Furthermore, numerous other partners were engaged in planning activities across eight regions to support the creation of regional strategic plans.

Contact information:
Brenda Shestowsky
Director
Income Assistance and Urban Aboriginal Strategy
Education and Social Development Programs and Partnerships
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
Telephone: 819-997-8212
Brenda.Shestowsky@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Date modified:

La Stratégie pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain

Nom du ministère responsable : Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC)

Organisations fédérales partenaires : Sans objet. À partir d'avril 2014, la Stratégie pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain s'est écartée de la coordination du financement avec les autres ministères fédéraux pour se concentrer sur l'accroissement de la participation économique des Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain, et ce, par l'entremise de son travail en vue d'établir des partenariats et de sa planification stratégique à l'échelle régionale et locale. En raison de ce changement, il n'est plus possible de rendre compte des autres engagements financiers fédéraux dans le tableau de l'initiative horizontale de la Stratégie pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain. Des ajustements ont été faits dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités de 2015-2016 afin de tenir compte de ce changement.

Partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Association nationale des centres d'amitié, organisations autochtones urbaines et autres organismes sans but lucratif

Date de mise en œuvre : 1er avril 2007; renouvelée en 2012 et en 2014

Date d'achèvement : Sur une base continue

Montant total des fonds fédéraux alloués (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement) :

Fonds provenant de partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet. AADNC établit des partenariats avec d'autres organismes afin d'appuyer l'élaboration de plans stratégiques régionaux. Ces organismes apportent un soutien continu sous la forme de contributions en nature.

Description : La Stratégie pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain (SAMU) a été conçue en 1997 pour répondre aux besoins des Autochtones résidant dans les principaux centres urbains. Au moyen de cette stratégie, le gouvernement du Canada offre des fonds de démarrage assortis de conditions souples et cherche à former des partenariats avec d'autres gouvernements, des organismes autochtones et communautaires et le secteur privé pour soutenir des projets qui accroissent, sur le plan économique, la participation des Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain.

En 2012, le gouvernement du Canada a reconduit la Stratégie pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain et a transféré à AADNC trois Programmes pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain, qui relevaient de Patrimoine canadien :

Le transfert de ces programmes permet aux efforts fédéraux d'être plus ciblés et d'être mieux coordonnés en vue d'aider les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain et hors réserve à accroître leur participation à l'économie canadienne.

Résultats partagés : Le but principal de la Stratégie pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain est d'accroître la participation économique des Autochtones qui vivent dans des villes partout au Canada. La Stratégie cherche à atteindre les résultats suivants :

Structures de gouvernance : Depuis avril 2014, le gouvernement du Canada verse 43 millions de dollars par année à l'Association nationale des centres d'amitié. Chaque année, elle lance un appel de propositions dans le cadre du Développement des capacités communautaires et des Partenariats urbains, permettant aux organisations autochtones urbaines et à d'autres organismes sans but lucratif d'adresser des demandes. L'Association nationale des centres d'amitié doit afficher ses décisions en matière de financement sur son site Web, et ce, dans les deux langues officielles.

AADNC administre un financement de 8,1 millions de dollars dans le cadre de la Stratégie pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain, par l'entremise d'un appel ciblé de propositions qui soutient l'élaboration de plans stratégiques régionaux et communautaires en vue d'encadrer le financement versé par l'Association nationale des centres d'amitié. Le financement octroyé par l'entremise de la Stratégie pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain a pour but de promouvoir la coopération avec les autres partenaires (y compris les autres ministères fédéraux) et intervenants clés en vue d'accroître la participation économique des Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain.

Faits saillants du rendement : En 2014, le gouvernement du Canada a consolidé les quatre programmes pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain en deux nouveaux programmes : le Développement des capacités communautaires et les Partenariats urbains.

AADNC verse à l'Association nationale des centres d'amitié 43 millions de dollars par année (23 millions de dollars pour le Développement des capacités communautaires et 20 millions de dollars pour les Partenariats urbains) afin de financer les organismes qui offrent des programmes et des services qui sont conformes à la priorité gouvernementale d'accroître la participation des Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain à l'économie canadienne.

AADNC verse le reste du financement en vue d'établir et de consolider des partenariats et de soutenir la planification communautaire et régionale afin de favoriser la participation des Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain à l'économie. Le nouveau modèle de prestation de la Stratégie pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain a été mis en œuvre le 1er avril 2014.

Renseignements sur le rendement
Organisations fédérales Lien à l'architecture d'alignement des programmes du Ministère Programmes et activités contribuant à l'initiative horizontale Affectations totales (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement) 2014-2015
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada Participation des Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain Stratégie pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain 53 137 484 $ Dépenses prévues : 53 137 484 $
Dépenses réelles : 50 397 390 $
Résultats attendus : Par l'entremise d'un appel de demandes ouvert, l'Association nationale des centres d'amitié soutient les organisations autochtones urbaines partout au Canada en leur versant un financement pour leur fonctionnement dans le cadre du Développement des capacités communautaires et en appuyant des projets de Partenariats urbains, en vue d'accroître la participation économique des Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain. AADNC appuie les initiatives de planification, qui à terme joueront un rôle clé dans la façon dont les plans stratégiques régionaux seront élaborés en 2015-2016.
Résultats réels par rapport aux ciblesa : En 2014-2015, le Ministère a financé l'Association nationale des centres d'amitié, qui a soutenu 124 organisations autochtones urbaines dans le cadre du Développement des capacités communautaires et 174 initiatives dans le cadre des Partenariats urbains, en vue d'accroître la participation économique des Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain. AADNC a appuyé 29 initiatives de planification, qui à terme joueront un rôle clé dans la façon dont les plans stratégiques régionaux seront élaborés en 2015-2016.
Montant total pour l'ensemble des organisations fédérales 53 137 484 $ Montant total des dépenses prévues : 53 137 484 $
Montant total des dépenses réelles : 50 397 390 $
a Les indicateurs de rendement sont définis dans les stratégies de mesure du rendement ou dans les cadres de mesure du rendement de chacun des partenaires fédéraux.

Commentaires sur les écarts : Sans objet

Résultats atteints par les partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : En 2014-2015, dans le cadre du Développement des capacités communautaires, l'Association nationale des centres d'amitié a versé un financement comparable au financement de base à 124 organisations autochtones urbaines partout au Canada et a soutenu 174 initiatives dans le cadre des Partenariats urbains, en vue d'accroître la participation économique des Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain. En outre, plusieurs autres partenaires ont participé à des activités de planification dans huit régions afin d'appuyer l'élaboration de plans stratégiques régionaux.

Coordonnées de la personne-ressource :
Brenda Shestowsky
Directrice
Soutien du revenu et stratégie pour les Autochtones en milieu urbain
Programmes et partenariats en matière d'éducation et développement social
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
Téléphone : 819-997-8212
Brenda.Shestowsky@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Date de modification :