First Nation Youth Job Readiness Program: Okanagan Nation Success Stories

Youth affiliated with the Okanagan Nation are participating and succeeding in Canada's skills training programs that provide employment training and support to help them find jobs.

See other Aboriginal success stories from across Canada.

Download: MP4 format (45.8 Mb)

Transcript: First Nation Youth Job Readiness Program: Okanagan Nation Success Stories

Narrator:

First Nation youth represent the fastest-growing segment of Canada's population. The Government of Canada is making important investments in skills training and job-readiness activities to help make sure First Nation youth have the same opportunities as all Canadians to find, keep, and enjoy the benefits of a good job.

First Nation youth from across Canada are benefitting from new opportunities....including those affiliated with the Okanagan Nation.

What are they saying about the program? Let's find out.

Erin, Penticton Indian Band:

It's actually something that I've been wanting to do for myself for quite some time. I just didn't have the motivation or the confidence in myself to do it. But with the program, I was able to think to myself: "this will work, they will help me, and I can do this."

Dixon, Okanagan Indian Band:

Right off the bat, I started going to do courses to get my tickets – my First Aid, H2S—things like that.

It's looking great now because they've helped me so much with all of my tickets. Because before that, I had no tickets. Nothing. At all. And then, I couldn't get a job in Alberta, or up north—anything like that. Or even local because they want people with First Aid, and then just like air brake endorsement and stuff like that.

Cory, Okanagan Indian Band:

I was 16, I got my license right away. They helped me get it right away instead of saying like, "Oh yeah, I'll go get it". Instead of putting it off, they kind of put it in front of me, and told me "You can do this. This is something you can achieve".

If they weren't there, I don't think I've made it to as many of the training opportunities that they had.

Dixon, Okanagan Indian Band:

It means a lot because it helps me become more independent and basically just start my life. Like I'm 20 years old. I have a lot more to learn and live, and then this just helps me out a lot because it means I can just get out there, get more experience, and just get my life started.

Erin, Penticton Indian Band:

I think It's the fact that you are not doing it alone. You're doing in with others that are trying to succeed in the exact same thing as you. And it gives you the opportunity to expand your knowledge in life.

Dixon, Okanagan Indian Band:

It builds confidence. Definitely builds confidence. And then confidence is like wildfire it just spreads. My friends see me complete the program and they see me get my life started and they want to do the same thing. They want to get their things together and just like grow up really. Become more independent.

Erin, Penticton Indian Band:

Yes it's worth it. Yeah. It's definitely worth it.

Narrator:

Thanks to funding from Economic Action Plan 2013 First Nation youth – ages 18 to 24 – from across the country will be participating in programs such as those taking place in Okanagan Nation affiliated communities in British Columbia.

These programs are being delivered through partnerships between Aboriginal organizations, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada and Employment and Social Development Canada.

Canada is providing job readiness support for First Nations youth so they can successfully participate in the Canadian economy. For more information on this and other programs and services, please visit Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada.

Date modified:

Programme de préparation à l’emploi pour les jeunes des Premières Nations : Histoires de réussite de la Nation Okanagan

Consultez d'autres histoires de réussite autochtones du Canada.

Download: MP4 format (47.9 Mo)

Transcription : Programme de préparation à l'emploi pour les jeunes des Premières Nations - Histoires de réussite de la Nation Okanagan

Narrateur :

Les jeunes des Premières Nations sont le segment de la population du Canada qui connaît la croissance la plus rapide. Le gouvernement du Canada réalise des investissements importants pour de la formation axée sur les compétences et des activités de préparation à l'emploi afin de s'assurer que les jeunes des Premières Nations aient accès aux mêmes possibilités que tous les Canadiens pour ce qui est de trouver et de conserver un bon emploi, et de profiter des avantages connexes.

Les jeunes des Premières Nations de partout au Canada bénéficient de ces nouvelles possibilités... y compris ceux qui sont affiliés à la Nation Okanagan.

Voyons voir ce que les jeunes ont à dire sur le programme.

Erin, bande indienne de Penticton :

En fait, c'est quelque chose que je voulais faire pour moi depuis un certain temps. Je n'avais tout simplement pas la motivation ni la confiance en moi pour le faire. Mais grâce au programme, je me suis dit que « Ça va fonctionner, on va m'aider et je vais y arriver. »

Dixon, bande indienne d'Okanagan :

Dès le début, j'ai commencé des cours pour obtenir mes titres de compétence – premiers soins, H2S – des choses comme ça.

Ça va beaucoup mieux maintenant parce qu'ils m'ont véritablement aidé à obtenir tous mes titres de compétence. Avant, je n'avais aucune certification. Je ne pouvais pas me trouver un emploi en Alberta ou plus au nord. Ou même dans ma localité, parce qu'ils veulent des personnes qui ont suivi leurs cours en premiers soins, et le cours sur l'utilisation des freins à air et d'autres choses du genre.

Cory, bande indienne d'Okanagan :

J'avais 16 ans, et j'ai tout de suite obtenu mon permis. Ils m'ont aidé à l'avoir tout de suite au lieu de dire, « Ah oui, je vais aller le chercher ». Au lieu de se défiler, ils sont allés directement et m'ont dit « Tu peux le faire. C'est quelque chose que tu peux obtenir ».

S'ils n'avaient pas été là, je ne pense pas que j'aurais profité de toutes les possibilités de formation qu'ils offraient.

Dixon, bande indienne d'Okanagan :

Ça signifie beaucoup, parce que cela m'a aidé à devenir plus indépendant et, essentiellement, à commencer ma vie. J'ai 20 ans. J'ai beaucoup à apprendre et à vivre. Ça m'a beaucoup aidé parce que maintenant, je peux me lancer, acquérir plus d'expérience et tout simplement commencer à vivre ma vie.

Erin, bande indienne de Penticton :

Je crois que c'est parce qu'on ne le fait pas seul. On le fait avec d'autres qui essaient d'accomplir exactement la même chose. Ça donne l'occasion d'enrichir ses connaissances.

Dixon, bande indienne d'Okanagan :

Ça contribue à bâtir la confiance. Ça, c'est certain. Et la confiance, c'est comme un feu de forêt, ça se répand. Mes amis m'ont vu terminer le programme, commencer ma vie, et maintenant, ils veulent faire la même chose. Ils veulent se donner une direction et passer à l'étape suivante, vraiment. Devenir plus indépendant.

Erin, bande indienne de Penticton :

Oui, ça en vaut la peine. Vraiment… Ça en vaut vraiment la peine.

Narrateur :

Grâce au financement du Plan d'action économique 2013, des jeunes des Premières Nations âgés de 18 à 24 ans, de partout au pays, participeront à des programmes comme ceux offerts dans les collectivités membres de la Nation Okanagan en Colombie-Britannique.

Ces programmes sont offerts dans le cadre de partenariats établis entre des organisations autochtones, les Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada et l'Emploi et Développement social Canada.

Le Canada offre aux jeunes des Premières Nations un appui en matière de préparation à l'emploi pour les aider à participer à l'économie canadienne. Pour obtenir plus d'information à ce sujet et sur d'autres programmes et services, rendez-vous à Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada.

Date de modification :