Income Assistance Reform: Enhanced Service Delivery

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Name of lead department: Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC)

Federal partner organization: Employment and Social Development Canada (ESDC)

Non-federal and non-governmental partners: Not applicable

Start date: June 2013

End date: March 31, 2017

Total federal funding allocated (start to end date): $241,500,000

Funding contributed by non-federal and non-governmental partners: Not applicable

Description: This initiative to improve the on-reserve Income Assistance Program, announced as part of Economic Action Plan 2013, has two components: Enhanced Service Delivery (administered by AANDC) and the First Nations Job Fund (administered by Employment and Social Development Canada). The two departments will allocate funding according to a proposal-based process. First Nation organizations that receive funding will be required to implement mandatory participation in personalized case management. They will serve clients using a case-management approach that includes intake and triage, an employability assessment, a personalized action plan, and referral to training services. Eligible Income Assistance clients must be between the ages of 18 and 24 and require less than one year of training to become employable. The First Nations Job Fund is designed to provide training opportunities and supports to clients referred from First Nations using the Enhanced Service Delivery approach.

For more information, please visit: Income Assistance Program — Frequently Asked Questions

Shared outcome:

Governance structure: Enhanced Service Delivery is supported by an interdepartmental governance and oversight structure comprising headquarters and regional representatives from AANDC and Employment and Social Development Canada. This governance structure includes Regional Implementation Teams, a Program Review and Advisory Committee and an Oversight Committee, which also includes representatives from the Treasury Board Secretariat and Health Canada. Each of these governance bodies helps implement Enhanced Service Delivery and the First Nations Job Fund. They also work to ensure that the Program meets targets, respects the objectives of the on-reserve Income Assistance reform policy, reduces duplication and works efficiently.

Performance highlights: The results as of the end of 2014–2015 indicate that over 6,800 First Nations youth between 18 and 24 years old have been case-managed since the inception of the Reform in 2013–2014. This number includes new clients as well as carry-over clients who may have started their action plan in the previous year. Approximately 2,000 youth have exited Income Assistance, transitioning either into employment or returning to school full time, which exceeds the target of 1,388 clients for 2013–2014 and 2014–2015. As well, 29% of First Nations communities are currently participating in the Income Assistance Reform Program, inclusive of Ontario. In Ontario, $7.5 million were allocated to the provincial Ontario Works Program, which delivers Enhanced Service Delivery on behalf of the Department. This increased allocation of resources in Ontario resulted in an increase in the number of First Nations communities delivering case management and pre-employment activities in this province.

Performance Information
Federal organizations Link to Program Alignment Architectures Contributing programs and activities Total allocation (from start to end date) 2014–2015
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada Social Development Income Assistance Program — Enhanced Service Delivery $132,500,000 Planned Spending: $30,900,000
Actual Spending: $20,700,000
Expected Results: Reduced Income Assistance dependency among First Nations youth aged 18 to 24 years old, who are job-ready and require up to one year of training.
Actual results against targetsa: In 2014–2015, 27 Enhanced Service Delivery providers received $13.2 million in funding to conduct activities that helped reduce Income Assistance dependency among First Nations youth aged 18 to 24 years old, who are job-ready and require up to one year of training, in 88 First Nations in British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Quebec, Atlantic and Yukon.
Since the Reform was launched in 2013–2014, Enhanced Service Delivery providers case managed over 6,800 First Nations clients of whom an estimated 2,000 became employed or opted to return to school full time. Enhanced Service Delivery providers continued to build their capacity and expand the implementation of the Program in 2014–2015. For example, an additional 16 case workers were hired in 2014–2015 to increase the ability of service providers to case manage Income Assistance clients, linking them to employment opportunities or school.
The percentage of communities participating in Enhanced Service Delivery increased from 24% of all First Nations targeted in 2013–2014 to 29% of all First Nations in 2014–2015. In Ontario, $7.5 million were provided to Ontario Works to increase the number of First Nations communities engaged in that province. The number of First Nations communities delivering full Ontario Works (both financial and active measures activities) increased from 65 in 2013–2014 to 71 in 2014–2015. Including Ontario by the end of 2014–2015, 159 out of 550 First Nations were delivering a case management approach (i.e. 29% of Income Assistance providers).
Employment and Social Development Canada Skills and Employment Aboriginal Skills and Employment Training Strategy (ASETS) — First Nations Job Fund $109,000,000 Planned Spending: $23,202,787
Actual Spending: $9,496,333
Expected Results: Improved labour market outcomes for First Nation Income Assistance clients aged 18 to 24 years old, who are job-ready or require up to one year of training.
Actual results against targetsa:
Clients employed: 215
Clients served: 1,125
Clients returned to school: 38
Total for all federal organizations $241,500,000 Total planned spending: $54,102,787
Total actual spending: $30,196,333
a Performance indicators are defined in the Performance Measurement Strategies and/or Performance Measurement Frameworks of each federal partner.

Comments on variances:

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
The variance between Planned and Actual Spending was due to the Income Assistance Reform Program starting later than anticipated.

Employment and Social Development Canada
Spending for First Nations Job Fund (FNJF) is based on cost per client. All clients served by FNJF must be referred by Enhanced Service Delivery.

In the first year of the Program (2013–2014), $8.05 million were re-profiled equally to all remaining fiscal years. An amount of $2.68 million was assigned to the 2014–2015 fiscal year, bringing the total planned spending for 2014–2015 to $25,886,072. Of this, $11.9 million were re-profiled to 2015–2016 in anticipation of low referrals from Enhanced Service Delivery. This left planned spending at $13.98 million (including funds re-profiled from 2013–2014 to 2014–2015). Of this, actual spending was $9.5 million. Of the 2,994 clients expected to be referred by Enhanced Service Delivery to FNJF, 1,125 clients, approximately 38% of expected, were actually referred from Enhanced Service Delivery and served by FNJF accounting for lower than planned spending.

Results achieved by non-federal and non-governmental partners: AANDC actively pursued partnerships with First Nations and the province of Ontario to ensure First Nations have access to employment opportunities.

Contact information:

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
Brenda Shestowsky
Director
Income Assistance and Urban Aboriginal Strategy
Education and Social Development Programs and Partnerships
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
Telephone: 819-997-8212
brenda.shestowsky@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Employment and Social Development Canada
Althea Williams
Director
Program Policy Division
Aboriginal Affairs Directorate
Employment and Social Development Canada
Telephone: 819-654-3127
althea.williams@hrsdc-rhdcc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Programme d'aide au revenu : prestation améliorée des services

Nom du ministère responsable : Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC)

Organisation fédérale partenaire : Emploi et Développement social Canada (EDSC)

Partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Date de mise en œuvre : Juin 2013

Date d'achèvement : 31 mars 2017

Montant total des fonds fédéraux alloués (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement) : 241 500 000 $

Fonds provenant de partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Description : Cette initiative, qui vise à améliorer le Programme d'aide au revenu dans les réserves, a été annoncée dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique de 2013; elle a deux composantes : la prestation améliorée des services (administrée par AADNC) et le Fonds pour l'emploi à l'intention des Premières Nations (administré par Emploi et Développement social Canada). Les deux ministères accorderont des fonds selon un processus fondé sur les propositions. Les organisations des Premières Nations qui reçoivent du financement devront instaurer la participation obligatoire à la gestion personnalisée des cas. Elles desserviront les clients au moyen d'une approche de gestion de cas, qui comprend l'admission et le triage, une évaluation de l'employabilité, un plan d'action personnalisé et l'acheminement vers des services de formation. Les prestataires admissibles au Programme d'aide au revenu doivent être âgés de 18 à 24 ans et avoir besoin d'au plus une année de formation pour être aptes au travail. Le Fonds pour l'emploi à l'intention des Premières Nations vise à offrir des possibilités de formation et à soutenir les prestataires des Premières Nations, qui ont été acheminés à la suite de l'application de l'approche de prestation améliorée des services.

Pour plus d'informations : Programme d'aide au revenu – Foire aux questions

Résultats partagés :

Structures de gouvernance : La prestation améliorée des services est appuyée par une structure interministérielle de gouvernance et de supervision, composée d'employés de l'administration centrale et de représentants régionaux d'AADNC et d'Emploi et Développement social Canada. Cette structure de gouvernance comprend des équipes régionales de mise en œuvre, un Comité consultatif et d'examen du programme, ainsi qu'un Comité de surveillance, qui regroupe des représentants du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor et de Santé Canada. Chacun de ces organes de gouvernance contribue à la mise en œuvre de la prestation améliorée des services et du Fonds pour l'emploi à l'intention des Premières Nations. Ils veillent également à ce que le programme atteigne les cibles, qu'il respecte les objectifs de la politique de réforme de l'aide au revenu dans les réserves, qu'il réduise le chevauchement et qu'il fonctionne efficacement.

Faits saillants du rendement : Les résultats à la fin de 2014-2015 indiquent que plus de 6 800 jeunes des Premières Nations âgés de 18 à 24 ans ont été pris en charge depuis le début de la réforme en 2013-2014. Ce nombre inclut les nouveaux clients ainsi que les prestataires dont le dossier a été reporté et qui ont peut-être commencé leur plan d'action au cours de l'année précédente. Environ 2 000 jeunes sont sortis du programme d'aide au revenu en vue de faire la transition vers un emploi ou de retourner à l'école à temps plein, ce qui excède la cible de 1 388 clients pour 2013-2014 et 2014-2015. De même, 29 % des collectivités des Premières Nations participent actuellement au programme de réforme de l'aide au revenu, y compris l'Ontario. En Ontario, 7,5 millions de dollars ont été affectés au programme provincial Ontario au travail, qui offre la Prestation améliorée des services au nom du Ministère. Cette affectation accrue de ressources en Ontario a engendré une hausse du nombre de collectivités des Premières Nations qui offrent des activités de gestion de cas et des services préalables à l'emploi dans cette province.

Renseignement sur le rendement
Organisations fédérales Lien à l'architecture d'alignement des programmes du ministère Programmes et activités contribuant à l'initiative horizontale Affectations totales (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement) 2014-2015
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada Développement social Programme d'aide au revenu – prestation améliorée des services 132 500 000 $ Dépenses prévues : 30 900 000 $
Dépenses réelles : 20 700 000 $
Résultats attendus : Une réduction de la dépendance à l'aide au revenu chez les jeunes des Premières Nations âgés de 18 à 24 ans, qui sont aptes à l'emploi ou qui ont besoin d'au plus une année de formation.
Résultats réels par rapport au ciblesa : En 2014-2015, 27 fournisseurs de services dans le cadre de la prestation améliorée des services ont reçu un financement de 13,2 millions de dollars pour réaliser des activités qui contribuent à réduire la dépendance à l'aide au revenu chez les jeunes des Premières Nations âgés de 18 à 24 ans, qui sont aptes à l'emploi ou qui ont besoin d'au plus une année de formation, au sein de 88 Premières Nations en Colombie-Britannique, en Alberta, en Saskatchewan, au Manitoba, au Québec, en Atlantique et au Yukon.
Depuis le lancement de la réforme en 2013-2014, les fournisseurs de services dans le cadre de la prestation améliorée des services ont pris en charge plus de 6 800 prestataires des Premières Nations, dont 2 000 personnes, selon les estimations, ont trouvé un emploi ou ont décidé de retourner à l'école à temps plein. En 2014-2015, les fournisseurs de services dans le cadre de la prestation améliorée des services ont continué à renforcer leurs capacités et à étendre la mise en œuvre du programme. Par exemple, 16 chargés de cas de plus ont été engagés en 2014-2015 en vue d'accroître la capacité des fournisseurs de services de prendre en charge des prestataires de l'aide au revenu, en vue de les diriger vers des occasions d'emploi ou un retour aux études.
Le pourcentage de collectivités participant à la prestation améliorée des services a augmenté, passant de 24 % de toutes les Premières Nations ciblées en 2013-2014 à 29 % de toutes les Premières Nations en 2014-2015. En Ontario, 7,5 millions de dollars ont été versés à Ontario au travail en vue d'augmenter le nombre de collectivités des Premières Nations de cette province qui participent au programme. Le nombre de collectivités des Premières Nations qui offrent l'ensemble du programme Ontario au travail (tant les activités de soutien financier que les mesures actives) a augmenté, passant de 65 en 2013-2014 à 71 en 2014-2015. En incluant l'Ontario, à la fin de 2014-2015, 159 des 550 Premières Nations offraient une approche de gestion de cas (c.-à-d. 29 % des fournisseurs d'aide au revenu).
Emploi et Développement social Canada Compétences et emploi Stratégie de formation pour les compétences et l'emploi destinée aux Autochtones (SFCEA) – Fonds pour l'emploi à l'intention des Premières Nations 109 000 000 $ Dépenses prévues : 23 202 787 $
Dépenses réelles : 9 496 333 $
Résultats attendus : Une amélioration des résultats sur le marché du travail pour les prestataires de l'aide au revenu, issus des Premières Nations et âgés de 18 à 24 ans, qui sont aptes à l'emploi ou qui ont besoin d'au plus une année de formation.
Résultats réels par rapport au ciblesa :
Clients employés : 215
Clients servis : 1 125
Clients retournés à l'école : 38
Montant total pour l'ensemble des organisations fédérales 241 500 000 $ Dépenses prévues totales : 54 102 787 $
Dépenses réelles totales : 30 196 333 $
a Les indicateurs de rendement sont définis dans les stratégies de mesure du rendement ou dans le cadre de mesure du rendement (CMR) de chaque partenaire fédéral.

Commentaires sur les écarts :

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
L'écart entre les dépenses prévues et les dépenses réelles découle du fait que le programme de réforme de l'aide au revenu a commencé plus tard que prévu.

Emploi et Développement social Canada
Les dépenses dans le cadre du Fonds pour l'emploi à l'intention des Premières Nations sont basées sur le coût par client. Tous les clients bénéficiant des services du Fonds doivent être acheminés par la prestation améliorée des services.

Au cours de la première année du programme (en 2013-2014), 8,05 millions de dollars ont été reportés également entre tous les exercices restants. Un montant de 2,68 millions de dollars a été affecté à l'exercice 2014-2015, ce qui a porté à 25 886 072 $ le montant total des dépenses prévues pour 2014-2015. De ce montant, 11,9 millions de dollars ont été reportés en 2015-2016 en prévision du faible nombre de clients acheminés par la prestation améliorée des services. Cela a fait en sorte que les dépenses prévues se sont élevées à 13,98 millions de dollars (y compris les fonds reportés de 2013-2014 à 2014-2015). De ce montant, les dépenses réelles ont été de 9,5 millions de dollars. On s'attendait à ce que 2 994 clients soient acheminés par la prestation améliorée des services vers le Fonds pour l'emploi à l'intention des Premières Nations; cependant, dans les faits, 1 125 clients, soit environ 38 % du nombre de clients auquel on s'attendait, ont été acheminés par la prestation améliorée des services et desservis par le Fonds pour l'emploi à l'intention des Premières Nations, ce qui explique que les dépenses ont été inférieures au montant prévu.

Résultats atteints par les partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : AADNC a travaillé de manière active afin d'établir des partenariats avec les Premières Nations et la province d'Ontario afin de veiller à ce que les Premières Nations aient accès aux possibilités d'emploi.

Coordonnées des personnes-ressources :

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
Brenda Shestowsky
Directrice
Aide au revenu et Stratégie pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain
Programmes et partenariats en matière d'éducation et développement social
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
Téléphone : 819-997-8212
brenda.shestowsky@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Emploi et Développement social Canada
Althea Williams
Directrice
Division des politiques relatives aux programmes
Direction des affaires autochtones
Emploi et Développement social Canada
Téléphone : 819-654-3127
althea.williams@hrsdc-rhdcc.gc.ca

Date de modification :