Audit of Water and Wastewater Infrastructure - Follow-up Report Status Update as of March 31, 2014

PDF Version (30 Kb, 5 Pages)

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Audit Committee - As of March 31, 2014

Regional Operations

Audit of Water and Wastewater Infrastructure
Approval Date: 04-26-2013
   Project Recommendations       Action Plan    Expected
   Completion Date   
   Program Response   
1. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister (SADM) of Regional Operations should ensure all Regions have a Capital Review Committee in place to prioritize and approve capital project and planning decisions, with Terms of Reference which are up-to-date.  Decisions made by the Capital Review Committees should be adequately documented. SADM has directed RDGs to ensure they have a robust Regional First Nations Infrastructure Investment Plan process and Capital Review Committees (or equivalent), with terms of reference, in place.

Community Infrastructure Branch (CIB) will start a follow-up process with Regions which will continue during fiscal year 2013-14 to confirm that adequate investment planning and capital review processes have been established and decisions documented. 
November 2012 Status: Ongoing.

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2014:


CIB has conducted a follow-up process with the regions to confirm that the requirement for adequate investment planning and capital review processes is implemented and decisions are properly documented. Currently, Capital Review Committees (or equivalent) are active in all regions except Manitoba. Manitoba region has initiated the process and plans to have a committee in place by April 2014.

Expected completion: Q1, 2014-15.

AES: Recommend to close.
2. The SADM of Regional Operations should develop guidance to assist Regions in implementing a consistent approach for the conduct of annual inspections and ensure inspections are completed appropriately in all Regions and results are properly recorded. Revised annual inspection guidance, providing clear instructions was issued in October 2012.  Further, the Regional Operations Working Group will develop a framework by June 2013 for a risk-based scheduling of inspections to be implemented in the 2014-15 annual performance inspection cycle.

The Management Control Framework (MCF) for the Capital Facilities and Maintenance Program (CFMP) sets out requirements for the timing of inspection reporting. To ensure inspections are completed appropriately in all Regions and are properly recorded, regions are required to report progress on annual inspections in their Quarterly Reports. CIB monitors this reporting, and the rate of data uploaded to ICMS to ensure that inspections are completed appropriately and results are properly recorded. Uploads of inspection data will take place during December 2012 and January 2013 according to the established timetable.
October 2012



June 2013



January 2013
2.1 Status: Underway.
Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2013:


Revised annual inspections guidance was issued in October 2012. This package included clear instructions for annual performance inspections (API) of water/wastewater systems. Over the past year, Regional Operations API Working Group has refined and reduced the API questionnaires which will be used for the 2014-15 cycle and beyond, as planned.

Options for the frequency of inspections, including risk-based, were analysed and a draft recommendation has been made to continue with the annual frequency of inspections. Should senior management approve this recommendation, a framework will no longer be required. 

(revised expected completion date: Q3, 2013-14)

AES: Recommend to close.

 
 
2.2 Status: Completed, request to close.
Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2013:


In the Quarterly Reports, Regions are required to report on completed inspections within the quarter in which they are completed.

CIB performs random audits to determine the quality of data as they are uploaded. Then at the end of the results cycle, all data is examined.

Most regions met the deadline to upload the 2012 results (by Jan 31, 2013), although some results were uploaded later (before the end of March).



AES: Recommend to close.
3. The SADM of Regional Operations should clarify Water and Wastewater Infrastructure (WWI) project management information requirements, identify information sources, and develop a consistent approach for how project management information is to be collated using a single system. 3.1: A long-term strategy to enhance the effectiveness of the ICMS project tracking and support regions in meeting the project management information requirements of the MCF will be presented to the ICMS Steering Committee for approval. December 2012 3.1: Status: Completed, request to close

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/06/2013:


The long-term strategy for enhancing ICMS has been approved by the ICMS Steering Committee. The first phase of this strategy is the enhancement of the capital planning and project tracking module. Development of the enhancements is underway, and should be implemented with Release 6.5, scheduled for November 2013.

AES: Implemented.
3.2: To support regions in using ICMS to track projects, the ICMS team will provide regional offices with a guidance document: ICMS Infrastructure Investment Planning and Project Tracking (Instructions for the use of ICMS Project Tracking and Capital Planning modules). June 2013 3.2 Status: Underway.
Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2013:


The ICMS Budget module was sent to Regions for feedback. The ICMS manual for FNIIP and Project Tracking is up to date, but will be expanded pending User Acceptance Testing results. Consultations with regions took place for its development, as well as discussions about implementation. Training will be provided to regions after the November Release of ICMS 6.5, when the manual is in use.

(revised expected completion date: November 2013)

AES: Recommend to close.
3.3: Work to explore the feasibility of integrating the ICMS and FNITP project reporting systems into a single system will not be undertaken until the planned change to the underlying platform of the FNITP has been completed. 3.3 Status: Request to Temporarily Close until December 2014.
Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2013:


The corporate effort to align major data systems has not progressed to a point that the feasibility work can be undertaken at this point. Nevertheless, our intent is still to examine the feasibility of connecting to GCIMS in early 2014/15.

AES: Recommend to postpone until December 2014.

3.3 Status: Change of Strategy - Request to Close

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2014:


Until the CFO initiates a corporate effort to align major data systems, our intent is not to examine the feasibility of connecting to GCIMS.

AES: Recommend to close. This work could not take place until 2015. Another Audit of Water and Wastewater is planned for 2016-17.
4. The SADM of Regional Operations should clarify MCF requirements and ensure Regions understand and comply with all aspects of the MCF for the CFM Program, including the delegated levels of authority, and Regions complete project risk assessments for all current and future projects. CIB is updating the MCF to provide greater clarity on approvals processes for projects that are high risk and of high materiality ($10M and above) and on how to calculate and apply risk management to capital projects. This includes new text in the body of the MCF as well as more robust instructions in the Annex. CIB will be presenting the revised MCF to Operations Committee for approval in mid-November, 2012. November 2012. Status: Complete, request to close

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/06/2013:


Complete: The Operations Committee approved version 3 of the Management Control Framework, including greater clarity regarding projects identified as high risk and high materiality (revisions were made to both the body of the MCF and Risk Management Annex). The Management Control Framework will be reviewed and updated again in the fall of 2013.

Expected completion date: Q2, 2013-14

AES: Fully implemented. Recommendation to be closed. Closed.
 
 
Date modified:

Vérification de l'infrastructure d'approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 mars 2014

Format PDF (34 Ko, 6 pages)

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 31 mars 2014

Opérations régionales

Vérification de l'infrastructure d'approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées
Date d'approbation : 26 avril 2013
   Recommandations du projet       Plan d'action    Date
   d'achèvement prévue   
   Réponse du programme   
1. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal (SMAP) des Opérations régionales devrait veiller à ce que toutes les régions aient un comité d’examen des immobilisations chargé d’établir l’ordre de priorité des décisions relatives aux projets d’immobi­lisations et à la planification, et d’approuver ces décisions. Ce comité, dont le mandat devrait être à jour, devrait documenter adéquatement les décisions qu’il prend. Le SMAP a demandé aux directeurs généraux régionaux de s’assurer qu’ils disposent d’un processus solide pour établir le plan régional d’investissement dans l’infrastructure des Premières Nations, et d’un comité d’examen des immobilisations (ou l’équivalent) dont le mandat est à jour.

La Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires (DGIC) entamera, de concert avec les bureaux régionaux, un processus de suivi qui se poursuivra au cours de l’exercice 2013-2014, dans le but de confirmer que des processus adéquats de planification des investissements et d’examen des immobilisations ont été établis et que les décisions prises sont documentées.
Novembre 2012 État : En cours.

Mise à jour/Justification
Au 31 mars 2014 :


La DGIC a effectué un suiv auprès des régions afin de confirmer que l'obligation d'utiliser des processus rigoureux de planification des investissements et d'examen des immobilisations a été respectée, et que les décisions sont suffisamment documentées. À l’heure actuelle, des comités d’examen des immobilisations (ou l’équivalent) sont en place dans toutes les régions sauf au Manitoba, où l’on a amorcé le processus et où l’on prévoit mettre sur pied un comité d'ici avril 2014.

Date d’achèvement prévue: T1, 2014-2015.

SVE : Fermeture du dossier recommandée.
2. Le SMAP des Opérations régionales devrait élaborer des lignes directrices afin d’aider les bureaux régionaux à adopter une approche uniforme dans la réalisation des inspections annuelles, et devrait s’assurer que les inspections sont correctement effectuées dans l’ensemble des régions et que les résultats sont consignés de façon adéquate. Des lignes directrices sur les inspections annuelles, révisées et plus claires, ont été diffusées en octobre 2012. De plus, d’ici juin 2013, le groupe de travail des Opérations régionales élaborera un cadre pour l’établissement d’un calendrier des inspections en fonction du risque, lequel sera mis en œuvre au cours du cycle d’inspections annuelles du rendement de 2014-2015.

Le Cadre de contrôle de gestion (CCG) du Programme d’immobilisations et d’entretien (PIE) définit les exigences relatives au calendrier de présentation des rapports d’inspection. Afin d’assurer que les inspections sont correctement effectuées dans l’ensemble des régions et que les résultats sont dûment consignés, les bureaux régionaux sont tenus de rendre compte du progrès des inspections dans leurs rapports trimestriels. La DGIC contrôle ces rapports et le taux de données téléchargées dans le Système intégré de gestion des immobilisations (SIGI) afin de s’assurer que les inspections sont correctement effectuées et que les résultats sont correctement consignés. Le téléchargement des données d’inspection se fera en décembre 2012 et en janvier 2013 selon le calendrier établi.
Octobre 2012




Juin 2013



Janvier 2013
2.1 État : En cours
Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 30 septembre 2013


Des lignes directrices révisées sur les inspections annuelles ont été diffusées en octobre 2012. Elles comportaient des instructions claires pour les inspections annuelles des systèmes d’approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées. Au cours de la dernière année, le groupe de travail d’IAP des Opérations régionales a peaufiné les questionnaires d’IAP et en a réduit la portée. Ils seront utilisés en 2014-2015, et au-delà, comme prévu.

Les options sur la fréquence des inspections, y compris celles fondées sur les risques, ont été analysées et une recommandation a été formulée pour maintenir la fréquence annuelle des inspections. Si la haute direction accepte la recommandation, un cadre ne sera plus nécessaire.

(Date d’achèvement prévue révisée : T3, 2013-2014)

SVE : Fermeture du dossier recommandée.

 
 
2.2 État : Terminé. Demande de fermeture de dossier.
Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 30 septembre 2013


Les inspections réalisées par les bureaux régionaux doivent figurer dans le rapport trimestriel portant sur le trimestre où elles ont été faites.

La DGIC effectue des vérifications au hasard pour vérifier la qualité des données à mesure qu’elles sont téléchargées. À la fin du cycle, toutes les données sont examinées.

La plupart des régions ont respecté la date limite pour le téléchargement des données de 2012 (31 janvier 2013). Certaines l’ont fait en retard, mais avant la fin de mars.



SVE : Fermeture du dossier recommandée.
3. Le SMAP des Opérations régionales devrait clarifier les exigences en matière d’information sur la gestion des projets d’infrastructure d’approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées, préciser les sources d’information et élaborer une approche uniforme pour la saisie d’information sur la gestion des projets à l’aide d’un seul système. 3.1 : Une stratégie à long terme visant à accroître l’efficacité du suivi de projets au moyen du SIGI, et à aider les bureaux régionaux à satisfaire aux exigences établies dans le CCG concernant l’information sur la gestion des projets, sera soumise à l’approbation du comité directeur du SIGI. Décembre 2012 3.1: État : Terminé, demande de clôture

Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 30 juin 2013 :


La stratégie à long terme pour l’amélioration du SIGI a été approuvée par le comité directeur du SIGI. La première phase de cette stratégie est l’amélioration du module consacré au suivi des projets et à la planification des immobilisations. Des travaux en ce sens sont en cours, et le changement devrait être implanté avec l’installation de la version 6.5, prévue pour novembre 2013.

SVE : Mis en oeuvre


3.2 : Afin d’encourager les bureaux régionaux à utiliser le SIGI pour faire le suivi des projets, l’équipe du SIGI leur distribuera un guide de la planification des investissements dans l’infrastructure et du suivi des projets (instructions pour l’utilisation des modules du SIGI consacrés au suivi de projets et à la planification des immobilisations). Juin 2013 3.2 : État : En cours
Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 30 septembre 2013


Le module du budget du SIGI a été envoyé aux régions pour rétroaction. Le manuel du SIGI pour le PIIPN et le suivi du projet est à jour, mais sa portée sera élargie en attendant les résultats des essais d’acceptation par les utilisateurs. On a consulté les régions à l’étape préparatoire et discuté avec elles au sujet de son application. De la formation sera offerte aux régions après l’installation de la version 6.5 du SIGI et la distribution du manuel.

(Date d’achèvement prévue révisée : novembre 2013)

SVE : Fermeture du dossier recommandée.
3.3 : Les travaux visant à étudier la possibilité de regrouper les systèmes de production de rapports sur les projets SIGI et PTPNI en un seul système ne seront pas entrepris avant que le changement prévu à la plateforme sous­jacente du système PTPNI soit réalisé. 3.3 : État : En cours Demande de fermeture temporaire jusqu’en décembre 2014.
Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 30 septembre 2013


Les efforts de l’organisation pour harmoniser les systèmes de données principaux n’ont pas progressé de façon à permettre de commencer l’analyse de faisabilité maintenant. Néanmoins, notre intention est tout de même d’examiner la possibilité de ;se connecter au SGISC au début de l’exercice 2014-2015.

SVE : Report recommandé jusqu’en décembre 2014

3.3 État : Changement de stratégie – Demande de fermeture

Mise à jour/Justification
Au 31 mars 2014 :


En attendant que le DPF amorce un effort organisationnel pour harmoniser les principaux systèmes de données, nous ne comptons pas examiner la faisabilité d'établir le lien avec le SGISC.

SVE : Fermeture du dossier recommandée. Ces travaux ne pourraient avoir lieu avant 2015. Une autre vérification des systèmes d'approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées est prévue pour 2016-2017.
4. Le SMAP des Opérations régionales devrait clarifier les exigences du CCG du PIE et veiller à ce que les bureaux régionaux en comprennent tous les aspects et s’y conforment – y compris en ce qui a trait aux niveaux de pouvoirs délégués – et qu’ils fassent une évaluation des risques de tous les projets actuels et futurs. La DGIC met à jour le CCG de manière à clarifier les processus d’approbation des projets présentant un risque élevé ou ayant une haute importance (projets de 10 M$ et plus), ainsi que la méthode de calcul de la gestion du risque et son application aux projets d’immobilisations. Cette mise à jour consiste à ajouter du texte dans le corps du CCG et à inclure des instructions plus rigoureuses dans l’annexe. La DGIC présentera le CCG révisé au Comité des opérations, pour approbation, à la mi­novembre 2012. Novembre 2012

État : Terminé, demande de clôture

Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 30 juin 2013 :


Terminé : Le Comité des opérations a approuvé la version 3 du Cadre de contrôle de gestion. Les exigences sont plus claires concernant les projets à risque élevé ou de haute importance (des modifications ont été faites dans le corps du CCG et dans l’annexe sur la gestion du risque). Le Cadre de contrôle de gestion sera de nouveau révisé et mis à jour à l’automne 2013.

Date d’achèvement prévue : T2, 2013-2014

268

SVE : Totalement mis en œuvre. Clôture recommandée. Dossier clos.

 
 
Date de modification :