Process for Publishing Investigation/Forensic Audit Summary Reports

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

 
  1. Chief and Council will be informed in writing that an investigation or a forensic audit will be conducted. The review period is indicated in the letter as well as the areas of concern. The letter will state that the results of the investigation/forensic audit, in the form of a summary report, may be published on the departmental website.
  2. Following completion of the investigation/forensic audit, the Assessment and Investigation Services Branch will provide Chief and Council, in consultation with the forensic audit firm, a summary of the key findings for fact verification, with a 30-day timeline to respond. A copy of the summary will also be sent to the concerned Regional Director General.
  3. If the Chief and Council provides new information or documentation, their input will be used to revise the work.
  4. The Assessment and Investigation Services Branch, in consultation with the forensic audit firm, will prepare a summary report in deck format for publication on the AANDC Website.
  5. The summary report will be reviewed by the ATIP Unit to respect policies and laws related to the release of personal information, then by Communications in order to prepare communications materials.
  6. A Management Letter will be sent to the Chief and Council to confirm the findings and provide recommendations to the Chief and Council, with a copy of the summary report. The Chief and Council may provide a written response to the summary report within 30 days and the response will also be posted. A copy of the Management Letter and the final summary report will be sent to the concerned Regional Director General, the Senior Assistant Deputy Minister (Regional Operations), the Chief Financial Officer and the Chief Audit and Evaluation Executive.
  7. The summary report and the Management Letter will be translated and prepared for posting.
  8. The summary report, the Management Letter, any response from the Chief and Council and the communications materials will be provided to the Deputy Minister for review and approval for posting.
  9. The package and communications materials will be sent to the Minister’s Office for information.
  10. The summary report will be posted on the Department’s website in both official languages.

*In instances where the audit work is conducted jointly with other government departments, separate reports are created for each department, making it possible for AANDC to independently post its own summary reports. As a courtesy, the audit summary would be shared with the department(s) with whom we have partnered, in advance of posting.

 

(Revised July 2014)

 
 
Date modified:

Marche à suivre pour la publication des rapports sommaires des enquêtes et des vérifications juricomptables

 
  1. Le chef et les conseillers sont informés par écrit de la tenue d’une enquête ou d’une vérification juricomptable. La lettre indique la période visée par l’examen ainsi que les domaines d’intérêt. Elle précise aussi que les résultats de l’enquête ou de la vérification juricomptable pourraient être publiés sous la forme d’un rapport sommaire sur le site Web du Ministère.
  2. Une fois l’enquête ou la vérification juricomptable terminée, la Direction générale des services d’examen et d’enquête remet au chef et aux conseillers, en consultation avec la firme responsable de la vérification, un sommaire des principales constatations. Le chef et les conseillers ont 30 jours pour vérifier les faits et produire une réponse, s’il y a lieu. Une copie du sommaire est aussi envoyée au directeur général régional concerné.
  3. Si le chef et les conseillers fournissent de nouveaux renseignements ou de nouveaux documents, ceux-ci sont utilisés pour réviser les travaux.
  4. La Direction générale des services d’examen et d’enquête, en consultation avec la firme responsable de la vérification, prépare un rapport sommaire sous forme de présentation pour publication sur le site Web d’AADNC.
  5. L’Unité de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels passe en revue le rapport sommaire afin de s’assurer qu’il respecte les politiques et les lois sur la diffusion des renseignements personnels, puis la Direction des communications l’examine afin de préparer les documents de communication.
  6. Une lettre de gestion, accompagnée d’une copie du rapport sommaire, est envoyée au chef et aux conseillers afin de confirmer les constatations et de leur communiquer les recommandations. Le chef et les conseillers ont 30 jours pour répondre par écrit au rapport sommaire, et leur réponse est aussi publiée sur le site Web. Une copie de la lettre de gestion et le rapport sommaire définitif sont transmis au directeur général régional concerné, au sous-ministre adjoint principal (Opérations régionales), au dirigeant principal des finances et au dirigeant principal de la vérification et de l’évaluation.
  7. Le rapport sommaire et la lettre de gestion sont traduits et préparés en vue de leur publication.
  8. Le rapport sommaire, la lettre de gestion, la réponse du chef et des conseillers (le cas échéant) et les documents de communication sont transmis au sous-ministre pour examen et approbation avant la publication.
  9. La trousse et les documents de communication sont envoyés au Cabinet du ministre à titre d’information.
  10. Le rapport sommaire est publié dans les deux langues officielles sur le site Web du Ministère.

*Dans les cas où la vérification est menée conjointement avec d’autres ministères, des rapports distincts sont produits pour chaque ministère, ce qui permet à AADNC de mettre en ligne de façon indépendante ses propres rapports sommaires. Par mesure de courtoisie, les rapports sont envoyés aux ministères avec lesquels AADNC a collaboré avant leur publication.

 

(révisée en juillet 2014)

 
 
Date de modification :