Evaluation of the First Nations Water and Wastewater Action Plan - Follow-up Report Status Update as of March 31, 2014

PDF Version (45 Kb, 5 Pages)

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of March 31, 2014

Regional Operations

Evaluation of the First Nations Water and Wastewater Action Plan
Approval Date: 22-10-2013
Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected Completion Date Program Response
1. Work with First Nations and Health Canada to develop a long-term strategy for investments in water and wastewater infrastructure and maintenance in order to address the pervasive and longstanding issues of water and infrastructure quality and maintenance. In response to the 2009-2011 National Assessment of First Nations Water and Wastewater systems, AANDC worked with First Nations and other stakeholders to develop a long-term strategy to improve on reserve water and wastewater, resulting in a three pillar approach: 1) enhanced capacity building and operator training; 2) enforceable standards and protocols; and, 3) infrastructure investments. These priorities will continue under any future strategy. As FNWWAP ends on March 31, 2014, AANDC and Health Canada are actively engaged in exploring options for investments in water and wastewater infrastructure on reserve and will develop a strategy to guide activities beyond FNWWAP. March 31, 2014 Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2014:


The First Nation Water and Wastewater Action Plan (FNWWAP) was extended by Economic Action Plan 2014 with further investments of $323.4 million over the next two years. This two-year extension will allow AANDC to work with First Nations and Health Canada in developing a longer-term strategy, at the same time as regulations are developed.

AES: Underway

The 2 year extension with additional funding has been approved. As a result, a new completion date has been set for 2016. AES recommend that this action item be re-evaluated at a future Committee to monitor the progress.
2. Ensure that the Regulations ensuing from the Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act are developed with the engagement of First Nations, and that roles and responsibilities, both current and subsequent to the ensuing Regulations, are clearly understood and communicated. The department is committed to working with First Nation organizations, Provincial and Territorial governments to develop regulations, region by region, to support communities in bringing drinking water and wastewater systems into regulatory compliance. Support will be provided to First Nation organizations to develop regulatory proposals based on existing provincial and territorial regulations, with adaptations as appropriate. Develop nine sets of regulations by Fall 2015 AES: Underway

Originally there were 2 completion dates to develop 8 sets of regulations (2016 and 2019). The Program was modified to 1 completion date (Fall 2015) and added 1 set of regulations for a total of 9. AES is aware of this new completion date and will monitor the progress. AES recommend that this action item be re-evaluated at a future Committee meeting.
3. Engage First Nations to develop a concrete plan to address issues of recruitment, retention and capacity development of trained and skilled operators. As part of the response to the 2009-2011 National Assessment of First Nations Water and Wastewater Systems, AANDC developed a strategy with First Nations to reduce system risks. The top priority of that ongoing strategy is enhanced capacity building and operator training. AANDC agreed that trained and certified operators are key to reducing risk and helping to ensure safe drinking water in First Nation communities. To support First Nations in developing and retaining the capacity to operate and maintain water and wastewater systems. AANDC will provide funding for operator training and the Circuit Rider Training Program. AANDC will work with First Nations and First Nations technical organizations to identify barriers to develop measures to improve recruitment, retention, and capacity development of operators. Plan for measures to improve recruitment, retention, and capacity development created by March 31, 2014 Status: Completed – recommend to close

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2014:


Regional offices have implemented tools to support First Nations in recruiting and retaining operators, including salary top-ups and training. AANDC is funding the Circuit Rider Trainer Professional Association in 2014-15 to create new training materials for Circuit Riders to use with operators. In 2013-14, AANDC has produced and distributed technical guides and templates to develop the capacity of operators and support them in reducing management risks associated with the systems they operate, in areas of maintenance management, source water protection and emergency response. In 2014-15, Circuit Rider Trainers were invited to work with operators to apply the guides and help them develop and implement their own site-specific management plans. AANDC continues to provide funding to First Nations for Operator Training and to fund the Circuit Rider Training Program to provide on-site, hands-on training to operators of First Nation water and wastewater systems.

AES: Close – Complete

This action item has been fully implemented. The plan has been approved and the next phase will start this fiscal year. AES recommend to close this action item
4. Engage First Nations to facilitate their readiness to comply with Regulations ensuing from the Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act; The department will work with First Nations to develop regulations region by region. Phased regulation development will provide time for the Government and First nations to bring infrastructure, capacity and oversight to the level required to comply. Develop nine sets of regulations by Fall 2015 AES: Underway

Originally there were 2 completion dates to develop 8 sets of regulations (2016 and 2019). The Program was modified 1 completion date (Fall 2015) and added 1 set of regulation for a total of 9. AES is aware of this new completion date and will monitor the progress. AES recommend that this action item be re-evaluated at a future Committee meeting.
5. Plan future investments in infrastructure with an equal emphasis on investing in the capacity to operate and maintain new and existing systems long-term, including program flexibility to outsource water and wastewater servicing where community-level capacity is not practical. As part of the response to the 2009-2011 National Assessment of First Nations Water and Wastewater Systems, AANDC developed a strategy with First Nations to reduce system risks. The top priority of that ongoing strategy us enhanced capacity building and operator training. AANDC provides operation and maintenance funding for community infrastructure, in accordance with the Capital Facility and Maintenance Program Operation and Maintenance Policy. Maintaining existing assets remains a higher priority than construction of new infrastructure. AANDC is updating the tools used to calculate operation and maintenance funding requirements and reforming the approach to operation and maintenance funding and minor capital into a coherent asset management approach. The operation and maintenance funding changes are being implemented in Ontario Region in 2013-2014 and will be rolled out to other regions over the next three years. Planning priority for capacity implemented April 1, 2012.

Asset management approach start date: April 1, 2013

1 additional region in 2014-15, 3 additional regions in 2015-16, 3 final regions in 2016-17.
AES: Underway

AES will monitor the progress and recommends that this action item be re-evaluated at a future Committee meeting.
6. Work with Health Canada to develop a robust Performance Measurement methodology that allows for the reliable periodic reporting of the stated outcomes of the FNWWAP including efficiency and comparability. AANDC will work with Health Canada to identify ways to improve performance measurement for the CFMP and to incorporate efficiency and comparability indicators Comparability-November 2013: Explore use of existing data to measure comparability as part of the process for updating the programs Performance Measurement Strategy. The updated strategy will be completed by March 2014 in accordance with the Departments Performance Measurement Strategy Action Plan.

Efficiency- This activity will be captured under the FNWWAP efficiency indicator currently under development in accordance with Treasury Board guidelines. The development of these indicators is in the testing phase and is expected to be completed for the 2015-16 reporting cycle.
Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2014:


A revised Performance Measurement Strategy for the CFMP will be presented to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee on April 25, 2014.

AES: Underway

The strategy will be presented at the April EPMRC. Will review after the April meeting.
Date modified:

Évaluation du Plan d'action pour l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 mars 2014

Format PDF (34 Ko, 6 pages)

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité d'évaluation, de mesure du rendement et d'examen en date du 31 mars 2014

Opérations régionales

Évaluation du Plan d'action pour l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations
Date d'approbation 22-10-2013
Recommandations du projet Plan d'action Date d'achèvement prévue Réponse du programme
1. Collaborer avec les Premières Nations et Santé Canada pour mettre au point une stratégie à long terme visant les investissements dans l’infrastructure et l’entretien des réseaux d’approvisionnement en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées afin de remédier aux problèmes profonds et de longue date associés à la qualité et de l’eau et de l’infrastructure ainsi qu’à l’entretien de celle-ci. En réaction à l’Évaluation nationale des systèmes d’aqueduc et d’égout dans les collectivités des Premières Nations (2009-2011), AADNC a travaillé avec les Premières Nations et d’autres intervenants à l’élaboration d’une stratégie à long terme afin d’améliorer l’approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées dans les réserves, ce qui a résulté en une approche à trois piliers : 1) améliorer le renforcement des capacités et la formation des opérateurs; 2) élaborer des normes et des protocoles exécutoires; 3) investir dans l’infrastructure. Ces priorités se poursuivront dans le cadre de toutes les stratégies ultérieures. Puisque le Plan d'action pour l'eau prend fin le 31 mars 2014, AADNC et Santé Canada explorent activement les options d'investissements dans les infrastructures d’approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées des réserves pour orienter les activités au-delà du Plan d'action. 31 mars 2014 Statut : En cours

Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 31-03-2014 :


Le Plan d'action pour l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées des Premières nations a été prolongé par le Plan d'action économique 2014, avec de nouveaux investissements de 323,4 M$ sur les deux prochaines années. Grâce à cette prolongation de deux ans, AADNC pourra collaborer avec les Premières Nations et Santé Canada à l’élaboration d’une stratégie à plus long terme, parallèlement à l’élaboration des règlements.

SVE : En cours

La prolongation de deux ans, assortie d’un financement supplémentaire, a été approuvée. Une nouvelle date d’achèvement a donc été fixée pour 2016. SVE recommande que cette mesure de suivi soit réévaluée à une future réunion du Comité, pour en suivre l’avancement.
2. Veiller à ce que les règlements issus de la Loi sur la salubrité de l’eau potable des Premières Nations soient élaborés avec la participation des Premières Nations et à ce que les rôles et les responsabilités, actuels et subséquents à l’adoption des règlements, soient clairement compris et communiqués. Le Ministère est déterminé à travailler avec les organismes des Premières Nations ainsi qu’avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux à l’élaboration de règlements, région par région, à l’appui des collectivités pour rendre conformes aux règlements les réseaux d’aqueduc et d’égout. Les organismes des Premières Nations recevront du soutien dans l’élaboration de propositions réglementaires fondées sur les règlements provinciaux et territoriaux existants, tout en adaptant le tout, au besoin. Élaborer neuf séries de règlements d’ici l’automne 2015 SVE : En cours

Initialement, deux dates d’achèvement (2016 et 2019) avaient été fixées pour l’élaboration de huit séries de règlements. On a modifié le programme par la fixation d’une seule date d’achèvement (automne 2015) et l’ajout d’une série de règlements, pour porter le total à neuf. SVE est au courant de ce nouveau délai et suivra l’évolution du dossier. SVE recommande que cette mesure de suivi soit réévaluée à une future réunion du Comité.
3. Inciter les Premières Nations à élaborer un plan concret pour aborder les problèmes associés au recrutement d’opérateurs qualifiés et compétents, à leur maintien en poste et au développement de leurs capacités. Dans le cadre de la réaction à l’Évaluation nationale des systèmes d’aqueduc et d’égout dans les collectivités des Premières Nations (2009-2011), AADNC a élaboré une stratégie avec les Premières Nations afin de réduire les risques pour les systèmes. La principale priorité de cette stratégie continue est d’améliorer le renforcement des capacités et la formation des opérateurs. AADNC est d’accord avec le fait que des opérateurs formés et certifiés jouent un rôle essentiel dans la réduction du risque et contribuent à approvisionner en eau potable les collectivités des Premières Nations. Pour aider les Premières Nations à acquérir et à développer les capacités d’exploiter et d’entretenir les systèmes d’aqueduc et d’égout, AADNC financera la formation des opérateurs et le programme de formation itinérante Circuit Rider. AADNC travaillera avec les Premières Nations et les organismes techniques des Premières Nations pour déterminer les obstacles à l’élaboration de mesures visant à améliorer le recrutement, le maintien en poste et le développement des capacités des opérateurs. Création, d’ici le 31 mars 2014, d’un plan de mesures visant à améliorer le recrutement, le maintien en poste et le renforcement des capacités Statut : Achevé – Fermeture du dossier recommandée.

Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 31-03-2014 :


Les bureaux régionaux ont mis en place des outils pour aider les Premières Nations à recruter et à maintenir en poste des opérateurs, notamment par le versement d’un supplément de rémunération et la tenue d’activités de formation. En 2014-2015, AADNC aide financièrement la Circuit RiderTrainer Professional Association (Association professionnelle des formateurs itinérants) à produire du nouveau matériel de formation destiné aux opérateurs. En 2013-2014, AADNC a produit et distribué des guides techniques et des gabarits pour renforcer les capacités des opérateurs et les aider à réduire les risques de gestion associés aux systèmes qu’ils exploitent, pour ce qui touche la gestion de l’entretien, la protection des sources d’eau et les interventions d’urgence. En 2014-2015, on a invité des formateurs itinérants à travailler avec les opérateurs pour appliquer les guides et les aider à dresser et à mettre en œuvre leurs propres plans de gestion propres au lieu. AADNC continue d’aider financièrement les Premières Nations dans la formation des opérateurs et de financer le Programme de formation itinérante pour offrir une formation pratique et sur place aux opérateurs des systèmes d’eau et d’eaux usées des Premières Nations.

SVE : Fermer le dossier – Achevé

Cette mesure de suivi a été pleinement appliquée. Le plan a été approuvé et la prochaine étape débutera dans l’exercice en cours. SVE recommande la fermeture de cette mesure de suivi.
4. Mobiliser les Premières Nations afin qu’elles soient prêtes à se conformer aux règlements qui découleront de la Loi sur la salubrité de l’eau potable des Premières Nations. Le Ministère travaillera avec les Premières Nations à l’élaboration des règlements région par région. L’élaboration progressive des règlements donnera aux gouvernements et aux Premières Nations du temps pour rendre conformes l’infrastructure, la capacité et la supervision. Élaborer neuf séries de règlements d’ici l’automne 2015 SVE : En cours

Initialement, deux dates d’achèvement (2016 et 2019) avaient été fixées pour l’élaboration de huit séries de règlements. On a modifié le programme par la fixation d’une seule date d’achèvement (automne 2015) et l’ajout d’une série de règlements, pour porter le total à neuf. SVE est au courant de ce nouveau délai et suivra l’évolution du dossier. SVE recommande que cette mesure de suivi soit réévaluée à une future réunion du Comité.
5. Planifier les prochains investissements dans l'infrastructure en accordant une importance égale à l'investissement dans la capacité d’exploitation et d'entretien des réseaux actuels et nouveaux à long terme, y compris en assurant une certaine souplesse au programme qui permettra l'impartition des services d'approvisionnement en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées dans les situations où il n'est pas possible d’implanter une capacité communautaire. Dans le cadre de la réaction à l’Évaluation nationale des systèmes d’aqueduc et d’égout dans les collectivités des Premières Nations (2009-2011), AADNC a élaboré une stratégie avec les Premières Nations afin de réduire les risques pour les systèmes. La principale priorité de cette stratégie continue est d'améliorer le renforcement des capacités et la formation des opérateurs. AADNC verse des fonds pour le fonctionnement et l'entretien des infrastructures communautaires, y compris l'infrastructure d'approvisionnement en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées, conformément à la politique sur le fonctionnement et l'entretien du programme d'immobilisations et d'entretien. L’entretien des biens existants demeure plus prioritaire que la construction d’une nouvelle infrastructure. AADNC travaille à la mise à jour des outils utilisés pour le calcul des exigences en matière de financement du fonctionnement et de l’entretien, et à la réforme de la stratégie liée au financement du fonctionnement et de l’entretien et des petites immobilisations pour en faire une stratégie cohérente de gestion des biens. Les changements apportés au financement du fonctionnement et de l'entretien sont appliqués dans la région de l'Ontario en 2013-2014 et seront mis en place dans les autres régions au cours des trois prochaines années. Planification de la priorité pour la capacité : 1er avril 2012.

Date du début de la stratégie de gestion des biens : 1er avril 2013

1 autre région en 2014-2015, 3 autres régions en 2015-2016 et les 3 dernières régions en 2016-2017.
SVE : En cours

SVE suivra l’évolution de la situation et recommande que cette mesure de suivi soit réévaluée à une future réunion du Comité.
6. Collaborer avec Santé Canada afin de mettre au point une méthodologie de mesure du rendement sûre qui permet la production de rapports périodiques fiables sur les résultats prévus du Plan d’action pour l’eau, y compris l’efficience et la comparabilité. AADNC collaborera avec Santé Canada pour trouver des moyens d’améliorer la mesure du rendement du Programme d’immobilisations et d’entretien et d’incorporer des indicateurs d’efficience et de comparabilité. Comparabilité - novembre 2013 : Explorer l'utilisation des données actuelles pour mesurer la comparabilité dans le cadre du processus de mise à jour de la stratégie de mesure du rendement du programme. La stratégie mise à jour sera achevée en mars 2014, au plus tard, conformément au Plan d'action relatif à la Stratégie de mesure du rendement du Ministère. Efficience – Activité intégrée à l’indicateur d’efficience du Plan d’action, en cours de développement, en conformité avec les lignes directrices du Conseil du Trésor. La création de ces indicateurs en est à la période d’essai. On s’attend à ce que les indicateurs soient prêts pour le cycle de rapport 2015-2016. Statut : En cours

Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 31-03-2014 :


Une stratégie révisée de mesure du rendement pour le PIE sera présentée au Comité d’évaluation, de mesure du rendement et d’examen le 25 avril 2014.

SVE : En cours

La stratégie sera présentée à la réunion d’avril du CEMRE. Un examen sera effectué après la réunion d’avril.
Date de modification :