Comprehensive Audit of the AANDC and Attawapiskat First Nation Management Control Framework - Follow-up Report Status Update as of March 31, 2014

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

PDF Version (27 Kb, 3 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Audit Committee - As of March 31, 2014

Regional Operations

Comprehensive Audit of the AANDC and Attawapiskat First Nation Management Control Framework
Approval Date: 09/28/2012

Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program  Response
1. The Ministerial Loan Guarantee process should be reviewed, in consultation with CMHC, giving consideration to the following:
  • Developing stricter enforcement practices with respect to eligibility requirements and taking remedial action with regard to non-compliance;
  • Implementing practices to certify completion of housing units by a suitably qualified professional according to National Building Code of Canada standards or an accepted equivalent set of standards;
  • Conducting a risk-based periodic review of First Nation inspection records; and,
  • Developing formal practices (e.g. Memorandum of Understanding between AANDC and CMHC) to require that the results of CMHC Physical Condition Reviews and client visit reports be shared with AANDC as a mandatory requirement of the eligibility process.
We concur with this recommendation.

Lenders providing loans backed by Ministerial Loan Guarantees (MLGs), including CMHC, must assure due diligence with loan management, including prudent lending practices, arrears, default and reporting to AANDC. AANDC will work with lenders to identify opportunities for improving due diligence processes.

AANDC is exploring mechanisms for improving National Building Code compliance.
Q3, 2013-14 Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2014:

AANDC and CMHC have established a data sharing mechanism, pursuant the April 2013 MOU entered into by the parties. AANDC has been provided secure access to CMHC’s Client Visit Reports and Physical Condition Review reports.

Revised expected completion date: Q1 2014-15

AANDC and CMHC have established a process for regular monthly meetings at the DG/VP level to discuss issues of concern and ensure co-ordination of housing activities.

AANDC is in the process of revising the Terms and Conditions for Ministerial Loan Guarantees in order to update them in general, and reflect the changes that will be coming with the new Environment Review Process.

Revised expected completion date: Q4 2014-15

AES: Implementation ongoing.

2. The Capital Facilities and Maintenance (CFM) Program terms and conditions should be reviewed, giving consideration to the following:
  • Including eligibility requirements which require demonstrated financial management capability with respect to the First Nation's housing program (e.g. Replacement Reserve Account, collection practices, reliable housing reports);
  • Adding the requirement that a separate Housing Authority be established as a CFM eligibility requirement;
  • Discontinuing the practice of allowing minor core capital to be used for the purposes of debt repayment; and,
  • Clarifying housing report definitions and developing housing performance indicators which can be used to assess maintenance needs and establish a baseline on which to measure ongoing performance.
We concur with this recommendation.

AANDC will review the CFM Program as it relates to housing, and consider the issues identified by this audit when next renewing the Terms and Conditions for the program.
Q3, 2013-14 Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2014:

A concept/framework for the reform of management of minor capital funding (of which housing is a part) was developed in Q4. In 2014-15, First Nations will be required to indicate where they plan on investing all formula-based funding in their 2015-16 community First Nation Infrastructure Investment Plan to demonstrate accountability for its use. A risk-based approach will be used in evaluating and approving these plans. Tools and guidance documents are now starting development. The department is examining the impact of this minor capital funding reform on housing allocations to First Nations.

A revised Performance Measurement Strategy for the CFMP will be presented to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee on April 25, 2014.  An analysis of housing targets and performance indicators will be explored during the implementation of this strategy.  This analysis is expected to be completed by the first quarter of fiscal year 2014-15.

Revised Expected Completion date: Q1 2014-15

AES: Implementation ongoing.
 
 
Date modified:

Vérification intégrée du cadre de contrôle de gestion d'AADNC et de la Première Nation d'Attawapiskat - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 mars 2014

Format PDF (27 Ko, 3 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 31 mars 2014

Opérations régionales

Vérification intégrée du cadre de contrôle de gestion d'AADNC et de la Première Nation d'Attawapiskat
Date d'approbation 2012-09-28

Recommandations du projet Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement prévue
Réponse du programme
1. Il faudrait examiner le processus de garantie d’emprunt ministérielle, en consultation avec la SCHL, à la lumière des considérations suivantes :
  • Établir des méthodes d’application plus strictes des conditions d’admissibilité et prendre des mesures correctives en cas de non-conformité;
  • Mettre en œuvre des pratiques d’attestation de l'achèvement des unités d'habitation par un professionnel convenablement qualifié, conformément aux normes du Code national du bâtiment du Canada ou d'un ensemble de normes équivalentes acceptables;
  • Effectuer un examen périodique fondé sur le risque des registres d'inspection de la Première Nation;
  • Élaborer des pratiques formelles (p. ex. protocole d'entente entre AADNC et la SCHL) afin d'obliger à communiquer à AADNC les résultats des examens de l'état physique et des visites sur le terrain effectués par la SCHL, à titre d’exigence obligatoire du processus de détermination de l'admissibilité.
Nous souscrivons à cette recommandation.

Les prêteurs accordant des prêts protégés par une garantie d'emprunt ministérielle (GEM) doivent faire preuve d'une diligence raisonnable dans la gestion des prêts, notamment en ce qui concerne les pratiques de prêts avisées, les arriérés, les non-remboursements et la présentation de rapport à AADNC. Le Ministère collaborera avec les prêteurs à la détermination des possibilités d'améliorer les processus de diligence raisonnables.

AADNC étudie des méthodes d’amélioration de la conformité au Code national du bâtiment.
T3, 2013-2014 État : En cours d’exécution

Mise à jour/Justification
Au 31 mars 2014 :

AADNC et la SCHL ont établi un mécanisme d’échange de données conformément au protocole d’entente conclu en avril 2013. AADNC a obtenu un accès sécurisé au rapport concernant les visites sur le terrain et les rapports sur l’examen de l’état physique de la SCHL.

Nouvelle date d’achèvement prévue : T1 de 2014-2015

AADNC et la SCHL ont prévu de tenir des réunions mensuelles régulières au niveau du SG/VP pour discuter des préoccupations et assurer la coordination des activités relatives au logement.

AADNC a entrepris d’actualiser de façon générale les modalités et conditions des garanties de prêts ministérielles en fonction des changements qui accompagneront le nouveau processus d’examen environnemental.

Nouvelle date d'achèvement prévue : T4 de 2014-2015

Commentaire du SVE : Mise en œuvre en cours.

2. Les modalités du Programme d'immobilisations et d'entretien (PIE) devraient être revues, en tenant compte des points suivants :
  • Inclure des conditions d'admissibilité qui exigent que soit démontrée la capacité de la Première Nation de gérer financièrement son programme de logement (p. ex. compte de remplacement dans la réserve, méthodes de perception, rapports fiables en matière de logement);
  • Ajouter aux conditions d'admissibilité au PIE l'obligation de mettre sur pied un organisme d'habitation distinct;
  • Cesser de permettre que les fonds de base octroyés pour les petits projets d'immobilisations soient utilisés pour rembourser des dettes;
  • Clarifier les définitions dans les rapports sur le logement et élaborer des indicateurs de rendement en matière de logement qui peuvent servir à évaluer les besoins d'entretien et à établir une base de référence pour mesurer le rendement continu.
Nous souscrivons à cette recommandation.

AADNC examinera le PIE en lien avec le logement et prendra en considération les problèmes soulevés par cette vérification lors du renouvellement des conditions du programme.
T3, 2013-2014 État : En cours d’exécution

Mise à jour/Justification
Au 31 mars 2014 :

Un concept/cadre pour la réforme de la gestion du financement des projets d’immobilisation mineurs (dont le logement fait partie) sera élaboré au T4. En 2014-2015, les Premières Nations devront indiquer dans leur plan d’investissement dans l’infrastructure communautaire où elles prévoient investir l’ensemble du financement fondé sur une formule qu’elles ont reçu, afin de démontrer qu’elles utilisent les fonds de façon responsable. Une approche fondée sur les risques sera utilisée pour évaluer et approuver ces plans. Des outils et documents d’orientation sont en cours d’élaboration. Le Ministère examine l’effet de cette réforme sur le financement des projets d’immobilisation mineurs sur les allocations pour le logement versées aux Premières Nations.

Une stratégie révisée de mesure du rendement pour le PIE sera présentée au Comité d’évaluation, de mesure du rendement et d’examen le 25 avril 2014. Une analyse des cibles en matière de logement et des indicateurs de rendement sera envisagée pendant la mise en œuvre de cette stratégie. Cette analyse devrait être achevée avant le premier trimestre de l’exercice 2014-2015.

Nouvelle date d’achèvement prévue : T1 de 2014-2015

Commentaire du SVE : Mise en œuvre en cours.
 
 
Date de modification :