First Nation Youth Job Readiness Program: Dixon’s Success Story

Download: MP4 format (22.6 Mb)

See other Aboriginal success stories from across Canada.

Transcript: First Nation Youth Job Readiness Program: Dixon's Success Story

Dixon, Okanagan Indian Band:

I went into the course with no knowledge or anything at all. And then right off the bat I learned a lot, and then, yeah, met a lot of great people too. It just really helped.

It's looking great now because they've helped me so much with all of my tickets. Because before that, I had no tickets. Nothing. At all. And then, I couldn't get a job in Alberta, or up north—anything like that. Or even local because they want people with First Aid, and air brake endorsement and stuff like that.

It builds confidence. Definitely builds confidence. And then confidence is like wildfire it just spreads. My friends see me complete the program and they see me get my life started and they want to do the same thing. They want to get their things together and just like grow up really. Become more independent.

Like, you're—where are you at when you're older? You're stuck on the reserve, (then) you're stuck on the reserve. If you want to actually do something with your life, get off your butt and just go do something about it.

Narrator:

Thanks to funding from Economic Action Plan 2013 First Nation youth – ages 18 to 24 – from across the country will be participating in programs such as those taking place in Okanagan Nation affiliated communities in British Columbia.

These programs are being delivered through partnerships between Aboriginal organizations, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada and Employment and Social Development Canada.

Canada is providing job readiness support for First Nations youth so they can successfully participate in the Canadian economy. For more information on this and other programs and services, please visit Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada.

Date modified:

Programme de préparation à l’emploi pour les jeunes des Premières Nations : Histoire de réussite de Dixon

Download: MP4 format (24.7 Mo)

Consultez d'autres histoires de réussite autochtones du Canada.

Transcription : Programme de préparation à l'emploi pour les jeunes des Premières Nations - Histoire de réussite de Dixon

Dixon, bande indienne d'Okanagan :

J'ai commencé le cours sans aucune connaissance, rien du tout. Et puis, très rapidement, comme ça, j'ai appris beaucoup, et j'ai aussi rencontré plusieurs personnes formidables. Ça m'a véritablement aidé.

Ça va beaucoup mieux maintenant parce qu'ils m'ont véritablement aidé à obtenir tous mes titres de compétence. Avant, je n'avais aucune certification. Je ne pouvais pas me trouver un emploi en Alberta ou plus au nord. Ou même dans ma localité, parce qu'ils veulent des personnes qui ont suivi leurs cours en premiers soins, et le cours sur l'utilisation des freins à air et d'autres choses du genre.

Ça contribue à bâtir la confiance. Ça c'est certain. Et la confiance, c'est comme un feu de forêt, ça se répand. Mes amis m'ont vu terminer le programme, commencer ma vie, et maintenant, ils veulent faire la même chose. Ils veulent se donner une direction et passer à l'étape suivante, vraiment. Devenir plus indépendant.

Où serez-vous quand vous serez plus vieux? Vous êtes pris sur la réserve (puis) vous restez pris sur la réserve. Si vous voulez véritablement faire quelque chose de votre vie, secouez-vous et passez à l'action.

Narrateur :

Grâce au financement du Plan d'action économique 2013, des jeunes des Premières Nations âgés de 18 à 24 ans, de partout au pays, participeront à des programmes comme ceux offerts dans les collectivités membres de la Nation Okanagan en Colombie-Britannique.

Ces programmes sont offerts dans le cadre de partenariats établis entre des organisations autochtones, les Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada et l'Emploi et Développement social Canada.

Le Canada offre aux jeunes des Premières Nations un appui en matière de préparation à l'emploi pour les aider à participer à l'économie canadienne. Pour obtenir plus d'information à ce sujet et sur d'autres programmes et services, rendez-vous à Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada.

Date de modification :