Evaluation of the Federal Interlocutor's Contribution Program and Powley - Follow-up Report Status Update as of March 31, 2014

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

PDF Version of Evaluation of the Federal Interlocutor's Contribution Program and Powley - Follow-up Report Status Update as of March 31, 2014 (19 Kb, 2 Pages)

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of March 31, 2014

Policy and Strategic Direction

Evaluation of the Federal Interlocutor's Contribution Program and Powley
Approval Date: 19-09-2013

   Project Recommendations       Action Plan    Expected
   Completion Date   
   Program  Response   
1. Work with MNSIs and Federal and Provincial partners to establish a clear set of objectives for the FICP moving forward that clearly delineates roles and responsibilities and expectations of stakeholders. Moving forward, AANDC will work with MNSIs, Federal and Provincial partners to both review and establish a clear set of objectives for the FICP that clearly delineates the roles and responsibilities and expectations of stakeholders.

AANDC will provide leadership to coordinate a process to set clear objectives and to better delineates respective stakeholder roles and responsibilities.

The changing fiscal realities of the new departmental approach to working with AROs will be central factors in this work.
September 30, 2014 Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2014:

Policy work has commenced as well as outreach to federal and provincial partners. Work will accelerate in the spring as part of the process to determine a strategy to address the sunsetting of the Powley authority as well as the MNSIRD exercise to clarify roles and responsibilities.

The changing fiscal realities of the new departmental approach to working with AROs has led to the launch, on January 15, 2014, of the new competitive process for project funding for AROs. Over 170 proposals were received and are currently being assessed.

AES: Underway – Work on establishing clear objectives, roles and responsibilities has begun and is accounting for the changing realities affecting Powley and the FICP generally.
2. Develop a comprehensive Performance Measurement Strategy specific to the FICP and Powley Initiative. AANDC will develop a comprehensive Performance Measurement Strategy specific to the FICP and Powley Initiative that will articulate clear and measureable outcomes.

AANDC will take steps to ensure that FICP and Powley Initiative objectives and outcomes are communicated and accessible to all stakeholders and compliant to new fiscal realities of the departmental approach of ARO project funding.
April 2014 Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2014:

A comprehensive Performance Measurement Strategy for Sub-Program 1.2.4 (Métis and Non-Status Indian Relations and Métis Rights Management) has been developed and is proceeding to the approvals process.

As part of the new competitive process for project funding for AROs, MNSI organizations are eligible for funding under theme 3, "Métis and Non-Status Indians Partnerships and Policy Development", which relates directly with the FICP and Powley initiative. This was announced to stakeholders on November 18th, 2013.

AES: Recommend to close - A Performance Measurement Strategy for 1.2.4 has been drafted, which should address limitations in performance measurement specific to the FICP.
 
 
Date modified:

Évaluation du Programme de contribution de l'interlocuteur fédéral et de l'initiative Powley - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 mars 2014

Format PDF - Évaluation du Programme de contribution de l'interlocuteur fédéral et de l'initiative Powley - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 mars 2014 (20 Ko, 2 pages)

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité d'évaluation, de mesure du rendement et d'examen en date du 31 mars 2014

Politiques et orientation stratégique

Évaluation du Programme de contribution de l'interlocuteur fédéral et de l'initiative Powley
Date d'approbation 19-09-2013

   Recommandations du projet       Plan d'action    Date
   d'achèvement prévue   
   Réponse du programme   
1. Collaborer avec les organismes de Métis et d'Indiens non inscrits et les partenaires fédéraux et provinciaux à l'établissement d'un ensemble précis d'objectifs pour le PCIF dans l'avenir, qui délimitent clairement les rôles et les responsabilités et les attentes des intervenants. Dorénavant, AADNC travaillera avec des partenaires représentant les Métis et les Indiens non inscrits, de même que des partenaires fédéraux et provinciaux, afin d'examiner et d'établir pour le PCIF un ensemble d'objectifs précis qui définit clairement les rôles, responsabilités et attentes des intervenants.

AADNC assurera la coordination d'un processus visant à établir des objectifs précis et à mieux définir les rôles et les responsabilités des intervenants.

Les réalités financières en transformation qui découlent de la nouvelle approche du Ministère en ce qui a trait au travail avec les OAR seront des facteurs cruciaux à prendre en compte dans le cadre de ces activités.
30 septembre 2014 Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 31-03-2014 :

On a commencé à formuler les politiques et à approcher les partenaires fédéraux et provinciaux. Le travail s’accélérera au printemps, dans le cadre du processus visant à établir la stratégie à suivre pour prendre en compte la prescription des autorisations résultant de la décision Powley et en raison de l’opération de clarification des rôles et des responsabilités menée par la Direction des relations avec les Métis et les Indiens non inscrits.

Les nouvelles réalités financières résultant de la nouvelle approche ministérielle vis-à-vis des OAR a mené au lancement, le 15 janvier 2014, du nouveau processus concurrentiel de financement pour les projets des OAR. Plus de 170 propositions ont été reçues et sont actuellement en cours d’évaluation.

SVE : En cours – On a commencé à travailler à l’établissement d’objectifs, de rôles et de responsabilités clairs, en tenant compte de la nouvelle conjoncture entourant l’initiative Powley et le PCIF en général.
2. Élabore une stratégie globale de mesure du rendement propre au PCIF et à l'initiative Powley. AADNC élaborera une stratégie complète de mesure du rendement propre au PCIF et à l'initiative Powley, qui fixera des résultats clairs et mesurables.

AADNC prendra les mesures nécessaires pour veiller à ce que les objectifs et les résultats du PCIF et de l'initiative Powley soient communiqués à tous les intervenants, et qu'ils soient conformes aux nouvelles réalités financières associées à l'approche ministérielle concernant le financement des projets des OAR.
Avril 2014 Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 31-03-2014 :

Une stratégie globale de mesure du rendement du sous-programme 1.2.4 (Relations avec les Métis et les Indiens non inscrits et gestion des droits des Métis) a été élaborée et est en voie d’être soumise aux processus d’approbation.

Dans le cadre du nouveau processus concurrentiel pour le financement des projets des OAR, les organisations de Métis et d’Indiens non inscrits sont admissibles à un financement sous le thème 3, « Partenariats avec les Métis et les Indiens non inscrits et formulation de politiques », qui s’arrime directement au PCIF et à l’initiative Powley. Les intervenants en ont été avisés le 18 novembre 2013.

SVE : Fermeture du dossier recommandée – On a ébauché pour 1.2.4 une Stratégie de mesure du rendement qui devrait tenir compte des limites propres au PCIF dans la mesure du rendement.
 
 
Date de modification :