Nutrition North Canada

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Name of lead department: Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC)

Federal partner organization: Health Canada

Non-federal and non-governmental partners: Not applicable

Start date: April 1, 2011

End date: Ongoing

Total federal funding allocation (start to end date): $301,350,000 over five years

Description: The objective of AANDC's food subsidy program is to make perishable nutritious foods more accessible and affordable than it would otherwise be to residents of isolated northern communities.

Registered retailers in the North, country food processors/distributors located in eligible communities and food suppliers in the South who supply small retailers, institutions and individuals in these isolated communities can apply for a subsidy based on the weight of eligible foods shipped by air to eligible northern communities. These subsidies are to be passed on to northern consumers by appropriate reductions in the selling prices of eligible foods. The terms of the funding arrangements with AANDC's subsidy recipients (northern and southern retailers/wholesalers) are governed by contribution agreements.

Since price is not the only factor that influences consumption, the Program will be supported by targeted Health Canada initiatives that encourage the purchase, preparation and consumption of healthy foods. Funding will flow to communities via contribution agreements with Aboriginal communities/organizations and/or territorial governments.

Shared outcome: By making nutritious foods more accessible and affordable, the Program seeks to increase their consumption and contribute to better overall health of both the Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal populations.

The subsidy is expected to help lower the prices of nutritious foods in the North. Lower prices for nutritious foods in combination with complementary nutrition education activities are expected to increase consumption of healthy foods in the short to medium terms. In the longer term, the Program expects that more individuals living in eligible communities will adopt healthier eating patterns that will help lower the rates of chronic and infectious diseases.

Governance structure: The Nutrition North Canada Advisory Board comprises five to seven members who represent the perspectives and interests of northern residents and communities in relation to the management and effectiveness of the Program.

Following the 2013 internal audit and evaluation, a decision was made in April 2014 to replace the Oversight Committee with an ad hoc Director General interdepartmental information-sharing forum. The purpose of this forum is to discuss issues as they arise and provide advice. Members from AANDC, Health Canada, Transport Canada, Privy Council, Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat and Finance participate as needed.

Performance Highlights: After four years of operation, the Nutrition North Canada (NNC) Program is well implemented and on track to achieve the immediate outcomes in line with the NNC Performance Measurement Strategy:

Performance Information
Federal organizations Link to Program Alignment Architectures Contributing programs and activities Total allocation (from start to end date) 2014–2015
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada Northern Governance and People Nutrition North $286,850,000 (over 5 years) Planned Spending: $68,370,000
Actual Spending: $67,506,800
Expected Results: In 2014–2015, AANDC will align its actions with the following result:
  • Subsidized food is available in eligible communities.
The Department will accomplish this by:
  • increasing transparency through compliance reviews, enhanced quality assurance, and audit and quarterly reports posted on the Nutrition North Canada website;
  • improving performance measurement and information by implementing appropriate tools and systems to collect and analyze trends;
  • ensuring that the perspectives and interests of northern residents are considered through continuing engagement via social media, the Nutrition North Canada website and the Nutrition North Canada Advisory Board public meetings; and
  • completing a comprehensive study of northern retailing to obtain feedback from northern customers, communities and retailers to further inform Program policies.
Actual results against targetsa: Subsidized food is available in eligible communities; measured as follows:
  • Weight of eligible food shipped per capita increases annually: 316 kilograms per capita of eligible foods were shipped to fully eligible communities. This represents a 3.5% increase over the weight of the same food shipped in 2013–2014.
  • Nutrition North Canada food basket price trends are comparable to food price trends for the rest of Canada: for the period 2011–2015, NNC food basket price for fully eligible communities: −5.0% (the Canada Consumer Price Index basket for food: +9.9%).
Health Canada First Nations and Inuit Primary Health Care Nutrition North Canada — Nutrition Education Initiatives $14,500,000 from 2011–2012 to 2015–2016, and $2,900,000 ongoing Planned Spending: $2,900,000
Actual Spending: $2,713,804
Expected Results:
In 2014–2015, Health Canada will align its actions with the following expected result:
  • Residents in eligible communities have knowledge of healthy eating and skills to choose and prepare nutritious foods.
The Department will accomplish this by:
  • serving 72 communities with Nutrition North Canada nutrition education initiatives; and
  • supporting 1,200 Nutrition North Canada nutrition education activities at the community level.
This information will be collected through the NNC annual reporting template for the nutrition education initiatives.
Actual results against targetsa:
Health Canada achieved the following:
  • 72 communities received support for Nutrition North Canada nutrition education initiatives.
  • Approximately 1,200 Nutrition North Canada nutrition education activities were delivered, such as: the promotion of healthy food knowledge and skills among children, youth and adults in school and community settings; in-store taste tests and grocery store tours; traditional food harvesting and preparation; and partnerships and collaboration with other community programs.
  • Outcomes observed by Nutrition North Canada community workers include increased:
    • awareness of healthy foods;
    • interest in healthy eating and cooking; fresh produce purchases;
    • number of children cooking for their families; and
    • demand for certain activities (e.g. community kitchens).
Total for all federal organizations $301,350,000 Total planned spending: $71,270,000
Total actual spending: $70,220,604
a Performance indicators are defined in the Performance Measurement Strategies and/or Performance Measurement Frameworks of each federal partner.

Comments on variances:

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
The $11.3 million variance between planned and actual spending for the 2014–2015 period is attributed to growth in demand for subsidized food.

Health Canada
The variance is due to efficiencies achieved from the sharing of program-delivery costs, such as teleconference and/or video conference discussions, coordinating travel to communities, and offering joint training sessions to support multiple programs.

Results achieved by non-federal partners (if applicable): The Nutrition North Canada Advisory Board held three face-to-face meetings in 2014–2015, two of which included public sessions in northern communities (Rankin Inlet and Iqaluit).

Contact Information:

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
Diane Robinson
Director, Nutrition North Canada
Northern Affairs Organization
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
Telephone: 819-934-3171
Diane.Robinson@aadnc-aandc.gc.c

Health Canada
Halina Cyr
Director, Population Health and Primary Care Directorate
First Nations and Inuit Health Branch
Health Canada
Telephone: 613-948-6412
Halina.cyr@hc-sc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Nutrition Nord Canada

Nom du ministère responsable : Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC)

Organisation fédérale partenaire : Santé Canada

Partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Date de mise en œuvre : 1er avril 2011

Date d'achèvement : Sur une base continue

Montant total des fonds fédéraux alloués (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement) : 301 350 000 $ sur cinq ans

Description : L'objectif du programme de contribution alimentaire d'AADNC est de faciliter l'accès à des aliments sains aux résidants des collectivités nordiques isolées.

Les détaillants enregistrés dans le Nord, les fabricants ou distributeurs d'aliments traditionnels situés dans les collectivités admissibles et les fournisseurs dans le Sud qui expédient des aliments à des petits détaillants, à des institutions et à des particuliers dans ces collectivités isolées peuvent demander une contribution calculée en fonction du poids des aliments admissibles expédiés par avion aux collectivités nordiques admissibles. Ces contributions doivent être transférées aux consommateurs du Nord au moyen de réductions adéquates sur les prix de vente des aliments admissibles. Les modalités financières de cette subvention d'AADNC avec les bénéficiaires (les détaillants et les grossistes du Nord et du Sud) sont régies dans le cadre des ententes de contribution.

Le prix n'étant pas l'unique facteur qui détermine la consommation, le Programme sera appuyé par plusieurs initiatives ciblées de Santé Canada qui visent à encourager l'achat, la préparation et la consommation d'aliments sains. Des fonds seront versés aux collectivités dans le cadre d'ententes de contribution avec les collectivités et les organisations autochtones ou les gouvernements territoriaux.

Résultats partagés : En rendant les aliments nutritifs plus facilement accessibles et plus abordables, le Programme permet à la population autochtone et non autochtone d'en consommer davantage et contribue ainsi à l'amélioration de la santé en général.

La subvention devrait entraîner une baisse du prix des aliments nutritifs dans le Nord. Une baisse des prix, en combinaison avec d'autres activités de promotion de la santé, devrait permettre d'augmenter la consommation d'aliments sains à court et à moyen terme. À plus long terme, on s'attend à ce que la population adopte des habitudes alimentaires plus saines, ce qui réduira d'autant le taux de maladies chroniques et infectieuses.

Structures de gouvernance : Le Conseil consultatif de Nutrition Nord Canada comprend de cinq à sept membres, qui représentent les points de vue et les intérêts des résidents et des collectivités du Nord en ce qui a trait à la gestion et à l'efficacité du Programme.

À la suite de la vérification interne et de l'évaluation de 2013, il a été décidé en avril 2014 de remplacer le Comité de surveillance par un forum interministériel ad hoc d'échange d'information réunissant des directeurs généraux. Le but de ce forum est de discuter des enjeux à mesure qu'ils se présentent et de donner des avis. Les membres d'AADNC, de Santé Canada, de Transports Canada, du Conseil privé, du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada et du ministère des Finances y participent au besoin.

Faits saillants du rendement : Après quatre ans d'activité, le Programme Nutrition Nord Canada (NNC) est bien implanté et sur la bonne voie pour atteindre les résultats immédiats qui s'inscrivent dans le cadre de la stratégie de mesure du rendement de NNC :

Renseignements sur le rendement
Organisations fédérales Lien à l'architecture d'alignement des programmes du Ministère Programmes et activités contribuant à l'initiative horizontale Affectations totales (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement) 2014-2015
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada Gouvernance et gens du Nord Nutrition Nord 286 850 000 $ (sur 5 ans) Dépenses prévues : 68 370 000 $
Dépenses réelles : 67 506 800 $
Résultats attendus : En 2014-2015, AADNC fera cadrer ses mesures pour atteindre les résultats suivants :
  • aliments offerts dans les collectivités admissibles grâce à des subventions.
Le Ministère atteindra ces résultats en :
  • améliorant la transparence au moyen d'examens de la conformité, d'une meilleure assurance de la qualité ainsi que de rapports de vérification et de rapports trimestriels affichés sur le site Web de Nutrition Nord Canada;
  • améliorant la mesure du rendement et l'information en mettant en œuvre des outils et des systèmes appropriés pour recueillir des données et analyser les tendances;
  • veillant à ce que les perspectives et les intérêts des résidents du Nord soient pris en compte au moyen d'un engagement continu par l'intermédiaire des médias sociaux, du site Web de Nutrition Nord Canada et des assemblées publiques du Comité consultatif de Nutrition Nord Canada;
  • effectuant une étude approfondie du commerce de détail dans le Nord pour obtenir des commentaires des clients, des collectivités et des détaillants dans le Nord afin d'éclairer davantage les politiques des Programmes.
Résultats réels par rapport aux ciblesa : Des aliments subventionnés sont offerts dans les collectivités admissibles; ce résultat est mesuré comme suit :
  • Le poids par personne des aliments admissibles expédiés augmente chaque année : 316 kilogrammes par personne d'aliments admissibles ont été expédiés à des collectivités pleinement admissibles. Ceci représente une augmentation de 3,5 % par rapport au poids des mêmes aliments expédiés en 2013-2014.
  • Les tendances concernant le prix du panier de denrées de Nutrition Nord Canada sont comparables à celles du prix du panier de denrées dans le reste du Canada : pour la période de 2011 à 2015, prix du panier de denrées de NNC pour les collectivités pleinement admissibles : -5,0 % (l'Indice des prix à la consommation du panier des provisions alimentaires au Canada : +9,9 %).
Santé Canada Soins de santé primaires des Premières Nations et des Inuits Nutrition Nord Canada – Initiatives d'éducation en nutrition 14 500 000 $ de 2011-2012 à 2015-2016 et 2 900 000 $ annuellement Dépenses prévues : 2 900 000 $
Dépenses réelles : 2 713 804 $
Résultats attendus : En 2014-2015, AADNC fera cadrer ses mesures pour atteindre les résultats suivants :
  • Les résidents dans les collectivités admissibles possèdent des connaissances sur l'alimentation saine et les habiletés nécessaires pour choisir et préparer des aliments nutritifs.
Le Ministère atteindra ces résultats en :
  • mettant en œuvre dans 72 collectivités des projets d'éducation en nutrition de Nutrition Nord Canada;
  • appuyant 1 200 activités d'éducation sur la nutrition dans la collectivité de Nutrition Nord Canada.
Ces données seront recueillies au moyen du modèle d'établissement de rapports annuels de NNC pour les initiatives d'éducation en nutrition.
Résultats réels par rapport aux ciblesa :
Santé Canada a atteint les résultats suivants :
  • 72 collectivités ont reçu le soutien des initiatives d'éducation sur la nutrition de Nutrition Nord Canada;
  • environ 1 200 activités d'éducation sur la nutrition de Nutrition Nord Canada ont eu lieu, telles que : la promotion des connaissances et des compétences en matière d'aliments sains auprès des enfants, des jeunes et des adultes en milieu scolaire et communautaire; des dégustations en magasin et des visites d'épiceries; la récolte et la préparation d'aliments traditionnels; et des partenariats et de la collaboration avec les autres programmes communautaires.
  • Les travailleurs communautaires de Nutrition Nord Canada ont observé les résultats suivants :
    • une sensibilisation accrue aux aliments sains;
    • un plus grand intérêt pour l'alimentation et la cuisine saines, de même que l'achat de produits frais;
    • un plus grand nombre d'enfants qui cuisinent pour leurs familles;
    • une plus grande demande pour certaines activités (p. ex., les cuisines communautaires).
Montant total pour l'ensemble des organisations fédérales 301 350 000 $ Montant total des dépenses prévues : 71 270 000 $
Montant total des dépenses réelles : 70 220 604 $
a Les indicateurs de rendement sont définis dans les stratégies de mesure du rendement ou le cadre de mesure du rendement de chaque partenaire fédéral.

Commentaires sur les écarts :

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
L'écart de 11,3 millions de dollars entre les dépenses prévues et les dépenses réelles pour la période de 2014-2015 est lié à l'augmentation de la demande visant les aliments subventionnés.

Santé Canada
L'écart s'explique par les gains d'efficacité obtenus grâce au partage des coûts pour la prestation du programme, comme les téléconférences ou les vidéoconférences, la coordination des déplacements vers les collectivités et l'organisation de séances de formation conjointes en soutien à différents programmes.

Résultats atteints par les partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Le Conseil consultatif de Nutrition Nord Canada a tenu trois réunions en personne en 2014-2015, dont deux ont inclus des séances publiques dans des collectivités nordiques (à Rankin Inlet et à Iqaluit).

Coordonnées de la personne-ressource :

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
Diane Robinson
Directrice, Nutrition Nord Canada
Organisation des affaires du Nord
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
Téléphone : 819-934-3171
Diane.Robinson@aadnc-aandc.gc.c

Santé Canada
Halina Cyr
Directrice, Direction de la santé de la population et des soins primaires
Direction générale de la santé des Premières Nations et des Inuits
Santé Canada
Téléphone : 613-948-6412
Halina.cyr@hc-sc.gc.ca

Date de modification :