Audit of Grants and Contributions Management Control Framework 2012-2013 - Follow-up Report Status Update as of March 31, 2014

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

PDF Version (53 Kb, 5 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Audit Committee - As of March 31, 2014

CFO

Audit of Grants and Contributions Management Control Framework 2012-2013
Approval Date: 06-20-2013

Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program Response
1. The Chief Financial Officer (CFO) should establish a process to better support the work of senior program managers in their development of program management regimes/program MCFs, which should more formally link the recipient and program/project risk to the funding approach selection, fully integrating recipient risk as per the General Assessment, program risk, and the nature and value of funding. All applicable funding approaches should be considered and the applicability of the flexible funding approach should be assessed for both core and non-core programs. The CFO, with the support of senior program/regional managers, should ensure monitoring and transparent reporting to senior management on the consistent application of these program management regimes/MCFs by regions. The CFO will establish a process to clarify the role of governance and oversight in program management regimes / management control frameworks as it relates to the selection of funding approaches and monitoring. (This will be reflected in the new Case Management Approach currently in development.) March 2014 Status: Completed – Request to close

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2014:


As part of the review of Directive 101 on Funding Approaches, revisions have been made to clarify the role of governance and oversight in program management regimes / management control frameworks as it relates to the selection of funding approaches and monitoring. An update was provided to the Policy on Transfer Payments DG Working Group on March 26, 2014. The DG Working Group will be the governance to oversee adoption and implementation of the program management regimes / management control frameworks.

AES: Implementation ongoing.

2. The Chief Financial Officer (CFO) should develop a departmental program compliance framework for programs and regions to implement. To support the implementation, the CFO should establish a process to work with each program area, directly linking compliance activities (i.e. nature and frequency) to the funding approach (including block funding) and recipient risk. This framework should include periodic monitoring by the CFO to ensure its continued relevance and effectiveness. The CFO, in the context of the senior management team in charge of improving transparency and accountability, will lead the development of a departmental compliance framework. December 2013 Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2014:


A deck will be drafted setting out a departmental compliance process for undertaking compliance activities on tools developed under the department’s PTP Implementation initiative. The deck will be presented to the PTP DG Working Group at the meeting on April 30.

AES: Implementation ongoing.
3. The Chief Financial Officer (CFO), in collaboration with the Senior Assistant Deputy Minister of Regional Operations and the Assistant Deputy Minister of the Northern Affairs Organization, with the support of senior program managers, should develop and formally communicate to regions the Departmental position on moving eligible recipients to block funding. This should include tools and communication approaches to work with recipients to plan and prepare for block funding, where eligible. In addition, continued monitoring of regional take-up of this funding approach should be conducted by the CFO, with the support of senior program managers. The CFO, in collaboration with the Senior Assistant Deputy Minister of Regional Operations and the Assistant Deputy Minister of the Northern Affairs Organization, will work with the Director General, Communications Branch to establish the departmental position on block funding eligibility and communicate it. December 2013 PROGRAM RESPONSE :
Status: Request to Close - Completed
Update/Rationale:
As of 31/12/2013:


A General Assessment Bulletin was posted in GCIMS on November 29. 2013 instructing regions to advise their recipients with low General Assessment ratings of their eligibility for block contribution funding.

AES: Implemented. The recommendation will be closed.
4. The Chief Financial Officer (CFO) should leverage the existing G&C governance structure to establish an oversight mechanism and monitoring program to support programs/regions in implementing the Treasury Board Policy on Transfer Payments relative to funding approaches. The oversight mechanism should ensure that program management regimes exist or are in development for each budget activity (program) associated with G&C funding. The CFO will review the Terms of Reference for the existing G&C governance structure to ensure that oversight and monitoring of the implementation of Policy on Transfer Payment. September 2013 PROGRAM RESPONSE :
Status: Request to Close - Completed
Update/Rationale:
As of 31/12/2013:


Revisions have been proposed to the terms of reference of the existing Policy on Transfer Payments DG Working Group and ADM Steering Committee to change the mandate, given that initially the terms of reference were focused on the Policy on Transfer Payments implementation project.

The revised terms of reference for the DG Working Group and ADM Steering Committee were tabled at the DG Working Group meeting on December 18 and comments were requested by the end of December. No comments were received; there will be another opportunity to provide comments at the DG Working Group meeting on January 29 prior to finalizing and routing for approval by the CFO.

AES: Implemented. The recommendation will be closed.
 
 
Date modified:

Vérification du cadre de contrôle de gestion des subventions et des contributions (2012-2013) - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 mars 2014

Format PDF (54 Ko, 6 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 31 mars 2014

DPF

Vérification du cadre de contrôle de gestion des subventions et des contributions (2012-2013)
Date d'approbation 20-06-2013

Recommandations du projet Plan d'action d'achèvement prévue Réponse du programme
1. Le dirigeant principal des finances (DPF) devrait établir un processus pour mieux appuyer le travail des gestionnaires principaux de programmes dans l'élaboration de régimes de gestion de programmes ou de cadre de contrôle de gestion (CCG) de programmes liant plus officiellement le risque associé au bénéficiaire et au programme ou projet au choix du mode de financement, et tenant donc pleinement compte de la cote de risque associée au bénéficiaire à la suite de l'évaluation générale, du risque associé au programme ainsi que de la nature et de la valeur du financement. Tous les modes de financement applicables devraient être envisagés, et la possibilité d'adopter un mode de financement souple devrait être évaluée à la fois pour les programmes de base et les programmes secondaires. Le DPF, avec l'appui des gestionnaires principaux de programmes et des gestionnaires principaux des régions, devrait veiller à ce qu'une surveillance soit effectuée et à ce que des rapports transparents soient remis à la haute direction concernant l'application uniforme de ces régimes de gestion de programmes ou CCG par les régions. Le DPF établira un processus de clarification, dans les régimes de gestion de programmes et les CCG, des fonctions de gouvernance et de surveillance relatives aux modes de financement et aux activités de suivi. (La nouvelle démarche de gestion de cas en cours d'élaboration en tiendra compte.) Mars 2014 État : Terminé – Demande de fermeture

Mise à jour/Justification
Au 31 mars 2014 :


Dans le cadre de l'examen de la directive 101 sur les approches en matière de financement, des modifications ont été apportées afin de préciser le rôle de la gouvernance et de la surveillance dans les régimes de gestion de programmes/cadres de contrôle de la gestion pour ce qui est de la sélection des méthodes de financement et des exercices de surveillance. Une mise à jour a été fournie au groupe de travail des DG sur la Politique sur les paiements de transferts le 26 mars 2014. Le groupe se chargera de surveiller l'adoption et la mise en œuvre des régimes de gestion de programmes/cadres de contrôle de gestion.

Commentaire du SVE : Mise en œuvre en cours.

2. Le DPF devrait d'abord élaborer un cadre ministériel de vérification de la conformité des programmes qui serait mis en œuvre par les programmes et les régions. Pour appuyer cette mise en œuvre, le DPF devrait ensuite établir un processus de collaboration avec chaque secteur de programme, dans le but de lier directement les activités de surveillance de la conformité (c.-à-d., leur nature et leur fréquence) au mode de financement choisi (y compris le financement global) et au risque associé au bénéficiaire. Le DPF devrait finalement assurer un suivi régulier du cadre pour en garantir la pertinence et l'efficacité continues. Le DPF, en tant que membre de l'équipe de haute direction chargée d'accroître la transparence et la reddition de compte, dirigera l'élaboration d'un cadre ministériel de conformité. Décembre 2013 État : En cours d’exécution

Mise à jour/Justification
Au 31 mars 2014 :


Un exposé sera élaboré afin de décrire le processus de conformité ministérielle pour exécuter les activités de conformité visant les outils élaborés dans le cadre de l'initiative sur la mise en œuvre de la PPT du Ministère. Il sera présenté au groupe de travail des DG sur la PPT lors de la réunion du 30 avril.

Commentaire du SVE : Mise en œuvre en cours.
3. Le DPF, en collaboration avec le sous-ministre adjoint principal des Opérations régionales et la sous-ministre adjointe de l'Organisation des affaires du Nord, avec l'appui des gestionnaires de programmes principaux, devrait élaborer et communiquer officiellement aux régions la position du Ministère relative au recours, pour les bénéficiaires admissibles, à du financement global. Il faudrait aussi élaborer des outils et des approches en matière de communication pour informer les bénéficiaires et préparer ceux qui sont admissibles au financement global. En outre, une surveillance continue de l'adoption de ce mode de financement par les régions devrait être assurée par le DPF, avec l'appui des gestionnaires principaux de programmes. Le DPF, en collaboration avec le sous-ministre adjoint principal des Opérations régionales et la sous-ministre adjointe de l'Organisation des affaires du Nord, définira et communiquera, avec l'aide du directeur général de la Direction générale des communications, la position du Ministère concernant l'admissibilité au financement global. Décembre 2013 RÉPONSE DU PROGRAMME :
État : Demande de clôture (terminé)
Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 31 décembre 2013 :


Un bulletin d’évaluation générale, affiché dans le SGISC le 29 novembre 2013, priait les régions d’informer leurs bénéficiaires ayant une faible cote à l’évaluation générale qu’ils ont droit à un financement par contribution globale.

SVE : Mis en œuvre. La recommandation sera close
4. Le DPF devrait tirer parti de la structure de gouvernance existante en matière de subventions et de contributions (S et C) pour établir un mécanisme de surveillance et un programme de suivi appuyant la mise en œuvre par les programmes et les régions de la Politique sur les paiements de transfert du Conseil du Trésor, concernant les modes de financement. Le mécanisme de surveillance devrait permettre de vérifier que des régimes de gestion de programmes existent ou sont en cours d'élaboration pour chaque activité budgétaire (programme) associée à du financement sous forme de S et C. Le DPF examinera les modalités de la structure de gouvernance actuelle relative aux S et C pour garantir la surveillance et le suivi de la mise en œuvre de la Politique sur les paiements de transfert. Septembre 2013 RÉPONSE DU PROGRAMME :
État : Demande de clôture (terminé)
Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 31 décembre 2013 :


Le mandat du Groupe de travail des DG sur la Politique sur les paiements de transfert et du Comité directeur des SMA qui, au départ, était axé sur le projet de mise en œuvre de la Politique, fait actuellement l'objet d'un examen à des fins de modifications.

Le 18 décembre, les mandats modifiés du Groupe de travail des DG et du Comité directeur des SMA ont été déposés à l’occasion de la rencontre du Groupe de travail des DG. On a demandé que des observations soient formulées avant la fin décembre, mais aucune n’a été reçue. La réunion du Groupe de travail des DG le 29 janvier offrira une autre occasion de formuler des commentaires avant la mise en forme finale et l’acheminement en vue de l’approbation du DPF.

SVE : Mis en œuvre. La recommandation sera close.
 
 
Date de modification :