First Nation Youth Job Readiness Program: Seabird Island Success Stories

See how First Nations youth from Seabird Island are benefitting from new opportunities obtainable through Canada's skills training programs that provide employment training and support to help youth find jobs.

See other Aboriginal success stories from across Canada.

Seabird Island Success Stories (Part 1)

Download: MP4 format (39.9 Mb)

Transcript: First Nation Youth Job Readiness Program: Seabird Island Success Stories (Part 1)

Narrator:

First Nation youth represent the fastest-growing segment of Canada's population. The Government of Canada is making important investments in skills training and job-readiness activities to help make sure First Nation youth have the same opportunities as all Canadians to find, keep and enjoy the benefits of a good job.

First Nation youth from across Canada are benefitting from new opportunities....including those from the Seabird Island Band.

What are they saying about the program? Let's find out.

Cherish, Seabird Island Band:

I didn't have anything pushing me to go to school right away. I was kind of just, "Well I'll keep working and be a typical 19 year-old – doing nothing." And it just pushed me into wanting to do things faster and get things over with. Because I want to move on with my life and have a future. Have a family one day, have kids get married—that sort of thing. And this kind of was like a stepping stone.

Diane Janzen – Director of Education, Seabird Island:

I don't believe in training just for training sake. I think there has to be an end-goal in mind. So whether someone is passionate about being a dental assistant, or they're passionate about being a welder, or they're passionate about being an early childhood educator, I think what it means is ensuring that First Nations youth have an opportunity after graduation

Maverick Fraser, Shxw'ow'hamel First Nations Indian Band:

The training course I took through Seabird Island College was the heavy equipment operator course.

Jake said that he was going to hire the top 4 graduates of the Heavy Equipment Operator course, and I ended up landing to be the number one, and only two people got hired out of the heavy equipment operator course. And ever since then, I've been operating a variety of equipment.

Carolyne Neufeld, Health Director

It's really cool to see that and to see the spark in their eye about wanting something, and really striving for it. Setting goals and, you know, being valued as a youth too. That they're not just someone here to give them a little bit of a job. We actually need them. We need our youth to be working.

Cherish, Seabird Island Band:

Currently I am a chair-side assistance at the dentist office here in Seabird, and basically I pass the dentist tools, I do sterilizing, help keep things clean—that sort of thing.

Working with all the girls in the dental office has been amazing. I mean, probably the best work colleagues I could have—I could ever imagine having. I love it.

Maverick Fraser, Shxw'ow'hamel First Nations Indian Band:

It changed my life completely from where I was before to where I am now. From where I am now, I think my life has a bright future.

Alexis Grace, Councillor for the Seabird Island Band:

I want to see strong, independent, powerful people – particularly young people that are changing families and lives and having an impact on everyone around them. Teaching adults how this change is possible.

Narrator:

Thanks to funding from Economic Action Plan 2013 First Nation youth – ages 18 to 24 – from across the country will be participating in programs such as those taking place in the Seabird Island Band in British Columbia.

These programs are being delivered through partnerships between Aboriginal organizations, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada, and Employment and Social Development Canada.

Canada is providing job readiness support for First Nations youth so they can successfully participate in the Canadian economy. For more information on this and other programs and services, please visit Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development.

Seabird Island Success Stories (Part 2)

Watch Seabird Island Band's youth and community leaders describe the positive impacts of Canada's skills training program which provide employment training and support to help on-reserve youth ages 18 to 24 years old to find jobs.

Download: MP4 format (53.4 Mb)

Transcript: First Nation Youth Job Readiness Program: Seabird Island Success Stories (Part 2)

Narrator:

First Nation youth represent the fastest-growing segment of Canada's population. The Government of Canada is making important investments in skills training and job-readiness activities to help make sure First Nation youth have the same opportunities as all Canadians to find, keep and enjoy the benefits of a good job.

First Nation youth from across Canada are benefiting from new opportunities....including those from the Seabird Island Band.

What are they saying about the program? Let's find out.

Daniel, Seabird Island Band:

For 6 years, I didn't have a birth certificate. It was lost, believe it or not.

When I first came to the Employment and Social Development program, in a period of 3 months, I not only got my birth certificate, but I also got my SIN number, my BC ID, my updated Care Card, an updated status card, and my passport.

Alexis Grace, Employment and Social Development Program's Manager for Seabird Island Band:

Each individual has strengths and barriers they've overcome. And I think that's really what Seabird excels at: is being very proactive and very individual in our service delivery. Taking a client and a cultural focus in our implementation and understanding the individual and the life and the story behind that individual.

Carolyne Neufeld, Health Director

Now they're learning about work and for them it's a whole different world. So, we really see that, especially in income assistance families where it may be 2 generations that have been raised with income assistance as their way of living. And now we have youth who are actually teaching their parents about work.

Cherish, Seabird Island Band:

I had volunteered at the dentist office, in Grade 12, for a while.

I had taken quite a bit of interest in dentistry, so it kind of worked out to be a really awesome opportunity for me.

Jay Hope, Seabird Island Band:

Kids don't understand what skills they actually do have. They're more apt to focus on things that they don't have, and I think that's one of the challenges that we have with them. Is to start having them express those skills and to be able to challenge them to assert those skills and to be confident.

Cherish, Seabird Island Band:

Everyone was really sweet. And we sat down and got all the paperwork done right away, and like a week later I started working.

Alexis Grace, Employment and Social Development Program's Manager for Seabird Island Band:

So we're not changing one piece of that individual's life, we are changing a family, we're changing a story, and we're providing opportunity.

Daniel, Seabird Island Band:

I've been everywhere from Victoria to Saskatchewan in a period of 3-4 months and it's been a very good experience for me. I've been learning lots; I'm growing as an individual. I'm learning a lot of things that, hopefully, that will give me a decision in the end to decide on what I want to do.

Chief Clem Seymour, Seabird Island Band:

Creating a vision for our people. To understand that we're going to be here 25-50 years down the road, and making sure that what we have here today is going to be there tomorrow and the day after tomorrow.

Narrator:

Thanks to funding from Economic Action Plan 2013 First Nation youth – ages 18 to 24 – from across the country will be participating in programs such as those taking place in the Seabird Island Band in British Columbia.

These programs are being delivered through partnerships between Aboriginal organizations, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada, and Employment and Social Development Canada.

Canada is providing job readiness support for First Nations youth so they can successfully participate in the Canadian economy. For more information on this and other programs and services, please visit Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development.

Cherish's Success Story

Meet Cherish of the Seabird Island Band. She wants to become a dental hygienist. See how Canada's skills training program is helping her to follow her dream and what she has to say about the program.

Download: MP4 format (27.3 Mb)

Transcript: First Nation Youth Job Readiness Program: Cherish's Success Story

Cherish, Seabird Island Band:

I want to be a hygienist here on Seabird. First off I'd like to do CDA and that's Certified Dental Assisting, and that's kind of like a stepping stone where I could branch into other forms of dentistry. I could go to pediatrics or I could go and do orthodontics or I could just be a dentist.

The Enhanced Service Delivery program will pay for schooling for me anywhere between 10-12 months, and they'll also give me a little bit of extra money to pay for car insurance, or a laptop, or anything else that I may need. Something that they consider a barrier that's kind of stopping me from going to school right now. And they helped me get over those barriers, and it's pretty great.

Currently I am a chair-side assistant at the dentist office here in Seabird, and basically I pass the dentist tools, I do sterilizing, help keep things clean—that sort of thing.

Working with all the girls in the dental office has been amazing. I mean, probably the best work colleagues I could have—I could ever imagine having. I love it.

Narrator:

Thanks to funding from Economic Action Plan 2013 First Nation youth – ages 18 to 24 – from across the country will be participating in programs such as those taking place in the Seabird Island Band in British Columbia.

These programs are being delivered through partnerships between Aboriginal organizations, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada, and Employment and Social Development Canada.

Canada is providing job readiness support for First Nations youth so they can successfully participate in the Canadian economy. For more information on this and other programs and services, please visit www.aandc.gc.ca.

A First Nation Perspective

See why Seabird Island's Director of Education find Canada's approach to skills training more beneficial for Aboriginal youth.

Download: MP4 format (23.1 Mb)

Transcript: First Nation Youth Job Readiness Program: A First Nation Perspective

Diane Janzen – Director of Education, Seabird Island:

One of the things I've have noticed more and more in the last few years is that they're focusing more and more on Aboriginal young people and on the gaps in the system. And I think that's incredibly important. The other thing that I've noticed, and I'm just seeing more and more in some of the funding sources, is their support for wrap-around. Recognizing that it is not just training by itself, but it may mean employment readiness, it may mean basic upgrading, it may mean transportation, or food, or whatever it is that is a barrier to a young person getting training and employment. So I think that holistic approach is something I really support and have seen how that makes a difference for a young person who may have a number of barriers to overcome in order to be successful.

Narrator:

Thanks to funding from Economic Action Plan 2013 First Nation youth – ages 18 to 24 – from across the country will be participating in programs such as those taking place in the Seabird Island Band in British Columbia.

These programs are being delivered through partnerships between Aboriginal organizations, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada, and Employment and Social Development Canada.

Canada is providing job readiness support for First Nations youth so they can successfully participate in the Canadian economy. For more information on this and other programs and services, please visit Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development.

Date modified:

Programme de préparation à l’emploi pour les jeunes des Premières Nations : Histoires de réussite de Seabird Island

Voyez comment les jeunes des Premières Nations de la Bande de Seabird Island profitent de nouvelles occasions grâce aux programmes de formation axée sur les compétences offerts par le gouvernement du Canada afin de fournir des formations de préparation à l'emploi et d'aider les jeunes à trouver un emploi.

Nous vous invitons à visionner d'autres histoires de réussite autochtones de partout au Canada.

Histoires de réussite de Seabird Island (partie 1)

Download: MP4 format (30.8 Mb)

Transcription : Programme de préparation à l’emploi pour les jeunes des Premières Nations : Histoires de réussite de Seabird Island (partie 1)

Narrateur :

Les jeunes des Premières Nations sont le segment de la population du Canada qui connaît la croissance la plus rapide. Le gouvernement du Canada  réalise des investissements importants pour la formation axée sur les compétences et des activités de préparation à l'emploi afin de s'assurer que les jeunes des Premières Nations aient accès aux mêmes possibilités que tous les Canadiens pour ce qui est de trouver et de conserver un bon emploi, et de profiter des avantages connexes.

Les jeunes des Premières Nations d'un bout à l'autre du Canada profitent de nouvelles possibilités... y compris les jeunes de la Bande de Seabird Island.

Voyons voir ce que les jeunes ont à dire sur le programme? 

Cherish, de la Bande de Seabird Island :

Rien ne me poussait à poursuivre mes études tout de suite. Je me disais plutôt « Je vais continuer à travailler et à faire comme les autres jeunes de 19 ans – c'est-à-dire pas grand-chose ». Et ça m'a incitée à faire avancer les choses plus rapidement et à me rendre jusqu'au bout pour passer à autre chose. Parce que je veux avancer dans la vie et avoir un avenir. Je veux fonder une famille un jour, avoir des enfants, me marier – ce genre de choses. Et ç'a été pour moi une sorte de tremplin.

Diane Janzen, directrice de l'Éducation, Seabird  Island :

Je ne crois pas que la formation soit une fin en soi. Je crois qu'il faut qu'il y ait un objectif ultime à atteindre. Que la personne veuille de tout cœur devenir assistante dentaire, soudeuse ou éducatrice de la petite enfance, je crois que ce programme est important parce qu'il permet d'ouvrir des portes aux jeunes des Premières Nations après l'obtention de leur diplôme.

Maverick Fraser, de la Bande indienne de la Première Nation Shxw'ow'hamel :

Au Collège de Seabird Island, j'ai suivi un cours de conducteur d'équipement lourd.

Jake a dit qu'il embaucherait les quatre premiers diplômés du cours de conducteur d'équipement lourd. Je me suis retrouvé au premier rang des finissants, et seulement deux personnes ayant terminé le cours ont été embauchées. Depuis, je conduis une variété de machines.

Carolyne Neufeld, directrice de la Santé :

C'est vraiment bien de voir ça, et de voir l'étincelle dans leurs yeux, de voir qu'ils veulent quelque chose et qu'ils feront le nécessaire pour l'obtenir. Ils se fixent des objectifs et, vous savez, ils sont valorisés par leur jeunesse. Ils ne sont pas là seulement pour qu'on leur donne des miettes d'emploi. Nous avons vraiment besoin d'eux. Nous avons besoin que notre jeunesse travaille.

Cherish, de la Bande de Seabird Island :

Je suis assistante dentaire au cabinet de dentiste de Seabird. Essentiellement, je passe les instruments de dentisterie, je stérilise le matériel et j'aide à garder les choses propres – ce genre de choses.

J'aime tellement travailler avec les filles au cabinet de dentiste. Ce sont probablement les meilleures collègues de travail que je pourrais avoir – ou que je pourrais imaginer avoir. J'adore mon emploi.

Maverick Fraser, de la Bande indienne de la Première Nation Shxw’ow’hamel :

Ça a changé ma vie complètement. Ma vie n’a rien à voir avec ce qu’elle était auparavant. Quand je vois où j’en suis maintenant, je pense que j’ai un avenir prometteur.

Alexis Grace, conseiller de la Bande de Seabird Island :

Je veux voir des personnes fortes et indépendantes – surtout chez les jeunes. Je veux les voir changer les familles et changer des vies. Je veux les voir influer sur la vie de toutes les personnes qui les entourent. Je veux qu'ils montrent aux adultes comment ce changement est possible.

Narrateur :

Grâce au financement du Plan d'action économique de 2013, des jeunes de 18 à 24 ans des Premières Nations de partout au Canada participeront à des programmes comme ceux qui sont offerts à la Bande de Seabird Island, en Colombie-Britannique.

Ces programmes sont offerts dans le cadre de partenariats établis entre les organisations autochtones, Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada, ainsi que Emploi et Développement social Canada.

Le Canada offre aux jeunes des Premières Nations un appui en matière de préparation à l'emploi pour les aider à participer à l'économie canadienne. Pour obtenir plus d'information à ce sujet et sur d'autres programmes et services, rendez-vous à Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada.

Histoires de réussite de Seabird Island (partie 2)

Les jeunes et les dirigeants communautaires de la Bande de Seabird Island décrivent les effets positifs du programme de formation axée sur les compétences du gouvernement du Canada qui fournit des occasions de formation préalable à l'emploi et du soutien aux jeunes de 18 à 24 ans vivant dans les réserves pour qu'ils se trouvent un emploi.

Download: MP4 format (32.1 Mb)

Transcription : Transcription : Programme de préparation à l’emploi pour les jeunes des Premières Nations : Histoires de réussite de Seabird Island (partie 2)

Narrateur :

Les jeunes des Premières Nations sont le segment de la population du Canada qui connaît la croissance la plus rapide. Le gouvernement du Canada  réalise des investissements importants pour la formation axée sur les compétences et des activités de préparation à l'emploi afin de s'assurer que les jeunes des Premières Nations aient accès aux mêmes possibilités que tous les Canadiens pour ce qui est de trouver et de conserver un bon emploi, et de profiter des avantages connexes.

Les jeunes des Premières Nations d'un bout à l'autre du Canada profitent de nouvelles possibilités... y compris les jeunes de la Bande de Seabird Island.

Voyons voir ce que les jeunes ont à dire sur le programme? 

Daniel, de la Bande de Seabird Island :

Pendant six ans, je n'avais pas d'acte de naissance. Croyez-le ou non, le document avait été perdu.

Trois mois après être arrivé dans le Programme d'Emploi et Développement social, non seulement j'avais mon acte de naissance, mais j'avais aussi un numéro d'assurance sociale, ma carte d'identité de la Colombie-Britannique, une carte de statut d'Indien à jour et un passeport.

Alexis Grace , Emploi et Développement social; gestionnaire du Programme pour la Bande de Seabird Island :

Chaque personne a ses forces ainsi que des obstacles à surmonter. Je crois que le point fort de Seabird est vraiment son approche très proactive et ses services très personnalisés. On prend un client, on adopte une perspective culturelle pour ce qui est de la mise en œuvre, et on tente de comprendre la personne, sa vie et son histoire.

Carolyne Neufeld, directrice de la Santé :

Ils découvrent les possibilités du marché du travail et c'est un tout autre monde pour eux. Nous en sommes témoins, notamment au sein de familles où les enfants ont été élevés depuis deux générations avec l'aide sociale et voient cette aide sociale comme un mode de vie. On a maintenant des jeunes qui enseignent leurs parents des connaissances liées au travail.

Cherish, de la Bande de Seabird Island :

J'ai fait du bénévolat au cabinet de dentiste pendant un certain temps en 12e année.

J'ai développé un grand intérêt pour la dentisterie, et ça s'est donc avéré une excellente occasion pour moi.

Jay Hope, de la Bande de Seabird Island :

Les enfants ne comprennent pas qu'ils ont des compétences. Ils se concentrent plus sur les choses qu'ils n'ont pas. Je crois que c'est une des difficultés que nous avons à surmonter avec eux. Il faut les inciter à afficher leurs compétences et les aider à affirmer ces compétences et à avoir confiance en eux.

Cherish, de la Bande de Seabird Island :

Tout le monde était très gentil. On s'est assis et on s'est débarrassé tout de suite de toutes les formalités administratives. J'ai commencé à travailler une semaine plus tard.

Alexis Grace – Emploi et Développement social ; gestionnaire du Programme pour la Bande de Seabird Island :

Nous ne faisons pas que changer une partie de la vie de cette personne, nous changeons une famille, une histoire; nous ouvrons des portes à cette personne.

Daniel, de la Bande de Seabird Island :

J'ai beaucoup voyagé pendant trois ou quatre mois, de Victoria à la Saskatchewan, et cette expérience a été très enrichissante pour moi. J'ai énormément appris. Et j'espère que ce que j'ai appris m'aidera à prendre une décision concernant mon avenir.

Chef Clem Seymour, de las Bande de Seabird Island :

Nous créons une vision pour notre peuple. Nous devons comprendre que nous serons ici dans 25 ou 50 ans et que nous devons nous assurer que ce que nous avons aujourd'hui sera encore là demain, et après-demain.

Narrateur :

Grâce au financement du Plan d'action économique de 2013, des jeunes de 18 à 24 ans des Premières Nations de partout au Canada participeront à des programmes comme ceux qui sont offerts à la Bande de Seabird Island, en Colombie-Britannique.

Ces programmes sont offerts dans le cadre de partenariats établis entre les organisations autochtones, Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada, ainsi que Emploi et Développement social Canada.

Le Canada offre aux jeunes des Premières Nations un appui en matière de préparation à l'emploi pour les aider à participer à l'économie canadienne. Pour obtenir plus d'information à ce sujet et sur d'autres programmes et services, rendez-vous à Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada.

L'histoire de réussite de Cherish

Voici Cherish de la Bande de Seabird Island qui veut devenir hygiéniste dentaire. Voyez comment un programme de formation axée sur les compétences du gouvernement du Canada l'aide à réaliser son rêve et découvrez ce qu'elle a à dire au sujet du programme.

Download: MP4 format (15.6 Mb)

Transcription : Programme de préparation à l’emploi pour les jeunes des Premières Nations :L'histoire de réussite de Cherish

Cherish, de la Bande de Seabird Island :

Je veux être hygiéniste dentaire ici, à Seabird. Je commencerais par être assistante dentaire agréée, et de là, je pourrais explorer d'autres domaines de la dentisterie. Je pourrais devenir pédodontiste, orthodontiste ou simplement dentiste.

Le Programme de prestation améliorée des services paiera mes frais de scolarité pour 10 à 12 mois. Il me donnera aussi un peu d'argent supplémentaire pour payer une assurance automobile, ou un ordinateur portable, ou autre chose dont je pourrais avoir besoin. Ce sont des choses qu'ils considèrent comme des obstacles qui m'empêchent d'aller à l'école. Ils m'ont aidée à surmonter ces obstacles, ce qui est vraiment bien.

Je suis assistante dentaire au cabinet de dentiste de Seabird. Essentiellement, je passe les instruments de dentisterie, je stérilise le matériel et j'aide à garder les choses propres – ce genre de choses.

J'aime tellement travailler avec les filles au cabinet de dentiste. Ce sont probablement les meilleures collègues de travail que je pourrais avoir – ou que je pourrais imaginer avoir. J'adore mon emploi.

Narrateur :

Grâce au financement du Plan d'action économique de 2013, des jeunes de 18 à 24 ans des Premières Nations de partout au Canada participeront à des programmes comme ceux qui sont offerts à la Bande de Seabird Island, en Colombie-Britannique.

Ces programmes sont offerts dans le cadre de partenariats établis entre les organisations autochtones, Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada, ainsi que Emploi et Développement social Canada.

Le Canada offre aux jeunes des Premières Nations un appui en matière de préparation à l'emploi pour les aider à participer à l'économie canadienne. Pour obtenir plus d'information à ce sujet et sur d'autres programmes et services, rendez-vous à Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada.

La perspective d'une Première Nation

Voyez pourquoi le directeur de l'éducation de la Bande de Seabird Island trouve l'approche du Canada à l'égard de la formation axée sur les compétences plus bénéfique pour les jeunes Autochtones.

Download: MP4 format (13.0 Mb)

Transcription : Programme de préparation à l’emploi pour les jeunes des Premières Nations : La perspective d'une Première Nation

Diane Janzen, directrice de l'Éducation, Seabird Island :

Je remarque de plus en plus depuis quelques années que l'on met souvent l'accent sur les jeunes Autochtones et les lacunes qui les séparent des autres dans le système. Et je crois que c'est de la plus haute importance. J'ai aussi remarqué une autre chose que je vois de plus en plus souvent parmi les sources de financement : leur appui aux approches globales. On reconnaît que ce n'est pas qu'une question de formation, mais aussi de préparation à l'emploi, ce qui peut supposer aussi une mise à niveau de base, du transport, des repas ou tout autre type d'obstacle qui peut empêcher un jeune de suivre une formation et d'obtenir un emploi. C'est pourquoi j'appuie pleinement l'approche holistique, et j'ai vu comment elle peut aider un jeune à surmonter plusieurs obstacles pour réussir.

Narrateur :

Grâce au financement du Plan d'action économique de 2013, des jeunes de 18 à 24 ans des Premières Nations de partout au Canada participeront à des programmes comme ceux qui sont offerts à la Bande de Seabird Island, en Colombie-Britannique.

Ces programmes sont offerts dans le cadre de partenariats établis entre les organisations autochtones, Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada, ainsi que Emploi et Développement social Canada.

Le Canada offre aux jeunes des Premières Nations un appui en matière de préparation à l'emploi pour les aider à participer à l'économie canadienne. Pour obtenir plus d'information à ce sujet et sur d'autres programmes et services, rendez-vous à Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada.

Date de modification :