Audit of the Implementation of the Child and Family Services Enhanced Prevention Focused Approach - Follow-up Report Status Update as of March 31, 2014

PDF Version 45 Kb, 7 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Audit Committee - As of March 31, 2014

ESDPP

Audit of the Implementation of the Child and Family Services Enhanced Prevention Focused Approach
Approval Date: 09/28/2012

Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program Response
1. Ensure that more formal processes be put in place that provide/ demonstrate proper governance, accountability and oversight for initial costing models, accountability frameworks, and actual implementation leading to an overview of expenditures and results. AANDC HQ and Regions should then collaborate with partners in trying to address arising issues. Education and Social Development Programs and Partnerships (ESDPP) will analyze what may be necessary to have within formal tripartite processes and will discuss these needs with relevant stakeholders.

With this information, ESDPP will formalize EPFA processes for:
  1. Establishing initial costing models;
  2. Establishing accountability frameworks;
  3. Regular monitoring of implementation, expenditures and results.
In addition, ESDPP will produce records of EPFA bilateral and tripartite meetings.

ESDPP will organize and host regular conference calls and face-to-face/ videoconference meetings with regional partners to address implementation issues as they arise within specific jurisdictions.
September 2013 Status: Request to Close

Update/rationale:
As of 31/03/2014

ESDPP is developing an accountability plan which will focus on: working with willing partners to update existing tripartite accountability frameworks with those jurisdictions already under the EPFA; ensuring that any new tripartite accountability frameworks are rigorous; developing Bilateral Accountability Frameworks with certain provinces to clarify roles and responsibilities; establish processes for joint compliance activities; and ensure consistent information-sharing such as business plan templates, and business plan guidelines for service providers.

A Service Delivery Agreement between AANDC and the province will be updated for 2014-2015.

The existing tripartite structure in BC (Executive Steering Committee and Technical Working Group) will be used to continue discussions on finalizing a robust tripartite accountability framework and costing model, and on determining a solid service delivery model for prevention in BC.

The bilateral Accountability Framework for CFS is being repositioned to become part of the trilateral discussions on a CFS Engagement Process.

As part of the Quality Assurance Framework, the FNCFS program conducted their first joint compliance review with the Ministry of Social Services on February 12-13, 2014.

SPPB has established a Compliance Working Group to establish common practices, update tools as we move forward with the regional training and review of individual agencies in 2014-2015.

In New Brunswick, work is underway to establish a Tripartite Accountability Framework to clarify roles and responsibilities, as well as establish joint protocols and processes for accountability and information-sharing.

Preliminary discussions with Newfoundland began in Q2 and are ongoing.

Bi-lateral conference calls with regions continue to take place on a regular basis.

Monthly conference calls continue to be held between HQ FNCFS program staff, their regional counterparts, the Social Branch DG and ARDGs on all Branch issues. Records of discussion are kept and shared with all parties.

AES: Recommend to close
2. Ensure that the Program undertakes regular reviews (i.e. annually) of the implementation of EPFA in each jurisdiction that will include an assessment of the costing models and the development of and reporting against business plans both financially and on activity results. Agencies provide the Program with sufficient information with respect to EPFA expenditures against the activities in the Agency business plans. AANDC HQ and Regions should then collaborate with partners in trying to address any arising issues. ESDPP will continue to liaise with regions through monthly conference calls and informal conversations to review financial pressures that may arise during EPFA implementation. These conversations have/will allow HQ to forecast future costing while also allowing HQ and Regions to develop possible mitigation strategies for arising issues.

ESDPP HQ will also begin the process of annually reviewing a sample of Business Plans in order to allow ESDPP to better report against business plans both financially and on results.

In the last quarter of fiscal year 2011/12, ESDPP reviewed the 5-year Business Plan templates and has ensured consistent use of the tool by clarifying that the intent is for recipients to provide annual updates which project ahead 5 years.
September 2013 Status: Request to close
Update/Rationale:
As of September 30, 2013

Bilateral conference calls with regions occur on a regular basis. Monthly conference calls continue to be held between HQ FNCFS program staff and their regional counterparts with the SPPB DG and ARDGs on all Branch issues. Regions and HQ FNCFS continue to review the EPFA costing models to identify options to mitigate future financial pressures.

In 2012-13, ESDPP HQ continued to work with Regions to ensure that the common template outlining criteria required to develop business plans (developed in FY 11-12) was being used consistently across all regions.

AES: Recommend to close.
3. Establish a common set of outcome-based non-financial performance measures and baseline for EPFA. These should be communicated to all Regions and incorporated into Agency business plans. In addition, ensure that the development of the new Information Management system incorporates the ability to track and report on the performance measures and baseline. The program will develop and establish baseline measures of their First Nation Child and Family Services (FNCFS) National Child Welfare Outcomes Matrix indicators by March 31, 2013. March 31, 2013 Status: Request to close
Update/Rationale:
As of September 30, 2013

FNCFS data collection instruments (DCI) have been reduced to one national DCI and one national business plan.  Six outcome-based indicators have been developed for FNCFS that are measurable and reportable. Following release 2 of the First Nation Child and Family Services Information Management System scheduled for April 1, 2014, AANDC will report on the Social Development Performance Measurement Strategy on an annual basis. The review of the Agencies’ business plans involve ensuring that the measures are incorporated.

The system will further enhance the program’s data quality and contribute to evidence-based decision making. In an effort to streamline and reduce the reporting burden, SPPB is working to enter into data sharing agreements with willing provinces and territories.

AES: Recommend to close.
In the annual update on indicators for the approved 2011 Social Development Performance Measurement Strategy, the FNCFS program has identified the data that would be required to support ongoing measurement of the programs. September 2013
4. Review the EPFA administrative structure and distribution of Human Resource needs of both HQ and the Regional Offices in order to determine an optimal and/or practical level of staffing necessary to efficiently administer and manage the EPFA. Headquarters will review the FNCFS administrative structure and distribution of Human Resources needs in consultation with Regional Operations.

ESDPP will develop and update tools, manuals, guidelines, templates, technical interpretation bulletins and information circulars in order to clarify program requirements enhance compliance and reduce reporting burden in the regions. Tools that will be updated include the National Social Programs Manual. Tools now being developed include the Management Control Framework; Integrated Risk Management Framework; a National Handbook on Program Compliance; a DCI Management Framework; and technical interpretation bulletins or information circulars to clarify FNCFS program policy, as required.

Through monthly conference calls and annual face-to-face/videoconference meetings, ESDPP and Regions will continue to support one another in identifying efficiencies in order to help ease the workload burden that has been identified. Minutes from all Headquarters/Regions monthly calls and face-to-face/videoconferences will be produced and shared.

All above documents will help ensure consistent and streamlined processes, serving to alleviate the administrative burden on regional staff.
September 2013 Status: Request to Close

Update/rationale:
As of 31/03/2014

SPPB will be providing its annual update on the 2011 Social Development Performance Measurement Strategy to the Evaluation Performance Measurement and Review Committee on April 25, 2014.

The branch is completing a condensed version of the 2011 Social Development Performance Measurement Strategy, which includes program-specific annexes. Annex B is specific to FNCFS EPFA and will provide information on early results, secondary data sources and updates to indicators.

While all regions received IMS training over the course of this fiscal year, some regions will receive an additional refresher training session. The training related to the IMS reporting solution will not be completed by the end of the fiscal year due to a delay in data entry by some regions. Regions have been asked to enter all data by the end of Q1 of FY14/15, after this report training can begin again.

The Social Programs - National Manual is in the final stages of the approval process and will be available online by Q1 FY 2014-15. An approved copy of the manual can be provided to recipients prior to the online release. The FNCFS section has been revised to better clarify program management requirements.

The policy on exceptional costs related to maintenance funding for EPFA Recipients will be reflected in the Social Programs - National Manual. Another policy on use of funds under FNCFS Program will be finalized in Q1 2014.

Policy development is ongoing and FNCFS program is focussing on the Children Out of Parental Home (COPH), Capital and Children Special Allowance (CSA) at this time.

Bi-lateral conference calls with regions continue to take place on a regular basis.

Monthly conference calls continue to be held between HQ FNCFS program staff, their regional counterparts, the Branch’s DG and ARDGs on all Branch issues. Records of discussion are kept and shared with all parties.

AES: Recommend to close
 
 
Date modified:

Vérification de la mise en œuvre de l'approche améliorée axée sur la prévention pour les Services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 mars 2014

Format PDF (68 Ko, 8 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 31 mars 2014

SPPEDS

Vérification de la mise en œuvre de l'approche améliorée axée sur la prévention pour les Services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations
Date d'approbation 28-09-2012

Recommandations du projet Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement prévue
Réponse du programme
1. Veiller à ce que des processus plus officiels soient instaurés et documentés pour assurer et démontrer une gouvernance efficace et une reddition de comptes appropriée, approuver les premiers modèles de coûts et les cadres redditionnels, et surveiller la mise en œuvre de l’AAAP afin d’obtenir une vue d’ensemble des dépenses et des résultats. L’administration centrale (AC) et les régions d’AADNC devraient ensuite travailler en collaboration avec les partenaires concernés pour aborder les problèmes qui se posent. Le Secteur des programmes et des partenariats en matière d’éducation et de développement social (SPPEDS) analysera les éléments que doivent comporter les processus tripartites officiels et discutera de ces besoins avec les intervenants concernés.

À partir de cette information, le SPPEDS officialisera les processus suivants de l’AAAP :
  1. établissement des modèles de coûts initiaux;
  2. établissement des cadres redditionnels;
  3. contrôle régulier de la mise en œuvre, des dépenses et des résultats.
De plus, le SPPEDS dressera le procès-verbal des réunions bilatérales tripartites concernant l’AAAP.

Le SPPEDS organisera des conférences téléphoniques et en personne, ainsi que des vidéoconférences avec des partenaires régionaux afin de résoudre les problèmes de mise en œuvre qui se présentent dans des provinces données.
Septembre 2013 État : Demande de fermeture de dossier

Mise à jour/Justification
Au 31 mars 2014

Le SPPEDS procède à l’élaboration d’un plan de responsabilisation qui sera axé sur ce qui suit : collaborer avec les partenaires qui le désirent pour mettre à jour les cadres de responsabilisation tripartites existants avec ceux des compétences déjà assujetties à l’AAAP; s’assurer que les nouveaux cadres de responsabilisation tripartites sont rigoureux; élaborer des cadres de responsabilisation bilatéraux avec certaines provinces pour préciser les rôles et les responsabilités; établir des processus encadrant les activités de surveillance conjointes et veiller à l’échange des formations en continu, par exemple, les gabarits de plans d’affaires et les lignes directrices sur l’établissement des plans d’affaires pour les fournisseurs de services.

Une entente sur la prestation des services entre AADNC et la province sera mise à jour pour 2014-2015.

La structure tripartite actuelle en C.-B. (comité directeur et groupe de travail technique) sera utilisée pour poursuivre les discussions sur l’achèvement d’un cadre de responsabilisation tripartite robuste et un modèle d’établissement des coûts, et pour déterminer un modèle de prestation des services éprouvé en matière de prévention en C.-B.

Le cadre de responsabilisation bilatéral pour les SEF a été repositionné pour faire partie des discussions trilatérales sur le processus de mobilisation des SEF.

Conformément au Cadre de l’assurance de la qualité, le programme des SEFPN a effectué son premier examen de la conformité conjoint avec le ministre des Services sociaux les 12 et 13 février 2014.

La DGPSP a mis sur pied un groupe de travail sur la conformité afin de définir les pratiques communes, de mettre à jour les outils à mesure que nous progressons au chapitre de la formation régionale et l’examen des organismes individuels en 2014-2015.

Au Nouveau-Brunswick, des travaux sont en cours pour mettre en place un accord de responsabilisation tripartite pour préciser les rôles et les responsabilités ainsi que pour établir des protocoles et des processus conjoints favorisant la responsabilisation et l’échange d’information.

Les discussions préliminaires avec Terre-Neuve ont été amorcées au T2 et se poursuivent.

Les conférences téléphoniques bilatérales avec les régions se poursuivent à intervalles réguliers.

Les conférences téléphoniques mensuelles se poursuivent entre les agents du programme des SEFPN de l'AC et leurs homologues régionaux, ainsi qu'avec le DG et les DGRA de la DGPSP, sur toutes les questions d'intérêt pour la Direction générale. Les comptes rendus de discussions sont conservés et communiqués à toutes les parties.

SVE : Fermeture du dossier recommandée
2. S’assurer que le programme des SEFPN effectue périodiquement (c’est-à-dire tous les ans) un examen de la mise en œuvre de l’AAAP dans chaque province, qui comportera une évaluation des modèles de coûts, des rapports financiers et des résultats des activités par rapport aux plans prévus. Les agences doivent fournir l’information nécessaire concernant les dépenses engagées pour l’AAAP relativement aux activités prévues dans leurs plans respectifs. L’administration centrale et les régions d’AADNC devraient ensuite travailler en collaboration avec les partenaires concernés pour aborder les problèmes qui se posent. Le SPPEDS communiquera avec les régions au moyen de conférences téléphoniques mensuelles et de conversations officieuses dans le but d’examiner les pressions financières liées à la mise en œuvre de l’AAAP. Ces conversations permettront à l’administration centrale d’établir des prévisions de coûts et d’élaborer des mesures pour atténuer les difficultés.

Le SPPEDS-AC entamera le processus d’examen annuel d’un échantillon de plans d’activités, qui lui permettra d’établir des rapports plus utiles faisant état des dépenses engagées et des résultats obtenus par rapport aux plans d’activités.

Au cours du dernier trimestre de l’exercice 2011-2012, le SPPEDS a examiné les modèles du plan d’activités quinquennal et a fait en sorte que l’outil soit appliqué uniformément en précisant qu’il visait à permettre aux bénéficiaires de présenter des mises à jour annuelles établissant des projections quinquennales.
Septembre 2013 État : Demande de fermeture du dossier

Mise à jour/Justification :
30 septembre 2013

Des conférences téléphoniques bilatérales avec les régions sont tenues de façon régulière. Des conférences téléphoniques mensuelles continuent d’avoir lieu entre les agents du programme des SEFPN de l’AC et leurs homologues régionaux, ainsi qu’avec le DG et les DGRA de la DGPSP sur toutes les questions d’intérêt pour la Direction générale.

Les SEFPN de l’AC et les régions continuent d’examiner les modèles de coûts afin de trouver des façons d’atténuer les pressions financières ultérieures.

En 2012-2013, le SPPEDS-AC a continué de travailler avec les régions pour veiller à ce que le modèle commun précisant les critères requis pour l’élaboration des plans d’activités (conçu en 2011-2012) soit utilisé de façon uniforme à l’échelle des régions.

SVE : Fermeture du dossier recommandée.
3. Établir une série commune d’indicateurs de rendement et de niveaux de référence non financiers, axés sur les résultats de l’AAAP, qui doit être communiquée à toutes les régions et intégrée dans les plans d’activités des agences. De plus, s’assurer que le nouveau système de gestion de l’information permettra d’effectuer le suivi de ces indicateurs de rendement et niveaux de référence et de produire des rapports connexes. Le programme élaborera et établira des indicateurs de référence relatifs aux SEFPN fondés sur la Matrice d’indicateurs de protection de la jeunesse (MIP) d’ici le 31 mars 2013.

31 mars 2013 État : Demande de fermeture du dossier

Mise à jour/Justification :
30 septembre 2013

Les instruments de collecte de données (ICD) des SEFPN ont été regroupés sous un ICD national et un plan d’activités national. Six indicateurs axés sur les résultats ont été établis pour les SEFPN, lesquels sont mesurables et peuvent faire l’objet de rapports. Après le lancement de la deuxième version du système de gestion de l’information des SEFPN, prévu pour le 1er avril 2014, AADNC produira des rapports annuels sur la Stratégie de mesure du rendement pour le développement social. L’examen des plans d’activités des agences vise notamment à s’assurer que les mesures y sont intégrées.

Le système permettra d’améliorer la qualité des données relatives aux programmes et favorisera un processus décisionnel fondé sur les preuves. En vue de rationaliser et de réduire le fardeau en matière de rapports, la DGPSP s’efforce de conclure des ententes d’échange de données avec les provinces et les territoires intéressés.

SVE : Fermeture du dossier recommandée.
Dans la mise à jour annuelle des indicateurs de la Stratégie de mesure du rendement pour le développement social de 2011, le programme des SEFPN a recensé les données nécessaires pour mesurer adéquatement le rendement des programmes. Septembre 2013
4. Réviser la structure administrative de l’AAAP ainsi que les besoins en ressources humaines tant à l’administration centrale que dans les bureaux régionaux afin de déterminer le niveau de dotation optimal ou adéquat requis pour administrer et gérer efficacement l’AAAP. L’administration centrale examinera la structure administrative des SEFPN ainsi que la répartition des besoins en ressources humaines en consultation avec les Opérations régionales.

Le SPPEDS élaborera et tiendra à jour des outils, des manuels, des lignes directrices, des modèles, ainsi que des bulletins d’interprétation et d’information afin de préciser les exigences de programme, d’assurer la conformité et de réduire les exigences en matière de rapports dans les régions. Le Manuel national des programmes sociaux fait partie des outils qui seront mis à jour. Parmi ceux qui sont en cours d’élaboration, mentionnons le cadre de contrôle de gestion, le cadre de gestion intégrée du risque, le manuel national sur la conformité des programmes, le cadre de gestion des ICD, ainsi que des bulletins d’interprétation technique et des bulletins d’information ayant pour but de préciser la politique relative aux SEFPN, au besoin.

Au moyen de conférences téléphoniques mensuelles et de rencontres en personne ou de vidéoconférences annuelles, le SPPEDS et les régions continueront de collaborer en vue d’améliorer l’efficacité et d’alléger la charge de travail. Toutes les conférences téléphoniques mensuelles et toutes les rencontres en personne et les vidéoconférences annuelles de l’AC et des régions feront l’objet d’un procès-verbal qui sera distribué aux personnes concernées.

Tous les documents énumérés ci-dessus permettront d’assurer l’uniformisation et la rationalisation des processus dans le but de réduire la charge de travail administrative du personnel régional.
Septembre 2013 État : Demande de fermeture de dossier

Mise à jour/Justification
Au 31 mars 2014

La DGPSP fera sa mise à jour annuelle sur la Stratégie de mesure du rendement pour le développement social de 2011 au comité de l’évaluation, de la mesure du rendement et de l’examen le 25 avril 2014.

La Direction générale s’emploie à finaliser une version condensée de la Stratégie de mesure du rendement pour le développement social de 2011 qui comprend des annexes propres à chaque programme. L’annexe B est propre à l’AAAP des SEFPN et fournira de l’information sur les résultats précoces, les sources de données secondaires et les mises à jour des indicateurs.

Bien que toutes les régions aient reçu une formation sur le SGI au cours de l’exercice, certaines régions recevront des séances de formation de recyclage supplémentaires. La formation liée à la solution d’établissement de rapport du SGI ne sera pas achevée d’ici la fin de l’exercice en raison des retards dans la saisie des données par certaines régions. On a demandé aux régions d’entrer l’ensemble des données d’ici la fin du T1 de l’exercice 2014-2015, après quoi, la formation pourra reprendre.

Le Manuel national des programmes sociaux est aux dernières étapes du processus d’approbation et sera disponible en ligne d’ici le T1 de l’exercice 2014-2015. Une version approuvée du manuel peut être distribuée aux bénéficiaires avant la diffusion en ligne. La section traitant des SEFPN a été révisée afin de mieux préciser les exigences en matière de gestion de programme.

La politique sur les coûts exceptionnels liés au financement d’entretien pour les bénéficiaires de l’AAAP sera reflétée dans le Manuel national des programmes sociaux. Une autre politique sur l’utilisation des fonds dans le cadre du programme des SEFPN sera achevée au T1 de 2014.

L’élaboration des politiques est en cours et le programme des SEFPN est axé pour le moment sur les enfants ne vivant pas avec leurs parents naturels et sur l’allocation spéciale pour enfants pour le moment.

Les conférences téléphoniques bilatérales avec les régions se poursuivent à intervalles réguliers.

Les conférences téléphoniques mensuelles se poursuivent entre les agents du programme des SEFPN de l'AC et leurs homologues régionaux, ainsi qu'avec le DG et les DGRA de la DGPSP, sur toutes les questions d'intérêt pour la Direction générale. Les comptes rendus de discussion sont conservés et distribués aux parties.

SVE : Fermeture du dossier recommandée
 
 
Date de modification :