ARCHIVED - What's Happening at Giant Mine? - August 2014

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

On August 14, 2014, the Honourable Bernard Valcourt, Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development, on behalf of the Responsible Ministers for this project, released the decision on the Report of Environmental Assessment (EA).

In accordance with this decision, the Giant Mine Remediation Project Team is preparing to move forward with the implementation of the EA measures. General discussions with stakeholders to prioritize the measures have already begun.

While the regulatory process for a project of this scale takes time, the Project Team’s immediate priority is to advance the current project in order to protect the health and safety of Canadians, as well as the integrity of the environment. Care and maintenance and site stabilization activities will continue until remediation can begin.

The EA measures need to be considered and advanced before an adequate "consolidated project description" can be prepared suitable for licencing by the Mackenzie Valley Land and Water Board.

With the consolidated project description’s submission, the application process for a Water Licence and Land Use Permit will resume (the Project Team submitted an initial application for a Water Licence in 2007). These authorizations are required before full remediation can begin.

For more information on the Giant Mine Remediation Project follow @GiantMine on Twitter or read the Frequently Asked Questions.

Roaster update

Work continues to decontaminate and deconstruct the final five roaster complex buildings at Giant Mine. Throughout the month of July, workers bagged and labeled a total of 917 cubic metres of contaminated roaster waste. These bags will be stored in the Material Storage Area on the Central tailings pond onsite at the mine until the final closure plan for the site is implemented.

The roaster deconstruction project is on schedule to be completed in the fall. Work completed throughout July and early August includes:

Allis-Chalmers (AC) Roaster: Workers completed the final cleaning and wash down of the AC Roaster interior in August. Contractors will carry out an inspection of this building before conducting final air testing in the building’s interior. Once the air is deemed clear and all final inspections are complete, workers will begin preparing for deconstruction.

Calcine Plant: Workers continued to decontaminate and deconstruct the interior of this structure throughout July and August. This work includes removing asbestos insulation, cleaning interior equipment, steel, and duct work, removing contaminated piping and other arsenic waste, and deconstructing the tanks inside this building.

Workers dressed in yellow personal protective equipment, complete with gas masks, spray pressurized water at a metal staircase inside the roaster’s Calcine Plant at Giant Mine on July 15th, 2014.
Workers dressed in personal protective equipment wash down a metal staircase in the roaster’s Calcine Plant on July 15th, 2014.

Dorrco Roaster: Recent work completed inside this building includes the removal of interior arsenic waste, tank deconstruction, and general interior decontamination.

Site Update

Some of the Giant Mine site infrastructure is more than 60 years old. As part of ongoing risk management at the site, the Giant Mine Remediation Project Team monitors this infrastructure to reduce risks to on-site staff, the public, and the environment.

Through ongoing inspections, the Project Team recently identified structural concerns related to the C-Shaft Headframe at Giant Mine. In particular, project engineers are concerned about deteriorating wood on the frame and the danger associated with parts falling. To ensure the protection of both worker safety and the environment, work to stabilize this structure is required.

The iconic C-Shaft Headframe towers over the Giant Mine site.
Work is required to stabilize the iconic C-Shaft Headframe.

The team has already begun the in-depth inspection and assessment required before work to address the deteriorating structure and its associated risks can begin.

The team will move forward with this work as soon as possible and anticipates that it will complete C-Shaft stabilization by the summer of 2015.

On July 13 and July 30, spills were reported to the Nunavut/NWT Spill Line. There were no regulatory infractions or violations of the Water License as a result of either occurrence.

On July 13, 2014, a pipeline transporting water from the Northwest tailings pond to the effluent treatment plant developed a pinhole leak and discharged a small amount (170 litres) of untreated mine water near the highway junction across from the Akaitcho gate. The leak was caused by a worn out seal on the joint. The public was not at risk at any time, and no long-term environmental impacts are anticipated; the spill was both small in volume and limited to an area that is known to be contaminated. The inspector visited the site and was satisfied with initial measures to repair the leak.

On July 30, 2014, approximately 200 litres of wastewater spilled at the roaster deconstruction site – an area already significantly impacted with arsenic from historical mining operations. The majority of the spill contained shower wastewater from the decontamination unit that overflowed while being poured into the top of the storage tank. Given the low volume and highly localized nature of the spill, along with swift corrective action, there was no increased risk to workers or to the environment as a result of this incident.

Procurement

In early August, Det’on Cho Nahanni Construction Ltd. was awarded an $11.6 million Interim Underground Stabilization contract. This contract was awarded after the construction company successfully bid on the competitive tender for underground stabilization. Within this contract, the Yellowknife-based contractor will excavate, relocate, and process tailings into a paste by mixing them with water and a small amount of cement. This paste will be pumped underground to stabilize some of the mine’s stopes – underground voids created during the mining process. The contract was awarded August 8, 2014.

Shipping containers have begun arriving onsite as part of a $2.3M contract awarded to Tervita Corporation on July 4th, 2014. These 242 containers will temporarily store the transportation of dangerous goods (TDG) bags containing arsenic-impacted waste from the site stabilization activities. Containers will be delivered to the site weekly throughout the summer and fall, with an option to purchase additional containers as needed. Tervita Corporation has an office in Yellowknife.

For more information on procurement opportunities, visit buyandsell.gc.ca.

Underground stabilization project update

The underground stabilization project is being implemented in order to mitigate risks associated with underground flooding from Baker Creek, rock collapse, or subsidence. Once the contractor, Det’on Cho Nahanni Construction Ltd., has mobilized to the site and provided the required approved plans and documentation as part of the start-up to this contract, they will begin excavating and stockpiling tailings. This work is anticipated to begin in September and finish up by mid to late October. Drivers near the mine site may notice increased heavy machinery activity related to this work.

Air Quality Monitoring

Extremely smoky conditions from nearby forest fires continued to set off the air quality monitor alarms throughout July and August. None of these alarms were credited to onsite activities.

Because the widespread smoke caused monitors to show elevated readings at the roaster complex and site fence-line locations, the Project Team was even more vigilant than usual in monitoring changes between upwind and downwind locations, watching for dust generation, and implementing dust prevention.

A supplemental air quality monitoring program was initiated July 21, 2014, associated with underground and surface drilling. This quality assurance measure will continue until the drilling work is complete - anticipated for late August. Readings from these supplemental monitors are included in the weekly air quality monitoring reports posted on the ENR website. An air quality monitoring program will also be implemented when work associated with the Interim Underground Stabilization Contract (which includes excavating and stockpiling tailings) begins this fall.

Reporting

The Project Team’s Semi-Annual Report is now available on the Mackenzie Valley Land and Water Board’s online public registry. This document covers November 1, 2013, to April 30, 2014. Past reports are also available on the registry.

Engagement update

Grace Blake, the inaugural winner of the Star of Excellence Safety Award sponsored by Golder Associates Ltd., holds up a plaque engraved with her name.
Grace Blake accepts the
inaugural Star of Excellence
Safety Award, sponsored
by Golder Associates Ltd.
Photo Credit:
Bill Braden Photography

Members of the Giant Mine Remediation Project Team continued to meet with stakeholder groups throughout the months of July and August. On July 11th, team members met with the Yellowknives Dene First Nation (YKDFN) Giant Mine Advisory Committee to discuss the air quality monitoring program, site activities and work plan priorities.

The team also met with the Giant Mine Working Group on July 10th and August 14th. This group provides a forum for interested parties to discuss and make recommendations on technical, operational and project activities regarding the remediation of Giant Mine. It includes representatives from the Yellowknives Dene First Nation, the City of Yellowknife, Alternatives North, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, and Environment Canada. Recent meeting topics have included a general site update, spill reporting, and an air quality update related to widespread smoke in the Yellowknife area.

Health and Safety

On July 31, 2014, Grace Blake became the inaugural winner of the Star of Excellence Safety Award sponsored by Golder Associates Ltd. Golder is the lead contractor providing mining support services at Giant Mine and had committed to supporting local communities through Aboriginal training and apprenticeship, and have worked with local educators in developing a mine training award for Aboriginal students.

This award is presented to the student with the highest grades in the Safety Bootcamp associated with the Underground Miner Program at Yellowknife’s Mine Training Society. This course aims to reinforce a safety conscious culture on mine sites in the North and other places where students may find work.

This new award in Health and Safety excellence and leadership will be presented twice annually to one student from each of the summer and fall sessions. Each recipient receives a plaque and a cheque for one thousand dollars in honour of outstanding achievement. The next presentation will take place in late November.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Qui se passe-t-il à la mine Giant? - août 2014

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Le 14 août 2014, l’honorable Bernard Valcourt, ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien, au nom des ministres responsables du projet de la mine Giant, a publié la décision relative à l’évaluation environnementale du projet.

Conformément à la décision, l’équipe responsable du projet d’assainissement du site de la mine Giant se prépare à mettre en œuvre les mesures prévues dans l’évaluation environnementale. On a déjà entamé des discussions avec les différents intervenants afin de classer ces mesures par ordre de priorité.

Bien que le processus réglementaire associé à un projet d’une telle ampleur soit long, la priorité immédiate de l’équipe de projet est d’aller de l’avant afin de protéger la santé et la sécurité des Canadiens ainsi que l’environnement. Les activités d’entretien et de stabilisation du site se poursuivront jusqu’à ce qu’on puisse procéder aux travaux d’assainissement.

Les mesures prévues dans l’évaluation environnementale doivent être étudiées et approfondies avant qu’on puisse préparer une description de projet consolidé en vue d’obtenir un permis de l’Office des terres et des eaux de la vallée du Mackenzie.

Après avoir rédigé la description du projet consolidé, on pourra reprendre le processus de demande d’un permis d’utilisation des eaux et des terres (l’équipe a déjà présenté une demande de permis d’utilisation des eaux en 2007). Ces autorisations doivent être obtenues avant le début des travaux d’assainissement.

Pour en savoir plus sur le projet d’assainissement du site de la mine Giant abonnez-vous à @MineGiant sur Twitter ou consultez la foire aux questions.

Le point sur le complexe de grillage

Les travaux de décontamination et de déconstruction des cinq bâtiments du complexe de grillage se poursuivent à la mine Giant. Durant tout le mois de juillet, des travailleurs ont ensaché et étiqueté 917 mètres cubes de résidus contaminés provenant du complexe de grillage. Ces sacs seront déposés dans la zone de stockage où se trouve le bassin central de décantation des résidus de la mine, et ce, jusqu’à la mise en œuvre du plan de fermeture définitive du site.

Le projet de déconstruction du complexe de grillage devrait être terminé à l’automne. Les travaux effectués tout au long de juillet et en début d’août sont les suivants :

Four de grillage Allis-Chalmers (AC) : Les travailleurs ont terminé le nettoyage et le lavage final de l’intérieur du four de grillage AC au mois d’août. Les entrepreneurs inspecteront le bâtiment avant d’effectuer un test final de la qualité de l’air à l’intérieur du bâtiment. Lorsque l’air sera considéré comme étant pur et que les inspections finales seront terminées, les travailleurs commenceront à se préparer pour les travaux de démolition.

Usine de calcination : Les travailleurs ont poursuivi les travaux de décontamination et de déconstruction de l’intérieur de cette structure tout au long des mois de juillet et d’août. Ces travaux comprennent le retrait des isolants d’amiante, le nettoyage des conduits, de l’équipement et des ouvrages en acier à l’intérieur du bâtiment, le retrait des canalisations contaminées et des résidus d’arsenic et la déconstruction des réservoirs à l’intérieur.

Des travailleurs portant des vêtements de protection individuelle jaunes et des masques à gaz vaporisent de l’eau pressurisée sur une cage d’escalier de métal à l’intérieur de l’usine de calcination de la mine Giant le 15 juillet 2014.
Des travailleurs portant des vêtements de protection individuelle nettoient une cage d’escalier de métal à l’intérieur de l’usine de calcination le 15 juillet 2014.

Four de grillage Dorrco : Les travaux effectués récemment à l’intérieur de ce bâtiment comprennent l’enlèvement des résidus d’arsenic à l’intérieur, la déconstruction des réservoirs et la décontamination générale à l’intérieur.

Le point sur le site

Une partie de l’infrastructure du site de la mine Giant a plus de 60 ans. Ainsi, l’équipe du projet d’assainissement surveille de près cette infrastructure dans le cadre de la gestion continue du risque, de manière à réduire les risques pour le personnel sur place, la population et l’environnement.

L’équipe de projet a récemment remarqué des problèmes de structure au niveau du chevalement du puits « C » de la mine Giant au cours d’une inspection courante. Plus précisément, les ingénieurs craignent que le bois de la structure puisse se détériorer et que des parties ne tombent au sol. Des travaux de stabilisation doivent être effectués afin d’assurer la sécurité des travailleurs et de l’environnement.

Les tours du chevalement emblématique du puits « C » sur le site de la mine Giant.
effectués pour stabiliser le chevalement emblématique du puits « C ».

L’équipe a déjà entrepris l’inspection et l’évaluation approfondie avant d’entreprendre les travaux sur la structure qui présente des risques.

L’équipe procédera à ces travaux dès que possible et prévoit terminer les travaux de stabilisation du puits « C » à l’été 2015.

Des déversements ont été signalés le 13 et le 30 juillet à la ligne d’urgence du Nunavut et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. L’incident n’a donné lieu à aucune infraction ou violation réglementaire liée au permis d’utilisation des eaux.

Le 13 juillet 2014, un pipeline transportant de l’eau du bassin de résidus situé au nord-ouest vers l’usine de traitement des effluents a fui légèrement, déversant une petite quantité (170 litres) d’eau de la mine non traitée près de la jonction de l’autoroute, face à l’entrée du territoire de l’Akaitcho. La fuite n’a présenté aucun danger pour la population et ne devrait avoir aucun impact sur l’environnement; la fuite est peu importante et elle est circonscrite dans les limites d’un secteur contaminé. L’inspecteur s’est présenté sur les lieux et s’est dit satisfait des mesures initiales prises pour réparer la fuite.

Le 30 juillet 2014, environ 200 litres d’eaux usées ont été renversés sur le site de déconstruction du four de grillage – un secteur déjà considérablement touché par des années d’exploitation minière. Les eaux contaminées provenaient de l’unité de décontamination qui a débordé pendant un déversement effectué depuis la partie supérieure du réservoir de stockage. Étant donné le faible volume d’eau déversé, la nature très localisée du déversement et la rapidité avec laquelle la mesure corrective a été appliquée, l’incident ne présente aucun risque accru pour les travailleurs et l’environnement.

Approvisionnement

Au début du mois d’août, Det’on Cho Nahanni Construction Ltd a obtenu un contrat intérimaire d’une valeur de 11,6 millions de dollars pour assurer la stabilisation du souterrain. Le contrat a été octroyé dans le cadre d’un appel d’offres et l’entrepreneur retenu originaire de Yellowknife assure les travaux d’excavation, le transfert et la transformation des résidus qui, une fois mélangés à de l’eau et une faible quantité de ciment, formeront une pâte qui sera pompée sous le sol, de manière à stabiliser certaines chambres ou espaces souterrains vides qui se sont formés au cours des travaux d’exploitation minière. Le contrat a été attribué le 8 août 2014.

Des conteneurs ont commencé à arriver sur le site de la mine dans le cadre d’un contrat de 2,3 M$ attribué par appel d’offres à Tervita Corporation le 4 juillet 2014. Au total, 242 conteneurs serviront à stocker temporairement de sacs contenant des résidus d’arsenic, une matière dangereuse provenant des activités de stabilisation du site. Des conteneurs arriveront sur le site toutes les semaines au cours de l’été et de l’automne et on procédera à l'achat d'un plus grand nombre, si nécessaire. Tervita Corporation a un bureau à Yellowknife.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les possibilités de marchés, veuillez consulter le site achatsetventes.gc.ca.

Le point sur le projet de stabilisation des chambres souterraines

Le projet de stabilisation des chambres souterraines est mis en œuvre afin d’atténuer les risques d’effondrement de roches, d’affaissement de terrain ou de débordements de la rivière Baker. Lorsque l’entrepreneur Det’on Cho Nahanni Construction Ltd aura fourni les plans et la documentation approuvés pour le lancement du contrat, les travaux d’excavation et de stockage des résidus pourront débuter. Ces travaux devraient commencer en septembre et se terminer à la mi-octobre ou à la fin du mois. Les conducteurs à proximité du site de la mine remarqueront peut-être une activité accrue de la machinerie lourde en raison de ces travaux.

Surveillance de la qualité de l’air

Une fumée extrêmement épaisse provenant des feux de forêt ayant sévi dans la région a provoqué le déclenchement incessant des systèmes d’alarme pendant tout le mois de juillet et d’août. Aucun de ces signaux d’alarme n’a été attribué aux activités en cours sur le site de la mine.

Étant donné que les appareils de surveillance ont affiché des taux de fumée élevés à proximité du complexe de grillage et aux limites du site de la mine, l’équipe de projet a été particulièrement vigilante, surveillant de plus près l'orientation du vent et la production de poussière et mettant en œuvre des mesures accrues de prévention de la poussière.

Un programme de surveillance de la qualité de l’air supplémentaire a été lancé le 21 juillet 2014 en lien avec le forage en surface et souterrain. Cette mesure d’assurance de la qualité sera maintenue jusqu’à la fin des travaux de forage qui est prévue en fin d’août. Les données tirées de ces appareils de surveillance supplémentaires figurent dans les rapports de surveillance hebdomadaire de la qualité de l’air affichés sur le site Web du ministère de l’Environnement et des Ressources naturelles (site Web non disponible en français). Un programme de surveillance de la qualité de l’air sera également mis en œuvre cet automne, lorsque les travaux associés au contrat intérimaire de stabilisation souterraine seront entrepris (ce qui comprend les travaux d’excavation et le stockage des résidus).

Rapports

Le rapport semestriel (site Web non disponible en français) de l’équipe de projet figure maintenant dans le registre public de l’Office des terres et des eaux de la vallée du Mackenzie (le site Web n’est pas disponible en français). Ce document couvre la période qui s’étend du 1er novembre 2013 au 30 avril 2014. Les rapports antérieurs figurent également au registre public (site Web non disponible en français).

Engagement

Grace Blake, première récipiendaire du prix d’excellence en matière de sécurité parrainé par Golder Associates Ltd, tenant dans ses mains une plaque commémorative gravée à son nom.  
arborant.
Grace Blake recevant le
premier prix d’excellence
en matière de sécurité
offert par Golder
Associates Ltd.
Photo de Bill Braden

Les rencontres des membres de l’équipe de projet d’assainissement de la mine Giant avec les groupes intéressés se sont poursuivies au cours de mois de juillet et d’août. Le 11 juillet, des membres de l’équipe ont rencontré le comité consultatif de la mine Giant de la Première Nation des Dénés Yellowknives afin de discuter du programme de la qualité de l’air, des activités qui se déroulent sur le site et des priorités du plan de travail.

L’équipe a également rencontré le groupe de travail de la mine Giant le 10 juillet et le 14 août. Ce groupe permet aux parties intéressées de discuter des aspects techniques et opérationnels du projet d’assainissement de la mine Giant et de formuler des recommandations. Il est composé de représentants de la Première Nation des Dénés Yellowknives, de la ville de Yellowknife, d’Alternatives North, de Pêches et Océans Canada et d’Environnement Canada. Les thèmes abordés dans les dernières rencontres portaient notamment sur l’avancement général des travaux sur le site, le signalement des déversements, et sur la qualité de l’air en lien avec la fumée qui s'est répandue dans toute la région de Yellowknife.

Santé et sécurité

Le 31 juillet 2014, Grace Blake est devenue la première récipiendaire du prix d’excellence en matière de sécurité parrainé par Golder Associates Ltd, une des principales sociétés à fournir des services de soutien à la mine Giant. Celle-ci offre des services de soutien aux collectivités locales par l’entremise de programmes de formation et de stages et elle a travaillé en collaboration avec des enseignants locaux à la création d’un prix décerné à des étudiants autochtones inscrits à une formation en exploitation minière.

Ce prix est offert à l’étudiant ayant obtenu les meilleures notes dans des cours intensifs portant sur la sécurité offerts dans le cadre du programme pour les mineurs de fond de la Mine Training Society de Yellowknife. Ce cours vise à favoriser le renforcement d’une culture axée sur la sécurité dans le Nord et à d’autres endroits où les étudiants sont susceptibles de trouver du travail.

Ce nouveau prix qui récompense l'excellence et le leadership en santé et sécurité sera décerné deux fois par année à un étudiant inscrit aux sessions d’été et d’automne. Une plaque commémorative et un chèque de 1 000 $ sont décernés aux lauréats pour souligner leurs résultats remarquables. La prochaine remise de prix aura lieu à la fin du mois de novembre.

Date de modification :