Sharing information about preventing family violence through a wellness planner/calendar in Maniwaki, Quebec

In Kitigan Zibi First Nation community, the spotlight is on family violence prevention thanks to a Family Wellness Planner/Calendar project that brings information about family violence prevention to the community. The calendar was given to each child attending local schools in the Kitigan Zibi area during the 2014–2015 school year. It was funded through Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada's (AANDC) Family Violence Prevention Program.

The calendar which covers September 2014 to August 2015 also features recipes from community members and phone numbers for the help line, community, medical transportation, the women's crisis shelter and youth protection, as well as addresses for informative websites.

This calendar reinforces healthy family relationships by showing a child's reactions to domestic violence from an infant stage to their teenage years. The main objective of the project was to increase awareness about family violence, and to have useful information at hand for family members. According to the Enhanced Prevention Services Program's Family Wellness worker, the calendar project is a non-threatening way to present information that community members may not be aware of. Since its' launch, the calendar has received a positive response from the community. Some families have indicated that more materials such as this should be made available as a useful resource for community members.

The calendar is part of the Enhanced Prevention Services program of the Kitigan Zibi Health & Social Services. Their mandate is to decrease the number of children in foster care and group homes. They work with families to maintain low levels of children in foster care, focus on suicide prevention so there are no suicides in the community, and provide families with support services before there is a crisis. They provide youth counseling and make information available about at-risk behaviors. They also provide culturally appropriate services to strengthen families, encourage families to be involved in their children's development to help them thrive, and promote community connectedness.

The Family Wellness Planner/Calendar project is their most recent initiative in making family violence prevention information more visual, practical and accessible to Kitigan Zibi's community members.

Date modified:

Un calendrier du bien­être pour diffuser de l'information sur la prévention de la violence familiale dans la collectivité de Kitigan Zibi, au Québec

Dans la collectivité de la Première Nation de Kitigan Zibi, les projecteurs sont braqués sur la prévention de la violence familiale, et ce, grâce à un projet de calendrier du bien-être familial contenant de l'information sur la prévention de la violence familiale destinée à la collectivité. Tous les élèves des écoles du secteur de Kitigan Zibi ont reçu le calendrier durant l'année scolaire 2014­2015. Le projet a été financé dans le cadre du Programme pour la prévention de la violence familiale d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada.

Le calendrier, qui couvre la période de septembre 2014 à août 2015, contient également des recettes provenant de divers membres de la collectivité, les numéros de téléphone pour la ligne d'aide, les services communautaires, le transport médical, le refuge pour femmes et la protection de la jeunesse, de même que des adresses de sites Web informatifs.

Le calendrier fait partie du programme des Services de prévention améliorés des services de santé et services sociaux de Kitigan Zibi. Leur mandat est de réduire le nombre d'enfants en famille d'accueil et en foyers de groupe. Ils travaillent avec les familles afin de maintenir le faible nombre d'enfants en famille d'accueil, se concentrent sur la prévention du suicide afin qu'il n'y ait pas de suicide dans la communauté et fournissent du soutien aux familles avant qu'il y ait une crise. Ils offrent du counseling aux jeunes et diffusent de l'information sur les comportements à risque. Ils fournissent également des services culturels adaptés pour renforcer les familles, les inciter à s'engager dans le développement de leurs enfants afin qu'ils prospèrent et font la promotion de la solidarité communautaire.

Le projet Family Wellness Planner/calendrier est l'une de leurs plus récentes initiatives afin de rendre l'information sur la prévention de la violence familiale plus visuelle, pratique et accessible aux membres de la communauté de Kitigan Zibi.

Le calendrier est la plus récente initiative entreprise par les Services de santé et les Services sociaux de Kitigan Zibi, dans le cadre du programme de services de prévention améliorée, pour accroître la visibilité de l'information sur la prévention de la violence familiale et la rendre plus pratique et accessible.

Date de modification :