Amendment to the Champagne and Aishihik First Nations Final Agreement Implementation Plan

PDF Format (1.7 Mb, 5 Pages)

AMONG:

HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN IN RIGHT OF CANADA
as represented by the Senior Assistant Deputy Minister of the Department of Indian Affairs
and Northern Development ("Canada");

AND:

THE CHAMPAGNE AND AISHIHIK FIRST NATIONS
as represented by Chief James Allen ("CAFN");

AND:

GOVERNMENT OF YUKON
as represented by the Assistant Deputy Minister, Aboriginal Relations Division,
Executive Council Office ("Yukon");

(the "Parties" to this Amendment Agreement).

WHEREAS:

  1. The Parties are also the parties to the Champagne and Aishihik First Nation Final Agreement Implementation Plan ("CAFA Plan");
  2. Paragraph 24 of the CAFA Plan allows the Parties to amend the CAFA Plan by agreement at any time, and requires that that any such amendment be made in writing by the Parties;
  3. The Parties now wish to amend the CAFA Plan to reflect the outcome of recent negotiations regarding funding for the Alsek Renewable Resources Council and Kluane National Park Management Board;

NOW THEREFORE, the Parties agree that the CAFA Plan is amended as follows:

  1. Paragraph 12 is deleted and replaced with the following:

    12. Subject to any amendment of the CAFA Plan by the Parties, and subject to paragraph 14B, the Yukon shall pay $144,657 (2014 constant dollars) per annum for the ten year period described in paragraph 13 to the Renewable Resources Council established pursuant to 16.6.0 of the CAFA. This payment will be subject to annual adjustments in the manner described in Part 6 of Schedule 1 of the UFA Implementation Plan (Appendix A).
  2. Paragraph 13 is deleted and replaced with the following:

    13. Subject to any amendment of the CAFA Plan by the Parties, the payment by Canada to the Yukon of the amount described in paragraph 12, or any amended amount required to be paid, represents the fulfilment of Canada's obligation to provide funding to the Renewable Resources Council for the ten year period running from April 1, 2014 to March 31, 2024, pursuant to 16.6.7 of the CAFA.
  3. Immediately following paragraph 14 a new clause is added as follows:

    14B. Subject to any amendment of the CAFA Plan by the Parties, payment of the amount identified in paragraph 12 to the Renewable Resources Council shall be subject to annual approval pursuant to the annual budget review and approval process established in 16.6.7 of the CAFA. A carryover of 15% of the annual allocation will be permitted; any amount over this will be treated as surplus and will be recovered by Government. The funding arrangement established pursuant to paragraph 14 shall address the 15% carryover and process for recovery.
  4. Paragraph 15 is deleted and replaced with the following:

    15. Subject to any amendment of the CAFA Plan by the Parties, and subject to paragraph 18B, Canada shall pay $60,253 (2014 constant dollars) per annum to the Kluane National Park Management Board established pursuant to Chapter 10, Schedule A, 6.0 of the CAFA. This payment is in addition to the funding provided to the Kluane National Park Management Board in paragraph 4.9 of the Kluane First Nation Final Agreement Implementation Plan, and will be subject to annual adjustments in the manner described in Part 6 of Schedule 1 of the UFA Plan.
  5. Paragraph 16 is deleted and replaced by the following:

    16. Subject to any amendment of the CAFA Plan by the Parties, the payment by Canada to the Kluane National Park Management Board of the amount described in paragraph 15, or any amended amount required to be paid, represents the fulfilment of Canada's obligation to provide funding to the Kluane National Park Management Board for the ten year period running from April 1 , 2014 to March 31, 2024, pursuant to 2.12.2.8 of the CAFA.
  6. Immediately following paragraph 18 a new clause is added as follows:

    18B. Subject to any amendment of the CAFA Plan by the Parties, payment of the amount identified in paragraph 15 to the Kluane National Park Management Board shall be subject to annual approval pursuant to the annual budget review and approval process established in 2.12.2.8 of the CAFA. A carryover of 15% of the annual allocation will be permitted; any amount over this will be treated as surplus and will be recovered by Government. The funding arrangements established pursuant to paragraph 17 shall address the 15% carryover and process for recovery.
  7. This Amendment Agreement may be executed in any number of counterparts, each of which shall be deemed to be an original, but all of which together shall constitute one and the same document, and the date of this Amending Agreement shall be deemed to be the date on which the last party signs.

Signed__________, on the 20th day of February, 2015

Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada:

______________________________
Joe Wild
Senior Assistant Deputy Minister
Treaties and Aboriginal Government
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

______________________________
Witness

Signed__________, on the ___ day of __________, 2014

The Champagne and Aishihik First Nations:

______________________________
James Allen
Chief

______________________________
Witness

Signed Haines Junction, on the 26th day of June, 2014

The Government of Yukon:

______________________________
Karyn Armour
Assistant Deputy Minister
Aboriginal Relations Division
Executive Council Office

______________________________
Witness

 

Signed__________, on the 20th day of February, 2015

Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada:

______________________________
Joe Wild
Senior Assistant Deputy Minister
Treaties and Aboriginal Government
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

______________________________
Witness

Signed__________, on the ___ day of __________, 2014

The Champagne and Aishihik First Nations:

______________________________
James Allen
Chief

______________________________
Witness

Signed Whitehorse YT, on the 20th day of June, 2014

The Government of Yukon:

______________________________
Karyn Armour
Assistant Deputy Minister
Aboriginal Relations Division
Executive Council Office

______________________________
Witness

Date modified:

Modifications à l'entente sur le Plan de mise en œuvre de l'Entente définitive des Prèmières Nations de Champagne et Aishihik

Format PDF (1.7 Mo, 5 pages)

ENTRE

SA MAJESTÉ LA REINE DU CHEF DU CANADA,
représentée par le sous-ministre adjoint principal du ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien ( « Canada » );

ET

LES PREMIERES NATIONS DE CHAMPAGNE ET AISHIHIK,
représentées par le chef James Allen ( « PNCA » );

ET

LE GOUVERNEMENT DU YUKON
représenté par la sous-ministre adjointe, Division des relations avec les
Autochtones, Bureau du Conseil exécutif ( « Yukon »)

(les « parties » à la présente Entente de modification).

ATTENDU QUE

  1. Les parties sont également les parties au plan de mise en oeuvre de l'Entente définitive des Prèmieres nations de Champagne et Aishihik ( « Plan de l'EDPNCA » ).
  2. Le paragraphe 24 du plan de l'EDPNCA permet aux parties de modifier le plan de l'EDPNCA par accord à tout moment et exige que toute modification soit établie par écrit par les parties.
  3. Les parties souhaitent maintenant modifier le plan de l'EDPNCA pour refléter le resultat de recentes negociations concernant le financement du Conseil des ressources renouvelables d'Aisek et de la Commission de gestion du pare national Kluane.

EN CONSEQUENCE, les parties conviennent que le plan de l'EDPNCA est modifié comme suit :

  1. Le paragraphs 12 est supprime et remplace par ce qui suit :

    12. Sous réserve de toute modification apportée au Plan de mise en ceuvre de l'EDPNCA par les parties, et sous réserve du paragraphs 14B, le Yukon versera 144 657 $ (dollars constants de 2014) par an, pendant la p ériode de dix ans decrite au paragraphs 13, au Conseil des ressources renouvelables constitue en vertu de la section 16.6.0 de l'EDPNCA. Ce versement fait l'objet de rajustements annuels prevus à la partie 6 de l'annexe 1 du plan de mise en ceuvre de l'Accord cadre définitif (annexe A).
  2. Le paragraphs 13 est supprimé et remplacé par ce qui suit :

    13. Sous réserve de toute modification apportée au plan de l'EDPNCA par les parties, le versement par le Canada au Yukon de la somme prevue au paragraphe 12, ou de toute somme modifiée devant être versée, represents l'exécution des obligations du Canada en matière de financement accords au Conseil des ressources renouvelables pour la période de dix ans s'etendant du 1er avril 2014 au 31 mars 2024, conformément à l'article 16.6.7 de l'EDPNCA.
  3. Une nouvelle clause est ajoutée immédiatement apres le paragraphe 14. Elle se lit comme suit :

    14B. Sous réserve de toute modification apportée au plan de l'EDPNCA par les parties, le paiement du montant indique au paragraphe 12 au Conseil des ressources renouvelables doit être soumis a une approbation annuelle dans le cadre de l'examen annuel du budget et du processus d'approbation établi a l'article 16.6.7 de l'EDPNCA. Un report de 15 % de la dotation annuelle sera autorisé; tout montant supérieur sera considéré comme excédentaire et sera récupéré par le gouvernement. L'accord de financement etabli en vertu du paragraphe 14 doit encadrer le report de 15 % et la procédure de recouvrement.
  4. Le paragraphe 15 est supprimé et remplacé par ce qui suit :

    15. Sous réserve de toute modification apportée au plan de l'EDPNCA par les parties et sous réserve du paragraphe 188, le Canada versera 60 253 $ (dollars constants de 2014) par an à la Commission de gestion du pare national Kluane, créée conformément au chapître 10, annexe A, section 6.0 de l'EDPNCA. Ce versement s'ajoute au financement accordé à la Commission de gestion du pare national Kluane en vertu du paragraphe 4.9 du plan de mise en ceuvre de l'entente définitive de la Première Nation Kluane et fera l'objet de rajustements annuals de la manière décrite dans la partie 6 de l'annexe 1 du plan de mise en ceuvre de l'Accord-cadre définitif.
  5. Le paragraphe 16 est supprimé et remplacé par ce qui suit :

    16. Sous réserve de toute modification apportée au plan de l'EDPNCA par les parties, le versement par le Canada à la Commission de gestion du pare national Kluane du montant indique au paragraphe 15, ou de toute somme modifiée devant être versée, représente l'exécution des obligations du Canada en matière de financement de la Commission de gestion du pare national Kluane pour la période de dix ans s'etendant du 1 er avril 2014 au 31 mars 2024, conformément à l'article 2.12.2.8 de l'EDPNCA.
  6. Une nouvelle clause est ajoutée immédiatement après le paragraphe 18. Elle se lit comme suit :

    18B. Sous réserve de toute modification apportée au plan de l'EDPNCA par les parties, le paiement du montant indique au paragraphe 15 à la Commission de gestion du pare national Kluane doit être soumis a une approbation annuelle dans le cadre de l'examen annual du budget et du processus d'approbation etabli à l'article 2.12.2.8 de l'EDPNCA. Un report de 15 % de la dotation annuelle sera autorisé ; tout montant superieur sera considéré comme excédentaire et sera récupéré par le gouvernement. Les accords de financement etablis en vertu du paragraphe 17 doivent encadrer le report de 15 % et la procédure de recouvrement.
  7. L'Entente de modification peut être signée en plusieurs exemplaires, chacun d'eux étant réputé constituer un original, mais constituant ensemble un seul et même document, et la date de l'Entente de modification est réputéé être celle à laquelle la dernière signature y a été apposée.

Signé à __________, le 20e jour de février, 2015

Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada

______________________________
Joe Wild
Sous-ministre adjoint principal
Traités et gouvernement autochtone
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada

______________________________
Témoin

Signé à __________, le ___ jour de __________, 2014

Les Premières Nations de Champagne et Aishihik

______________________________
James Allen
Chef

______________________________
Témoin

Signé à Haines Junction, le 26e jour de juin, 2014

Gouvernement du Yukon

______________________________
Karyn Armour
Sous-ministre adjointe
Division des relations avec les Autochtones
Bureau du Conseil exécutif

______________________________
Témoin

Signé à__________, le 20e jour de février, 2015

Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada

______________________________
Joe Wild
Sous-ministre adjoint principal
Traités et gouvernement autochtone
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada

______________________________
Témoin

Signé à __________, le ___ jour de __________, 2014

Les Premières Nations de Champagne et Aishihik

______________________________
James Allen
Chef

______________________________
Témoin

Signé à Whitehorse YT, le 20e jour de juin, 2014

Gouvernement du Yukon

______________________________
Karyn Armour
Sous-ministre adjointe
Division des relations avec les Autochtones
Bureau du Conseil exécutif

______________________________
Témoin

Date de modification :