Income Assistance Reform: Enhanced Service Delivery

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Name of horizontal initiative: Income Assistance Reform: Enhanced Service Delivery

Name of lead department(s): Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

Lead department program: Employment and Social Development Canada: Skills and Employment

Non-federal and non-governmental partner(s): Not applicable

Start date of the horizontal initiative: June 2013

End date of the horizontal initiative: March 31, 2017

Total federal funding allocation (start to end date): $132,500,000

Funding contributed by non-federal and non-governmental partners: Not applicable

Description of the horizontal initiative: This initiative to improve the on-reserve Income Assistance program, announced as part of Economic Action Plan 2013, has two components: Enhanced Service Delivery (administered by AANDC) and the First Nations Job Fund (administered by Employment and Social Development Canada). The two departments will allocate funding according to a proposal-based process. First Nation organizations that receive funding will be required to implement mandatory participation in personalized case management. They will serve clients using a case-management approach that includes intake and triage, an employability assessment, a personalized action plan, and referral to training services. Eligible Income Assistance clients must be between the ages of 18 and 24 and require less than one year of training to become employable. The First Nations Job Fund is designed to provide training opportunities and supports to clients referred from First Nations using the Enhanced Service Delivery approach.

Shared outcome(s):

Governance structures: Enhanced Service Delivery is supported by an interdepartmental governance and oversight structure comprising headquarters and regional representatives from AANDC and Employment and Social Development Canada. This governance structure includes Regional Implementation Teams, a Program Review and Advisory Committee and an Oversight Committee that also includes representatives from the Treasury Board Secretariat and Health Canada. Each of these governance bodies helps implement Enhanced Service Delivery and the First Nations Job Fund. They also work to ensure that the program meets targets, respects the objectives of the on-reserve Income Assistance reform policy, reduces duplication and works efficiently.

Planning highlights: Continued implementation of the initiative to improve the on-reserve Income Assistance program, starting incrementally with the most advanced Income Assistance providers.

Results to be achieved by non-federal and non-governmental partners: Not Applicable

Planning Information
Federal organizations Link to departmental Program Alignment Architectures Contributing programs and activities Total allocation (from start to end date)($ millions) 2015–2016
Planned spending ($ millions)
2015–2016
Expected results
2015–2016
Targets
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada The People/Social Development/Income Assistance Income Assistance Program — Enhanced Service Delivery 132.5 41.84 Number of additional clients case managed 4,976
Employment and Social Development Canada- Skills and Employment Skill and Employment Aboriginal Skills and Employment Training Strategy — First Nations Job Fund 109 59.37 Number of additional clients for First Nations Job Fund 5,988
Total for all federal organizations 241.5 101.21 Not applicable

Contact information:

Brenda Shestowsky
Director, Income Support Directorate
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
Telephone: 819-997-8212
Brenda.shestowsky@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Programme d'aide au revenu : prestation améliorée des services

Nom de l'initiative horizontale : Programme d'aide au revenu : prestation améliorée des services

Nom du ou des ministères responsables : Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada

Programme du ministère responsable : Emploi et Développement social Canada : compétences et emploi

Partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Date de mise en œuvre de l'initiative horizontale : Juin 2013

Date d'achèvement de l'initiative horizontale : 31 mars 2017

Montant total des fonds fédéraux alloués (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement) : 132 500 000 $

Fonds provenant de partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Description de l'initiative horizontale : Cette initiative, qui vise à améliorer le Programme d'aide au revenu dans les réserves, a été annoncée dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique de 2013; elle a deux composantes : la prestation améliorée des services (administrée par AADNC) et le Fonds pour l'emploi à l'intention des Premières Nations (administré par Emploi et Développement social Canada). Les deux ministères accorderont des fonds selon un processus fondé sur les propositions. Les organisations des Premières Nations qui reçoivent du financement devront instaurer la participation obligatoire à la gestion personnalisée des cas. Elles desserviront les clients au moyen d'une approche de gestion de cas, qui comprend l'admission et le triage, une évaluation de l'employabilité, un plan d'action personnalisé et l'acheminement vers des services de formation. Les prestataires admissibles au Programme d'aide au revenu doivent être âgés de 18 à 24 ans et avoir besoin d'au plus une année de formation pour être aptes au travail. Le Fonds pour l'emploi à l'intention des Premières Nations vise à offrir des possibilités de formation et à soutenir les prestataires des Premières Nations, qui ont été acheminés à la suite de l'application de l'approche de prestation améliorée des services.

Résultats partagés :

Structures de gouvernance : La prestation améliorée des services est appuyée par une structure interministérielle de gouvernance et de supervision, composée d'employés de l'administration centrale et de représentants régionaux d'AADNC et d'Emploi et Développement social Canada. Cette structure de gouvernance comprend des équipes régionales de mise en œuvre, un Comité consultatif et d'examen du Programme, ainsi qu'un Comité de surveillance, qui regroupe des représentants du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor et de Santé Canada. Chacun de ces organes de gouvernance contribue à la mise en œuvre de la prestation améliorée des services et du Fonds pour l'emploi à l'intention des Premières Nations. Ils veillent également à ce que le programme atteigne les cibles, qu'il respecte les objectifs de la politique de réforme de l'aide au revenu dans les réserves, qu'il réduise le chevauchement et qu'il fonctionne efficacement.

Faits saillants de la planification : Mise en œuvre continue de l'initiative pour améliorer le Programme d'aide au revenu dans les réserves, en commençant progressivement avec les meilleurs prestataires de services du Programme d'aide au revenu.

Résultats à atteindre par les partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Renseignements sur la planification
Organisations fédérales Lien à l'architecture d'alignement des programmes Programmes et activités contribuant à l'initiative horizontale Affectations totales (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement)
(en millions de dollars)
Dépenses prévues
en 2015-2016
(en millions de dollars)
Résultats attendus
en 2015-2016
Cibles pour
2015-2016
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada Les gens/ Développement social/ Aide au revenu Programme d'aide au revenu — prestation améliorée des services 132,5 41,84 Nombre de dossiers additionnels de clients qui ont été gérés 4 976
Emploi et Développement social Canada : compétences et emploi Compétences et emploi Stratégie de formation pour les compétences et l'emploi destinée aux Autochtones — Fonds pour l'emploi des Premières Nations 109 59,37 Nombre de clients additionnels du Fonds pour l'emploi des Premières Nations 5 988
Montant total pour l'ensemble des organisations fédérales 241,5 101,21 Sans objet

Coordonnées des personnes-ressources :

Brenda Shestowsky
Directrice, Direction du soutien du revenu
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
Téléphone : 819-997-8212
Brenda.shestowsky@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Date de modification :