Changes to By-laws

The Indian Act Amendment and Replacement Act came into force on December 16, 2014. This new legislation amends and repeals various sections of the Indian Act, including provisions addressing the enactment and coming into force of band by-laws.

Table of contents

By-laws

A First Nation or band by-law is a local law that is passed by a First Nation council, similar to a municipality, to regulate affairs within its community. A by-law governs the activity in question on all reserve lands under the control of the band council that passed the by-law. The by-law applies to everyone present on the reserve, regardless of whether they are a band member or whether they actually live on the reserve.

A by-law can only be enacted if it covers a subject that is within the powers provided to the council under the Indian Act, and there are some restrictions to what band councils can control through their by-laws. According to section 81 of the Indian Act, band councils may make by-laws providing they are not contrary to the Indian Act or the regulations enacted pursuant to section 73 of the Indian Act. In addition, a by-law may not be contrary to and/or conflict with other federal laws, such as the Criminal Code of Canada or the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act.

A by-law will not be enforceable and may be struck down in a court of law if it has not been properly enacted in accordance with the procedural requirements set out in the Indian Act.

Sections 81, 83, and 85.1 of the Indian Act provide the authorities for First Nation councils to pass by-laws:

section 81

This section deals with matters that are local in nature to the reserve, such as traffic control, residency, public health, nuisances and wildlife control. A by-law under section 81 can impose, on summary conviction, a fine not exceeding $1,000 or imprisonment for a term not exceeding 30 days, or both.

section 83

This section pertains to money matters, property taxation, expenditure of band moneys and business licensing. When a band council makes a by-law under this section, it must be explicitly approved by the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development. section 83 by-laws are reviewed by the First Nations Tax Commission which makes recommendations to the Minister.

section 85.1

This section deals with intoxicants: the prohibition of sale, supply, manufacture and possession of intoxicants, as well as the prohibition of public intoxication on reserve. These by-laws must be approved by a majority of the electors of the First Nation who voted at a special meeting of the band, called for that specific purpose.

Changes to the Indian Act Affecting By-laws

As of December 16, 2014, the new Indian Act Amendment and Replacement Act (the Act) amends and repeals various sections of the Indian Act, including provisions addressing the enactment and coming into force of band by-laws. The Act is consistent with the Government's approach of taking concrete, but incremental, steps to create the conditions for healthier, more self-sufficient First Nation communities.

Ministerial Oversight and Disallowance Powers

The Act removes the oversight and disallowance powers of the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development that existed under section 82 of the Indian Act. As such, First Nations are no longer required to forward copies to the Minister of by-laws made under section 81 of the Indian Act, within four days of their enactment, for review and for certification, and the Minister will no longer be able to disallow these by-laws.

Money and taxation by-laws made under section 83 of the Indian Act must still be approved by the Minister. The First Nations Tax Commission will continue its role in reviewing proposed by-laws and making recommendations to the Minister for approval.

Publication of Band By-laws

The Act requires that a band council publish by-laws on an internet site, in the First Nations Gazette or in a newspaper that has general circulation on the reserve, whichever the council considers appropriate in the circumstances. This publication requirement applies to all by-laws made under sections 81, 83 or 85.1 of the Indian Act. By-laws will only come into force upon their publication or on a later date specified in the by-law. Individuals will have access to all band by-laws that are enacted and brought into force after December 16, 2014, and these by-laws will remain accessible for the duration that they are in force. Band by-laws in force prior to December 16, 2014, remain in effect until they are amended or repealed, whether or not the by-laws are or have been published.

Fine Moneys

The Act removes the obstacles faced by First Nations in accessing fine moneys collected under the by-law provisions of the Indian Act. Instead of by-law fine moneys belonging to "[…] Her Majesty for the benefit of the band," the Act recognizes that fine moneys collected as a result of convictions under band by-laws belong to the particular First Nation, who will now be able to enter into agreements with local courts to recover these fines.

Intoxicants

First Nations that enact by-laws related to intoxicants under section 85.1 are still required to obtain the consent of a majority of the electors of the band who voted at a special meeting called to consider the by-law.

Enforcement

The Act does not affect the enforcement of band by-laws enacted under section 81 and 85.1. Law enforcement, policing bodies or other enforcement officers remain responsible for policing the reserve and ensuring the enforcement of by-laws dealing with law and order, such as the prohibition of intoxicants, trespass, disorderly conduct, traffic and, at times, animal control.

The amendments to the Indian Act do not hamper the existing right of an individual charged with a by-law infraction to argue in the courts that the by-law infringes and/or conflicts with other legislation such as the Criminal Code or the Charter of Rights and Freedoms.

Ministerial Reporting

Clause 2 of the Act requires the Minister to report to the House of Commons Committee responsible for Aboriginal Affairs on the work undertaken by the department in collaboration with First Nations and other interested parties to develop new legislation to replace the Indian Act.

The Government is also making progress on other ways to move beyond the Indian Act, including initiatives such as the First Nations Lands Management Act, the First Nations Elections Act and the First Nations Financial Transparency Act which contribute to modern partnerships between the Government and First Nations.

Date modified:

Changements relatifs aux règlements administratifs

La Loi sur la modification et le remplacement de la Loi sur les Indiens est entrée en vigueur le 16 décembre 2014. Cette nouvelle loi modifie et abroge divers articles de la Loi sur les Indiens, notamment les dispositions sur l'adoption et l'entrée en vigueur des règlements administratifs des bandes.

Table des matières

Règlements administratifs

Un règlement administratif d'une Première Nation ou d'une bande est une loi locale adoptée par le conseil d'une Première Nation, de la même manière que le ferait une municipalité pour gérer la vie collective. Il régit les activités sur toutes les terres de réserve administrées par le conseil de bande qui l'adopte et s'applique à toutes les personnes présentes dans la réserve, membres de la bande ou non, résidants de la réserve ou non.

Un règlement peut être adopté uniquement s'il touche un sujet qui relève du conseil de bande aux termes de la Loi sur les Indiens. De plus, il existe diverses restrictions concernant ce que peut légiférer un conseil de bande. Selon l'article 81 de la Loi sur les Indiens, les conseils de bande peuvent adopter des règlements pourvu que ces derniers n'aillent pas à l'encontre de la Loi sur les Indiens ou des règlements adoptés en vertu de l'article 73 de la Loi. De plus, un règlement administratif ne peut aller à l'encontre d'autres lois fédérales, par exemple, le Code criminel du Canada ou la Loi réglementant certaines drogues et autres substances.

S'il n'a pas été adopté conformément aux exigences procédurales de la Loi sur les Indiens, un règlement administratif n'a pas force de loi et peut être annulé par un tribunal.

Les articles 81, 83 et 85.1 de la Loi sur les Indiens donnent aux conseils le pouvoir d'adopter des règlements administratifs :

article 81

Cet article traite de sujets d'ordre local, qui touchent la réserve uniquement, comme le contrôle de la circulation, la résidence, la santé publique, les nuisances et le contrôle de la faune. Un règlement administratif adopté en vertu de l'article 81 peut imposer, à la suite d'une procédure sommaire, une amende d'au plus 1 000 $ ou une peine de prison d'au maximum 30 jours, ou les deux.

article 83

Cet article porte sur les questions financières, la taxation des immeubles, le déboursement de l'argent des bandes et la délivrance de permis aux entreprises. Lorsqu'un conseil de bande adopte un règlement administratif en vertu de cet article, ce règlement doit être explicitement approuvé par le ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien. Les règlements administratifs adoptés en vertu de l'article 83 sont revus par la Commission de la fiscalité des premières nations, qui formule ensuite une recommandation à l'intention du ministre.

article 85.1

Cet article porte sur les boissons alcoolisées, soit l'interdiction de la vente, de la fourniture, de la fabrication ou de la possession de boissons alcoolisées ainsi que l'interdiction d'être en état d'ivresse dans la réserve. Ces règlements administratifs doivent être approuvés par la majorité des électeurs de la Première Nation ayant voté lors d'une assemblée spéciale de la bande organisée à cette fin.

Changements apportés à la Loi sur les Indiens ayant un effet sur les règlements administratifs

Depuis le 16 décembre 2014, la nouvelle Loi sur la modification et le remplacement de la Loi sur les Indiens (la Loi) modifie et abroge divers articles de la Loi sur les Indiens, notamment les dispositions sur l'adoption et l'entrée en vigueur des règlements administratifs des bandes. La Loi s'harmonise avec l'approche du gouvernement, qui consiste à prendre des mesures concrètes, mais progressives, afin de créer les conditions nécessaires à l'émergence de collectivités des Premières Nations plus en santé et plus autonomes.

Pouvoirs de supervision et de révocation du ministre

La Loi supprime les pouvoirs de supervision et d'annulation que l'article 82 de la Loi sur les Indiens confère au ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien. Par conséquent, les Premières Nations n'ont plus à transmettre au ministre une copie des règlements administratifs adoptés en vertu de l'article 81 de la Loi sur les Indiens dans les quatre jours suivant leur adoption à des fins d'examen et d'approbation, et le ministre ne pourra plus annuler ces règlements administratifs.

L'approbation du ministre demeure nécessaire pour les règlements administratifs sur l'argent et les taxes adoptés aux termes de l'article 83 de la Loi sur les Indiens. La Commission de la fiscalité des premières nations conserve son rôle dans l'examen des règlements administratifs proposés et la présentation de recommandations au ministre à des fins d'approbation.

Publication des règlements de la bande

La Loi exige qu'un conseil de bande publie ses règlements administratifs sur un site Internet, dans la Gazette des Premières Nations ou dans un journal largement distribué dans la réserve, selon le jugement du conseil de bande. Cette exigence s'applique à tous les règlements administratifs adoptés en vertu des articles 81, 83 et 85.1 de la Loi sur les Indiens. Les règlements entreront en vigueur uniquement au moment de leur publication, ou à une date ultérieure précisée dans le règlement. Le public aura accès à tous les règlements administratifs de la bande, dont l'adoption et la prise d'effet ont eu lieu après le 16 décembre 2014, et ce, tant que ceux-ci seront en vigueur. Les règlements administratifs entrés en vigueur avant le 16 décembre 2014 demeurent valides jusqu'à ce qu'ils soient modifiés ou abrogés, qu'ils aient été publiés ou non.

Argent des amendes

La nouvelle loi élimine les obstacles que doivent surmonter les Premières Nations pour accéder aux sommes recueillies pour la violation d'un règlement administratif aux termes de la Loi sur les Indiens. Cette loi reconnaît que ces sommes appartiennent à la Première Nation concernée plutôt qu'à « Sa Majesté au bénéfice de la bande ». La Première Nation pourra maintenant conclure des ententes avec les tribunaux locaux pour recouvrer ces sommes.

Boissons alcoolisées

Les Premières Nations qui adoptent des règlements administratifs sur les boissons alcoolisées aux termes de l'article 85.1 doivent toujours obtenir le consentement préalable de la majorité des électeurs de la bande ayant voté à l'assemblée spéciale convoquée pour étudier le règlement administratif.

Application

La Loi ne touche pas l'application des règlements administratifs adoptés par les bandes en vertu des articles 81 et 85.1. Les agents de la paix, les services policiers et tout autre agent d'exécution de la loi demeurent responsables de la surveillance policière dans la réserve et de l'application des règlements administratifs se rapportant à l'ordre public, comme l'interdiction de boissons alcoolisées, les intrusions, les cas d'inconduite, la circulation automobile, et, parfois, le contrôle des animaux.

Les modifications apportées à la Loi sur les Indiens ne changent en rien le droit d'un particulier accusé d'avoir violé un règlement administratif de faire valoir devant les tribunaux que le règlement administratif en question va à l'encontre d'autres lois, par exemple, le Code criminel ou la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés.

Rapport du ministre

L'article 2 de la nouvelle loi exige que le ministre présente devant le comité de la Chambre des communes, chargé d'étudier les questions relatives aux affaires autochtones, un rapport portant sur le travail accompli par le ministère en collaboration avec les Premières Nations et les autres parties intéressées en vue de l'élaboration d'une nouvelle loi destinée à remplacer la Loi sur les Indiens.

Le gouvernement réalise également des progrès en se tournant vers d'autres moyens d'aller au-delà de la Loi sur les Indiens, notamment des initiatives comme la Loi sur la gestion des terres des premières nations, la Loi sur les élections au sein de premières nations et la Loi sur la transparence financière des Premières Nations, qui contribuent à la formation de partenariats modernes entre le gouvernement et les Premières Nations.

Date de modification :