Aboriginal Economic Development Strategic Partnerships Initiative

Name of lead department: Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC)

Federal partner organizations: Parks Canada, Industry Canada, Environment Canada, Status of Women Canada, Natural Resources Canada, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency, Employment and Social Development Canada, Western Economic Diversification Canada, Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency, Canada Economic Development for Quebec Regions, Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario, and Federal Economic Development Initiative for Northern Ontario

Non-federal and non-governmental partners: Not applicable

Start date: June 17, 2010

End date: Ongoing

Total federal funding allocated (start to end date): $85,500,000 over five years — total Grants and Contributions and Operations and Maintenance. In addition, $61,000,000 have been made available over five years commencing in 2014–2015 in Grants and Contributions for West Coast Energy.

Funding contributed by non-federal and non-governmental partners: Not applicable

Description: With a focus on community readiness, the Strategic Partnerships Initiative (SPI) supports Aboriginal participation in the economy, with a particular emphasis on the resource development sectors, including forestry, fisheries, mining, energy and agriculture. The Program also supports other key economic development opportunities in areas such as shipbuilding, tourism and potash.

A key component of the new Federal Framework for Aboriginal Economic Development, SPI provides a coordinated federal response to existing and emerging Aboriginal economic development opportunities. The Program builds partnerships among participating federal departments and agencies, Aboriginal communities, provincial and territorial governments and the private sector to help Aboriginal Canadians take advantage of complex market-driven opportunities in key and emerging economic sectors. The initiative's funding is designed to fill gaps that cannot be addressed by existing programs.

The initiative also helps to build closer partnerships with non-federal cohorts, including provincial and territorial governments, the private sector and Aboriginal individuals, organizations, businesses and communities. These partnerships help bring together the people and resources required for Aboriginal communities to take advantage of key economic development opportunities across all regions of the country.

Shared outcome: SPI supports a horizontal approach to federal investments that ensures that these investments align with and target market-driven opportunities. It also ensures that the Government of Canada is able to anticipate, plan for, and engage in opportunities; is able to maximize the results of federal investments; and is better positioned to lever funds from non-federal sources. SPI uses a single-window approach (shared application, monitoring and reporting) to federal investments in identified priorities and addresses program gaps that might preclude Aboriginal participation in economic opportunities. This process also allows funds to flow from multiple programs and departments through one federal lead department in support of the initiative.

Governance structure: Central to the governance structure of SPI is the Director General Investment Committee (DGIC), comprised of representatives from four SPI partners, as well as a representative from the National Aboriginal Economic Development Board. The DGIC validates and prioritizes opportunities taking a whole-of-government approach to investments under the Program. The DGIC also identifies relevant federal government departments that have a role to play in supporting any given initiative and ensures that they work together with Aboriginal groups to advance these opportunities. The DGIC reviews and approves detailed proposals from federal departments on opportunities for consideration under the Program.

Performance highlights: In 2014–2015, the SPI supported more than 57 partnerships between multiple levels of government, Aboriginal communities and organizations, and the private sector. These partnerships have resulted in over $24 million leveraged from other federal partners, provincial/territorial government and the private sector. The completion of several multi-year investments at the end of fiscal year 2014–2015 provided an opportunity to increase support to ongoing successful initiatives and provide new investments for emerging opportunities.

In 2014–2015, AANDC continued investments in the Ring of Fire and Labrador Trough mining developments to ensure that Aboriginal communities located near these major projects continued engaging with partners and pursuing economic, employment, and business opportunities. Support was also provided to a number of new initiatives, which focused on supporting West Coast Energy, Northern Biomass, Ontario Electrification and major opportunities related to forestry. In addition, support was provided to other complex developments including shipbuilding and Aboriginal tourism, which required significant coordination and enhanced Aboriginal readiness to pursue employment and business development opportunities related to these projects.

Performance Information
Federal organizations Link to Program Alignment Architectures Contributing programs and activities Total allocation (from start to end date) 2014–2015
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada Aboriginal Economic Development Not applicable $85,500,000 for all federal partners Planned Spending: $14,450,000
Actual Spending: $24,183,109
Expected Results: The objective of the SPI is to increase economic development opportunities for Aboriginal Canadians by stimulating partnerships between federal and non-federal partners and leveraging investments from other levels of government and the private sector. This is intended to lead to greater participation by Aboriginal peoples in the Canadian economy.
SPI will result in partnerships and investments in economic and resource development opportunities. Other outcomes identified for SPI include the following:
  • capacity for Aboriginal stakeholders;
  • co-operation and collaboration between federal and Aboriginal partners;
  • simplified government application, monitoring and reporting requirements; and
  • strategic federal approach to Aboriginal economic development.
Actual results against targetsa: SPI supported 19 initiatives and 125 projects totaling $24.18 million. Of these 11 were delivered by AANDC regional offices and 8 were delivered by SPI's other government department partners.
During 2014–2015, 57 partnerships were created, while 247 communities participated in SPI-funded initiatives. SPI leveraged $24 million from federal funding and other partners in 2014–2015.
Total for all federal organizations $85,500,000 over five years for all federal partners Total planned spending: $14,450,000
Total actual spending: $24,183,109
a Performance indicators are defined in the Performance Measurement Strategies and/or Performance Measurement Frameworks of each federal partner.

Comments on variances: In 2014, the SPI was allocated an additional $61,000,000 over five years to support the West Coast Energy Initiative. The ongoing SPI grants and contributions budget remains $14,450,000 per year or $85,500,000 over five years (and ongoing).

In the total allocation column, the $85,500,000 figure does not take into consideration the additional $61,000,000 allocated to SPI for the West Coast Energy Initiative provided through a supplementary estimate.

In 2014–2015, planned spending was $14,450,000 accounting for the regular SPI allocation. The actual spending of $24,183,109 includes an additional $10.50 million provided through a supplementary estimate for the West Coast Energy Initiative.

The governance structure of SPI was amended in 2014–2015 to authorize the new DGIC to approve SPI investment priorities.

Results achieved by non-federal partners and non-governmental partners: Not applicable

Contact information:
Jennifer Cairnie
Director
Strategic Initiatives and Partnerships Directorate
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
Telephone: 819-994-7219
jennifer.cairnie@aandc-aadnc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Initiative de partenariats stratégiques pour le développement économique des Autochtones

Nom de l'initiative horizontale : Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC)

Organisations fédérales partenaires : Parcs Canada, Industrie Canada, Environnement Canada, Condition féminine Canada, Ressources naturelles Canada, Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, Pêches et Océans Canada, Agence canadienne d'évaluation environnementale, Emploi et Développement social Canada, Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada, Agence canadienne de développement économique du Nord, Développement économique Canada pour les régions du Québec, Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario, et Initiative fédérale du développement économique dans le Nord de l'Ontario

Partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Date de mise en œuvre : 17 juin 2010

Date d'achèvement : Sur une base continue

Montant total des fonds fédéraux alloués (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement) : 85 500 000 $ sur cinq ans – Subventions et contributions et Fonctionnement et entretien. De plus, à partir de 2014-2015, des subventions et des contributions de 61 000 000 $ sur cinq ans ont été affectées pour l'énergie de la côte Ouest.

Fonds provenant de partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Description : Axée sur la préparation des collectivités, l'Initiative de partenariats stratégiques (IPS) est un programme visant à promouvoir la participation des Autochtones à l'économie, qui accorde une place importante aux secteurs de mise en valeur des ressources, notamment la foresterie, les pêches, l'exploitation minière, l'énergie et l'agriculture. Le programme favorise également les possibilités de développement économique dans des domaines tels que la construction navale, le tourisme et la potasse.

Volet important du nouveau Cadre fédéral pour le développement économique des Autochtones, l'IPS offre une réponse fédérale coordonnée aux possibilités déjà existantes et émergentes de développement économique autochtone. Le programme permet aux ministères et organismes fédéraux, aux collectivités autochtones, aux gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux et au secteur privé qui y participent de nouer des partenariats entre eux afin d'aider les Canadiens autochtones à tirer parti de débouchés complexes axés sur le marché dans des secteurs essentiels de l'économie. Le financement de l'initiative a pour objet de combler les lacunes qui ne pourraient être comblées par les programmes existants.

L'IPS contribue aussi à resserrer les liens avec les cohortes non fédérales, notamment les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, le secteur privé, ainsi que les particuliers, les organisations, les entreprises et les collectivités autochtones. Ces partenariats contribueront à regrouper les personnes et les ressources nécessaires pour permettre aux collectivités autochtones de profiter des possibilités économiques importantes offertes dans toutes les régions du pays.

Résultats partagés : L'IPS favorise une approche horizontale pour les investissements fédéraux, ce qui permettra de s'assurer que les investissements fédéraux cadrent avec les débouchés axés sur le marché et sont ciblés sur ceux-ci. Elle permet également de veiller à ce que le gouvernement du Canada soit en mesure de prévoir, de planifier et de saisir les occasions qui se présentent, qu'il soit en mesure d'optimiser les résultats des investissements fédéraux et qu'il soit mieux positionné pour tirer profit des fonds provenant de sources non fédérales. En outre, l'IPS offre un mode d'action à guichet unique (demande, surveillance et production de rapports partagées) pour les investissements fédéraux dans les priorités définies et comble les lacunes des programmes qui pourraient empêcher la participation des Autochtones aux projets de développement économique. Ce processus permet également de procéder à des mouvements de fonds en provenance de plusieurs programmes et ministères par l'entremise d'un ministère responsable, à l'appui d'une initiative.

Structures de gouvernance : Le Comité d'investissement formé de directeurs généraux se trouve au cœur de la structure de gouvernance de l'IPS; il réunit des représentants de quatre partenaires de l'IPS ainsi qu'un représentant du Conseil national de développement économique des Autochtones. Le Comité établit également les ministères fédéraux appropriés qui ont un rôle à jouer dans la promotion d'une initiative et il veille à ce qu'ils travaillent ensemble avec les groupes autochtones, en vue de faire progresser ces occasions. Le Comité examine et approuve les propositions détaillées de possibilités que soumettent les ministères fédéraux en vue de les faire évaluer dans le cadre du programme.

Faits saillants du rendement : En 2014-2015, l'IPS a soutenu plus de 57 partenariats entre plusieurs ordres de gouvernement, des collectivités et des organisations autochtones ainsi que le secteur privé. Ces partenariats ont permis de réunir plus de 24 millions de dollars provenant des autres partenaires fédéraux, des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux et du secteur privé. L'achèvement de plusieurs investissements pluriannuels au terme de l'exercice 2014-2015 a été l'occasion d'accroître le soutien aux fructueuses initiatives en cours et d'investir dans de nouvelles possibilités.

En 2014-2015, AADNC a poursuivi ses investissements dans l'initiative minière sur le Cercle de feu et les projets d'exploitation minière en lien avec la fosse du Labrador, afin de veiller à ce que les collectivités autochtones situées près de ces grands projets continuent de se mobiliser avec des partenaires et de tirer parti des possibilités d'emploi, de développement économique et de création d'entreprises. Le Ministère a également appuyé de nouvelles initiatives axées sur le soutien du développement des infrastructures énergétiques de la côte Ouest, la biomasse dans le Nord, l'électrification en Ontario et d'importantes possibilités dans le domaine de la foresterie. De plus, AADNC a soutenu d'autres projets complexes, dont la construction navale et le tourisme autochtone, qui ont exigé une importante coordination et une amélioration de la préparation des Autochtones pour qu'ils puissent saisir les possibilités d'emploi et de création d'entreprises en lien avec ces projets.

Renseignements sur le rendement
Organisations fédérales Lien à l'architecture d'alignement des programmes du ministère Programmes et activités contribuant à l'initiative horizontale Affectations totales (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement) 2014-2015
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada Développement économique des Autochtones Sans objet 85 500 000 $ pour tous les partenaires fédéraux Dépenses prévues : 9 716 887 $
Dépenses réelles : 24 183 109 $
Résultats attendus : L'objectif de l'Initiative de partenariats stratégiques consiste à multiplier les perspectives de développement économique pour les Canadiens autochtones en favorisant la création de partenariats entre les partenaires fédéraux et non fédéraux ainsi qu'en misant sur les investissements d'autres ordres de gouvernement et du secteur privé. Elle vise à améliorer la participation des Autochtones à l'économie canadienne.
L'IPS entraînera la création de partenariats et des investissements dans des possibilités d'activité économique et d'exploitation des ressources. Parmi les autres résultats attendus pour l'IPS, on peut citer :
  • une capacité accrue pour les intervenants autochtones;
  • la collaboration entre les organismes fédéraux et autochtones;
  • des exigences gouvernementales simplifiées pour les demandes, la surveillance et les rapports;
  • une approche fédérale stratégique en matière de développement économique autochtone.
Résultats réels par rapport aux ciblesa : L'IPS a soutenu 19 initiatives et 125 projets pour un montant total de 24,18 millions de dollars. De ce nombre, 11 initiatives ont été réalisées par les bureaux régionaux d'AADNC et 8 par les autres ministères partenaires de l'IPS.
Au cours de 2014-2015, 57 partenariats ont été établis, alors que 247 collectivités ont participé à des initiatives financées dans le cadre de l'IPS.
En 2014-2015, l'IPS a suscité des investissements de 24 millions de dollars de financement provenant du fédéral et des autres partenaires.
Montant total pour l'ensemble des organisations fédérales 85 500 000 $ sur cinq ans pour tous les partenaires fédéraux Montant total des dépenses prévues : 9 716 887 $
Montant total des dépenses réelles : 24 183 109 $
a Les indicateurs de rendement sont définis dans les stratégies de mesure du rendement ou dans les cadres de mesure du rendement de chacun des partenaires fédéraux.

Commentaires sur les écarts : En 2014, un montant additionnel de 61 000 000 $ sur cinq ans a été affecté à l'IPS afin de soutenir le développement des infrastructures énergétiques de la côte Ouest. Le budget continu des subventions et contributions de l'IPS demeure 14 450 000 par année ou 85 500 000 $ sur cinq ans (et par la suite).

Dans la colonne des affectations totales, le montant de 85 500 000 $ ne tient pas compte du montant additionnel de 61 000 000 $ alloué dans le cadre d'un budget supplémentaire des dépenses et destiné à l'IPS pour le développement des infrastructures énergétiques de la côte Ouest.

En 2014-2015, dans les faits, les dépenses prévues se sont élevées à 24 950 000 $, si l'on tient compte de l'affectation régulière de l'IPS (14,45 millions de dollars) et du développement des infrastructures énergétiques de la côte Ouest (10,50 millions de dollars). La structure de gouvernance de l'IPS a été modifiée en 2014-2015 afin de permettre au nouveau Comité d'investissement formé de directeurs généraux d'approuver les priorités d'investissement de l'IPS.

Résultats atteints par les partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Coordonnées de la personne-ressource :
Jennifer Cairnie
Directrice
Direction des Initiatives stratégiques et des partenariats
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
Téléphone : 819-994-7219
jennifer.cairnie@aandc-aadnc.gc.ca

Date de modification :