Nutrition North Canada

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Name of horizontal initiative: Nutrition North Canada

Name of lead department(s): Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

Lead department program: Northern Governance and People

Start date of the horizontal initiative: April 1, 2011

End date of the horizontal initiative: On-going

Total federal funding allocation (start to end date): $315,927,825Footnote 1 over five years

Description of the horizontal initiative (including funding agreement): The objective of AANDC's food subsidy program is to help make perishable, nutritious food more accessible and affordable for residents of isolated northern communities without year-round marine or road access.

Registered retailers in the North, country food processors/distributors located in eligible communities, and food suppliers in the South who supply small retailers, institutions and individuals in these isolated communities, can apply for a subsidy based on the weight of eligible foods shipped by air to eligible northern communities. These subsidies are to be passed on to northern consumers by appropriate reductions in the selling prices of eligible foods. The Nutrition North Canada Program — National Manual will govern the terms of the funding agreements with AANDC's subsidy recipients (northern and southern retailers/wholesalers).

Since price is not the only factor that influences consumption, the Program will also be supported by targeted Health Canada initiatives that encourage the purchase, preparation and consumption of healthy foods. Funding will flow to communities via contribution agreements with Aboriginal communities and organizations, and/or territorial governments.

Shared outcome(s): By making perishable, nutritious foods more accessible and affordable than they otherwise would be, consumption of these foods in the North may increase, thereby contributing to better overall health of the population, both Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal. It is expected that the subsidy will help lower the prices of perishable, nutritious foods in the North. In combination with complementary health promotion activities, it is expected that consumption of these foods will increase in the short- and mid-term. In the longer term, more individuals living in eligible communities are expected to adopt healthier eating patterns, which will contribute to decreases in the rates of chronic and infectious diseases.

Governance structure(s): The Nutrition North Canada Advisory Board gives Northerners a direct voice in the Program. The Board provides information and advice to the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada to help guide the direction and activities of the Program, and to ensure that northern residents receive its full benefits. Members of the Board collectively represent the perspectives and interests of northern residents and communities in relation to the management and effectiveness of the Program. Members serve in their own right, as volunteers and not as representatives of any particular organization, area or special interest. Members are appointed to a three-year term.

Planning highlights: The Nutrition North Canada Program supports access to perishable, nutritious foods by providing a retail subsidy for eligible products. It supports the work of the Nutrition North Canada Advisory Board to ensure that the perspectives and interests of northern residents and communities are considered in the management of the Program. In addition, the Program educates residents in eligible communities about nutrition and healthy eating to transfer the skills to choose and prepare nutritious foods.

Results to be achieved by non-federal partners if applicable: Not Applicable

Planning Information
Federal organizations Link to departmental Program Alignment Architectures Contributing programs and activities Total allocation (from start to end date)($ millions) 2015–2016
Planned spending ($ millions)
2015–2016
Expected results
2015–2016
Targets
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada Northern Governance and People Nutrition North Canada 301,427,825* 71,716,369** Residents in eligible communities have access to perishable, nutritious food at a subsidized rate. The annual average Revised Northern Food Basket is comparable to the annual trend (increase/decrease) for the Consumer Price Index basket of food.

100% of compliance reports demonstrating that subsidies have been fully passed on to consumers.
Health Canada First Nations and Inuit Primary Health Care (PAA 3.1.1.3 First Nations and Inuit Healthy Living) Nutrition North Canada Nutrition Education Initiatives 14,500,000 (2011–2012 to 2015–2016, and ongoing annually at 2,900,000) 2,900,000 Residents in eligible communities have knowledge of healthy eating and skills to choose and prepare nutritious foods. 72 communities served by Nutrition North Canada nutrition education initiatives

1,300 Nutrition North Canada nutrition education activities supported at the community level
Total 315,927,825 74,616,369  
* AANDC funding $286,859,500 + $14,568,325 (escalator) = $301,427,825. The Vote 10 (escalator) is frozen, condition to be met in 2015–2016.

** $57,148,044 + $14,568,325 (escalator) = 71,716,369. The Vote 10 (escalator) is frozen, condition to be meet in 2015–2016.

Contact information

Stephen van Dine
Director General Northern Strategic Policy Branch
Northern Affairs Organizations
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
Telephone: (819) 997-9449
Stephen.VanDine@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Nutrition Nord Canada

Nom de l'initiative horizontale : Nutrition Nord Canada

Nom du ou des ministères responsables : Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada

Programme du ministère responsable : Gouvernance et gens du Nord

Date de mise en œuvre de l'initiative horizontale : 1er avril 2011

Date d'achèvement de l'initiative horizontale : En cours

Montant total des fonds fédéraux alloués (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement) : 315 927 825 $Note de bas de page 1 sur cinq ans

Description de l'initiative horizontale : L'objectif du Programme de subvention alimentaire d'AADNC est d'aider à rendre les aliments périssables et nutritifs plus accessibles et plus abordables pour les résidents des collectivités isolées du Nord qui ne sont pas accessibles toute l'année par voie maritime ou terrestre.

Les détaillants enregistrés dans le Nord, les transformateurs et les distributeurs de produits alimentaires des collectivités admissibles ainsi que les fournisseurs de produits alimentaires du Sud qui assurent l'approvisionnement des petits détaillants, des institutions et des particuliers dans ces collectivités isolées peuvent présenter une demande de subvention qui sera établie en fonction du poids des aliments admissibles qui auront été expédiés par avion aux collectivités admissibles du Nord. Les consommateurs du Nord doivent profiter de ces subventions puisqu'elles permettent de réduire en conséquence le prix de vente des produits alimentaires admissibles. Le Manuel national du programme Nutrition Nord Canada régira les modalités des ententes de financement avec les bénéficiaires d'une subvention d'AADNC (les détaillants et les grossistes du Nord et du Sud).

Comme le prix n'est pas le seul facteur influençant les choix des consommateurs, le Programme bénéficiera également du soutien des initiatives ciblées de Santé Canada qui encouragent l'achat, la préparation et la consommation de produits alimentaires sains. Des fonds seront versés aux collectivités dans le cadre d'ententes de contribution avec les collectivités et les organisations autochtones ou les gouvernements territoriaux.

Résultats partagés : Grâce à ce Programme, les aliments périssables et nutritifs sont plus facilement accessibles et plus abordables qu'il ne le serait autrement, ce qui pourrait faire en sorte que la population autochtone et non autochtone du Nord en consomme davantage, et contribuer ainsi à l'amélioration de leur santé en général. La subvention devrait entraîner une baisse du prix des aliments périssables et nutritifs dans le Nord. Conjuguée à d'autres activités complémentaires de promotion de la santé, on pense que la consommation de ces aliments augmentera à court et à moyen terme. À plus long terme, on s'attend à ce que la population adopte des habitudes alimentaires plus saines, ce qui contribuera à la réduction des taux de maladies chroniques et infectieuses.

Structures de gouvernance : Le Conseil consultatif de Nutrition Nord Canada donne aux résidents du Nord une possibilité directe de s'exprimer au sujet du Programme. Le Conseil transmet de l'information et des conseils au ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Développement du Nord Canada afin de contribuer à l'orientation et aux activités du Programme et de veiller à ce que les résidents du Nord en profitent pleinement. Les membres du Conseil représentent collectivement le point de vue et les intérêts des résidents et des collectivités du Nord en ce qui a trait à la gestion et à l'efficacité du Programme. Les membres siègent à titre personnel et bénévole; ils ne représentent ni une organisation ni une région en particulier, et ne défendent aucune cause précise. Les membres sont nommés pour un mandat de trois ans.

Faits saillants de la planification : Le programme Nutrition Nord Canada appuie l'accès aux aliments périssables et nutritifs par l'entremise d'une subvention aux commerces de détail pour les produits admissibles. Il soutient les travaux du Conseil consultatif de Nutrition Nord Canada pour veiller à ce que les points de vue et intérêts des résidents et des collectivités du Nord soient pris en considération dans la gestion du Programme. De plus, le Programme sensibilise les résidents des collectivités admissibles à la nutrition et la saine alimentation en vue de leur transmettre des compétences en matière de choix et de préparation d'aliments nutritifs.

Résultats à atteindre par les partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Renseignements sur la planification
Organisations fédérales Lien à l'architecture d'alignement des programmes Programmes et activités contribuant à l'initiative horizontale Affectations totales (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement)
(en millions de dollars)
Dépenses prévues
en 2015-2016
(en millions de dollars)
Résultats attendus
en 2015-2016
Cibles pour
2015-2016
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada Gouvernance et gens du Nord Nutrition Nord Canada 301 427 825*> 71 716 369** Les résidents des collectivités admissibles ont accès à des aliments périssables et nutritifs à prix subventionné. La moyenne annuelle du panier de provisions nordique révisé est comparable à la tendance annuelle (à la hausse ou à la baisse) de l'indice des prix à la consommation pour le panier de provisions.

100 % des rapports de conformité indiquent que les subventions ont été entièrement transférées aux consommateurs.
Santé Canada Soins de santé primaires des Premières Nations et des Inuits (AAP 3.1.1.3 Modes de vie sains pour les Inuits et les Premières Nations) Initiatives d'éducation en matière de nutrition de Nutrition Nord Canada 14 500 000 (de 2011-2012 à 2015-2016, et par la suite, 2 900 000 par année) 2 900 000 Les résidents des collectivités admissibles sont au courant de la saine alimentation et des compétences en matière de choix et de préparation d'aliments nutritifs. 72 collectivités profitent des initiatives d'éducation en matière de nutrition de Nutrition Nord Canada

1 300 activités d'éducation en matière de nutrition de Nutrition Nord Canada, soutenues à l'échelle des collectivités
Montant total pour l'ensemble des organisations fédérales 315 927 825 74 616 369  
* Financement d'AADNC : 286 859 500 $ + 14 568 325 $ (indexation) = 301 427 825 $. Les crédits votés 10 (indexation) sont gelés, condition à remplir en 2015-2016.

** 57 148 044 $ + 14 568 325 $ (indexation) = 71 716 369 $. Les crédits votés 10 (indexation) sont gelés, condition à remplir en 2015-2016.

Coordonnées de la personne-ressource :

Stephen van Dine
Directeur général, Direction générale des politiques stratégiques du Nord
Organisation des affaires du Nord
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
Téléphone : (819) 997-9449
Stephen.VanDine@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Date de modification :