Understanding the Annual Report on the State of Performance Measurement in Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada for 2011-12 and 2012-13

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

The Treasury Board Secretariat Directive of the Evaluation Function requires that departmental heads of evaluation prepare an annual report on the state of performance measurement of programs in support of evaluation.

In 2009, AANDC tabled its first report, which covered activities from 2008-2009. In 2011, AANDC completed its second report covering activities from 2009-2010 and 2010-2011. Both reports identified ten attributes of quality performance measurement systems in high performing organizations. These attributes were employed as benchmarking criteria against which the AANDC performance measurement activities could be examined. These criteria formed the basis of this third report, completed in 2013, which covered activities from 2011-12 and 2012-13.

These reports are not audits nor are they ‘report cards' on the department's activities, rather they are the result of an interactive internal process that includes a document and literature review, interviews, and surveys. The purpose of the report is to provide an objective and comprehensive assessment of the state of performance measurement at AANDC, which in turn is intended to support the ongoing assessments of relevance and performance of AANDC programming.

The most recent report has indeed found that there is significant room for improvement toward anchoring AANDC's operations and programs and services with a stronger, more effective results-based management culture. However, the report does note progress in a priority area for the government - reducing the reporting burden on recipients.

While there is no requirement to post these reports publicly, the department voluntarily does so to demonstrate its commitment to transparency and accountability and will follow up on the next steps outlined in this annual report.

 
 
Date modified:

Comprendre le rapport annuel sur l’état de la mesure du rendement à Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada pour 2011-2012 et 2012-2013

La Directive sur la fonction d'évaluation du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor exige que les responsables de l'évaluation du Ministère préparent un rapport annuel sur l'état de la mesure du rendement des programmes à l'appui de l'évaluation.

En 2009, AADNC a déposé son premier rapport qui couvre les activités de 2008-2009. En 2011, AADNC a achevé son deuxième rapport visant les activités de 2009-2010 et de 2010-2011. Les deux documents ont cerné dix attributs propres aux systèmes de mesure du rendement de qualité dans les organisations hautement performantes. Ces attributs ont ensuite été utilisés comme critères de référence pour examiner les activités de mesure du rendement d'AADNC. Ils ont servi à l'établissement du présent troisième rapport, rédigé en 2013, qui rend compte des activités de 2011-2012 et de 2012-2013.

Ces rapports ne constituent pas des vérifications ni ne sont des bulletins de rendement sur les activités du Ministère. En fait, ils sont le résultat d'un processus interne interactif qui comprend une analyse de la littérature et de la documentation, des entrevues et des sondages. Le rapport a pour but de réaliser une évaluation objective et globale de l'état de la mesure du rendement d'AADNC, qui à son tour, vise à appuyer les évaluations continues de la pertinence et du rendement des programmes d'AADNC.

Le rapport le plus récent a en effet révélé qu'il y a beaucoup de place à l'amélioration afin d'ancrer les activités, les programmes et les services d'AADNC dans une culture de gestion plus robuste, efficace et axée sur les résultats. En revanche, le rapport fait état de progrès dans un domaine prioritaire du gouvernement : réduire le fardeau administratif pour les bénéficiaires.

Bien qu'il n'y ait aucune exigence de publier ces rapports, le Ministère le fait volontairement pour démontrer son engagement envers la transparence et la responsabilisation, et il assurera un suivi des prochaines étapes énoncées dans le présent rapport annuel.

 
 
Date de modification :