Aboriginal Economic Development Strategic Partnerships Initiative

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Name of horizontal initiative: Aboriginal Economic Development Strategic Partnerships Initiative

Name of lead department(s): Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

Federal partner organization(s): Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada; Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada; Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency; Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Regions of Quebec; Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario; Fisheries and Oceans Canada; Employment and Social Development Canada; Industry Canada, including FedNor; Natural Resources Canada; Parks Canada; Status of Women Canada; Western Economic Diversification Canada; Environment Canada; Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency.

Non-federal and non-governmental partner(s): Not applicable

Start date of the horizontal initiative: June 17, 2010

End date of the horizontal initiative: Ongoing

Total federal funding allocated (start to end date): $85.5 million over five years — total Grants and Contributions (G&C) and Operations & Maintenance (O&M)

Funding contributed by non-federal and non-governmental partners: Not applicable

Description of the horizontal initiative: With a focus on economic readiness, the Strategic Partnerships Initiative (SPI) supports Aboriginal participation in the economy, with a particular emphasis on the emerging opportunities in the resource development sectors, including forestry, fisheries, mining, energy and agriculture. The program also supports other key economic development opportunities in areas such as shipbuilding, tourism and potash.

A key component of the new Federal Framework for Aboriginal Economic Development, SPI provides a coordinated federal response to existing and emerging Aboriginal economic development opportunities. The program builds partnerships among participating federal departments and agencies, Aboriginal communities, provincial and territorial governments and the private sector to help Aboriginal Canadians take advantage of complex market-driven opportunities in key and emerging economic sectors. The initiative's funding is designed to fill gaps that cannot be addressed by existing programs.

The initiative also helps to build closer partnerships with non-federal cohorts, including provincial and territorial governments, the private sector and Aboriginal individuals, organizations, businesses and communities. These partnerships help bring together the people and resources required for Aboriginal communities to take advantage of key economic development opportunities across all regions of the country.

Shared outcome(s): SPI supports a horizontal approach to federal investments that ensures these investments align with and target market-driven opportunities. It also ensures that the Government of Canada is able to anticipate, plan for and engage in opportunities; is able to maximize the results of federal investments; and is better positioned to lever funds from non-federal sources. SPI uses a single-window approach (shared application, monitoring and reporting) to federal investments in identified priorities and addresses program gaps that might preclude Aboriginal participation in economic opportunities. This process also allows funds to flow from multiple programs and departments through one federal lead department in support of the initiative.

Governance structures: Central to the governance structure of SPI is the Director General Investment Committee (DGIC). The DGIC includes membership from all SPI member departments with a core voting membership to make final funding decisions on initiatives seeking funding. The DGIC validates and prioritizes opportunities, taking a whole-of-government approach to investments under the program. It also identifies relevant federal government departments that have a role to play in supporting any given initiative, and ensures that they work together with Aboriginal groups to advance these opportunities. The DGIC completes a review of detailed proposals from federal departments on opportunities for consideration under the program.

Planning highlights: SPI is a federal horizontal initiative designed to further the objectives of the Federal Framework for Aboriginal Economic Development by ensuring:

Results to be achieved by non-federal and non-governmental partners: Not applicable

Planning Information
Federal organizations Link to departmental Program Alignment Architectures Contributing programs and activities Total allocation (from start to end date)($ millions) 2015–2016
Planned spending ($ millions)
2015–2016
Expected results
2015–2016
Targets
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada Aboriginal Economic Development Not applicable 85.5
(General SPI)
14.5 Investments are leveraged from other levels of government and the private sector $15 Million
61.0
(West Coast Energy Infrastructure)
17.25
Total 146.5 31.75 Not applicable

Contact information:

Jennifer Cairnie
Director
Strategic Partnerships Initiative
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
Telephone: 819-994-7219
Jennifer.Cairnie@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques pour le développement économique des Autochtones

Nom de l'initiative horizontale : Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques pour le développement économique des Autochtones

Nom du ou des ministères responsables : Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada

Organisations fédérales partenaires : Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada; Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada; Agence canadienne de développement économique du Nord; Agence de développement économique du Canada pour les régions du Québec; Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario; Pêches et Océans Canada; Emploi et Développement social Canada; Industrie Canada, notamment FedNor; Ressources naturelles Canada; Parcs Canada; Condition féminine Canada; Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada; Environnement Canada; Agence canadienne d'évaluation environnementale.

Partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Date de mise en œuvre de l'initiative horizontale : 17 juin 2010

Date d'achèvement de l'initiative horizontale : En cours

Montant total des fonds fédéraux alloués (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement) : 85,5 millions de dollars sur cinq ans — Subventions et contributions (S et C) et Fonctionnement et entretien (F et E).

Fonds provenant de partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Description de l'initiative horizontale : L'Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques (IPS) est axée sur l'état de préparation sur le plan économique et vise à soutenir la participation des Autochtones à l'économie; pour ce faire, l'IPS accorde une place importante aux nouvelles possibilités dans les secteurs de l'exploitation des ressources, notamment la foresterie, les pêches, l'exploitation minière, l'énergie et l'agriculture. Le programme soutient également d'autres possibilités clés en matière de développement économique dans des domaines comme la construction navale, le tourisme et la potasse.

Volet important du nouveau Cadre fédéral pour le développement économique des Autochtones, l'IPS offre une réponse fédérale coordonnée aux possibilités déjà existantes et émergentes de développement économique autochtone. Le programme permet aux ministères et organismes fédéraux, aux collectivités autochtones, aux gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux et au secteur privé qui y participent de nouer des partenariats entre eux afin d'aider les Canadiens autochtones à tirer parti de débouchés complexes axés sur le marché dans des secteurs essentiels et émergents de l'économie. Le financement de l'initiative a pour objet de combler les lacunes auxquelles les programmes existants ne pourraient répondre.

L'initiative contribue aussi à resserrer les liens avec les cohortes non fédérales, notamment les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, le secteur privé, ainsi que les particuliers, les organisations, les entreprises et les collectivités autochtones. Ces partenariats contribuent à regrouper les personnes et les ressources nécessaires pour permettre aux collectivités autochtones de profiter des possibilités économiques importantes offertes dans toutes les régions du pays.

Résultats partagés : L'IPS favorise une approche horizontale en matière d'investissements fédéraux, ce qui permet de s'assurer que ces investissements fédéraux cadrent avec les débouchés axés sur le marché et qu'ils sont ciblés sur ceux-ci. Elle permet également de veiller à ce que le gouvernement du Canada soit en mesure de prévoir, de planifier et de saisir les occasions qui se présentent, qu'il soit en mesure d'optimiser les résultats des investissements fédéraux et qu'il soit mieux placé pour tirer profit des fonds provenant de sources non fédérales. En outre, l'IPS fait appel à une approche fondée sur un guichet unique (partage en matière de demande, de surveillance et de production de rapports) en ce qui a trait aux investissements fédéraux dans les priorités définies, et elle comble les lacunes des programmes qui pourraient empêcher la participation des Autochtones aux possibilités économiques. Ce processus permet également de procéder à des mouvements de fonds en provenance de plusieurs programmes et ministères par l'entremise d'un ministère responsable, en vue d'appuyer une initiative.

Structures de gouvernance : Le Comité d'investissement formé de directeurs généraux constitue un élément essentiel de la structure de gouvernance de l'IPS. Le Comité réunit des représentants de tous les ministères membres de l'IPS et compte un noyau de membres votants en vue de prendre les décisions définitives quant aux initiatives qui bénéficieront d'un financement. Le Comité valide et classe en ordre de priorité les possibilités; pour ce faire, il adopte une démarche pangouvernementale en matière d'investissement dans le cadre du programme. Il répertorie également les ministères fédéraux appropriés qui jouent un rôle essentiel dans la promotion d'une initiative, et il veille à ce qu'ils travaillent de concert avec les groupes autochtones en vue de faire progresser ces possibilités. Le Comité examine les propositions détaillées de possibilités que soumettent les ministères fédéraux en vue de les faire évaluer dans le cadre du programme.

Faits saillants de la planification : L'IPS est une initiative horizontale fédérale visant à faire progresser la réalisation des objectifs du Cadre fédéral pour le développement économique des Autochtones, en veillant à ce que :

Résultats à atteindre par les partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Renseignements sur la planification
Organisations fédérales Lien à l'architecture d'alignement des programmes Programmes et activités contribuant à l'initiative horizontale Affectations totales (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement) (en millions de dollars) Dépenses prévues en 2015-2016 (en millions de dollars) Résultats attendus en 2015-2016 Cibles pour 2015-2016
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada Développement économique des Autochtones Sans objet 85,5
(IPS générale)
14,5 Les investissements sont optimisés grâce à l'apport d'autres ordres de gouvernement et du secteur privé 15 millions de dollars
61,0
(Infrastructure énergétique sur la côte ouest)
17,25
Montant total pour l'ensemble des organisations fédérales 146,5 31,75 Sans objet

Coordonnées de la personne-ressource :

Jennifer Cairnie
Directrice
Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
Téléphone : 819-994-7219
Jennifer.Cairnie@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Date de modification :