Colouring Book: Stained Glass Window in Parliament Commemorating the Legacy of Indian Residential Schools

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Author: Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development
Date: 2012
QS-: QS-6292-000-BB-A1
PDF Version (6.6 Mb, 17 Pages)

To order a copy, see our publications catalogue.

A Stained Glass window in Canada's Parliament

Remembering Children who went to an Indian Residential School

For more than 100 years, the Canadian government took more than 150,000 Aboriginal children away from their families and put them in residential schools that were far away from their homes. At these schools, the children were not allowed to speak in their own Aboriginal language which they spoke at home. They had to wear different clothes and eat different kinds of food. They didn't get to see their families for a long time.

On June 11, 2008, the Prime Minister of Canada apologized to the former students, their families and their communities. On behalf of all Canadians, he said sorry for the hurt that some students experienced. He asked the Aboriginal people to forgive Canada for making such a big mistake.

In October 2012, a stained glass window was installed in the Parliament buildings. This window will teach visitors to Parliament about this sad time in Canadian history. The window also gives us hope for a better future for all Canadians.

The window was designed by Christi Belcourt, a Métis artist (www.christibelcourt.com).

Additional Information:

Date modified:

Livre à colorier : Vitrail au Parlement commémorant les séquelles des pensionnats indien

Auteur : Ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien
Date : 2012
QS- : QS-6292-000-EE-A1
Version PDF (6,6 mo, 17 pages)

Pour commander la carte postale de Tecumseh, consultez le Catalogue des publications.

Un vitrail installé au Parlement du Canada

Se souvenir des enfants qui ont fréquenté un pensionnat indien

Pendant plus de 100 ans, le gouvernement du Canada a retiré plus de 150 000 enfants autochtones de leur famille pour les placer dans des pensionnats indiens, loin de leur maison. Dans ces écoles, les enfants n'avaient pas le droit de parler leur langue autochtone, celle qu'ils utilisaient à la maison.Ils devaient porter des vêtements différents et manger de la nourriture qu'ils ne connaissaient pas. Les enfants étaient séparés de leur famille pendant de longues périodes.

Le 11 juin 2008, le premier ministre du Canada a offert des excuses aux anciens élèves, à leurs familles et à leurs collectivités. Il a dit, au nom de tous les Canadiens, qu'il était désolé pour les souffrances vécues par certains des élèves. Il a demandé aux Autochtones de pardonner le gouvernement du Canada d'avoir fait une si grosse erreur.

En octobre 2012, on a installé un vitrail au Parlement. Le vitrail explique aux visiteurs cette triste période de l'histoire canadienne. Il nous permet aussi d'espérer en un avenir meilleur pour tous les Canadiens.

Le vitrail a été conçu par Christi Belcourt, une artiste métisse (www.christibelcourt.com) (site Web non disponible en français).

Renseignements supplémentaires :

Date de modification :