Status Report on Transformational and Major Crown Projects

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Project Name: Canadian High Arctic Research Station

Description

In the 2007 Speech from the Throne, the Government of Canada emphasized that there were both new opportunities and new challenges in the North. The government proposed an integrated Northern Strategy focused on strengthening Canada's sovereignty, protecting environmental heritage, promoting economic and social development, and improving and devolving governance. A key deliverable of this new strategy was the Government's commitment to "build a world-class arctic research station that will be on the cutting edge of arctic issues, including environmental science and resource development. This station will be built by Canadians, in Canada's Arctic, and it will be there to serve the world". In August 2010, the Prime Minister announced that Cambridge Bay, Nunavut, would be the location for the Canadian High Arctic Research Station (CHARS).

On August 23, 2012, the Prime Minister announced a new investment for the next phases of the CHARS: $142.4 million for the construction, equipment, and fit-up of the research station and $46.2 million over six years for the phase-in of the Science and Technology Program. An additional $26.5 million per year has been set aside, as of 2018–2019, for the ongoing program and operations.

In Spring 2014, the contract for the construction of CHARS was awarded, and on August 23, 2014, the Prime Minister participated in a ground-breaking ceremony, officially launching the construction of the facility.

CHARS will be operational by 2017 to coincide with Canada's 150th anniversary.

Project Outcomes

  • The objective of this project is to provide researchers with access to a world-class arctic science and technology platform in the Canadian North by establishing the CHARS. Performance indicators will be developed as part of the business case to confirm this objective has been reached.
  • Beneficiaries of this project include scientists, Northerners and all Canadians.

Industrial Benefits

  • Design and construction of the research station will provide jobs in the Kitikmeot region of Nunavut, across the North, and in specialized sectors in southern Canada.
  • Canada's consultation and procurement obligations as specified in the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement Act will be respected in the implementation of the CHARS initiative. Inuit and Northern participation in the construction of the research station will be a fundamental component of the bidding process. Local and regional businesses will benefit from goods and services procurement, and an Inuit training and capacity-building plan that addresses the requirements of the land claim is being developed.
  • The continued participation of Northerners in the planning and construction of the CHARS, and in future science and technology programming, internships, and employment at the station, will provide Northerners with new skills and career experience.

Sponsoring Department

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

Contracting Authority

Public Works and Government Services Canada

Participating Departments

Not Applicable

Prime Contractor

The contract for advisory services during the design of CHARS was awarded to the EllisDon Corporation (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada) in joint venture with NCC Dowland Ltd. (Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada).

Major Subcontractors

Subcontracting managed by the EllisDon Corporation (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada).

Project Phase

Construction: On August 23, 2014, the Prime Minister participated in a ground-breaking ceremony, officially launching the construction of the facility.

Major Milestones Dates
Creation of a Canadian High Arctic Research Station announced 2007 Speech from the Throne
CHARS Feasibility: $2 million over 2 years Budget 2009
CHARS Design: $18 million over 4 years Budget 2010
Cambridge Bay location announced by Prime Minister August 2010
CHARS mandate announced by Minister December 2010
Feasibility Study released on Science.gc.ca September 2011
Request for proposal (RFP) for Design Consultant tendered September 2011
RFP for Design Consultant closed November 2011
Design Consultant proposals evaluated — Phase 1 December 2011
Seek Decisions on construction funding Winter 2012
Design Consultant Proposals evaluated — Phase 2 February 2012
Design Consultant contract announced August 2012
RFP for Construction Management Services tendered November 2012
RFP for Construction Management Services closed December 2012
RFP for Construction Management Services evaluated January 2013
Site announced in Cambridge Bay February 2013
Consultation with Cambridge Bay residents February 2013
Construction Management contract for Advisory Services awarded June 2013
Complete design development Winter 2014
Construction Management contract for Construction Management Services awarded May 2014
Prepare construction drawings Spring 2014
Site preparation Summer 2014
Ground breaking to launch construction August 2014
Complete land acquisition in Cambridge Bay Fall 2014
Finalize design 2014–2015
Operational by 150th anniversary of Confederation July 1, 2017
Commissioning complete 2018

Progress report and explanation of variances

  • On August 23, 2012, the Prime Minister announced funding of $142.4 million over six years (beginning in 2012) for the construction, equipment, and fit-up of CHARS. The design firm that was awarded the project was also announced.
  • In June 2013, the EllisDon Corporation in joint venture with NCC Dowland Construction Ltd. was awarded with the contract to provide advisory services throughout the design and construction of CHARS.
  • In August 2014, the Prime Minister participated in a ground-breaking ceremony, officially launching the construction of the facility.
  • The CHARS Major Crown Project is currently on budget and is expected to be operational by 2017.
Date modified:

Rapport d'étape sur les projets de transformation et les grands projets de l'État

Nom du projet : Station de recherche du Canada dans l'Extrême-Arctique

Description

Dans le discours du Trône de 2007, le gouvernement du Canada a souligné que le Nord offrait à la fois de nouvelles occasions et de nouveaux défis. Le gouvernement a proposé une stratégie intégrée pour le Nord, centrée sur le renforcement de la souveraineté du Canada, la protection du patrimoine environnemental, la promotion du développement économique et social, ainsi que l'amélioration et le transfert de la gouvernance. Le gouvernement a pris un engagement, qui constitue un important produit livrable de cette nouvelle stratégie, soit de « construire une station de recherche de calibre mondial qui se maintiendra à la fine pointe des questions arctiques, comme les sciences de l'environnement et le développement des ressources naturelles. Cette station, bâtie par des Canadiens dans l'Arctique canadien, servira le monde entier ». En août 2010, le premier ministre a annoncé que la Station de recherche du Canada dans l'Extrême-Arctique (SRCEA) serait construite à Cambridge Bay, au Nunavut.

Le 23 août 2012, le premier ministre a annoncé de nouveaux investissements pour les prochaines étapes de la création de la SRCEA : 142,4 millions de dollars pour la construction, l'équipement et l'aménagement de la Station de recherche et 46,2 millions de dollars, échelonnés sur six ans, pour la mise en place progressive du programme de sciences et de technologie. À compter de 2018-2019, une somme additionnelle de 26,5 millions de dollars par année sera mise de côté pour la programmation et les activités courantes.

Au printemps 2014, le contrat pour la construction de la Station de recherche du Canada dans l'Extrême-Arctique a été attribué, et le 23 août 2014, le premier ministre a participé à une cérémonie d'inauguration des travaux, qui a officiellement lancé la construction de l'établissement.

La Station de recherche sera opérationnelle d'ici 2017 de manière à coïncider avec le 150e anniversaire du Canada.

Résultats du projet

  • Ce projet a pour but de fournir aux chercheurs un accès à une plateforme scientifique et technologique de calibre mondial sur l'Arctique, dans le Nord canadien, grâce à la mise sur pied de la Station de recherche du Canada dans l'Extrême-Arctique. Des indicateurs de rendement seront élaborés dans le cadre de l'analyse de rentabilisation en vue de confirmer que cet objectif a été atteint.
  • Ce projet profitera aux scientifiques, aux gens du Nord, ainsi qu'à tous les Canadiens.

Retombées industrielles

  • La conception et la construction de la Station de recherche créeront des emplois dans la région de Kitikmeot, au Nunavut, partout dans le Nord, ainsi que dans les secteurs spécialisés situés dans le Sud du Canada.
  • Les obligations du Canada en matière de consultation et d'approvisionnement, telles qu'elles sont définies dans la Loi concernant l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut, seront respectées en ce qui a trait à la mise en œuvre de l'initiative de la SRCEA. La participation des Inuits et des gens du Nord à la construction de la Station de recherche s'avérera un élément fondamental du processus d'appels d'offres. Les entreprises locales et régionales profiteront de l'achat de biens et de services; de plus, un plan de formation et de développement des capacités des Inuits, qui répond aux exigences de la revendication territoriale, est en cours d'élaboration.
  • La participation continue des gens du Nord à la planification et à la construction de la Station de recherche du Canada dans l'Extrême-Arctique, ainsi qu'à la future programmation scientifique et technologique, aux stages et à l'emploi dans la Station offrira aux gens du Nord de nouvelles compétences et possibilités de carrière.

Ministère parrain

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada

Autorité contractante

Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada

Ministères participants

Sans objet

Entrepreneur principal

Le marché pour les services consultatifs pendant la conception de la SRCEA a été octroyé à EllisDon Corporation (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada), en coentreprise avec NCC Dowland Ltd. (Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada).

Sous-traitants principaux

La sous-traitance est gérée par EllisDon Corporation (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada).

Phase du projet

Construction : Le 23 août 2014, le premier ministre a participé à une cérémonie d'inauguration des travaux, qui a officiellement lancé la construction de l'établissement.

Jalons importants Dates
Annonce de la création de la Station de recherche du Canada dans l'Extrême-Arctique Discours du Trône de 2007
Faisabilité de la SRCEA : 2 millions de dollars sur 2 ans Budget de 2009
Conception de la SRCEA : 18 millions de dollars sur 4 ans Budget de 2010
Annonce de l'emplacement à Cambridge Bay par le premier ministre Août 2010
Annonce du mandat de la SRCEA par le ministre Décembre 2010
Publication de l'étude de faisabilité sur Science.gc.ca Septembre 2011
Lancement de la demande de proposition (DP) pour les services de consultants en conception Septembre 2011
Clôture de la DP pour les services de consultants en conception Novembre 2011
Évaluation des propositions des consultants en conception — Phase 1 Décembre 2011
Obtention des décisions concernant le financement de la construction Hiver 2012
Évaluation des propositions des consultants en conception — Phase 2 Février 2012
Annonce de l'attribution du marché pour les services de consultants en conception Août 2012
Lancement de la DP pour les services de gestion de la construction Novembre 2012
Clôture de la DP pour les services de gestion de la construction Décembre 2012
Évaluation de la DP pour les services de gestion de la construction Janvier 2013
Annonce du site à Cambridge Bay Février 2013
Consultation avec les résidents de Cambridge Bay Février 2013
Attribution du marché pour les services consultatifs d'un gestionnaire de la construction Juin 2013
Achèvement de l'élaboration de la conception Hiver 2014
Attribution du marché pour les services de gestion de la construction Mai 2014
Préparation des dessins d'exécution Printemps 2014
Préparation du site Été 2014
Inauguration des travaux de construction Août 2014
Achèvement de l'acquisition de terrains à Cambridge Bay Automne 2014
Finalisation de la conception 2014-2015
Entrée en fonction pour le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération 1er juillet 2017
Achèvement de la mise en service 2018

Rapport d'étape et explication des écarts

  • Le 23 août 2012, le premier ministre a annoncé un financement de 142,4 millions de dollars sur six ans (à compter de 2012) pour la construction, l'équipement et l'aménagement de la Station de recherche du Canada dans l'Extrême-Arctique. Le nom de la société de conception immobilière retenue a également été annoncé.
  • En juin 2013, le marché pour les services consultatifs tout au long de la conception et de la construction de la Station de recherche a été attribué à EllisDon Corporation, en coentreprise avec NCC Dowland Ltd.
  • En août 2014, le premier ministre a participé à une cérémonie d'inauguration des travaux, qui a officiellement lancé la construction de l'établissement.
  • Le grand projet de l'État qu'est la SRCEA respecte actuellement le budget prévu et devrait être opérationnel d'ici 2017.
Date de modification :